Col Sylvia / Brendon Goddard

Re: Col Sylvia

I read an article at the start of the last year in Alpha magazine about Goddard and the pain of losing the GF. Now he has experienced that 3 times..

I reckon he would do just about anything to get success. If St. Kilda slide again next year i would put money on him going to a club he feels could win the next premiership... Could we win 4 in a row?

With Goddard, yes we can.

He would come cheaply for this ala Luke Ball, and would replace Maxwell... Any idea on how much Maxwell is on? Probably a bit more than expected given he is our premiership captain...

The problem I feel we'll have getting Goddard will be the money.

Because St.Kilda have the option to match under FA. Can a player still leave even if the club he's leaving matches the offer? Or can a player leave regardless for a pay cut?

Regardless of the offer from St.Kilda he can leave, thats the whole point of Free Agency. He will leave for success. He doesn't want to be the next Nathan Buckley. ie, the best player in the league who never won a premiership.

The problem I feel we'll have getting Goddard will be the money.

Because St.Kilda have the option to match under FA. Can a player still leave even if the club he's leaving matches the offer? Or can a player leave regardless for a pay cut?
If they match the offer he can then seek a trade or enter the draft. Not the perfect outcome since we know how good the Saints are at trading with Collingwood. His only hope to get to the club of his choice would be to do something like Taz did but I doubt it would work for him.

Edit: Sorry but that's only for a top 10 player after 8 years. It works differently if he's been there 10 and he can probably go to the club of his choice.

This gives you some idea

Yep, 8-9 years the current club can match the offer, 10+ years the player can do what they want. Goddard first played in 2003 so after next year he can do as he pleases.

AAAhhh, so that explains it.

That would explain the meeting Bucks and PErty had with Goddard earlier in the year.

Clearly outlining the plan to get him, the workarounds to pay him, and what his role would be in the club.

If we can go back to back, and then rejuvinated under a new coach snag a third, then I'd be liking our chances for 4 if we landed Goddard.

What's stopping us from making players CEO at Channel 9 or some other role where they have to do absolutely nothing at all?.. not unlike Judd & Visy

If we can go back to back, and then rejuvinated under a new coach snag a third, then I'd be liking our chances for 4 if we landed Goddard.
Life wouldn't be able to get much better than that.

4 premierships in a row, that would be amazing. Considering I didn't think that I'd live to see one just a couple of years back!

My thoughts too.

I honestly didn't think I'd see one in the rest of my lifetime.

2 is likely, 3 in a row isn't out of the realms of possibility, and 4 wouldn't be far off IF we can snag Goddard while mainting the core of the list.

My thoughts too.

I honestly didn't think I'd see one in the rest of my lifetime.

2 is likely, 3 in a row isn't out of the realms of possibility, and 4 wouldn't be far off IF we can snag Goddard while mainting the core of the list.

Not sure what goddard would add that others can't, the guys averaging 24 disposals, 3 inside 50s, 2 clearances, 0.5 goals and 0.4 contested marks for 2011 playing off HB, he'll be 28 on the eve of the 2013 season, massively overrated player, has been tried as a fwd and mid and been average, would rather look elsewhere.

Let's just hope number 2 happens. All the good times can easily end in a preliminary or grand final. Let's just live in the present.

Goddard is an elite kick of the footy. Dual sided and can nail it 60m+.

He is very gettable as he'll be a 10 year free agent.ie play where he pleases.

If he decides he wants to play for us and play for less then what he is worth, we'll get him. I honestly wouldn't be surprised to see him leave St.Kilda after next year. Their window would be done. Hayes and Reiwoldt past their best.

Issues are St.Kilda will be able to offer him huge $$ under the vets list. Also, you can bet the cheats from carlton will come at a rate of knots with their brown paper bags. Goddard and his whole family were mad carlton supporters.

You'd think Hawthorn and Essendon would both have their feelers out if word got out he definitely wanted out. Only a few would be genuine title chances though.

Sylvia is a very useful player and could fit as the third key forward target.
Not sure why I'm not as bullish on Caff as most here...hope it's just injuries this year, but he doesn't impose himself on a game as much as others??

But I think with Fasolo, Beams, Sidey, Blair we have forward options pretty well covered without Sylvia.

Goddard would be way more interesting.

To me, he's clearly been a troubled soul this year, wrestling with his demons...and probably it's more than just the narrow losses in 09 and 10.

He's looked all over the shop IMHO, angry, frustrated, distracted, poor concentration etc etc.

All consistent with many things, that would include being unhappy at your club and pondering a move elsewhere.

A happy Goddard would be an awesome player and a great pick up wherever he played, salary cap may preclude it being with us sadly!

Though he's probably pretty good mates with Luke Ball.

Sylvia is a very useful player and could fit as the third key forward target.
Not sure why I'm not as bullish on Caff as most here...hope it's just injuries this year, but he doesn't impose himself on a game as much as others??

But I think with Fasolo, Beams, Sidey, Blair we have forward options pretty well covered without Sylvia.

Goddard would be way more interesting.

To me, he's clearly been a troubled soul this year, wrestling with his demons...and probably it's more than just the narrow losses in 09 and 10.

He's looked all over the shop IMHO, angry, frustrated, distracted, poor concentration etc etc.

All consistent with many things, that would include being unhappy at your club and pondering a move elsewhere.

A happy Goddard would be an awesome player and a great pick up wherever he played, salary cap may preclude it being with us sadly!

Though he's probably pretty good mates with Luke Ball.

Also consistant with copping defensive fwds each week, when he cops one he does nothing and starts sooking, wont be any different with us, teams know if you don't give him a minder he will cut you to shreds.

trev.jpg

True enough distributer...but think IF he played in our team, with all the other guys that would share the tags and with a fresh mindset, he'd still go OK.

Very hypothetical discussion, pretty unlikely to happen, though with Ed around, you'd never say never.

Also consistant with copping defensive fwds each week, when he cops one he does nothing and starts sooking, wont be any different with us, teams know if you don't give him a minder he will cut you to shreds.
At worst he'd beat his opponent and free up other players. The coach wouldn't be dumb enough to leave him like that all game, and the big difference is St Kilda only have about 5 players who need to be kept in check. Pies you shut down one player and another does the job. He would be a big addition, plus with Free Agency it wouldn't cost the club anything to get him other than his salary.

What's stopping us from making players CEO at Channel 9 or some other role where they have to do absolutely nothing at all?.. not unlike Judd & Visy

Compuglobalhypermeganet, Junior Executive Vice President Brendan Goddard speaking, how may I help you?

If anything, getting Goddard would mean our players have less chance of getting kneed in the head or have their hands stomped on in tackles

Not sure bout that handy point, Saints have got a pretty good record of friendly fire injuries this year, maybe he's better far away as possible :)

But that issue did cross my mind...but more in the line of he's probably not coming to us, cos you perhaps wouldn't act like that with your temamates to be.

At worst he'd beat his opponent and free up other players. The coach wouldn't be dumb enough to leave him like that all game, and the big difference is St Kilda only have about 5 players who need to be kept in check. Pies you shut down one player and another does the job. He would be a big addition, plus with Free Agency it wouldn't cost the club anything to get him other than his salary.

He's a fine player no doubt, but he's predominantly a HBF, he has been tried as a mid and fwd and hasn't set the world on fire, i just don't think we need a running back, i'd bloody hate for us to put an 800k hole in our salary cap for one anyway, would prefer to go for an elite small fwd TBH.

We probably should start looking at a young KPD as well, Taz is 30 odd and Keefe doesn't look like setting the world on fire so we'll need a bit of back up there over the next 2 or 3 years if Brown or Reid go down.

He's a fine player no doubt, but he's predominantly a HBF, he has been tried as a mid and fwd and hasn't set the world on fire, i just don't think we need a running back, i'd bloody hate for us to put an 800k hole in our salary cap for one anyway, would prefer to go for an elite small fwd TBH.

Goddard was, with Daisy, the best player over two GFs so can't buy this.

He can play all over the ground and is a prodigious talent. Wouldn't be paying him 800k and I doubt at close of 2012 he'd ask for it or be valued as such. Carlton is the threat though with their piles of cash, but by then they should be sinking back down again to the bottom of the swamp and not be able to provide him a premiership opportunity.

Goddard you can see is desparate to win one and move out of Camp Krusty after the summer form hell.