Colin Sylvia suspended

NathanCarroll41

The Melbourne Football Club’s Leadership Group has suspended Colin Sylvia for this week’s NAB Challenge match against the Western Bulldogs at Casey Fields.

Colin breached team expectations by being out late on Sunday evening. This failed to meet the standard of behavior in relation to post-game recovery and rehabilitation.

Colin is scheduled to play in an intra-club match for the Casey Scorpions on Thursday night.

Not great timing.

I really got a scare when I read the headline, thank god it is something minor especially with whats going on in Sydney. Why does it always have to be Sylvia though, hopefully Colin starts to get it. Also is there any real point playing him in a Casey intra-club, he get 30 touches, kick 5 and it will go to his head again.

That's a bit rough, nothing wrong with the odd drink and chasing glam's

It may be but he "breached" what is expected of him as a player, so he must have agreed to the rules in the first place. Its not that hard to toe the line.

He seems to think only about self, I might be wrong but he needs to think things through more.

Will we ever see potential realised?

Good move by the leadership group. They've set a standard for the last 12 months and they're sticking with it.

......and as for you Colin. We wasted the 3rd pick in a draft on you, pull ya head out of ya ass.

pretty poor timing, luckily it's for nothing to serious though. Good to see the leadership group take a harsh stand on this, will set an example for the other players, particulary the young ones.

Thank God they didn't suspend him for R1. I've got him as a DT lock, would've been disastrous!! :D

But it is good to see the leadership group are taking their job seriously. I'm sure Sylvia's just shattered at not being able to play a scratch match in Cranbourne :rolleyes:

They might as well have bought him a couple of tickets to go to the horse races...

Sylvia needs to get serious Steve Johnson style and give up the sauce, so we can work out if he is just potential or if he can put 22 games together.

Im going to try and keep this as subtle as i can so i will start off by saying as a member of this football club i am absolutely livid! He has gotten away with a slap on the wrists as far as im concerned. He does this time and time again how many times does someone who is earning so much money and most importantly has a JOB to do continually take the p*ss out of this club.... For christ sake we are struggling financially and the last thing a major sponsor wants to see is bad publicity.

He should not be playing round 1 and possibly even more, he has proven very little so far but we constantly use that word potential!. I can tell you now he will never reach his potential if he continues this ridiculous behaviour.

As you can tell im a bit angry i can only hope this doesn't happen again but im not convinced at all.

Im going to try and keep this as subtle as i can so i will start off by saying as a member of this football club i am absolutely livid! He has gotten away with a slap on the wrists as far as im concerned. He does this time and time again how many times does someone who is earning so much money and most importantly has a JOB to do continually take the p*ss out of this club....

Thought you might have had a little bit more compassion for Sylvia eh Mr. Controversy? ;)

But really, even though it seems like a pretty minor thing, I think I'd be pretty annoyed if I was his team mate. I mean, its a bit of a slap in the face, when everyone else sticks by the same rules and then you have some joker who just goes, "nah, stuff that i'm just gonna do what i want", and its not like the 1st time he's ignored club rules.

If he wants to get on the piss and have a good time then he should go and play suburban footy, but he ought to start showing his teamates a bit more respect by following team rules like everyone else. He gets payed bloody well to do it, so he should start pulling his weight...

I reckon he should've been allowed to play this weekend, but suspended for Round 1, at least it would've been meaningful that way...

Did anyone notice that it was exactly a year to the day that this occurred from the last ban he had?

Must get a bit of a twitch near season start.

Yeah it was virtually identical, except the difference was that he turned up to recovery this time. Happened almost immediately after the 1am curfue had been imposed on the playing group.

So if you don't turn up to a recovery session you get a $5000 fine and a one match (home & away) suspension, but turning up hungover is only worth a one match preseason ban. how do they figure that out?

Bagging players is not what i am about and i am generally upbeat about the players that my club employ.
Colin Sylvia is a player that drives me to distraction he has been given more chances than most and he just treats the club & his team mates with little or no respect.
He may kick 2 or 3 goals once every 5 weeks the majority of the time it is in junk time when the sting is out of the game I would have suspended him for 6 weeks or for that matter I would have nearly sacked him.

I remember when he was the 'next big thing'.

The unfortunate thing is that this statement is still applicable. Melbourne fans are still waiting for Sylvia to utilise the potential he possesses. We see it in flashes, but a sustained, consistent set of strong performances is yet to materialise.

I'm hoping this year is the one in which the hype becomes reality.

Just watched the family day on 7 news. Brock was quizzed about Sylvia off field dramas. Brock replied "It's all up to Colin from here, the balls in his court" Basically putting him on the spot, it's defiantly Sylvia's last chance.

Good move by the leadership group. They've set a standard for the last 12 months and they're sticking with it.

......and as for you Colin. We wasted the 3rd pick in a draft on you, pull ya head out of ya ass.
your a tosser if you knew wat he could do you would stick with him but you clearly hav no heck i n g idea