News Colin Sylvia

sylvia.jpg

I remember when we picked up a bloke from a struggling club who had talent but questionable attitude. He was seen as lazy, sporadic and there were concerns how he would fit into the club and make a positive contribution. His name was Paul Medhurst.
Gee he came good, was a great pick up. Shame the club got rid of him as soon as they did. Think he had a year or two of good footy lef once his body was right

I remember when we picked up a bloke from a struggling club who had talent but questionable attitude. He was seen as lazy, sporadic and there were concerns how he would fit into the club and make a positive contribution. His name was Paul Medhurst.

Even MM's harshest critics would concede that he is an excellent motivator, who routinely got the best out of talent. The same claims can't yet be made for Bucks, so I don't think the comparison is fair.

However, if the price is right, I'd take Sylvia in heartbeat. Too much talent to ignore. The reward is potentially huge.

If we did lose Thomas, IF we did, then we'd be able to throw a competitive package at Colin and the opportunity to play at a club that isn't a basketcase, and it would at least lessen the sting of losing Dale.

That is worst case scenario though, as Dale is over 9000 time the player Sylvia is.

If the rumours about Watts are true I would be looking at him before Sylvia if he were at the right club he could definitely be alright,he reads and uses the ball well.
I think Malthouse and Lyon will be all over him if not already and the Cats when Podsiadly goes and I think the Pies should as well.

Has anyone heard any more about what Dale is doing next season,is he looking for a 4 yr contract be good if he did sign up with us it would mean ;like Cloke and Pendles a 1 club player like most of our players in fact.

Gee he came good, was a great pick up. Shame the club got rid of him as soon as they did. Think he had a year or two of good footy lef once his body was right

Medhurst had had enough and left of his own volition, he felt footy was getting too robotic.

I think we should be going after him regardless of what happens with Daisy.

If we're into Jack Watts as well, fantastic.

People criticise these Melbourne footballers so much, but no recruiter is THAT bad!

They are obviously all talented and then their careers come to a grinding halt when drafted by Melbourne. Every other recruiter in the country was into Jack Watts, and we was going Top 3 no matter whether it was Melbourne or West Coast or whoever that took him.

Same with all these other young kids they get, and then ruin.

If the rumours about Watts are true I would be looking at him before Sylvia if he were at the right club he could definitely be alright,he reads and uses the ball well.
I think Malthouse and Lyon will be all over him if not already and the Cats when Podsiadly goes and I think the Pies should as well.

I think Watts is a much bigger stretch for us. Melbourne are not going to let Watts go for free, a decent trade would need to be arrived at to get him - high pick, decent player.

Certainly Watts could blossom at our club, but I do not see him as immediately filling any desperate need. He would almost be sort of becoming a Goldsack type of role player.

Interesting the comparisons here between Dal Santo and Sylvia, c/- Footywire.

A lot more disposals per game for Dal Santo and a lot more games. Similar height and weight, but Dal is getting on, would be 30 next year. Would have to want to play purely for a flag.

Interesting the comparisons here between Dal Santo and Sylvia, c/- Footywire.

A lot more disposals per game for Dal Santo and a lot more games. Similar height and weight, but Dal is getting on, would be 30 next year. Would have to want to play purely for a flag.

I love Dal Santo, was the best mover in confined spaces........until Pendles came along. I sure would love him right now to boost the midfield.

However, I am not sure we need him next year (injury permitting!). He would be an absolute luxury having him cruise around with no tag. Although he may allow D. Swan to play perma forward.

Leigh Brown also springs to mind.

I love Dal Santo, was the best mover in confined spaces........until Pendles came along. I sure would love him right now to boost the midfield.

However, I am not sure we need him next year (injury permitting!). He would be an absolute luxury having him cruise around with no tag. Although he may allow D. Swan to play perma forward.
If we got him, it would be more for kick outs and roam across half back I reckon. Just not sure his defensive skills hold up.

Adam Cooney anyone? RFA.

I think there is a genuine chance he could leave the Dogs. Their management & assistance with his knee apparently dsigruntled him a little, he will not see finals again at the Dogs, Dogs unlikely to offer him any dollars or contract length. Not sure he fits into a list rebuild at the Dogs.

Cooney is only 27 (was surprised at this). He is a big bodied midfielder can play off half back or forward. His form this year has been overshadowed by the Dogs poor form, but he has been excellent. Excluding his knee problems I would take him over Sylvia & Dal Santo every day of the week. This guy is actually a genuine star who would provide something different to our midfield. He should be in the prime of his career.

However, his dodgy knee would need a good look over from our doctors - preferably not the one that knocked back Stevie J! His knee is the only reason you wouldn't consider him.

He was close to pulling the pin due to his knee and most had given up hope of him playing beyond this year. Apparently off his own bat he went to Germany to get treatment and it has helped a lot - no longer causing him discomfort. I think with our medical department pumping some resources into him & some good managment of his body, he could be worth a punt. I am not imagining he can play much past 30, but could has some very good footy left in between.

His upside is massive....as is his possible downside, but sometimes you have to take a risk - look at Luke Ball who all the Saints fans were busy telling us his best years were over due to OP. And imagine if we had of taken the risk on Stevie J, I am thinking we win the 2011 flag had we done this.

Adam Cooney anyone? RFA.

I think there is a genuine chance he could leave the Dogs. Their management & assistance with his knee apparently dsigruntled him a little, he will not see finals again at the Dogs, Dogs unlikely to offer him any dollars or contract length. Not sure he fits into a list rebuild at the Dogs.

Cooney is only 27 (was surprised at this). He is a big bodied midfielder can play off half back or forward. His form this year has been overshadowed by the Dogs poor form, but he has been excellent. Excluding his knee problems I would take him over Sylvia & Dal Santo every day of the week. This guy is actually a genuine star who would provide something different to our midfield. He should be in the prime of his career.

However, his dodgy knee would need a good look over from our doctors - preferably not the one that knocked back Stevie J! His knee is the only reason you wouldn't consider him.

He was close to pulling the pin due to his knee and most had given up hope of him playing beyond this year. Apparently off his own bat he went to Germany to get treatment and it has helped a lot - no longer causing him discomfort. I think with our medical department pumping some resources into him & some good managment of his body, he could be worth a punt. I am not imagining he can play much past 30, but could has some very good footy left in between.

His upside is massive....as is his possible downside, but sometimes you have to take a risk - look at Luke Ball who all the Saints fans were busy telling us his best years were over due to OP. And imagine if we had of taken the risk on Stevie J, I am thinking we win the 2011 flag had we done this.
Only if we get his entire medical team as well for the same price and a 5 year back guarantee.

Now Cooney is someone who I'd gladly take a look at if the price wasn't too high. If we can get him cheap and sell the notion of a premiership to him, I'd love to have him on board.

Same age as Sylvia, so they've got about 3-4 years left. But the difference in attitude makes up for it IMO.

He's been in ripping form this year. Did his first full preseason this year since his Brownlow year and it shows.

Good call.

Cooney would be very interesting.

Sylvia... I've heard so much about his apparent talent, and his problems. Seems like Wellingham in a sense.

Adam Cooney anyone? RFA.

Getting Cooney would be like trying to prize Bob Murphy out of a doggies jumper.... Absolutely no chance!!

I think there is a huge chance he will go - whether its us or not is another thing. Its telling that Cooney is looking for a deal now, however the Dogs have put off all negotiations until end of year. Its usually the other way around! Thats what you tell a coach you are going to sack. I think his departure will be driven by the Dogs not Cooney. And this would make good sense for them.

If he leaves as a RFA they will get some good compensation for him - as a trade I am not sure he would get a lot. Cooney is not going to be the difference between them making finals or not in the next 3 years. The salary cap they save can be better invested in a young key forward. So they can turn Cooney into two quality young guys who are structurally more important to the team for the next 10 years.

It would also be a win for Cooney. Cooney needs some security - a short term deal from the Dogs (likley given his injuries) would mean he is easily scrap heaped if his knee plays up again. He can go to a top team and play finals & maybe land a flag - like his mate Lake.

The timing is perfect for both parties and in a way this sort of deal is exactly why the players pushed for free agancy.

I would expect a few clubs will be looking at him. Geelong is one, they have signalled that they will top up with the Rivers, Caddy & McIntosh trades. They have a bunch of well paid stars on the way out - especially big bodied midfielders. Sydney will be sniffing as will his home state sides Port & Adelaide.

Hypothetically speaking, if we were to get Cooney, what position do you see him playing for the majority of game time?

I mean, he'll definitely spend time in the midfield... but with Beams coming back, and Macaffer spending a lot more time in there with his tagging role, the centre square is going to be pretty full up. You'd also have to consider the load an inside role would place on the knee. Sure, put him in there. But as a rotation (maybe with Swan) rather than a permanent role. We can put him on the wing, but presumably that's where Daisy (if he stays), Young, O'Brien and Sidebottom will share for stints.

Personally, I'd wouldn't mind him being played as a utility like Bartel or Hodge.

Hypothetically speaking, if we were to get Cooney, what position do you see him playing for the majority of game time?

I mean, he'll definitely spend time in the midfield... but with Beams coming back, and Macaffer spending a lot more time in there with his tagging role, the centre square is going to be pretty full up. You'd also have to consider the load an inside role would place on the knee. Sure, put him in there. But as a rotation (maybe with Swan) rather than a permanent role. We can put him on the wing, but presumably that's where Daisy (if he stays), Young, O'Brien and Sidebottom will share for stints.

Personally, I'd wouldn't mind him being played as a utility like Bartel or Hodge.

While I think both Cooney and Sylvia would add something to our team, Cooney especially if he can go back to brownlow form. How much will they add for the price, when we have our full team on the park. I would rather us chase players who can fill our gaps, i.e. Small Quick Defender, someon to replace Ben Johnson off half back.

Although it would be good having 2 bigger bodies in the midfield, Cooney could also potentially play off half back as he uses the ball well

Wow! Seriously picking up a bloke who has been in and out of the Melbourne team over the last few years? A player famous for not getting himself fit enough to be able to run both ways in a game and a reputation for having an appalling attitude?

I think people seriously misunderstand how important a strong culture is. Collingwood would not entertain the thought of Sylvia for one second.
One player wont tarnish a clubs culture, but a clubs culture can sure as hell turn a player the full 180 degrees.