Colonial surface

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

If Ms Storm wants to talk Rugby League, let her talk rugby league. If you dont wanna listen, noones asking you to.
mad.gif

Lay off the Melbourne Storm, dude. Theres thousands of people up in gayland(Sydney) that are jealous of us because of the Storms success. We took their cup away from them and won the flag in our second year. They hate us and I love it.

Thats enough for me to follow em'.

Mr.Gripper
One thing, there are at least 3 people who I know that post here and follow rugby league, BUT PERHAPS THEY ARE SCARED TO TALK ABOUT LEAGUE AND STORM BECAUSE YOU MIGHT RIP THEIR BLOODY HEADS OFF.

The other thing, I talk AFL ON THE DEMONS BOARD which I enjoy very much.
Aren't we allowed to enjoy other footy codes as well.? Soccer is another huge favourite with me, as well as Union.
Cheers

Ms Storm

You can go on about memberships and support for the Melbourne Storm all you like but tyhe simple fact remains that News Limited tips millions of dollars every year into the Melbourne Storm - just to keep them viable.

Take away these massve subsidies and this, er, 'football club' would disappear overnight.

They never make a trading profit, nor are they ever likely to, their level of support is shithouse - just like every other Rugby League club.

Watch what happens when the Storm fall right away this eason and really struggle. Crowds will dwindle, sponsorship will dry up, then News Limited will finally grow sick and tired of throwing good money after bad and just wind the whole operation up.

Don't believe me ? Let me refresh your memory :

Western Reds
Pert Reds
Adelaide Rams
South East Queensland Crushers
Hunter Mariners

all Rugby league clubs that were set up especially in specific areas to further grow the code in tiose areas - all total failures that were wound up quick smart - before they bled any more millions

cheers

Ms.Storm blew in with:
One thing, there are at least 3 people who I know that post here and follow rugby league.

OK, that's you and Poppa accounted for, but seeing you're related somehow, that shouldn't really count as two.

So...who is the other connoisseur of mobile wrestling?
cool.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
OK, that's you and Poppa accounted for, but seeing you're related somehow, that shouldn't really count as two.

So...who is the other connoisseur of mobile wrestling?
cool.gif

Hey Ripper!

I also follow the Storm in particular and League in general.

I am also conversant on English Premier League soccer and Rugby Union.

I think I watch too much Fox Sports!

------------------
TigerFury.net - Independant Richmond Tigers website

...and unfortunately BSA is right.

Unless League pull there heads in and start spending less than they earn, they will find the whole thing will go belly up very shortly!

------------------
TigerFury.net - Independant Richmond Tigers website

Spot on about the League...says he sitting here in his seventies Canterbury-Bankstown jumper.
What I like is the BRAINS behind all this. You know, lesser minds than the AFL would say, 'Without sun this grass won't grow'.
But what would they know. They don't have the VISION to see this EXCITING OPPORTUNITY that Mssrs. Collins and Jackson & Co. share.
My goodness, the AFL will need more than millions of years of evolutionary development or the science of photosynthesis to stop them!
What clever chaps!
Meanwhile, i got an interesting post on a Rugby League Board...
"Gee, I hope Aussie Rules (sic) isn't letting itself be run by the media and a few slick operators. They're the people who stuffed footy (sic) [Rugby League] over the last ten years."
Ms. Storm, I don't doubt your passion, your loyalty or your sincerity - only your intelligence. It is the well meaning naivety of supporters trhat allows the game to be stolen from under there noses.
As they said on the streets of paris in '68, 'don't let them take your own culture and sell it back to you'.

Studious Phil

------------------
Remonstrating with the goal umpire

Spot on about the League...says he sitting here in his seventies Canterbury-Bankstown jumper.
What I like is the BRAINS behind all this. You know, lesser minds than the AFL would say, 'Without sun this grass won't grow'.
But what would they know. They don't have the VISION to see this EXCITING OPPORTUNITY that Mssrs. Collins and Jackson & Co. share.
My goodness, the AFL will need more than millions of years of evolutionary development or the science of photosynthesis to stop them!
What clever chaps!
Meanwhile, i got an interesting post on a Rugby League Board...
"Gee, I hope Aussie Rules (sic) isn't letting itself be run by the media and a few slick operators. They're the people who stuffed footy (sic) [Rugby League] over the last ten years."
Ms. Storm, I don't doubt your passion, your loyalty or your sincerity - only your intelligence. It is the well meaning naivety of supporters trhat allows the game to be stolen from under there noses.
As they said on the streets of paris in '68, 'don't let them take your own culture and sell it back to you'.

Studious Phil

Oh...and I used to play Rugby League Mr Ripper! But Footy is a lot more fun in the bush.

------------------
Remonstrating with the goal umpire

Mr.Gripper,
Well at least one person on this board has come out and stated they appreciate other footy codes and I appreciate that CJH, BUT apart from Poppa (how do you know he is related to me..people may use the same computer/email and not be related. You sure have gone to some length to find that out!)
There are, as I said before at least 3 others that post here that like rugby league, but perhaps dont talk about it, because afterall this is an AFL MB and to them they may be a little embarassed..are you now going to believe me?)
I don't think it really matters what we all discuss here, footy being of course the main subject, but it does not hurt to throw in other subjects and other footy codes IMO. We all have different views and some people like soccer, some like league, some like union, etc. and we shall never agree on all things. So we shall leave it at that because our tastes all vary.
But what I hate is someone bagging league and union and soccer when in fact they are great sports.and sports kids can play if they cannot participate in afl because of body size or other problems.
What I think of lot of Victorians have a problem with is their appreciation of other footy codes and my opinion on that matter is because we are spoonfed afl and given no choice via the press and media, almost brainwashed into thinking afl is the be all end all of all footy codes.
(Also I think that the afl here in Melbourne are in "bed" with the media and press, in other words, they line each others pockets.)
Anyway that's how I was brought up. Pay TV of course changed that a great deal.

BloodStained Angel, and Ripper, don't you think I and all Storm's supporters are aware of their financial situation and Murdoch and so what??????
Its what we choose to do, and we have thousands of supporterrs who will not give us away when we struggle. Some do not like the idea of Colonial, but I am sure they will return. We all love league and I personally feel more at home with them in the social club than I do at Demons gatherings.
I hope you guys realise that MANY MANY AFL people also follow the Storm and absolutely love them as well as their afl team. I have met MANY.
Perhaps you should experience the fun and joy we all share in the social club after games,,,,,yes, even after the 2 Storm lost at Colonial, it was packed to the rafters.
Its sonmething I have never experienced at the Demons turns. Maybe your clubs have better social clubs..
I will continue to follow them, and if by chance they do fold (EVERYONE I KNOW AT STORM IS AWARE OF THE SITUATION) I will be most disappointed. But hey, at least I am enjoying them now and hope to for many years. (If you had to chance to meet the Storm supporters they will do everything possible to keep that club here in Melbourne)

MAybe some of you guys should have a look at rugby league...l fell in love with it a few years before Storm canme to Melb. but when I first went to OP, I knew instantly I found my second team.

Actually I think R/L are finally coming to their senses re their financial situation and that was proved last year with their salary cap reductions. I am sure they are on the right track.
The other thing,if you look at the Pay TV rights, Telstra Sponsorship they are well on their way. By the way, they have still not negotiated their FREE TO AIR RIGHTS, so overall the money they will receive will outweigh what the AFL has received for the same rights and sponsorships combined.

Anyway guys, cheers, and perhaps we'll agree to disagree on a few matters.

Phil, I still hope you cheer for the Doggies, they are doing really well this year with 2 wins and a draw. ....and do you have an AFL TEAM TOO.????

Mr.Gripper,
I think the reason why all this started was because you stated "kick off rugby league because they are contributing to the bad state of Colonial's surface", well I say to you, while they are paying their rent, they are entitled to play their as much as your team and my AFL team do.!!!

My final post to you, BloodStainedAngel and Phil is that I really worry about some of the Victorian clubs surving into the future.
I fought like crazy against the proposed Merger between Hawks and Demons and I fear it is all to no avail. (It was rorted by the afl (if you all only KNEW THE TRUTH WHAT HAPPENED THERE YOU WOULD ALL ROLL OVER IN YOUR GRAVES IF YOU WERE DEAD)
I fear at least 4 clubs will re-locate/merger or disappear say within 10-20 years.
My main point is:: enjoy what you have now, because NO CLUB IS SAFE ESPECIALLY IF ITS A VICTORIAN CLUB.
AND OF COURSE I refer to rugby league clubs as well, so I am enjoying my Melbourne Storm FOR AS LONG AS I CAN, AND WHO KNOWS THAT MAY BE FOR A VERY LONG TIME........only time will tell.

Ms.Storm howled:
Mr.Gripper,
Well at least one person on this board has come out and stated they appreciate other footy codes and I appreciate that CJH, BUT apart from Poppa (how do you know he is related to me..people may use the same computer/email and not be related. You sure have gone to some length to find that out!)

Because I've received emails from you (I'm assuming it's you), and the discovery of Poppa's email addy is only 1 click away. That can't be a very common surname you share.

I don't think it really matters what we all discuss here, footy being of course the main subject, but it does not hurt to throw in other subjects and other footy codes IMO.

Well, you somehow manage to knit an RL reference neatly into virtually every post you make on BigFooty. Do you reciprocate on any RL boards on which you happen to post? I doubt it!

What I think of lot of Victorians have a problem with is their appreciation of other footy codes and my opinion on that matter is because we are spoonfed afl and given no choice via the press and media, almost brainwashed into thinking afl is the be all end all of all footy codes. (Also I think that the afl here in Melbourne are in "bed" with the media and press, in other words, they line each others pockets.)

You don't read the Herald-Storm...er, Herald-Sun then?

The papers and the telly are going to cover whatever brings in the most readers/viewers; in Melbourne that happens to be Australian Football. RL, or Storm in particular, gets a second tier level of coverage; simlar to basketball or soccer, which is about in line with its popularity here.

By the way, they have still not negotiated their FREE TO AIR RIGHTS, so overall the money they will receive will outweigh what the AFL has received for the same rights and sponsorships combined.

Turn it up! You know as well as I do, that that's just Kerry and/or Rupert 'paying' money to a competition they already part-own anyway!
rolleyes.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

[This message has been edited by Mr Ripper (edited 06 March 2001).]

Mr.Gripper
You certainly don't give up, do you.??
Well I won't either.

1. My surname is not the email's name that I post under. You have to trust me on that. Its the truth.
2. Why are you making this such a big deal anyway.? I am only trying to stick up for the fact that all footy codes should get an even break, even if one is far more popular than others because it is important for all kids to have an a choice at all sports and not be dictated to. (I am not suggesting that AFL FORCES KIDS to play at all, but the mere fact I find in Victoria lack of exposure of other footy codes)...it should be a choice they should be able to have and from first hand experience, some kids I know that can't play aussie rules, quickly have been disheartened without some guidance to other areas of sports, particular footy sports. It may be the area I live in, but it has definately happened.
3. If my afl team is attacked unfairly and afl is attacked unfairly (IMO} I too will defend it. The same principle will apply to soccer and Union for me. I love all sports, particularly football of all sorts. I have been bought up on AFL BUT LOVE the other footy codes too. I love to watch the Wallabies and if we are lucky enough in Vicrtoria to get a Super 12's team, I will be first in the door. (yes it will be a franchise...but I don't care,,,they will still represent Victoria....and I tell you something else...the Storm players treat their supporters so much better and are so much more friendlier than any afl players I have known. That may be because they are new to the State, but it has not changed at all in the 3 years...so that's to their credit.
4. I don't won't to continue this bickering because I don't want to turn it into "whose or what is a better code topic" because both afl and nrl are 2 totally different sports that can learn from one another. Both have their good and bad points.
5. I admit that the NRL has HEAPS TO LEARN from the AFL administratively, and are definately behind the times in many areas there, but I think they are turning the corner. I often hear people (usually AFL PEOPLE saying Rugby League is dying, but they have been saying that for years...and I DOUBT THAT VERY MUCH. I think it will never die,...somewhere down the track when you and I are DEAD, Union and League may merge as one code, but not if League people have their say.
6. I admit a lot of my posts have mentioned rugby league, but only because there would have been a comparison of some sorts made. A lot of my posts never mention rugby league, only "Go Storm" in the Melbourne Footy area.

Anyway, I am "leagued" and "afl'd" out and I think that its great there is a good healthy rivalry between codes, because as I said before, if there was a monopoly of one code, life would be very boring, particularly for the kids playing the sports....and that is WHY I want all codes to succeed here in Victoria and Australia.....its good for all our children's sakes.
Your name by chance wouldn't be GERARD HEALY WOULD IT?? (Just joking here, don't take offence)

CHEERS AND I HOPE WE STILL REMAIN FRIENDS.
GO DEMONS
GO STORM

[This message has been edited by Ms.Storm (edited 07 March 2001).]

Ms Storm,

Like I told you in chat, I'm a big Storm fan.

Sorry Mr Ripper.
wink.gif

Although I don't think I will go into the politics of the issue because I'm more inclined to agree Mr Ripper on this one.

I think all of the entertainment and razzamattaz of the game makes it into one complete package. I won't even compare the two sports because Aussie Rules is so far in front it isn't funny.

Having said that, I received my Storm membership in the mail yesterday. The $88 I spent was nothing compared to the $350 I spent on my St Kilda membership. The atmosphere of the social club is something I was missing so I decided to join again. It is strange to explain, but I am a fan of the Melbourne Storm and not really the code.

I agree with you on your views of the players. They are very approachable and while it is something that I would be worried about if the saints players started, I am very impressed with the players acknowledgment of their fans at the end of the match; win, lose or draw.

There's no reason why the two sports can't co-exist together. But being a saints fan first and foremost, the state of the ground is a major concern to myself.
wink.gif

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius

Okey dokey...I know when a good troll has run its race. Don't think I have the constitution to push it any further at this stage.

Btw, Ms.Storm, I will personally award you with an elephant stamp if you can find where I've written that I DON'T like or appreciate rugby league or any other code, or that other games are 'no good'.

------------------
Olmy knows best

Sainter,
Thanks. I won't say more on that matter.

Actually, 3 of my friends are huge Saints fans and one in particular is a huge Storm fan and member as well. She too goes to every game, both clubs. My other friend, also a Saints fan, has shocked herself by actually going to see rugby league and can;t believe she really loves it and the 3rd one has forgotten all about afl and league is her first love. (She still has a soft spot for the Saints tho).

You must be thrilled with the way the club should be heading this year with all of those recruits. I thinks you'll kill them this year...Blight is magic and the Saints will do really well.

Storm have not done so well at home this year. Hoping for a first
"Thunderdome" win this week.
There's been heaps of injuries and suspensions, but I will still be there each week.
Both my teams (Dees and Storm) me thinks will struggle a tad this year!!

Cheers and I hope with catch up on this board soon.

Mr. Ripper who do you support, is it the B.Lions and do you live in Brisbane and ifyou do, have you seen the Broncos play too?

Cheers.

GO DEMONS
GO STORM

Ms Storm,

The storm's form hasn't been too good this year. I went to the first two matches this year. The loss against the cowboys of all teams was a shocking loss.

I watched the match against the dragons on TV Saturday night and even though we won, I thought they were definitely the better team.

Unfortunately, the storm's match against the shark's clashes with the saints practice match against Carlton in Bendigo so I'll miss this weeks match. As much as I enjoy watching them play, AFL will always take precedence. (Even practice matches in Bendigo
wink.gif
)

I've noticed a few saints fans at the rugby, which is a good thing I suppose. Just make sure those saints friends of yours buy a saints membership too.
wink.gif

Oh, and Mr Ripper is a Melbournian and Fitzroy supporter that supports the Lions. (Sorry for answering for you Mr Ripper
wink.gif
)

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius

Sainter,
Don't worry 2 are members (they are shocked at the rise in their nemberships this year as they have reserved seating) and the other is a "leaguie" thru and thru but likes to know if the Saints win. (She's had a bad experience with them and will never return..I have tried to talk her out of it, but she is strongwilled).
I think we all need to buy memberships to keep our clubs alive (esp. the Melbourne Clubs hey..they are under so much pressure financially)

Catch you soon.
Cheers and GO DEMONS AND STORM.