Combined Soccer vs AFL threads - please post here

GhostofJimJess said:
And they'd have got 100,000 to the Tipp-Cork hurling game if Semper Stadium had that capacity too. But point taken.

Interestingly the local pub, which was packed to capacity on Sunday arvo, had four large screens in various rooms. All four tellies were on the Hurling, and not a single one was on the England-Ecuador game.

As for World Cup "sell-outs", at the Socceroos-Japan game, it was announced on the loudspeaker during the match as a "sell-out", which made us all laugh as we were surrounded by hundreds of empty seats. And touts were still getting €150+ for tickets outside the ground.

As a percentage of population GAA is the best supported sport in the world. The combined pop of Tipp and Cirk is about 500,000. The combined pop of Mex and Germany is about 200,000,000.

GAA is the best supported sport in the world.

zero said:
he wrote an article as a layman, with a laymans view of soccer. not an expert soccer article, he never claimed to have inside knowledge of the game, he wasnt discussing formations or anything like that.

seems like he was well qualified to write such an article, and well thought out and well written it was too.

how was he well qualified to write the article? his heady days as coach of the beaumaris under 9's? the article was well thought out and well written but this means nothing because the guy has extremely limited experience in playing, coaching and most probably watching soccer.

your opinion, my opinion and even (god help us all:D) Diego's opinion hold as much weight as his. the fact that he works at The Age is the only reason that his opinion is the only one voiced.

Hadders said:
how was he well qualified to write the article? his heady days as coach of the beaumaris under 9's? the article was well thought out and well written but this means nothing because the guy has extremely limited experience in playing, coaching and most probably watching soccer.
well, yes. the article, as i said, was an article about a laymans view of the game.

as a layman (ie, someone NOT involved with football professionally) he was qualified to write the article. had he written at length about the diamond formation, i would have been sceptical.

but you dont need to be terry venables to talk about the problems with refereeing effecting the results of a game
Hadders said:
your opinion, my opinion and even (god help us all:D) Diego's opinion hold as much weight as his. the fact that he works at The Age is the only reason that his opinion is the only one voiced.
very true.

got a problem with that do ya? go on an internet forum or write a blog or something ;)

Its hard to see Australia having the quality to get to the next WC. With probably at least a dozen of the current squad not being around then. This may have been their best ever chance.

Hosting the WC might be the next chance to get back in there.

*Crash* said:
Its hard to see Australia having the quality to get to the next WC. With probably at least a dozen of the current squad not being around then. This may have been their best ever chance.

But are we not qualifying through Asia next time round? Look out dad, here come the Saudis!!!!!!!

Write off the middle east and asian countries at your own peril. There are plenty of good soccer countries not at the world cup (and the Saudis were there). The point is that Aussie soccer will be on a downslope for some time, while that will not be the case for plenty of others in the Asian confederation.

*Crash* said:
Write off the middle east and asian countries at your own peril. There are plenty of good soccer countries not at the world cup (and the Saudis were there). The point is that Aussie soccer will be on a downslope for some time, while that will not be the case for plenty of others in the Asian confederation.

We have a few hundred players in Europe, so I guess you know how all these guys will do when given the chance? Guys like Lucas Neil where playing in lower divisions only a few short years ago, but look at him now.

Australia will easily qualify in the Asian competition. Did you watch the Saudi's play over the past 2 World Cups? They are diabolical.

*Crash* said:

Idiot,

Australia will dominate Asia.

Treasurer said:
Idiot,

Australia will dominate Asia.

Not completely dominate, but should be good enough to qualify most years. Japan and South Korea are very good, China, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Thailand and Uzbekistan are very beatable. Australia should be top 4 in Asia and on our day can win the Asian Cup.

If any sport might be threatned, it could be basketball. The NBL is going nowhere fast, there doesn't look like there is any Frank Lowy coming through there and the NBA is a shadow of its popularity in the early-mid 90s.

Cricket, Aussie Rules, Rugby L&U should all be safe.

Sir_Adrian84 said:
Not completely dominate, but should be good enough to qualify most years. Japan and South Korea are very good, China, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Thailand and Uzbekistan are very beatable. Australia should be top 4 in Asia and on our day can win the Asian Cup.

Yes, completely dominate! We should win the Asian Cup in a canter. Japan and South Korea are very good... when compared to the rest of Asia ONLY! The rest are rubbish... they are rubbish!

A nice write up on the Aussie sporting spirit, from a UK sports writer.

Kevin Mitchell, Chief Sports Writer.
The Observer (UK)
June 27, 2006

Australia were giants in defeat

The Socceroos played disciplined, committed football, but the good grace with which they accepted their fate was their finest hour.

Australia's finest contribution to this World cup came not in their hard-to-believe comeback against Japan, their gritty fight with Brazil, or even in another show of resilience against Croatia.

Nor was it to be found among their 90 minutes yesterday in Kaiserslautern against Italy, who could hardly believe the impudence of the Australians in playing possession football of the highest order.

It arrived immediately after the agony of losing the match in the very final seconds of the three minutes added on for stoppages, when they conceded a penalty even the Italian journalists banging their desk next to me conceded was marginal.

In defeat, the Australians embraced with resignation and no fuss the players who had just snatched the game away from them. There was no rancour. No haranguing the referee. Just a whole load of dignity.

Then, led by their very special guru Guus Hiddink, they walked to their supporters and applauded them - at just the moment when they probably wanted to cry.

It was the moment when they had reason to feel cheated and to regret, perhaps, their inadequacies in front of goal. They had nothing to be ashamed of. They played near to the boundaries of their talents. They were disciplined, committed, organised - all simple, honest virtues.

Everyone said they weren't good enough. Typically, they weren't listening.
They say Aussies are arrogant in victory. That's probably true. Yesterday they were giants in defeat.

The thought occurred when that final, killing penalty went in: if this were any other team so cruelly denied ... Well, let's just say they'd still be cleaning up the mess.

Kevin Mitchell is the Observer's chief sports writer

Grunty said:

The Observer (UK)
June 27, 2006

The Socceroos played disciplined, committed football, but the good grace with which they accepted their fate was their finest hour.

Australia's finest contribution to this World cup came not in their hard-to-believe comeback against Japan, their gritty fight with Brazil, or even in another show of resilience against Croatia.

Nor was it to be found among their 90 minutes yesterday in Kaiserslautern against Italy, who could hardly believe the impudence of the Australians in playing possession football of the highest order.

It arrived immediately after the agony of losing the match in the very final seconds of the three minutes added on for stoppages, when they conceded a penalty even the Italian journalists banging their desk next to me conceded was marginal.

In defeat, the Australians embraced with resignation and no fuss the players who had just snatched the game away from them. There was no rancour. No haranguing the referee. Just a whole load of dignity.

Then, led by their very special guru Guus Hiddink, they walked to their supporters and applauded them - at just the moment when they probably wanted to cry.

It was the moment when they had reason to feel cheated and to regret, perhaps, their inadequacies in front of goal. They had nothing to be ashamed of. They played near to the boundaries of their talents. They were disciplined, committed, organised - all simple, honest virtues.

They say Aussies are arrogant in victory. That's probably true. Yesterday they were giants in defeat.

The thought occurred when that final, killing penalty went in: if this were any other team so cruelly denied ... Well, let's just say they'd still be cleaning up the mess.

That article should be compulsory reading. Gaining respect is what it's all about. You don't necessarily have to win to gain respect.

People can say soccer is sh&t and manipulated and thats fine but it is still not near enough in comparision with the last 4 out of 5 premierships won by teams with Salary Crap increases.

*Crash* said:

Yes i do believe that a few of the current squad may move on from international football and just play club football. But we will have a core of players that have had experience at the world cup and qualifying for it when we start our campaign against the Asians. Qualifying from Asia is a lot easier on paper then having to go up against the 5th placed South American team.

But I think that Fifa changed to laws regarding the automatic qualifying and the host nation now has to qualify like all the other countries.

-Mav

Grunty said:

The Observer (UK)
June 27, 2006

it's just a shame that all the Australians back home haven't reacted the same way as our players. instead of bitching and moaning about the refereeing how about acknowledging the acheivements of our team in mixing it with the 16 best teams in the world.

OldMav said:
Yes i do believe that a few of the current squad may move on from international football and just play club football. But we will have a core of players that have had experience at the world cup and qualifying for it when we start our campaign against the Asians. Qualifying from Asia is a lot easier on paper then having to go up against the 5th placed South American team.

But I think that Fifa changed to laws regarding the automatic qualifying and the host nation now has to qualify like all the other countries.

-Mav

reigning world cup winner has to qualify, but the host always get automatic qualification.

Re: Soccer Vrs AFL - Will we go global???

eldorado said:
You do realise that there is an American football league, i.e. gridiron league, here in Australia.

Yes , it was on the up and up once upon a time .
And even now in WA , the Gridiron league is probably superior to the RL league.
But because of the population size differential Australian football in the USA is going to impact whereas American Football hasn't , probaly wont , and would only impact RL in Australia .

I want to know how many of these socceroos supporters are as passionate about their country in other sports like rugby union or cricket, or are they only supporting Australia when it suits them.

Sir_Adrian84 said:
I want to know how many of these socceroos supporters are as passionate about their country in other sports like rugby union or cricket, or are they only supporting Australia when it suits them.

I support australia in all sports, sure sometimes like when the australian team is in a much superior position than their opponents, e.g. the cricket team 2 years ago, I might hope they get a bit of a lucky break to make the game more exciting, but I always watch the rugby world cup, I watch highlights of the hockey, I even watch the basketball games and world cup cricket matches involving australia even though I dont really like those sports.

I still dont really understand how some people can have resentment towards the 'bandwagoners'. Sure if someone is trying to make out that they always had a major interest in a sport just because its fashionable ATM their being a bit of a tool. But whats wrong with people getting on board and taking an interest, hell if it wasn't for bandwagoners no sports would grow at all.

Ragnarok14 said:
I support australia in all sports, sure sometimes like when the australian team is in a much superior position than their opponents, e.g. the cricket team 2 years ago, I might hope they get a bit of a lucky break to make the game more exciting, but I always watch the rugby world cup, I watch highlights of the hockey, I even watch the basketball games and world cup cricket matches involving australia even though I dont really like those sports.

I still dont really understand how some people can have resentment towards the 'bandwagoners'. Sure if someone is trying to make out that they always had a major interest in a sport just because its fashionable ATM their being a bit of a tool. But whats wrong with people getting on board and taking an interest, hell if it wasn't for bandwagoners no sports would grow at all.

i agree that 'bandwagoners' can be good for a sport as it introduces new potential followers who may enjoy it and continue to support it after their initial attraction.

But I think the major issue of resentment that most people have with the 'bandwagoners' are the people (many of them who seem to post on BF) who, before the World Cup, hated soccer, said it was a soft game etc. etc. etc. Yet then when Australia start doing OK they are suddenly avid followers until they lose and then they're back to their old ways.

It's these type of close-minded people that are of no benefit to any sport who won't offer anything to the sport in the future. Unfortuneately, from reading these forums, it seems that a large number of AFL supporters fit into this last category.:thumbsdown:

Ragnarok14 said:

The last statement was well said.

This was in the front page of 'The Age' maybe a bit of 'backlash'?

agefront5zz.jpg

Title: 'Gee, are we glad to see you back': The passionate celebrate as 'our' football returns.

Date: July 3 2006

Steve Waldon

THOSE late nights and early mornings watching Australia advance in, then bow out of, the World Cup in Germany are already a memory.

If you believe talkback radio and letters to the editors over the past week, many Victorians have already put Harry Kewell's gout behind them as they reassign their sport minds to team selections vastly more important — such as Richo's non-appearance for Richmond yesterday.

Hiddink or Hall? Viduka or Didak? Who would a Sunday crowd at the MCG be thinking about now that Australia's World Cup tilt is over?

Devotees of the world game point to soccer's rich history — and it certainly has such a thing. But Richmond and Collingwood, yesterday's MCG combatants, pre-date the first World Cup by decades. When Uruguay hosted Argentina in 1930, the Victorian Football League was into its fourth decade and the domestic game was thriving.

Australian football cannot claim, as soccer can and does, to have captured the international imagination. But "our" game does go back 150 years, and its supporters are every bit as convinced that umpires are deaf and blind as soccer fans are that referees should be arrested.

Martin and Julie Boettcher took Kristy, 11, and Thomas, 8, to the MCG yesterday on a bleak Melbourne day, but a game that attracted just over 63,000 of the Tiger and Magpie faithful. The Warragul family perhaps best demonstrated the new mentality that emerged in Australia as the Socceroos represented us in Germany. It was, it seemed, possible to get behind our World Cup squad without losing interest in the AFL.

Martin Boettcher said he thought the soccer was "very, very good" — and maybe he took such an interest in it because of the AFL's split round. No football, so you have to watch the football instead. But the long-time Richmond supporter was pleased to have the Tigers back.

Kristy Boettcher said she had no previous interest in soccer, and even though it was "nowhere near as good" as her beloved AFL, it had piqued her interest.

From now on, she said, when Australia had a national soccer team playing somewhere, she would be following its fortunes.

Collingwood supporter Sarah, 23, of Mentone, was vocal early as Tigers and Magpies either slipped over or ploughed each other into an MCG surface affected by a constant drizzle.

"At least when these footballers go to ground, it's because they've been thrown there," she said mischievously.

She stopped following the World Cup when Australia was knocked out, and said she had not really paid a lot of attention anyway. She supported the Socceroos out of national pride, but found the matches dull.

Her partner, Jack, 25, said the World Cup had made him a fan of both brands of "football".

"I enjoyed the chessboard moves of some of the soccer teams, and it was hard not to get caught up in the whole thing," he said. "But sitting here now, among a good MCG crowd — gee, this is still exciting for me."

Allen Wade, of Maldon, is from an older generation not readily distracted by fads.

He was adamant that the World Cup had started and would finish with not a jot of intrigue for him.

"Melbourne sport is AFL, not soccer," he said. "We're footy and cricket. We're not interested in rugby, rugby union, soccer, none of that."

But was there not a small interest in the Socceroos generated by patriotism?

"No, none at all. In fact, I prefer Brazil or France," he said.

Collingwood's banner said being part of the club was "an attitude, a way of life". Strangely enough, they say the same thing at Manchester United.

Face it mate AFL will NEVER be global, its not even national. The only people who watch AFL outside of Victoria are expat Victorians. It shouldnt be called Australian football it should be victorian football which would at least improve the minute chance of afl going global . honestly would you watch Sri Lankan football or Peruvian football. Football has the best athletes in the world with skills that defy possibility( google Ronaldihno crossbar video), Rugby codes exhibit the powerful brutality of the body and mind. AFL one picks the ball up,off the ground, and boots it before they get tackled. The goals are huge and you even get a point for coming close. A reason for it limited popularity is its a game most people can play well, players switching to AFL are more successful than players switching from it.Unfortunately but honestly the game isnt good enough for globalisation. Cricket and Rugby arent even good enough and have no right to call any of thier competitions "World Cup". 20 nations generously compete in their "world cups" predominantly amateur players. represent 10% at best of all nations of the world, they should be called one tenth of the world cups. The true and only World Cup is a do or die clash between 204 of the 208 nations of the world that is Football. Any AFL person wishing for afl to be global is a guppy hoping to grow into a whale when all it could ever grow into is a big guppy and its not even there yet. I like all footballs i like all sports i like AFL and dont want to offend anyone.If you ask the average queenslander who won the AFL premiership in 2000, 1 in ten would answer correctly - Brisbane. I conducted this informal study in Dec 2003. I was shocked. the other 9 out of ten said collingwood because its the only AFL team they know. I luv AFL for what it is not for what it could never be. A person sitting in Sao Paulo or Cairo or even Tokyo are not gonna watch an AFL game but they did watch Harry Kewell and the socceroos and they will watch again when the world cup comes to Australia. AFL really has to lose it's unfounded arrogance and stop alienating themselves from the rest of the world first. Get a grip outside of Victoria its not catching on.