Sacramento Kings
From afc.com.au

Comfortable in the Crows' nest
5:46:05 PM Mon 24 November, 2003
Alan Shiell
afl.com.au

Adelaide’s three new draftees – talls Fergus Watts, Josh Krueger and Ben Hudson – had their first training runs with the Crows at West Lakes on Monday, admitting they were ‘excited’ about the challenges ahead of them.

Watts, 18 and 197 centimetres, from Sandringham Dragons, Krueger, 20 and 195 centimetres, from Glenelg and Hudson, 24 and 199 centimetres, from Werribee, were taken at Nos. 14, 31 and 58 in Saturday’s National AFL Draft.

Watts said: “It’s good … they’re a good club, a good organisation … and they’ve got great blokes in (Andrew) McLeod, (Wayne) Carey, (Mark) Ricciuto and all them to learn off, so I’m really excited.”

Krueger said: “It’s definitely a great feeling to be at a club with the likes of Wayne Carey and Ian Perrie. Them being my mentors, I couldn’t ask for anything better. I’ve definitely got a bit to learn so I’m going to be like a sponge and soak up anything they can provide for me.”

Hudson said: “It’s all come as a shock. If I was a betting man, I wouldn’t have put any money on me at all (being drafted). But it happened so I’m just stoked.”

Expanding on the Carey theme, Watts said: “From a development point of view as a footballer, Wayne Carey’s about as good as it gets as a centre half-forward, so if you’re going to learn off someone, there’s none better than him. So I’ll stick pretty close to him the next six months to a year and soak it all up.

“I like playing centre half-forward more than anywhere else, but I’ve played centre half-back most of my life – centre half-back, centre half-forward, full forward. I played a bit of ruck-rover during the year for the Dragons. I just love playing footy so I’ll play anywhere.

“Yeah, I’d to play senior footy next year but I don’t know whether they’d fit me into the team anywhere. I’ll just keep working hard and try to get a crack at it.

“I think areas for me to improve would be just my overall, all-round football – leadership, footy smarts, all that kind of stuff. I can improve as much on my marking as my kicking and handballing.”

Admitting ‘about nine or 10 clubs’ had spoken to him before the draft, Watts said: “I’m not coming to Adelaide to be here for two years and then leave, so, yeah, I see myself as a one-club player and a long-term prospect, so hopefully it all pans out that way.”

Werribee-born Hudson, who moved to Queensland at the age of eight, is coming off only his first season in the VFL. He was runner-up in Werribee’s best-and-fairest award this year, gaining valuable experience against some AFL-listed ruckmen, after two years of Australian football with the University of Queensland, where he completed his physiotherapy studies, and two years with Mount Gravatt.

“I played a little bit (of footy) as a kid – when I was 13 and 14 – then I played a lot of junior basketball (including state championships for the Gold Coast) and then went off to uni and played a bit of rugby union,” he said. “In my third year at uni I went down to the local uni (Aussie rules) club and started playing there.

“I thought I might give it a crack in Victoria (this year) and rocked up on Werribee’s door and said: ‘Do you reckon I could get a game?’ So funny things happen.”

Asked what he thought were his strengths and weaknesses, Hudson said: “Probably because I’m pretty new to the game, anything could be a weakness – disposal and obviously my fitness needs work. I suppose as a strength I find I can get the ball as a ruckman – sort of get a few possessions.

“It’s going to be another huge step up. I’ll either sink or swim. You’re not going to know until you’re out there but, from what everyone says, it’s going to be a whole lot faster. There are not five to 10 AFL players out there, there are 22.”

That's fantastic to hear from Watts. Someone who is a gun AND wants to be a one club player is exactly what we need.

Originally posted by spindoctor
That's fantastic to hear from Watts. Someone who is a gun AND wants to be a one club player is exactly what we need.
Good to hear it for a change. Not those youngsters who say the right things but while they are saying it they are looking at the exit door.

197 cm ruck rover sounds scary.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Krueger said: “It’s definitely a great feeling to be at a club with the likes of Wayne Carey and Ian Perrie. Them being my mentors, I couldn’t ask for anything better. I’ve definitely got a bit to learn so I’m going to be like a sponge and soak up anything they can provide for me.”
Remind me again, did we take Kreuger as a future KPP or a ruckman. :confused:

Re: Re: Comfortable in Crows Nest

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Remind me again, did we take Kreuger as a future KPP or a ruckman. :confused:
Apparently both.

I think he won't cut it as a ruckman but could make it as a KPP maybe a FF or a FB/CHB. He is a big boy (broad shoulders) so he definetly has a nice build for a KPP.

Re: Re: Re: Comfortable in Crows Nest

Apparently both.

I think he won't cut it as a ruckman but could make it as a KPP maybe a FF or a FB/CHB. He is a big boy (broad shoulders) so he definetly has a nice build for a KPP.

I think we took him as a potential KPP who can be a fill-in ruck. Fantasia said he was very athletic and a strong contested mark. Sounds more like a KPP to me.

Yeh I reckon KPP. Sounds like Bock, Hentschel and Rutten will be under pressure.

We have a ruck backup in Hudson, and will probably develop a ruckman through the rookie list.

Apparently both.

Perhaps he could develop into that 2nd big defender we need, as I can't see a spot for him up forward. I wonder what position the Bays will play him in 2004?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Comfortable in Crows Nest

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Perhaps he could develop into that 2nd big defender we need, as I can't see a spot for him up forward. I wonder what position the Bays will play him in 2004?
They played him in the ruck and up forward. I don't think that will change. However, he might be the gorilla we need for the likes of Lynch (not straight away of course but he could develop into one)

from realfooty.com.au

Two Victorian draftees prepare to eat Crow
By Alan Shiell
November 25, 2003

Ben Hudson, all 199 centimetres of him, expected to be training with his mates at Werribee this week, preparing for only his second season in the VFL.

Yesterday, though, he found himself doing morning and afternoon training sessions with AFL club Adelaide and savouring the Crows' plush facilities at AAMI Stadium at West Lakes.

In between, ruckman-forward Hudson, 24, and Sandringham Dragons' tall forward Fergus Watts, 18, Adelaide's other Victorian draftee, eased their way through a media conference and emerged as talented, mature young men still coming to terms with all the attention thrust on them since they were claimed by the Crows with picks No. 58 and 14, respectively, in last Saturday's national draft.

Watts was always going to be an early pick but Hudson was something of a bolter, to the extent that he was headlined as "Ben who?" in an Adelaide newspaper yesterday.

With his studies successfully behind him, Hudson thought he would "give it (footy) a crack in Melbourne".

"I went down with my brother and girlfriend," he said. "I hadn't organised anything. I had family there.

"I wrote to a few clubs and asked whether they were interested. But my grandmother's house was the closest house to the Werribee Football Club so I went there. I rocked up on Werribee's door and said, 'Do you reckon I could get a game?' So funny things happen.

"I've played only a year in the VFL and obviously played against some AFL-listed blokes. I suppose I did all right there (he was runner-up to Travis Robinson in the club's best-and-fairest award)."

Hudson admitted he had spoken "a little bit" to the Western Bulldogs, and when asked what he thought were his strengths and weaknesses, he said: "Probably because I'm pretty new to the game, anything could be a weakness - disposal and obviously my fitness needs work.

"I suppose as a strength I find I can get the ball as a ruckman - sort of get a few possessions. I'm probably not the tallest of ruckmen but I like to punch the ball out and get a bit physical, and work out ways to get it."

English-born Watts, 197 cen-timetres, moved to Moorabbin at age four and began barracking for St Kilda. Reminded he now had the chance to work alongside Wayne Carey, he said: "From a development point of view as a footballer, Wayne Carey's about as good as it gets as a centre half-forward, so if you're going to learn off someone, there's none better than him.

"So I'll stick pretty close to him the next six months to a year and soak it all up."

Asked about reports he was trying to base his game on that of Dermott Brereton and whether the former Hawthorn champion was a hero of his (he has Dermie's blond-streaked hair): "Not really. It's more in the last year or year and a half where my body's got bigger and I've started to play a bit more like him.

"I'm splitting more packs and that kind of thing, which I really enjoy about football. That's why I play - I love hitting bodies and taking marks. Yeah, I'd like to play senior footy next year but I don't know whether they'd fit me into the team anywhere. I'll just keep working hard and try to get a crack at it.

"I'm not coming to Adelaide to be here for two years and then leave, so, yeah, I see myself as a one-club player and a long-term prospect, so hopefully it all pans out that way."

From afc.com.au

Krueger said: “It’s definitely a great feeling to be at a club with the likes of Wayne Carey and Ian Perrie. Them being my mentors, I couldn’t ask for anything better.”

Perrie?! Mentor?! Surely he jests...

Originally posted by acg_204*

Geez... I'm sure he could learn the craft of CHF from them, but both Carey and Perrie as "mentor(s)" :confused:

Maybe he means Drew Carey and Luke Perry?

“I’m not coming to Adelaide to be here for two years and then leave, so, yeah, I see myself as a one-club player and a long-term prospect, so hopefully it all pans out that way.”

quote from Fergus Watts Monday 24/11/03

Good to hear this from the young lad.........lets hope that his and our dreams come true! Lets hope we are still talking about Watto (our Premiership Captain, Brownlow Medalist, Club Champion) in 2013!

k
xx

You forgot, Norm Smith Medallist, multiple AA, Coleman medallist etc.....:p

I didn't want to put 2 much pressure on the kid.........:D :D but I would be quiet happy to add those to his list of achievements!

k
xx

Apparently both.

Are you MELLOWING on the AFC picking him Stiffy?????:p :D :D ;)

Originally posted by acg_204*
Ian could teach more than half of our club a good thing or two... like trying to take a good grab fro example. Surest hands in the side IMO...

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Comfortable in Crows Nest

Not really.

I just hope that I am proven wrong.

I hope you are proven wrong also it's about time we get something out of these 'kids' we pick up in the draft, the AFC dont have a a good track record:rolleyes:

I used to (used to) rate Schell.

He used to take some nice pack marks, and that night against the Lions he towelled up Mal Michael and kicked 4 goals.

I thought if he put some bulk on him he'd be a good full-forward. Unfortunately, that never happened.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Comfortable in Crows Nest

Originally posted by maccas_no1
You obviously didnt watch Showdown 14:rolleyes:

Perrie couldnt take a mark all day, Schell would have been better value than Perrie:rolleyes: :(

If I remember correctly, Perrie took twice as many contested marks than any other AFC player this year.