Commentators using nicknames rather than real names..unprofessional or just Australian?

I love listening to Triple M, so have no problem with the nickname thing. Considering how well they do in the ratings, it seems like people on here are in the minority. We really do get a lot of serious people on here who like to criticise footy to the extreme.

Still better than this gay "stevie j" "jakey king" "benny johnson" shit we have to put up with

Funniest thing. As I was reading that, my mate on the train says 'Stevie J'.

But yeah, I don't like it.

On to the original question, I don't really mind it. I seem to be in the minority.

Though I absoloutly detest Big Boy and the Human Meatball (who is that?) and also 'Roosey' saying Goodsey and Joey and Teddy.

Just as annoying is the commentators' propensity to add the letter "Y" to seemingly every second player's given name - "Scotty", "Lukey", "Matty", "Nicky", "Chrissy", "Joshy" and "Tommy" are among the ones that come up all the time. How hard can it be to just call the player's last name?!

We can now add "Benny", "Jakey, "Jeffy", "Timmy", "Maxy", "Sammy", "Stevey" and even "Reecey" (WTF?) (and there are probably others I am forgetting) to this ever-expanding list.

Basically, if your first name does not already end in a "y", it will do after the commentators are finished with you! :rolleyes:

We can now add "Benny", "Jakey, "Jeffy", "Timmy", "Maxy", "Sammy", "Stevey" and even "Reecey" (WTF?) (and there are probably others I am forgetting) to this ever-expanding list.

Basically, if your first name does not already end in a "y", it will do after the commentators are finished with you! :rolleyes:

the worst :thumbsdown:

I love listening to Triple M, so have no problem with the nickname thing. Considering how well they do in the ratings, it seems like people on here are in the minority. We really do get a lot of serious people on here who like to criticise footy to the extreme.
When triple m call the game though the nicknames don't sound forced. They just come up and go with it.

'The human meatball' and 'big boy' are forced as it gets. You can just tell BT is waiting all game to say them and has it planed.

Triple M do nick names the right way, and it's great listening.

They do it some in the NBA. For example, star point guard from the 80s Ervin "Magic" Johnson was known by his nickname rather than his real name.

When triple m call the game though the nicknames don't sound forced. They just come up and go with it.

'The human meatball' and 'big boy' are forced as it gets. You can just tell BT is waiting all game to say them and has it planed.

Triple M do nick names the right way, and it's great listening.

I almost watched a game as a neutral tonight. 5 minutes of Taylor and I turned it off. Tried again later, same result.

Use their surnames you fat ****ing campaigner. Stop talking shit to Darcy and try and pay attention to which side has the ball. I hope you fall down a mineshaft and impale yourself. You campaigner.

They do it some in the NBA. For example, star point guard from the 80s Ervin "Magic" Johnson was known by his nickname rather than his real name.

well actually he was known as magic during his younger days, not just as an nba player, and was called so then. so as he ascended to the association his magic nickname simply carried over.

Commentators using nicknames rather than real names..unprofessional or just Australian?