Concerts you have been to.

Chasing the Dream

I'm Matthew Campbell from Sportsbet
Brisbane Lions - Pearce Hanley Player Sponsor 2014 Brisbane Lions - Ryan Harwood 2011 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Tom Rockliff 2012 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Daniel Merrett 2008 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Simon Black 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 29, 2004
The GABBA is my home
Brisbane Lions
Jets, Padres, USC, Utah Jazz
Along the lines of "music you are listening to" I was thinking about the many different concerts that we must have all been to over time.

I must admit that this line of thought crossed my mind as I turned back the clock 20 odd years last night and saw Mental As Anything play at the Cooly Hotel last night.

The boys belted out all of the favourites, and I was amazed at both the size of the crowd, the energy of the crowd and the age of us all as well. Everything from 18 to 60 I would have guessed.

Greedy Smith was a little crook and did not quite make the end of the show, but all in all it was a great night, and if you are in Brisbane tomorrow, I believe they have a free show at the Casino.

I know that this is going to be a low, low start on the scale of live gigs we all would have seen, but it would be interested to hear some of the huge shows some have seen, and even some of those obscure gigs that turned out to be bigger and better than expected.

International Acts:

Radiohead (1998, Festival Hall)
Smashing Pumpkins (1998, Rod Laver)
Gomez (2000, The Hi-Fi Bar)
Doves (2000, Revolver)
Yo La Tengo (2000, Prince of Wales)
The Strokes (2001, The Hi-Fi Bar)
New Order (2002, Metro)
Doves (2002, The Hi-Fi Bar)
Pearl Jam (2003, Rod Laver)
R.E.M. (2005, Rod Laver)
Pearl Jam x3 (2006, Rod Laver, with Kings of Leon as the support act)
Ben Harper (2007, Blues Festival - Byron Bay)
Smashing Pumpkins (2008, Festival Hall)

As for Australian acts, I've been to see You Am I, Even and Augie March a lot of times at a lot of different venues around Melbourne, too. Been to the odd festival here and there as well.

International Acts:

Metallica
Slayer
Mudhoney
Ozzie Osbourne
Steve Morse
Fear Factory
Alice Cooper
U2
Cannibal Corpse
The Dave Mathews Band
Morbid Angel
Entomed
Radiohead
Nirvana
Sepultura
Iron Maiden
Janes Addiction
Led Zepplin
Black Sabbath
Motorhead
Joe Satriani
Motley Crue
Kiss
Strapping Young Lad
Korn
Static X
Messugah
Pink Floyd
Steve Vai
Alice in Chains
Jeff Buckley
Anthrax
Slipknot
Primus
Suicidal Tendencies
White Zombie
Kyuss
Machine Head
Megadeth
Ministry
Carcass
Faith no more
Nine Inch Nails
System of a Down
Helmet
Tool
Sound Garden
The Pixies
The Ramones
NWA
Beastie Boys
Public Enemy
Tori Amos
Pantera
Exodus
Britney Spears

And a hell of a lot of Aussie Acts

Bands That I've seen Live (since January 2007):
-Trivium (x2) (circa January 2007 @ The Palace, October 31st @ Festival Hall)
-Marilyn Manson (October 13th 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-Arch Enemy (October 31st 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-Machine Head (October 31st 2007 @ Festival Hall
-Lacuna Coil (November 13th 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-DevilDriver (November 13th 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-Static-X (November 13th 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-Megadeth (November 13th 2007 @ Festival Hall)
-Nightwish (January 30th 2008 @ The Palais)
-Iron Maiden (February 7th 2008 @ Rod Laver Arena)
-Immortal (March 10th 2008 @ Billboard Nightclub)
-Foo Fighters (April 25th 2008 @ Rod Laver Arena)
-Children of Bodom (June 22nd 2008 @ The Metro)
-Slipknot (October 27 2008 @ Rod Laver Arena)

I dont really know much about Trivium, but I watched that Roadrunner Anniversary concert recently and learned to hate the lead singer.

Hate is probably too strong a word, but you get where I'm coming from.

Seeing all these gigs at Melbournes Festival Hall, It makes me think how much I miss Brisbanes Festival Hall. R.I.P.

I dont really know much about Trivium, but I watched that Roadrunner Anniversary concert recently and learned to hate the lead singer.

Hate is probably too strong a word, but you get where I'm coming from.

Seeing all these gigs at Melbournes Festival Hall, It makes me think how much I miss Brisbanes Festival Hall. R.I.P.

It depends which Trivium you listen to. Their first album, Ascendancy, is easily their best because the vocals are much more raw compared to the more 'processed' sound you hear from them now.

I don't know if you've been to Melbourne's Festival Hall but, IMO, it's a s***hole. I hate going there but there really isn't many alternatives for bands, unfortunately.

Maybe he (trivium singer) was just having an off night or something, but it irked me how he kept trying to do power screams and growls which were flat and tailed off into croaks.

I dont know if you've seen the concert, but they ended up forcibly taking the mike from him, which was kind of funny cause he was still on stage and didn't really know what to do so he just wandered around looking annoyed.

First gig I ever caught was Black Sabbath at Brisbane's Festival Hall waaaaaaaaaay back. Last gig I went to was the sublime Laughing Clowns on Friday night at GOMA. I have Primal Scream lined up in a couple of weeks. I reckon I could spend my life at gigs if it was possible.

I've now been to so many I would have to think very hard about it, as I would leave plenty out if I attempted to make a list.

Highlights over the years have been sooooo many. The funniest highlight though is my parents buying me a tix to see Glen Campbell at Twins Towns in the 80's. I got taken kicking and screaming, but he was so good that I reckon I was the first to my feet at the end calling for an encore.
When I was a young bloke I got to see a lot of Jazz that my dad liked as I was designated driver for the price of the ticket. Great times. Brubeck, Kenny Ball as just a couple of examples. I am such a fan of Dead Can Dance that when Lisa Gerrard played I went to that instead of seeing Vossy's farewell. Twas a tough call but had to done. She was utterly superb as our colleague blynd_freddie will testify. I would pay what it took to see her again.

As to Festival Hall I would not say that I miss it as such but it did have a certain charm. I actually got to see Queen there with Freddie the consummate front man. The other venue that was good in an odd way was Cloudlands. The bouncy floor was fun.

I think as I have got older and less interested in crowds the Tivoli is a nice venue. I caught Morcheeba there a couple of weeks back and we had good viewing even at the back. The Troubadour is a great venue as well. Holds about 200 when full and is very intimate.

Too much music and not enough time:(.

Two standouts for me:

1) Guns n Roses at Calder Park in Melbourne. General Admin - got there at 4am. Was about 40 degrees and I can remember LOADS of people passing out in the heat and trucks coming past spraying us with water to keep us cool. When we got in there I remember they ran out of bottles of water and we spent the afternoon drinking BIG M's instead (smart move in the heat, NOT). We were miles away from the stage but close enough to enjoy the mudslide after it bucketed down rain. In the end it was an ace day, I made it out alive and the concert was beaut too, although I enjoyed Skid Row more than the Gunners.

2) Metallica at the Tennis Centre. Got seats in the first tier, 2 rows back, looking straight at the stage. There was some Sydney heavy metal band playing first and this bloke in front of me with really really really long hair was head banging away and playing his air guitar. He was headbanging so hard and fast that he hit his head on the rail in front and split his head open - but kept going. Blood was going everywhere, it was like Alice Cooper was up there with us. Anyway he lasted not more than 30 seconds with a gash about 15cm long and was taken away by St Johns - never came back.

I'd do a spiel on the Vanilla Ice concert but you'd all ask for your twenty seconds back ;). Only thing I'll say is that I still have the concert t-shirt, yep yep.

I've seen -

Abandon All Hope
The Acacia Strain
Against x3
The Amity Affliction x2
Anime Fire
Anti-Flag
As Blood Runs Black
As Silence Breaks
Bad Blood
Between The Buried And Me
Bias B x2
Bleeding Through
Bliss N Eso x2
Break Even
Bring Me The Horizon
Buried In Verona x4
Carpathian x6
Comeback Kid
Confession x3
The Cure
Cut Chemist
A Day To Remember
Deez Nuts x4
DJ Shadow
Drapht x3
For The Fallen Dreams
The Ghost Inside
Ghost Town
Have Heart
Her Nightmare x4
The Herd
Hilltop Hoods x2
Homewrecker
Horrorshow
I Killed The Prom Queen x2
Illzilla x2
Jack Napier x2
Java
Lionheartxxx
Mary Jane Kelly x2
The Mountain Goats
Muph + Plutonic
No Apologies
No Love Lost x2
No Way Out x6
Parkway Drive x4
Pegz x2
Pentridge
Pez
Pigs! Bail! x3
Placebo
Pro Team
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Something More
State Of East London x2
Suicide Silence
TZU
Urthboy x2
Verse
Whitechapel
50 Lions x6

That's about it, I may have missed some minor bands (most likely). BUt I have gone to see them. Nearly all Australian acts, mainly hip hop and hardcore punk. With a French hip hop trio and a few American deathcore bands.

Edit - the numbers that I have seen may be off by one or two.

How were Jane's Addiction Rawhead? Hope it was back in their hey day. I have seen some tapes of live shows and they are one of those bands who I never rated until I saw the passion of the live show and then it was just wow.

I have been to few shows over the years. A few highlights for me:

Machine Gun Fellatio - love their music and they are showmen to the nth degree. Roller skates, stilts, juggling, costumes, female nudity - what more could you want.

Ben Harper and Jack Johnson - first saw Jack at Blues and Roots about 2001 and hadn't heard of him before that and he blew me away. Saw him play in support of Ben Harper a year or two later and then at the end of Ben's set Jack and Ben played a few songs together as the encore and that is what everyone was talking about after the concert. They were fantastic together.

Abby Dobson - another one who reaches up and grabs you when you see her live. Saw her up close playing with Paul Mac and came out of it thinking I can't believe how sexy she was.

Xavier Rudd - the best one man band ever.

Ummm, you may have missed some minor bands there sherminator??

Wow, I am getting old....

Haha, don't worry. I'd be seeing more well-known bands if I had the money. Till then it is $12 admission for four hours of music.

Plus I like the alternative Aussie scene, be it hip hop or hardcore. ;)

Haha, don't worry. I'd be seeing more well-known bands if I had the money. Till then it is $12 admission for four hours of music.

Plus I like the alternative Aussie scene, be it hip hop or hardcore. ;)
In a few years you can look back and tell stories about how you saw this band or that at venues with only 50 others. I went to college with one of the Powderfinger guys and we went along to gigs so they would have a crowd. Also used to go to parties with the regurg boys although didn't see any of their early concerts.

My 1st concert was Paul McCartney and the Wings over the World Tour at the Myer Music Bowl 1975, 3rd row from the front.
As a teenager I remember being blown away by the whole event, even now, after looking up the set list of, "Venus And Mars"/"Rock Show", "Jet", "Let Me Roll It", "Spirits of Ancient Egypt", "Little Woman Love/C Moon", "Maybe I'm Amazed", "Lady Madonna", "The Long and Winding Road", "Medicine Jar", "Picasso's Last Words", "Richard Cory", "Bluebird", "I've Just Seen a Face", "Blackbird", "Yesterday", "You Gave Me the Answer", "Magneto and Titanium Man", "Go Now", "Letting Go", "Live and Let Die", "Call Me Back Again", "My Love", "Listen to What the Man Said", "Junior's Farm", "Band on the Run", "Hi, Hi, Hi", "Soily".

I still have the ticket… [blushes, again]

Over the course of time I have seen bands like INXS develop from doing Rolling Stone covers in 77-78? at pubs like The Ferntree Gully Hotel to over the last couple of years, shows by individuals and groups like Yasunao Tone, Patrick Wolf, ISIS, Boris, Sun O))), KTL, Cornelius, Iron & Wine, Blonde Redhead, Battles, DEVO, Hot Chip, Lisa Gerrard, Bill Callahan/[SMOG], Harmonia, Howe Gelb, DJ Shadow with Cut Chemist, Pink Martini, Ween, Ben Folds, Spiritualized.

And have tickets to see The Melvins on Tuesday with Acid Mothers Guru Guru and Of Montreal lined up over the next few weeks.

How were Jane's Addiction Rawhead? Hope it was back in their hey day. I have seen some tapes of live shows and they are one of those bands who I never rated until I saw the passion of the live show and then it was just wow.

Fanbloodytastic, it was 2003, so not in their heyday, but still an amazing performance. I dont think they had mellowed much.

I keep hearing rumours of them getting back together, but somehow I doubt it.

I think the best concert I ever went to was Slayer at Festival Hall in Brisbane on their 'Seasons in the Abyss' tour, late nineties sometime. The power in their performance with nothing but red and blue lights for backdrop, unbelieveably good.

I got to meet Kerry King and Paul Bostoph before the gig cause a friend of mine was inteviewing them for radio. Kerry King is one intense angry short guy, but he nicely signed my guitar.

Second best would be a toss up between Sepulturas 'Chaos A.D.' tour, and Morbid Angels 'Blessed are the Sick' gig at some club which used to be at the bottom of the Myer center in Brisbane. I wish I could remember the name of that club, some damn fine bands played there. Fear Factories 'Soul of a new Machine' gig at the same place was also pretty memorable.

edit: I just found out tickets for Morbid Angels first show here in 13 years go on sale tomorrow. Spooky.

Best non heavy thing would be the Jeff Buckley gig, man that guy could sing.

Saw Paul Kelly at the Ipswich civic centre, tickets were half the price of in town. He was fantastic, he sang nearly 30 songs. He is the best storyteller through song!

Saw Counting Crows at Festival Hall, as a massive Counting Crows fan it was almost the best night of my life. They are a class act, their music isn't for everyone but they were brilliant.

Jimmy Barnes at the Alex Hills hotel was better than what i thought, got dragged along by a mate and was very impressed with Barnesy.

Powderfinger at riverstage were disappointing, i put it down to the poor sound from the venue.

Wiggles at the entertainment centre was pretty good, they put on a good show but we realised the whole giving roses to Dorothy is a bit of a farce, unless we are handing them to Dorothy we weren't giving ours up!

High Five at the Convention Centre were a disgrace, good aerial work but they were poor performers!

Madonna at the MCG seated in a corporate box
Robbie Williams, seated 2nd row from the roof at Telstra Dome......:eek:
Billy Joel twice at the Tennis centre
Psuedo Echo... rocking on the lines in Country Vic, courtesy of VLine
Missed going to see Bruce Springsteen due to illness

Hi 5 and the Wiggles of course with the boys when they were younger....

Does "Cats" and "Phantom of the Opera" count ??? or are they for a different thread ??:rolleyes: