Congrats

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE57

Thanks but I'm so bloody gutted at the moment, its not funny.

Cheers guys.

It was a great game. Who would've thought that these tense games (Syd vs WCE) were dead and buried?

Congrats. I hate your team and all of its supporters on this site. But I respect that they do whatever it takes to win.

Thanks mate. That really means a lot to me. Good luck for the rest of the season. You're a top bloke etc etc :thumbsu:

What a rivarly,

Apart from that Hall brain fade on Staker, the games between the two teams have been played in amazingly great spirit with some amazingly close results.

How could the two clubs not have the upmost respect each other?

Is there a trophy on offer (apart from the 4 points) for the games amongst these teams?

Congrats on the win. Good Luck for the rest of the season.

Cheers mate. It's always gutting to lose a game like that but I reckon theres a few positives to take away from it for your blokes. All the best for a short and successful rebuild.

Well done to West Coast. You guys were amazing, and I thought you had it well and truly sewn up by half time.

A team of mainly young guys beat a near full strength top 8 team. Pleanty of upside :)

Congrats guys, I haven't felt this bad about footy since... I'm sure you can guess.

Obviously gutted, but considering we made seven changes and were given no chance, we did okay. Honourable losses suck.

As i posted in another thread:

Congragulations on another tight, and yet superb win. I think we all knew in the 3rd quater it was going to be a close, heartbreaking game for one team, and the other team was just going to barely win it. And well, you guys we're better on the day. Glad to see the rivallry still going

P.S It just means we win the next one by 5 points :P

Good luck fella's and i hope you make it far into the finals.. Peace out

As i posted in another thread:

Congragulations on another tight, and yet superb win. I think we all knew in the 3rd quater it was going to be a close, heartbreaking game for one team, and the other team was just going to barely win it. And well, you guys we're better on the day. Glad to see the rivallry still going

P.S It just means we win the next one by 5 points :P

Good luck fella's and i hope you make it far into the finals.. Peace out
Well said and bad luck,i carnt imagine st.scum posters being like that

I like St Kilda, they have nice guernseys.

Plus, the cake shops are great

Congratulations guys on a gritty win

Although we faded away like that, i think that it showed alot for the future, and alot of young kids looked good. These types of game are experience for the young kids and shows them what type of kahunas they need to make and play at AFL level, and how to handle playing such an outfit, and going about in close games. Hopefully by learning like this, we wont lose those close grand finals in the future

What a game though, never counted you guys out of it, even at half time. Another great game to the rivalry, which brings back some memories

2005-QF- West Coast by 4 points
Adam Hunter marks his name as a drifting forward, with a magnificent 4 goal last quarter. Woosha decided to push him up forward for that last quarter, and he took some absolute beauty's. Not to ignore a gritty sydney, that stayed in there the whole night, and were never out of it

2005-GF- Sydney by 4 points
Leo barry writes his name into the record books, with that mark that will go back in history as one of the greatest moments. Eagles manage to get within 4 points of that premiership without a full forward, and sydney send off Jason Ball in style. The second best AFL grand final, second to what preceded the next year of course

2006-R15- West coast by 2 points
Judd, Kerr, Cousins all fired and a late goal to stenglin got us over the line, after a gritty comeback by the swans. Another low scoring match, and just what you go to the football for, a good old fashioned contest with two of the greatest teams of there time fighting it out. Shame i didnt go

2006-QF- Sydney by 1 point
A tight match, with Michael O'loughlin with that goal, and followed it up by making a mockery of our cheersquad. This was a very tough win, especially coming over to perth, and showing the amount of grit that they did, and it was enough in the end. Modern Day football at its best

2006- GF- West Coast by 1 point
One of, if not the best grand final in AFL history. A great sydney comeback, but the sequel was better than the original. West coast were on top for most of this, but we almost expected sydney to come back, and come back they did. Not a very good match for the old ticker, but we didnt expect anything less.

2007- R1- West coast by 1 point
Daniel Kerr and that Match saving tackle, got us over the line in a good old fashioned footy contest, after a typical sydney comeback. Were ahead by at least 30 odd points i think, but if i can recall correctly big bad barry had a bit of a say, and Kirky stepped up, but they fell a rushed behind short.

2007- R16 -West coast by 12 points
Not the 1 point margin that every one expected but sydney almost produced one of there comebacks. This night belonged to one Ben Cousins though, in his return to football after being out for over half a year, and with all his troubles silences critics with a lousy 38 touches. Im sure even sydney fans admired him that night.

2008- R8- Sydney by 68 points
Not quite the contest this one, but it created the biggest story thus far in the season, with Big bad bazza showing us his left hook is ready post-retirement for a long boxing career. The story out-shun the actual match, and helped build to what had become the greatest modern day rivalry.

2008- R11- Sydney by 5 points
After leading at every change, the eagles looked like winning this. But one of the this seasons great comebacks, gave the swans a hard earned victory. Players like Mcviegh, Kirk and Goddes did not do any harm to there current reputation as hard workers. A win that summed up Sydney, and a loss that summed up the Eagles in 2008

Every one of those matches (well maybe not round 3 this year) was heart in mouth stuff, and in each of those games, you could never write off any teams ability to come back from the shiezens, and i think that is what modern day football is about.

I have full respect for the hard work of your team. Players like Kirk,Mcveigh, Goodes, O'Keefe and others aren't the big superstar names like the bartels and abletts (although you have one of them), but boy do they get the job done, when it needs to. I remember Kirky saying it is like the Lamborghini's vs the old ford Tirana's, sure the fords aren't explosive and fast, but they are hard, long-lasting and mighty reliable when needed.

Good luck for this year, hope you guys can be up there, and maybe in a few years, we can be playing off in September again

See you next year