OKC, Sturt, Cardinals
3 in the last 3 years for Chris. In all fairness they could all be very talented but gee give it a rest Chris that is enough from down there. i think someone should take control from him otherwise we will have the Shepparton A Grade playing for us.
Drum, Dunn and Mundy/Murphy cant remember which is from next door basically.
Makes you think to be honest.

wizard_9 said:
3 in the last 3 years for Chris. In all fairness they could all be very talented but gee give it a rest Chris that is enough from down there. i think someone should take control from him otherwise we will have the Shepparton A Grade playing for us.
Drum, Dunn and Mundy/Murphy cant remember which is from next door basically.
Makes you think to be honest.

All of those guys were highly rated anyway bar Murphy.Just a coincidence I reckon

pinkus maximus said:
All of those guys were highly rated anyway bar Murphy.Just a coincidence I reckon

Drum is mates with dunn and Barru. I think they go for the Vic country boys is that they have to leave home anyway to play footy so going 200km or 3000km its still leaving home

Medhurst , Browne , Polly through the national draft
M.J. through the PSD
Webster , Dodd , 211 , Warren , Gilmore , Hayden , Haines through the Rookie draft have all made their way onto the senior list in CC's time.

Peake F/S.

That is eleven locals vs 8 Interstaters - Dunn , Mundy , Murphy Schammer , Crowley , Copping , Campbell - some fair players there.

We have 26 WA origin Players on our senior list. (27 if you count Mrs Heath Black ;) )

RIPPER_46 said:
M.J. through the PSD
Webster , Dodd , 211 , Warren , Gilmore , Hayden , Haines through the Rookie draft have all made their way onto the senior list in CC's time.

Peake F/S.

That is eleven locals vs 8 Interstaters - Dunn , Mundy , Murphy Schammer , Crowley , Copping , Campbell - some fair players there.

We have 26 WA origin Players on our senior list. (27 if you count Mrs Heath Black ;) )

Good work Rip - I knew it was many, many more than the few I mentioned, but they just sprung to mind as "recents".

We could acually make it 12 v 10 now after yesterday's draft.

RIPPER_46 said:
M.J. through the PSD

Peake F/S.

I'm pretty sure CC wasn't coach for the 2001 draft.

And rookie listers don't really count, clubs generally pick locals anyway, it's less risk. Johnson was the one I forgot about, so i'll pay that. But even he wasn't picked in the national draft. But of the interstaters you mentioned, only Mundy is a regular. More decent players have come via the rookie draft since CC took over.
And do you remember the success of the 02 draft? ;)

Rob said:
I'm pretty sure CC wasn't coach for the 2001 draft.
Y9ou may be right . but I am sure they would have had some consultation.
Rob said:
And rookie listers don't really count,
Lol , doesn't matter how they end up on the list if they end up there.

Rob said:
And do you remember the success of the 02 draft? ;)

We did do well now that you mention it , Schammer , Headland , Crowley , Dodd & Gilmore were all recruited one way or another in the trade / draft / rookie draft 2002. ;)

RIPPER_46 said:
Lol , doesn't matter how they end up on the list if they end up there.

True, but my point was CC's tendency to pick up interstaters in the national draft. Take Peake out, and the kid from East Freo was CC's first local pick.

We did do well now that you mention it , Schammer , Headland , Crowley , Dodd & Gilmore were all recruited one way or another in the trade / draft / rookie draft 2002. ;)

Headland....by god we gave up some assets to get him.

Rob said:
Headland....by god we gave up some assets to get him.

True , but I reckon we will be in front in the long run. He cops a lot just because of that IMHO, but his last half of the season was very good.

We havn't seen the best of him by a long shot yet.

I am well known for my local preference but you have to ask yourself "Who would you have taken locally instead on Murphy / Mundy / Dunn* ? "

* I realise Dunn has dunn nothing to this point but neither had Hodge after 2 seasons.

Headlands 2nd half of the season was very good compared to the 2 and a half seasons before, but still weren't to the standard most expected when he arrived at the club.

I can't see where Dunn is going to fit into our 22, and I'm disappointed he wasn't traded this year.

Connolly was there for the 2001 draft but Im not sure he had much say, infact he hadnt seen Browne or Medhurst

I seriously doubt CC tells the recruiting staff to pick the Shepparton boy. Then again I have heard him say they downgrade the Vic Metro boys by about 5-10% because of the go-home factor but they don't downgrade the Vic Country boys. Given the fact they don't appear to like drafting locals, its not hard to see why you keep ending up with Vic Country boys.

RIPPER_46 said:
True , but I reckon we will be in front in the long run. He cops a lot just because of that IMHO, but his last half of the season was very good.

We havn't seen the best of him by a long shot yet.

Huge call rip, given a small part of that deal is setting the world on fire at Essendon.

I am well known for my local preference but you have to ask yourself "Who would you have taken locally instead on Murphy / Mundy / Dunn* ? "

* I realise Dunn has dunn nothing to this point but neither had Hodge after 2 seasons.

Hadn't really looked that closely at it. They were all first rounders though, they should be decent players anyway.
But I reckon I could throw a dart at the draft in 2002 and come up with better players than Edgcumbe and Doswell. IMO, we're better off going for the locals with the late picks.
Surely we must have a bit more inside knowledge about potential smokeys in WA than 14 other clubs?

Rob said:
Huge call rip, given a small part of that deal is setting the world on fire at Essendon.

Hadn't really looked that closely at it. They were all first rounders though, they should be decent players anyway.
But I reckon I could throw a dart at the draft in 2002 and come up with better players than Edgcumbe and Doswell. IMO, we're better off going for the locals with the late picks.
Surely we must have a bit more inside knowledge about potential smokeys in WA than 14 other clubs?
But then we draft some one like Ibbostson and the concensus is that we stuffed up.

A lot of people said we stuffed up getting Murphy with pick 12 (apparently got him too early) and we should have got Matthew Moody (WA boy) instead of Mundy. Freo's drafting record (regardless of where they are from) really is pretty good.

We also rookie a lot of local talent and we've done very well there.

Freo's drafting record is pretty good if you believe Murphy is already a star (and that he could not have been taken later), Peake will learn to kick in the AFL when he can't at WAFL level, Doeswell and Edgecombe were good speculative picks, Campbell can learn to play the game, Stribling was delisted because ???, Dunn will make the transition to AFL when he looks lost and disinterested in the WAFL, Swallow is a complete crab, our midfield will suddenly start performing well, Haines and Schofield were taken in '04 for reasons other than trying to shore up CC's immediate future, and Warren has more potential than Duff.

Of course drafting is akin to gambling - and I do not profess to know anything about it at all! Maybe some of these guys will come on as hoped (Murphy, Dunn and Peake would do!). But no way have we been pretty good, or has Smarty been right on the money. We've done OK - not as bad as Collingwood and not as good as Essendon or Port. We could definitely do better.

It should also be acknowledged that post-draft development is key. Most of this is the responsibility of CC and gang. We are improving, but I still feel that Freo does not provide a very solid development environment. As such, we might make the best draft selections but do not allow them to reach their potential. I think it is a bit of both at Freo.

raffrox said:
But then we draft some one like Ibbostson and the concensus is that we stuffed up.

I don't think you stuffed up with Ibbotson. He is a newbie to football and may take time to flesh out his game but he has good potential. Probably my only criticism is that you drafted guys with similar skill sets to players you already have. You seem to have an abundance of defensive midfield/HBF types and I think Fremantle needs some more explosive-attacking player types. Oakley-Nicholls would have been ideal but unfortunately he was gone. Still, Drum will take over nicely from Shane Parker.

coasting said:
I don't think you stuffed up with Ibbotson. He is a newbie to football and may take time to flesh out his game but he has good potential. Probably my only criticism is that you drafted guys with similar skill sets to players you already have. You seem to have an abundance of defensive midfield/HBF types and I think Fremantle needs some more explosive-attacking player types. Oakley-Nicholls would have been ideal but unfortunately he was gone. Still, Drum will take over nicely from Shane Parker.

Ibbotoson can play in the midfield

Rob said:

You could have added Crowley to that list if we had not rookied him. I know I would have.

I agree with the local later pick thing though although we did get Scotty Thornton at 66?