Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

If there's truth to Simpson moving back to Victoria, then I think it follows that Flanders will be right next door
Now I want them to wind up at the same club

I doubt his body improves much. We've already seen the drastic improvement in our S&C with the new team and Brisbane's advantage in that area seems to have waned. Tom Barrass didn't seem to improve much at Hawthorn (other than having less travel).
Barrass, who has the back issues of an 80 year old and said he couldn’t get out of bed some mornings, has played almost every game this year

Would you be jumping out of bed if you knew you had to carry the 2021-2024 WC side for 4 full quarters of gametime every week?

I know I would end up with back problems too.

Definitely helps him that the ball isnt in his vicinity every 10 seconds at Hawthorn.

Would you be jumping out of bed if you knew you had to carry the 2021-2024 WC side for 4 full quarters of gametime every week?

Definitely helps him that the ball isnt in his vicinity every 10 seconds at Hawthorn.
But the freezing weather in Tassie and Vic wouldn't help

Is it the drug cheating?

It's the drug cheating isn't it?
Youre Good Robert Deniro GIF

And that he is not sitting on a plane every second week

What a clown. Also highlights how dumb people are.

"They failed to move on their valuable senior players for high picks"

"No to PPs for WCE. They don't deserve them when they're moving on their valuable senior players for picks. Aaaarrrrgghhhhh!!!!!"
What senior players have Geelong, Brisbane, Sydney or Collingwood moved on for high picks? This isn't a thing that really happens much. Sydney moved Luke Parker on for a bag of footballs, or basically the same return we got for Jack Darling.

Also, you can't force players to leave at gunpoint. Even if we wanted to cash in on the (still considerable) trade value for a McGovern or a Kennedy when they were 30 years old, they were on long-term contracts and settled in WA with young families. You can't just tell them "hey I know you've given a lot to our club but our on-field performance is putrid now and you don't fit in our next premiership window, so we're trading you to play out the rest of your career in Melbourne."

What senior players have Geelong, Brisbane, Sydney or Collingwood moved on for high picks? This isn't a thing that really happens much. Sydney moved Luke Parker on for a bag of footballs, or basically the same return we got for Jack Darling.

Also, you can't force players to leave at gunpoint. Even if we wanted to cash in on the (still considerable) trade value for a McGovern or a Kennedy when they were 30 years old, they were on long-term contracts and settled in WA with young families. You can't just tell them "hey I know you've given a lot to our club but our on-field performance is putrid now and you don't fit in our next premiership window, so we're trading you to play out the rest of your career in Melbourne."
What, you don't have nine other teams in close proximity they would be happy to go to?

Their compo is getting Allen for free.
As far as i am aware this would come down to the contract offer WC put to Starcevich. IF they are identical contract values then no compo, If Starcevich's contract is valued lower then Allen then they would receive compensation.

I haven't seen the rumored contract offer other than we are offering more years then Brisbane but i would like to think his money is less than Allen mostly due to Allen moving states and Starcevich "coming home" also the concussion history I would hope wouldn't open us up to future salary issues.

The difference is that Ryan is actively trying to leave. Yeo and Sheed wanted to stay as long as they got a somewhat competitive offer from the Eagles. And while Yeo obviously earned his contract due to his body breaking down, all it cost was money. He was an unrestricted free agent so the alternative was that he just goes to Adelaide and the Eagles get nothing in return.

Also, the Eagles have had incredibly bad luck with their older players, with Sheppard and Gov having to retire due to concussion and a number of other star players like Yeo, Shuey, Nic Nat being being generally ineffective and/or retiring early due to injury and guys like Gaff falling off a cliff once they hit the wrong side of 30. Kennedy is about the only guy recently who was still able to play at a high level well beyond his 30th birthday. Meanwhile Geelong have a 32 year old forward who just won the Coleman, Zorko was AA last year at 35, Jamie Elliott (33) is in the extended AA squad, Max Gawn (33) is too, as is Jack Gunston (33), Brodie Grundy (31), Nick Vlaustin (31), and Tom Liberatore (33). Along with plenty of others like Dangerfield, Sidebottom, Pendlebury, Blicavs, Neale, Whitfield, Macrae, Toby Greene and many others who are still contributing at a high level despite being on the wrong side of 30. Sure there's added risk, but just because our track record sucks lately doesn't mean that some players in that age bracket aren't worth keeping or recruiting.
I think it's worth discussing this as well - it's becoming more and more undeniable that the travel load detrimentally impacts player longevity - look at collingwood, they have more best 22 34+ year olds on their list currently than we've had in our entire history. Look at Barrass, a 29yo dude with a known back issue moves to a vic based team and in his first year there plays more games in a year than he ever has before. Has to be addressed at some point.

As far as i am aware this would come down to the contract offer WC put to Starcevich. IF they are identical contract values then no compo, If Starcevich's contract is valued lower then Allen then they would receive compensation.

I haven't seen the rumored contract offer other than we are offering more years then Brisbane but i would like to think his money is less than Allen mostly due to Allen moving states and Starcevich "coming home" also the concussion history I would hope wouldn't open us up to future salary issues.
Nah, Brisbane would only get compo if starcevich's was the higher contract.

I’m definitely assuming that Allen’s contract offer is greater than Starcevich’s.

On Yeo, he was our only experienced mid playing last year that was helping Reid. Reid obviously respected and looked up to him, he was basically Reid's mentor. All you have to do is go back to last year and see the difference in Reid's game when he played alongside Yeo.
Why would we even contemplate getting rid of the one player that was helping our future star and would be one of the main reasons for said young star staying.
Yeo was killing it in the pre-season until that @#$!@#$ tackle went wrong and kept him out this season.
Some people have absolutely no idea.

With Ryan and saints, if he is set to go there, I would love to get Steele over but I think Windhager would be the better overall get for our needs and the fact he would be around longer. Unfortunately I think Windhager is the type of player Ross loves and would do everything in his power to keep him.

You reckon it's safe to assume that Brisbane are offering more to the WA born KPF captain of the West Coast Eagles to get him to move to Queensland than WCE are offering to the flanker looking to return home?

It's the new "flavour of the month" reason a lot of media are using to explain the WC situation.

The reality is, if you are going to trade senior players (and maximise returns) you need to trade them before they reach 29. Otherwise, it is diminishing return each year.

Give me a 30+ year old player ever that has landed a 1st or 2nd round pick.

Why would Brisbane be happy with this ? They get nothing because they got Oscar.

Let's just throw them hawks 2nd and 3rd for starcivich and ahchee and not bother the afl with something this trivial.

Put more effort into getting priority picks
If we offered him a deal and he accepted and Brissy didn’t match they would still get the compo pick from the AFL that they would deserve from the offer? I suggest it wouldn’t be much due to bringing in 1 or 2 band 1 players.

Just won’t effect our band 1 compo

It interesting part of all this is it seems we have enough picks to go to the draft with and trade but not enough main list spots (without knowing the assistance package)

They are just media people, we don’t deserve any favours. We could be paying a million a year extra and pay the tax but we don’t???
We put ourselves here. Like I said it’s great we ask though
I got no issue with Hird.

If we don't deserve AFL assistance after this year, nobody ever should.

There's this notion in the media that we don't deserve AFL assistance because we're West Coast. We're rich, we're historically successful, we're well run. So stuff em, let them see what it's like to be at the bottom.

I find it bizarre that a supposed Eagles supporter would argue we shouldn't get assistance (I'm not convinced you are an Eagles supporter, rarely do you stand up for the club or say anything positive).

What a flaccid peen of a bloke Hird is
You have to be a pretty special operator for Tom Morris to make you look stupid on national television but this micropeen managed it.

Friendly reminder that this is the same Tom Morris that once got his Nan's Corolla bogged at a footy game

What, you don't have nine other teams in close proximity they would be happy to go to?
Even for Melbourne guys looking to stay close to home it doesn’t happen. Jack Macrae was a 3x All Australian and traded for pick 45. Caleb Daniel (another former AA) was traded for pick 25, and he was only 28 years old at the time of the deal. Shaun Higgins was one year removed from being an AA when Geelong got him for pick 30. Lo and behold, even dumb AFL clubs have figured out that trading first round picks for players around age 30 who might have 2-3 good years left is a bad deal. Petracca might get dealt this offseason but he's clearly in the decline phase of his career and isn't going to bring a king's ransom either.

The only 30 year olds who are still at the top of their game aren't getting traded. Heeney and Bont will be 30 next year and could fetch a high draft pick but lo and behold, their clubs aren't trying to trade them because they're too good and too valuable to deal away.