List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

But neither should father son, Northern Academy’s, NGA

I thought the discussion was originally criticising the Northern academy clubs double dipping

I think that's just your special topic.

Look at me having a go at briztoon like a real forum stalwart. 🥹 Mods when do I get my badge? Next I'll be calling him passive aggressive! 😏

It's Baker, Graham, Allen, Gross & Shanahan vs Langford & Shanahan vs Allen & Shanahan.

Thats how it would have played out. What actually happened, no trade or pick swap, pick swap and just draft.

Allan and Gross individually could yet both turn out to be better than all 3, and combined they should definitely be worth more.

Another Wardlaw or Sheezel for Ginbey and Hewett scenario.

There needs to be a thread five years from now looking at our rebuild and these scenarios.

One can be done with Kelly; I am seriously thinking the picks we gave up Kelly became **** all to be honest.
In 18, Darling was putting up Carey contested marking numbers, sometimes more contested marks then the entire opposition. until he did his ankle, about 3/4 through the year. Never got close to that again.

Yeo in the second half of 18 started to really dominate. Then into 19 went to another level, became the no 1 player in the game and was brutalizing his opponents at will and sitting dusty on his ass.

All too brief and injuries ruined Yeo. Add redeen Shuey and a gaff in his prime, as well as nic Nat and to say the midfield was ho hum, is greatly misleading.

Darling for me was always enigma. That first half of 2018 until his ankle against the saints??? He was absolutely dominating the competition.

Also, remember Gaff would have been probably the best wingman in the comp, if memory serves me well, he was right up there in the brownlow favourites and averaging high numbers.

Like anything, people forget the good stuff, and will always remember the bad.
McKay got Band 1 because Essendon made the contract so big that he is now the second highest paid player in the comp in order to guarantee Band 1 for North. The clubs Allen is talking to (Brisbane and Hawthorn) are not in a position to overpay him to that degree with their salary cap and guarantee us Band 1. I actually can't see them offering more than us in the end. I think they will try and lure him with the prospect of team success and a better environment more than so than throwing money at him.

Playing devils advocate, I cannot see how this is a loss for WCE in any scenario.

Brisbane / Hawks chase hard for Oscar
  • They offer enough that we get Band 1 (Pick 2, **** yeah)
  • They cannot afford Band 1 compo, and selling a contract that is unders (WCE offer). In this scenario we match, we either get a decent deal (R1 Calrton + whatever the ****, only as example) Hawks and Brisbane decide to do the trade, if not they walk away.

In both, Oscar signs for less $$$ (win), or we get the picks we want.

What am I missing?

Also, Brisbane and especially Hawks cannot court Oscar to the point that every time he walks out of his house this season, he would get a comment and just tell WCE, sorry we're not paying.

If a club chases a player hard, you better make sure you do whatever you can to bring home the deal. Otherwise I would think that is a campaignery thing to do and would reflect poorly on them. Players managers I assume would take note of that fact.

Does front ending it affect the calculation? Pretty stupid if it does as it creates a very easy loop hole for manipulating it. Not that i would be surprised if the AFL did something as stupid as that.

I object to the whole system. The player recieving the free agent should have to put something up for him. Why should all the other clubs get pushed down the draft order to create the compensation for the club losing the player? Especially when the trend has been for players to migrate to players at the higher end of the ladder. The whole system needs to be totally revamped.
Most other sports don't have free agent compensation. You had 8 years to convince the player to see out his career at your club. You can lose a player for nothing, and get a player for nothing.
If we were operating in a system where they had an algorithm that put a value in terms of trade capital on the player (in this case Allen), and Hawthorn and Brisbane had to offer up a pick of that value (or a package of picks of equivelant worth) if they took Allen as a free agent that would be much fairer. And if they feel the valuation is too high they could arrange a trade with the club for a lesser amount of draft capital if the club still wants to trade the player out.

The club already did this bringing Jamain Jones onto the list.

The Jamain love for Kelly was seriously embarrassing.

And the club shouldn't be bringing anyone in to make any player happy. How about making the list better.
Of course this kind of stuff goes on.

We’re currently bending over backwards for Harley.

Plus Parfitt is a competent AFL footballer (not a star) who will make the current midfield more competitive.

Parfitt is a better player than Jarmaine Jones and may actually thrive in a midfield where he has a more important role.
Always looked as though he was given just bit part roles at Geelong which didn’t enasble him to flourish.

McKay got Band 1 because Essendon made the contract so big that he is now the second highest paid player in the comp in order to guarantee Band 1 for North. The clubs Allen is talking to (Brisbane and Hawthorn) are not in a position to overpay him to that degree with their salary cap and guarantee us Band 1. I actually can't see them offering more than us in the end. I think they will try and lure him with the prospect of team success and a better environment more than so than throwing money at him.
Essendon front ended the contract, the average of his contract isn't close to the first two years.

Brisbane and Hawks will pay that bit extra to make sure they get him without trading anything.

He's getting us band 1, so enjoy it

Getting Band 1 will be a “hidden” PP by the AFL whether his contract deserves it or not.

Maybe they’ll extend cat B etc. an end of first round would be nice considering we’ve been ****ed twice with our second pick not being 19 or 21

Of course this kind of stuff goes on.

We’re currently bending over backwards for Harley.

Plus Parfitt is a competent AFL footballer (not a star) who will make the current midfield more competitive.

Parfitt is a better player than Jarmaine Jones and may actually thrive in a midfield where he has a more important role.
Always looked as though he was given just bit part roles at Geelong which didn’t enasble him to flourish.
Sometimes racehorses have a pony that travels with them. Makes them less homesick, better behaved, happier, race better, and someone to go out on the town with. I know a guy who's mate got drafted from Adelaide and part of the package was they paid for his mate to relocate to Melbourne for a couple of years. The player in question went back to play with the Crows. My mate ponied up, but said player didn't pony up and fxxxed off straight back to Adelaide.

I’d be looking at trading hawks R1 and our R2 to get a single pick as high as possible.

We need to maximise our chance at genuine quality especially with the amounts of NGAs coming through.

Take best mid and Curtin then cumming Dalton Rodriguez lindsay etc someone good will slide in the 10-12 range.

“it was told in extreme confidence” but anyway I have all the info.
Season 10 Finale GIF by Curb Your Enthusiasm

The trade/contract ‘news’ cycle really is an absolute cluster**** these days isn’t it?

I remember around 20 years ago some footy forum guys played the long game and planted a fake rumour that Essendon were going to pick up former random Sydney ruckman Ricky Mott, just to see if the papers would eventually run with it - it took quite a while but they did eventually - it was quite funny.

I think it’d take a solid 20 minutes of ‘tweeting’ these days to get news of St Kilda seriously considering drafting Josh Rotham in the midseason draft out there before it’s picked up and included in a panel show/podcast/AFL Sponsored Rumour Mill show.

If Brisbane had a deal on the table that was band 2 worthy, then he’d just sign with us.

AFL take age, length of contract (up to 5 years) and average guaranteed money in to account when determining compo.

Four clubs are after Oscar, it is a competitive market for him.

Of those four clubs, Brisbane is his preference.

If Brisbanes offer was band 2 worthy, it likely would not be his preference.

The suggestion that Lions are offering 800 is misplaced imo.
and i sure hope he has compelled the Suitors to cough up to ensure the best outcome for us!!!!....like baker ensuring we gave adequate compo to tigers :)))))

The only thing that should be relied upon is precedent and we are clearly at the same level North Melbourne were by almost any metric.

Their 2023 package including the rookie allowances would be entirely appropriate.
You mean precedent like tribunal precedent.

AFL and precedent to establish a standard are not even in the same library.

One of those first round picks is from Port, which was from the Lukosius trade. Not an extra pick from any draft rorts. And if Gold Coast, or any team can maximise value from trading a pick, good on them. Carlton traded a F1st, F2nd for Hawthorn's pick 14. That's just good trading for Hawthorn. Then traded 12 & 14 for pick 3. So Carlton traded 3 later first round picks for a high first round pick. Just the same as the Bulldogs.
The fact they could trade out of a pick (4) and get a player taken before that pick anyway and pocket 2 extra future first and get another 3 players inside of 30, while the spooner couldn’t get another pick before 30 is an issue….. well for anyone not connected to one of those 4 clubs

Not sure why this is being discussed on the WC board. But it's kind of missing the point to talk about the fact that clubs can trade picks when there have been 56 first round picks in two years. That's 20 additional picks over two years that have been added to the first round via F/S, academy bidding, free agency compo and North.

What Carlton did is not really relevant to WC in recent years. We split pick 2, kept pick 1 and split pick. Our later picks are worth **** all. No one is giving WC actual first round picks for a couple of pick 30s.

Not sure why this is being discussed on the WC board. But it's kind of missing the point to talk about the fact that clubs can trade picks when there have been 56 first round picks in two years. That's 20 additional picks over two years that have been added to the first round via F/S, academy bidding, free agency compo and North.

What Carlton did is not really relevant to WC in recent years. We split pick 2, kept pick 1 and split pick. Our later picks are worth **** all. No one is giving WC actual first round picks for a couple of pick 30s.
It’s started off talking about Priority Picks and if you have all the other rorts like Academies ect. Teams and fans can’t get upset when a club who hasn’t had a chance to get a free handout (or 5 or 6) in recent times, can’t argue PP ain’t fair.

Again, they didn't pocket two extra future firsts from trading out pick 4.

They already had one of those extra future firsts from the Lukosius trade. In the exact same way as you have two first round picks this year, because you traded Barrass for future picks.

And they got those 4 players by trading picks in to the future from the previous two years. Some of those picks traded forwards were also from losing players back south.

Then they traded picks backwards in the draft for extra points. Teams such as the Bulldogs, Melbourne and North all benefited from trading later picks for better, higher picks, and drafting higher end talent. Every team knew Gold Coast had first round picks for sale, for the right price.

Not sure how you're linking the other 3 northern clubs to Gold Coast benefitting from trading their picks. My clubs first pick in that draft was pick 31, right after your second pick.

Most other sports don't have free agent compensation. You had 8 years to convince the player to see out his career at your club. You can lose a player for nothing, and get a player for nothing.
It doesn't really matter how other sports do it. A lot of other sports don't have a draft or a salary cap. Nor do they have the administrative body of the sport handing out money to some clubs but not others. Or guaranteeing their bank loans. Or paying for their training facilities.

I bet your club has copped a fair few hand outs and special treatment from the AFL over the journey. Not to mention the academies. I would be careful wishing for a law of the jungle operating environment with no rules if i was a supporter of a club like yours. No draft, no cap and no hand outs etc and you would be absolute road kill and get steam rolled into oblivion and bankruptcy by clubs with a much bigger following like us.

Because Pete complained about Northern clubs double dipping, getting their academy kids and top end draftees in the same draft, and I replied by saying that's largely a fallacy, because it's only happened twice, and I've kept refuting falsehoods from Pete each time he's complained about something.

It’s started off talking about Priority Picks and if you have all the other rorts like Academies ect. Teams and fans can’t get upset when a club who hasn’t had a chance to get a free handout (or 5 or 6) in recent times, can’t argue PP ain’t fair.
No one has argued fans can't get upset about stuff. I just pointed out what you were getting upset about is largely a false narrative.

Nor have I argued PP's aren't fair.