Corona virus and other pestilences. Poxes ‘n stuff. Part 5.

I'd disagree with this. We've had many posters over the years willing to put some pretty heavy sh*t out for those here to know about. With great support (in general) back to them (as much as one can via a forum). I'd say except for the expected nutjobs here, that this is a pretty self aware group of posters, who don't give sh*t about others issues or be afraid to share their own.

Yeah we have in terms of 'heavy s**t', but heavy s**t doesn't always correlate to things. I don't think I've ever been depressed in my life, I immensely enjoy life and being alive and living, but it is often grouped together with anxiety and I have that in bucketloads.

There's different issues and nuances to different issues and being atypical.

'Hey, I struggle to make friends and understand people' and 'Hey, I'm feeling pretty down about things' are not the same.

Of course I do. I'm a swell guy.

Im not talking about myself here. Im talking about the little people. The working class. The drones. We need a society where people interact. Having people increasingly sit at home all day, not go outside for any particular reason (traditionally work would force you out of the house) we risk creating an even more inward, socially challenged and disenfranchised people. Mental Health issues will get worse.

The left

Thing about other people!

Also, the left

* other people, it works for me!

What I said wasn't just about making friends, but having a chance to make even acquaintances and practise socialisation, through experience and observation. How people talk, how conversations are supposed to flow. That doesn't happen with no normies in the office.

Because it don't always work like it does on the internet, that's for sure. And the meat and bones of being a capable adult is still person to person, face to face.

Sometimes all you want is the lady taking your new license photo to not think you're a ******* weirdo after only conversing for a minute. How do you do that?
I just don't think the office is the only place to practice. Plus even WFH full time you still will generally have to occasionally come into the office sometimes. With also meetings, phone conversations etc. regularly. I can totally relate to your trials, having (/have) always had issues myself. I get it's bloody hard not being 'normal'.

If work is where you get your best results of trying to fit in, then I'd say working at an office (/site) is perfect for you. It's just not for everyone, even those who aren't neurotypical. At least workplaces (and society) in general is slowly (too slowly it feels at times), starting to give proper support and consideration that not everyone is 'normal'. Although it's still almost always having to bend to fit in, not a meeting part way.

I just don't think the office is the only place to practice. Plus even WFH full time you still will generally have to occasionally come into the office sometimes. With also meetings, phone conversations etc. regularly. I can totally relate to your trials, having (/have) always had issues myself. I get it's bloody hard not being 'normal'.

If work is where you get your best results of trying to fit in, then I'd say working at an office (/site) is perfect for you. It's just not for everyone, even those who aren't neurotypical. At least workplaces (and society) in general is slowly (too slowly it feels at times), starting to give proper support and consideration that not everyone is 'normal'. Although it's still almost always having to bend to fit in, not a meeting part way.

You ever have this happen at school, for whatever reason your best mate or mates aren't gonna be there tomorrow, you think *, now I don't wanna be there, might chuck a sickie myself, as dread overcomes you.

Well, I can see the same thing happening with WFH, you know people you like, if there's any, won't be there, so you don't go either. You have the freedom and choice to do that. Not being there robs the potential of new positive experiences to happen and allows one to remain in ones comfort zone. Some people, the adjusted normies, it doesn't matter, but it has a flow on effect and it can to others. Some people remaining in their comfort zones ain't healthy.

I'm not against it, never have been never will be, but the depth to the issue of mental health around it that isn't being touched on and I'm not surprised. 'You can go in if you want!', nah, not that simple.

Excuse Me Reaction GIF by Mashable

Novavax has now been approved. I'm curious to see if the vaccination centres will be swamped by those who keep saying they're not anti-vaxxers but are holding out for Novavax ...
Warren Treadea likes this

Edit * me my phone can't spell Tredrea

Eleven deaths is SA's deadliest day in the pandemic thus far. Still, we have to look on the bright side the peak in SA is supposed to have passed by the 25th January. Only 5 more days to go.

Of the 11 deaths 4 are reported to be in aged care and occurred over a number of days. There is no requirement for Aged Care Facilities to report deaths immediately so they often wait until relatives have been informed etc. At least that is the slant Mr Marshall is putting on it.

Eleven deaths is SA's deadliest day in the pandemic thus far. Still, we have to look on the bright side the peak in SA is supposed to have passed by the 25th January. Only 5 more days to go.

As I understand it, the definition of the peak in virus spread/reproduction (R<1) is when the rate of increase in positive cases starts to decline - not when the actual number of positive cases is at its maximum.

Everyone who is close to the modelling seems pretty confident we are close to that number in SA today. Given how many people that have been involved in the modelling work I reckon we would hear pretty quickly if we weren't.

But when that 'peak' is reached there will still be large numbers of covid-related hospital admissions and even deaths so it won't be a time to celebrate.

And of course everyone will be hoping there isn't a more deadly or highly transmissible version of covid waiting in the wings somewhere in the world where vax rates are very low (bearing in mind virus mutation isn't linear - it can come from any pre-existing form of the virus even forms that may not have been detected because they were so mild, i.e. Omicron wasn't a mutation of Delta, Delta wasn't a mutation of Alpha etc.).

How about we give everyone more benefits, and bring you along for the ride?
See the thing is when doing independant contracting you take into account the lack of benefits like annual leave, sick leave etc when setting your rate.

If I'm getting 4 weeks annual leave, 2 weeks sick leave on a $100k pa job, if I'm taking the equivalent rule as an independant contractor my rate is higher than $100k pa equivalent.

See the thing is when doing independant contracting you take into account the lack of benefits like annual leave, sick leave etc when setting your rate.

If I'm getting 4 weeks annual leave, 2 weeks sick leave on a $100k pa job, if I'm taking the equivalent rule as an independant contractor my rate is higher than $100k pa equivalent.

Yep. A competent contractor understands that and quotes accordingly.

Imagine coming on to a forum to whine about the benefits others are getting in your industry when as a private contractor you are the sole person responsible for the contract rate you agreed on?

Of course if someone really does want those claimed better salaried benefits and conditions, then sell up and apply for a job. A competent worker would have zero problems getting salaried semi-skilled employment in the front line of the health care sector at the moment I would have thought.

Many of us know someone or have heard a story of someone who left their long term job and put their life savings into a business franchise like a Gloria Jeans coffee shop or a Jim's Lawn mowing business and failed to make it work because they undervalued their own time. The impact on themselves, their partner and their family can be devastating as a result.

Yep. A competent contractor understands that and quotes accordingly.

Imagine coming on to a forum to whine about the benefits others are getting in your industry when as a private contractor you are the sole person responsible for the contract rate you agreed on?

Of course if someone really does want those claimed better salaried benefits and conditions, then sell up and apply for a job. A competent worker would have zero problems getting salaried semi-skilled employment in the front line of the health care sector at the moment I would have thought.

They're so desperate even a bookkeeper could get a job in halth.

There can't be anything more quintessentially boomer than someone saying WFH is for bludgers, lmao. We get it, you wear your commute to work and seat in the office or your welders bay as some warped badge of pride. You are still expected to do your outputs, if no one misses or questions your outputs - your work is of no worth. Maybe you like that, maybe you don't. Either way you get paid.

Just don't be a metal fabricator or something :D

productivity while working remotely from home is better than working in an office setting apparently

Depends on the work. of course.

One of my kids is an engineer in a prime contractor in the defence sector and is struggling working from home due to the lack of face to face interaction with other individuals and companies on his project work.

Another is in the banking sector and both he and his employer are loving the productivity benefits of having staff working from home. They did plan to shift to new CBD accomodation but have put plans on hold as they re-evaluate their office space needs. Even little things like allowing staff to make their own IT purchases to suit their individual preferences, rather than going through an IT section, is having a big positive impact on outcomes.

As others have said, there will be a huge shift in the way businesses and individuals work once this pandemic is over.

Lots of businesses were moving to BYO device even before the pandemic, this has just accelerated it.

This company I'm in the running with sends out a screen, laptop, dongle etc. straight to your doorstep and off you go. Plug into Slack & Discord and you're one happy remote working family. Not that hard.

My current workplace has this lady who absolutely must say hello at dead on 8:30 in the teams chat (and in doing so expects everyone else to respond to signal they are working), and must hold catch ups with her staff three times a week. Let it go lol.

Meh, some businesses have found productivity has increased.

It's pretty farking easy to bludge at work anyway. Doing fu** all at work gets boring very very fast though. You're there for 8 hours, might as well make it productive
I wrote my first novel at work. Wouldn't have achieved that doing WFH

Good for you Mr none of the wires in my brain got fried in the womb

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
Trust me m8 I was born with plenty of fried wires, I just got better at hiding it as I got older.

🤔 hard one... I hate my job.... But * me if I "worked" from home I would just wank/force my self onto my Mrs all day..

Edit: my day wouldn't really change much except the whole trying to force my self onto my Mrs...