Coronavirus/COVID-19

From The Guardian today:

'It's so arbitrary': Melbourne street split down the middle by Covid-19 lockdown
The West Footscray side of Summerhill Road faces business shutdowns and school holidays indoors while the Footscray side has been spared

Matilda Boseley
Thu 2 Jul 2020 03.30 AEST Last modified on Thu 2 Jul 2020 09.14 AEST

Fionnuala Twomey’s family had to cancel a school holiday trip after West Footscray was ordered to lock down. Those on the other side of the street in Footscray have been spared.
Fionnuala Twomey’s family had to cancel a school holiday trip after West Footscray was ordered to lock down. Those on the other side of the street in Footscray have been spared. Photograph: The Guardian

For the residents of Summerhill Road, being split down the middle between Footscray and West Footscray always had its perks.
“They do their garbage on a Tuesday and we do ours of a Friday, so if they have full rubbish on a Friday they can bring it on this side, and we can do it right back,” says Margaret Chase, a longtime resident of the street. “It’s a good community around here.”
But on Tuesday afternoon, when the premier of Victoria read out the postcodes that would be plunged back into lockdowns for the next month, that sense of community was tested.
Footscray was spared, West Footscray was not, and at 11.59pm on Wednesday night an invisible line went up down the centre of the suburban road.
4091.jpg

Melbourne suburbs lockdown announced as Victoria battles coronavirus outbreaks

Read more

For those in lockdown, the consequences are serious.

Ness Camacho, a resident of a small retirement village on the west of the road, says she is struggling with the prospect of being separated from her family for another month.

“It’s not easy for us. I’m 70, my husband, he is in a wheelchair. It’s good for him to have the family come to visit, to give him time to socialise, to give support, but now they cannot,” she says.

“It’s really hard, we were back to going out to lunch with the family, now we have been locked down again … If I was on that other side I would be happy.”

Some residents weren’t even aware they were so close to the suburb boundary.

“What a bloody stitch-up!” says Cal, when he learns his neighbours across the street won’t be forced to stay at home.

“Mate, the other side is Footscray, they aren’t locked down!” he calls out to his roommates. “What a stitch-up!”

The full article here: https://www.theguardian.com/austral...et-split-down-the-middle-by-covid-19-lockdown

Indiscriminate outsourcing, inadequate risk management and self-regulation by industry. When will governments wake up that outsourcing is not the cost-saving panacea that the spruikers always say it will be?

The only thing that's guaranteed in any arena is self-interest.
That's a pretty good reference point when making any plans and decisions in the public interest.

What a fu** up. This outbreak is because a few security guards were thinking with their dicks?

Somebody on Reddit posed the question about how security staff had contracted the virus and I predicted that it would be sexual transmission. A combination of being lonely in lockdown and Stockholm syndrome was always going to lead to stuff like this.

Where NSW did it better in this instance. Military / Police are going to be far more professional than some barely trained security guard.

It appears whilst dangerous Dan was concentrating on banning some safe outdoor activities he was letting security guards at quarantine hotels to do what they want and that is why we are this mess and the dogs need to get out of the state and so many small businesses are doing tougher than ever. I really hope for us Victorians he gets it right for now.

Why did Victoria not have Feds like they did in NSW?
Hmmmmmmmm

Why did Victoria not have Feds like they did in NSW?
Hmmmmmmmm

Good question, it appears if he had made that simple action we would not be in the mess we are currently in. Maybe he wanted to give Victorians work but surely you make sure the right governance is in place in such a key area to the control of the virus.

Sorry but I wouldn’t allow the stereo typical security guard in Melbourne these Days to guard my pet rock.

They are literally useless and are only hired because they will work for nix, half of them struggle to speak English.

Good question, it appears if he had made that simple action we would not be in the mess we are currently in. Maybe he wanted to give Victorians work but surely you make sure the right governance is in place in such a key area to the control of the virus.

Private contractors cost money....

Feds cost federal money....

Why would Victoria want to spend more money on private contractors?

There is an article in the Herald Sun that I cant link because of Paywall that is along the lines of

Female, Indigenous staff saved in savage footy cuts.
As AFL prepares to slash millions out of clubs soft caps it has made an exception that will ensure the future of indigenous and female staffers at clubs.

Am I missing something here? Does any one else see the obvious issue or am I on another planet?

He let private contractors do what they want? Where do you come up with this stuff OD?

Trouble is, it's not always giving Victorians work in these industries - lots of international students etc.

NSW did not use Federal Police To guard hotels.

They ran the squad from the Fed Building but it was NSW Uniformed police and trainees doing the work

Private contractors cost money....

Feds cost federal money....

Why would Victoria want to spend more money on private contractors?

Well they're now getting what they paid for - there's heaps of people better qualified who are probably not working & could have done the job & still got paid by their own employer - what are airport Customs Officers doing at the moment?

There is an article in the Herald Sun that I cant link because of Paywall that is along the lines of

Female, Indigenous staff saved in savage footy cuts.
As AFL prepares to slash millions out of clubs soft caps it has made an exception that will ensure the future of indigenous and female staffers at clubs.

Am I missing something here? Does any one else see the obvious issue or am I on another planet?

AFL NEWS
AFL clubs can pay female, Indigenous staff outside slashed footy department soft cap

As the AFL prepares to slash millions out of clubs’ footy department soft caps, it has made an exception that will ensure the future of Indigenous and female staffers working in clubland.

Jon Ralph and Glenn McFarlane, Herald Sun
Subscriber only
|
July 2, 2020 4:42pm
Close
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...5/news-story/922a6cacdfe80e2a255d2b97ed3bd41f

AFL clubs have been told they can pay female and Indigenous staff outside their soft caps next year as the league prepares to swing a $3.5 million wrecking ball through their football departments.

The league told club presidents and chief executives in a Thursday morning phone hook-up it would be slashing their soft caps next year from $9.7 million to $6.2 million.

The news is a further blow for the assistant coaches and football department staff who have already stood down for the remainder of the 2020 season, many of whom had been hoping to return to the AFL system next season.

Indigenous star Daniel Wells is on Collingwood’s coaching staff. Picture: AAP

The league outlined the cutbacks on football department spending for next season in a phone hook-up with AFL presidents and chief executives on Thursday morning.

The cut is around $500,000 deeper than the mooted figure of $6.7 million, which had formed part of discussions in recent months.

But it was the exemptions that were welcomed by clubs after they, for months, sought clarity over the cap.

Clubs were told that, for Indigenous and female staff in their football department, a significant portion of their salary could be exempt from the salary cap.
The exemption can be used for four staffers in AFL programs and two in AFLW.

It will mean clubs who might have had to sack Indigenous welfare or coaching staff as part of their determination to reduce costs will now be able to keep them employed.

Peta Searle is the head coach of St Kilda’s AFLW side. Picture: Nicole Cleary

The decision to effectively incentivise the hiring of female and Indigenous staff comes after triple premiership players Chris Johnson told the Herald Sun last month there needed to be more Indigenous figures across all levels of football departments.

Clubs will also have a $200,000 “apportionment” allocation above the $6.2 million salary cap that will allow them to spread out some salaries across the football department and other areas of their clubs.

So if a club had an IT staffer who worked in football but also across commercial and membership the club could put some of that wage into the football department “apportionment” allocation.

The 2020 soft cap – which incorporates spending in club football departments – had originally been set at $9.7 million per club leading into this season.
But the coronavirus pandemic changed everything, with the competition shutting down from late March to June 11, amid the biggest financial crisis to hit the game.

Brisbane champion Chris Johnson has called for more Indigenous jobs at clubland.

There had been a push out of clubland for for greater clarity about the 2021 footy spend in order to help with their planning and to provide more information to those football department staff who have been stood down.

Some of those stood down football department staff now fear their chances of returning next year have diminished significantly.

Coaches like North Melbourne’s Jared Rivers and Brendan Whitecross and Sydney’s Tadhg Kennelly were casualties of the cutbacks.

They would be less likely to win roles next year, with clubs now able to tell coaches of their plans for them.

Clubs were also told the AFL had been working on fixturing for the next five rounds – with all Victorian teams on the road – but it is understood they may only publicly release two rounds.

He let private contractors do what they want? Where do you come up with this stuff OD?

He is not in personally in control the private contractors but he should be in charge of who is responsible for how it works. So he is ultimately responsible. It is quite simple we had the toughest restrictions and got the worst result and I am blaming Dan. Who do you want to blame for the mess?

" Well, here's another fine mess they've gotten me into."

What next? Luckily I do not live in a hotspot postcode(I'm in 3033), though I'm just about surrounded by them. My GP is in Niddrie. My cardiologist and neurologists are in the city. My kidney doctor is in one - across from Sunshine Hospital. I have an appt to see him next Thursday. I have arranged Senior transport which I hope is going ahead. I saw my optometrist who is in my postcode yesterday and was able to get a blood test and urine test done in the same office building in prep for the kidney doctor visit.

I'm glad I got my flu shot and haircut and went to an ATM last week. I have a cardiologist telehealth call on the 15th and no other appts until the end of next month in the city, so... it looks like I'm back in lockdown again. I might try walking up and down the street if it's nice out. I was thinking about getting a cloth mask. I have seen a couple of Bulldog ones online, but I I think they might be a bit too colourful for me. Basic black is more me.(Is it OK to say that?)

After bragging on an American site about how well we've been doing here regarding people accepting the government rules, I am really pissed at the selfish individuals who have caused this setback for Victoria. I have just heard rumours about the families involved. And I had no idea that the Andrews government did not have police on duty instead of a security firm for the overseas people. If the military was available, why weren't they used? Anyone in the hotspots who decides not to follow the rules deserve some kind of punishment, not just a fine. Send 'em to Texas!

He is not in personally in control the private contractors but he should be in charge of who is responsible for how it works. So he is ultimately responsible. It is quite simple we had the toughest restrictions and got the worst result and I am blaming Dan. Who do you want to blame for the mess?
To be fair Dan did say on TV last night that the buck stops with him so he’s not ducking responsibility. And you’re quite justified in blaming the government. Certain other pollies I know would be pointing every which way like Shaun Higgins to reallocate the blame. (Hello to Bridget, Angus, Barnaby etc)

Privately he’d be seething.

It’s ironic that in this instance it’s a Labor government that is tripped up by this charade of unthinking outsourcing, smaller government and believing that the commercial sector will always deliver a better result.

Anyway there’s plenty of material for the promised review of what went wrong. Both in government and in the private sector supplier. One would hope the supplier in question doesn’t get much work from government for the foreseeable future.

Unfortunately you can’t legislate against stupidity.
We’ve had a global pandemic for 6 months surely these idiot security guards knew about the Covid 19 restrictions even without proper training or English being their first language. Looks like they are going to get off scott free.

People need to start taking responsibility for their own actions.

There was a concerted effort by media pressuring Dan to lift restrictions. Then there was protests.... everyone was out and about. Then complacency set in....

The virus is now out and about.

We shall see IF it can be contained.