News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I think we all feel a sense of doom, but your situation sounds pretty awful.

However in addition to taking all the precautions you are taking, I strongly suggest that you try not to worry about it. Easier said than done I know, but stress is a great killer of the immune systems ability to fight viruses.

Ms. Horace has passed on to us a newsletter from an American academic by the name of Bruce Lipton. He has held a number of academic posts over many years and I won't try to define exactly what he might best be described as. Presently it appears he works with the New Zealand College of Chiropractic, teaching about immunology.

In this newsletter he talks extensively about how stress undoes our immune response.

I hope I am doing him justice. I'll ask Ms Horace if it is okay to post the stuff she sent us, here. Also here is a link to his website.

I'm with you Horace.

The funny thing is that I work in agricultural supply chain/procurement and our industry is going off chops since the rains a few weeks back. I'm busier now that I've probably ever been and am working ridiculous hours. Stress is dialled up to 11 just with work.

My partner and I broke out my old Xbox 360 that I haven't touched in years. Funny how shooting aliens in the head is a stress reliever!

The ABC? Yeah nah.

Folks that live outside the left-right paradigm understand that the ABC is there to pander to the audience that is not represented by the corporate media. However, they also understand that it does not represent fair & balanced journalism. It is biased in the sense that it also plays to a particular demographic. It's only the folks within that targeted demographic who believe that the ABC is quality journalism.

The trouble with the stats is that they lag, so a rise doesn’t prove what are we doing isn’t working, but that what we did last week wasn’t. And of course we aren’t all doing the same thing, but isolation generally seems to have increased dramatically in the past week or so with sports cancelled and WFH dramatically increased.

We are moving out of town for while. Pulling the kid out of the last few days of term, the big one is already doing uni remotely, and we can work remotely. Very careful shopping when we need it and otherwise nowhere near other people. Fingers crossed it’s enough to keep us safe and help slow spread in the community.

Our magnificent win yesterday was a thrilling reprieve from the chilling impact of our current reality. Hope the lads bring massive smiles to our collective dials today.

Thanks everyone. As always this place brings me much comfort as we share experiences that are so much harder when endured alone. This little online community has a big shinboner heart.

Wishing you & yours all the best in the days ahead & I look forward to joining in the chorus with you all today.

Folks that live outside the left-right paradigm understand that the ABC is there to facilitate the audience that is not represented by the corporate media. However, they also understand that it does not represent fair & balanced journalism also, It is biased in the sense that it also plays to a particular demographic.

The ABCs most dedicated audience is in regional Australia, skews older and is almost uniformly white.

Is that the "particular demographic" you meant?

70 year old white people who vote National?

Please stop talking about subject matter you do not understand.

I'm not on here trying to discuss the genetic make up of the virus, because I don't understand that.

There something I never thought I'd have to read. Strange days indeed Snake!

Pre-existing pulmonary illness increases the mortality rate by 7.3%, which is significantly higher than your age demographic factor (1.3%)

There's no way to sweeten your scenario mate. You need to avoid being exposed to this virus.

This is interesting Kangaroos4eva

Very interesting. He’s spot on with the permissions and quarantine laws being federal areas.

The way I understood it was that it was up to the state authorities to implement some of the controls under federal legislative backing. I probably need to review what they actually mean by controls and in what specific circumstances they are actually kick in. Either way, it’s a political screw up. The way I read it was that the federals gave permission and then expected NSW Health and port officials to halt disembarkment to go through containment procedures. The state government didn’t blame the federals for the screwup either, which suggests it was the state’s responsibility.

Biosecurity (Consequential Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Act 2015

Again with the HIV drugs, interesting.

*Subscription:thumbsdown:

I guess the anti malaria drug is chloroquine, which I reported on yesterday, utilised in combination with the HIV drug ritonavir.

Covid 19 enters the cell through the typical viral endosomal manner (below):

1584824554638.png

Chloroquine (CQ) inhibitss the entry of the virus at the cellular membrane and disrupts the formation of the endosome which the virus requires to transport its RNA to the cell nucleus to replicate (below):

1584824723700.png

Ritonavir acts by inhibiting viral protease (below right), which is a crucial enzyme required for post transcriptional protein assembly that the virus requires in order to leave the cell and replicate elsewhere throughout the body (infection). This drug is administered to mop up Covid19 virus that has made it past the Chloroquine treatment.

1584825228667.png 1584825298205.png

Neither of the drugs alone or in combination are a cure for Covid19, but they significantly apply the hand brake upon the viral replication whilst the body is waiting for the cavalry (antibodies) to arrive and finally destroy the virus.

I guess the anti malaria drug is chloroquine, which I reported on yesterday, utilised in combination with the HIV drug ritonavir.

View attachment 844487

Chloroquine (CQ) inhibitss the entry of the virus at the cellular membrane and disrupts the formation of the endosome which the virus requires to transport its RNA to the cell nucleus to replicate (below):

View attachment 844489

Ritonavir acts by inhibiting viral protease, which is a crucial enzyme required for post transcriptional protein assembly that the virus requires in order to leave the cell and replicate elsewhere throughout the body (infection). This drug is administered to mop up Covid19 virus that has made it past the Chloroquine treatment (below right):

View attachment 844492 View attachment 844493

Neither of the drugs alone or in combination are a cure for Covid19, but they significantly apply the hand brake upon the viral replication whilst the body is waiting for the cavalry (antibodies) to arrive and finally destroy the virus.
Do you think it’s a suitable line of further investigation for a cure, or a better hand brake?

So where are we at?

Is this going to get worse in Australia or not now these measures of the past 10 days have been put in place or has the proverbial horse bolted?
We don’t know mate.

The measures would have some effect, but we won’t truly know for a little while.

For probably the first time in my life, I feel a sense of impending doom.

This possibly sounds a bit over the top, but I'm a 50+ yo bloke who is a steroid dependent chronic asthmatic who also has sarcoidosis of the lungs. I've been hospitalised four times previously (not in recent years) with pneumonia and when younger, had asthma severe enough to be intubated in ICU. Basically, if I get this, I'm pretty well stuffed.

I'm taking the appropriate precautions and working from home, social isolation, washing my hands, etc like a banshee, but just cannot shake the feeling that I'm going to get it somewhere along the line due to my lowered immunity.

This bastard virus hasn't even really started with us in this country yet and judging by what I'm seeing in the media, there's an awful lot of people not taking it seriously.

This is what alarms me the most. I could simply be taking the dog for a walk around the block and pick it up because some w***er thinks they're invincible.

Scary days.
Stay safe MU, see you at a game in 2021!

Do you think it’s a suitable line of further investigation for a cure, or a better hand brake?

It's no cure mate, but it is a significant handbrake.

The antibody response (adaptive immunity B cells) to a viral infection typically takes between up to 7-10 days after the B cells have been activated by other cells in the body that have identified the Covid19 virus as a foreigner. So as you can see, this is a race against time between the virus replicating and causing damage in the process via the much quicker innate immune response which leads to further damage, and the adaptive immune response which takes time but will ultimately wipe out the virus.

1584826373432.png

CD4+ T cells play a role in activating B cells to produce antibodies, and if you remember my little graph from earlier in the thread with regard to T cells (below), you can quickly identify how age related decline in T cell production plays a significant role in the mortality demographics.

Older folks just don't have enough immune T cell activity happening with new viral infections in order to stave off the virus & initial innate immune response until the cavalry (antibodies) arrives, and this leads to death.

1584826670833.png

We don’t know mate.

The measures would have some effect, but we won’t truly know for a little while.

I actually downloaded ABC News App today...the media armageddon storyline is getting a little tedious.

Personally I think when the weather starts to deteriorating and colds and flu start up we are in for big issues

I actually downloaded ABC News App today...the media armageddon storyline is getting a little tedious.

Personally I think when the weather starts to deteriorating and colds and flu start up we are in for big issues
Disengage from it while you can. It’s a drain for those who can’t help themselves, like me.

Part 2: The cure.

Of course, you can now see why a vaccine is a cure because it typically floods the body with viral protein sequences that have been identified as having a high affinity for recognition by immune cells, leading to the quicker non viral activation of the B cells, resulting in the production of antibodies in much quicker time.

These vaccine antibodies will result in a population of "memory B cells" (see chart above) that will recognise the virus if it ever enters the cells of the body and quickly wipe it out before it can take hold.

View attachment 844487

View attachment 844489

Ritonavir acts by inhibiting viral protease, which is a crucial enzyme required for post transcriptional protein assembly that the virus requires in order to leave the cell and replicate elsewhere throughout the body (infection). This drug is administered to mop up Covid19 virus that has made it past the Chloroquine treatment (below right):

View attachment 844492 View attachment 844493

Not sure if it's similar to an article I came across a few days ago.

Disengage from it while you can. It’s a drain for those who can’t help themselves, like me.

Thank the Footy is on today...still hugely disappointed I am not there.

It’s difficult to disengage when you have two parents 75 and 81, be 51 yourself.

Its never about yourself, you die and that’s it for yourself...but when your alive and others die it’s painful

That’s the Queensland trial. I assume they are using different variants of the same type of drugs as the West Australians.

Good find.

Re: "HIV medication Kaletra and malaria treatment hydroxychloroquine"

Hydroxychloroquine is basically a variant of the Chloroquine drug that I mentioned above, it works in the same way as that drug by inhibiting membrane entry and endosome assembly, and Kaletra is a combination protease inhibitor that contains Ritonavir (above) and another protease inhibitor "Lopinavir".

Again, the headline is misleading, this is not a "cure" in the true sense of the word. These are drugs that apply a handbrake on viral replication until the B cells can be activated and antibodies are produced.

Thank the Footy is on today...still hugely disappointed I am not there.

It’s difficult to disengage when you have two parents 75 and 81, be 51 yourself.

Its never about yourself, you die and that’s it for yourself...but when your alive and others die it’s painful
I get it, both of my old folks are recovering from cancer, and I still worry about my little nephew.