News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

V. Zoster vaccine is stored in fridges because it is lyophilised in order to give it sustained shelf life prior to reconstitution and usage. Human Growth Hormone is a similarly stored vaccine.

It's not actually "living" (live) though mate.
I think the word is attenuated, weakened but still kept "alive". As opposed to inactivated like the seasonal flue vaccine.

Im sure this has been covered before, but what do you lot make of this?

Very sus. Can’t see America doing that. The Chinese government is evil

Chinese government is not one I'd want to live under, but it has also lifted more people out of poverty more quickly than any other government in human history.

I was just listening to Norman Swan talking about vaccines. He didn’t exactly fill me with hope about a long lasting vaccine. Something about the way coronavirus’ mutate means any vaccine will only last a couple of years at best.

Old mate Stormin' Norman - who said it was basic primary school maths that we would have 8000 cases by March 29th, then a few days after doubled down with "Oh I wish I was wrong but I'm so right"

There's one thing to be wrong

there's another thing to be condescending to everyone whilst doing it

the bloke is an utter flog

Turn the heat up on these lying campaigners

Oh man, GOP Senators are not in this for the right reasons.

Let's not burn down the organisation that coordinated the eradication of smallpox to help a politician win a media cycle.

Chinese government is not one I'd want to live under, but it has also lifted more people out of poverty more quickly than any other government in human history.

And just like that they’ve plunged millions of people across the world into sickness and poverty. **** em. campaigners

Universities are going to be hard hit. A lot of their business model and programs are centered on catering to international students.

Can think of a few posters here who hate socialism and are all for red hot capitalists, so if there's budget cuts one assumes they'll give up their cozy little existences and head into the Real World and show all those arts graduates how it is really done.

Computerised molecular dynamics modelling.

I'm not aware of any such thing as a "live virus vaccine".

1) Scientists map a viruses genome (It's total RNA sequence)

2) Typically, the next step is to focus on particular amino acid sequences pertaining to viral membrane or receptors and do computer modelling with regard to how a data bank of known antibody specificity interacts with the various AA sequences, then how T cells also interact with this AA sequence/antibody complex.

3) When the required affinity to confidently predict a consistent antibody immune response is identified, the AA sequence (peptide) is formulated as a vaccine along with various other factors.

4) After doing this laborious technical research, they then throw all of it in the waste bin, because vaccines cause autism, and a course of Chinese herbs work so much better anyway.

Thanks Snake.

I was of the understanding (if you can call it that) that some vaccines were 'live viruses' in trace amounts that triggers an immune response to build your own immunity. I thought that's what the chicken pox and flu vaccines were.

They will if the US cut them off at the knees, which they’re more then capable of doing. China is a paper tiger compared to the US.

Yeah I wouldn't be so sure about.

Is China going to "win" a war against the US as in PLA troops marching down the plaza in Washington, no.

Could China turn the US Seventh Fleet into the world's largest and newest diving experience in short order and overturn US hegemony over the West Hemisphere?

Probably.

No I’m not. China has a lot of people but contribute $40M to the WHO and America contributes over $400M.

America’s defence budget is about $750B

China’s defence budget is about $146B

China can’t even shut down wet markets ffs

Saudis defence is third in the world and the Iranians took out their most valuable economic asset with ease.

Yeah I wouldn't be so sure about.

Is China going to "win" a war against the US as in PLA troops marching down the plaza in Washington, no.

Could China turn the US Seventh Fleet into the world's largest and newest diving experience in short order and overturn US hegemony over the West Hemisphere?

Probably.

Why bother doing that when they can just keep using pangolin scales and eat raw bats?

strangely cryptography and spyware is another area where Australians punch well above their weight internationally.

Goes back to us always having had the need for strong navy and naval skills.

Naval intelligence = cryptography and spying.

Naval intelligence is where real spooks learn, like say, Pete Buttigieg.

What does that have to do with China unleashing novel viruses on the world?

Saudis... Middle East...

Iran is east of Saudi Arabia?

China is further east?

What does that have to do with China unleashing novel viruses on the world?

Shows that size of defence budget isn't everything.

Also, I think if the Chinese wanted to "unleash" a virus on the world, they'd do better than this.

I think the word is attenuated, weakened but still kept "alive". As opposed to inactivated like the seasonal flue vaccine.

Thanks Snake.

I was of the understanding (if you can call it that) that some vaccines were 'live viruses' in trace amounts that triggers an immune response to build your own immunity. I thought that's what the chicken pox and flu vaccines were.

It could very well be the case folks, but I am not aware of such things.

I have been trained up in a bit of this stuff, but I haven't gone on to professionally practice it, so my knowledge is limited.

That’s hilarious. Look at them. Jesus
Jesus and I had good laugh at them. He looked at me, shrugged, said "Sometimes I don't know I bother" and left cos he was scheduled for an appearance on a piece of toast somewhere.
#norestforthewicked

Resisting using joke about Chinese saying size isn’t everything...can’t do it

Heh.

Not sure whey you're so down on the Chinese and bats, we all know the original source.

Would have thought the answer in this case is not to go to Bunnings... rather than worry about a shopping trip for mulch and a $2 dustpan and shovel will lead to you infecting most of your family.
Turn it up I was buying cleaning products.

I'm clearly missing something here, because the risk of the government destroying my life based on my phone movements seems even more remote than catching covid off the guy who showed me where the cleaning aisle was.

I get that I'm probavly uneducated and naive but I'm happy to go with that at the moment.

Turn it up I was buying cleaning products.

I'm clearly missing something here, because the risk of the government destroying my life based on my phone movements seems even more remote than catching covid off the guy who showed me where the cleaning aisle was.

I get that I'm probavly uneducated and naive but I'm happy to go with that at the moment.
That's what they want you to think Peanut!

There is always something...

we are doing it to remove the threat of terrorism. we are doing this for domestic safety. we are doing this because of a rise in right-wing terrorism. we are doing this because you might kill your grandma because you accidentally gave her covid19.