Discussion Coronavirus

• Thread starter Thread starter George

But if one person has it doesn’t it just start again. We will reverse for sure but reversing won’t open business
We can, reverse the number of cases, massive testing, rigorous tracking of contacts, strict quarantining.

This coupled with drugs coming online to minimise the serious cases, we can get back to some sort of normality.

This with testing people for Covid 19 antibodies who are not infectious and have immunity can get those back to health.

But until there is a vaccine we wont have full immunity.

We can, reverse the number of cases, massive testing, rigorous tracking of contacts, strict quarantining.

This coupled with drugs coming online to minimise the serious cases, we can get back to some sort of normality.

This with testing people for Covid 19 antibodies who are not infectious and have immunity can get those back to health.

But until there is a vaccine we wont have full immunity.
And that is the problem. Without a vaccine I can’t see footy stadiums open to the public or people returning to a normal life. Yes they maybe able to relax rules but surely we then get a second wave.

But if one person has it doesn’t it just start again. We will reverse for sure but reversing won’t open business

Morrison sounds like he chose the 6 months plus option. Has full unbridled command of the country with no senate or parliament to pass. He's god right now, he'd be stupid to try to wrap it up quickly.

Morrison sounds like he chose the 6 months plus option. Has full unbridled command of the country with no senate to pass. He's god right now, he'd be stupid to try to wrap it up quickly.
I’m not sure he is doing it for that. Many think he is an idiot for not shutting everything. Maybe I’m naive but I doubt that is reason. I think they just want business to stay open as long as possible.

I think that's right but he'll make it worse for people like me. I'd rather 6 weeks of nothing that 6 months not very much that might as well be nothing.

Morrison sounds like he chose the 6 months plus option. Has full unbridled command of the country with no senate or parliament to pass. He's god right now, he'd be stupid to try to wrap it up quickly.
I find it hard to believe these restrictions will be in place for 6 months.

I reckon they are saying 6 months so when they start to lift them in 2-3 months time, they can pat themselves on the back for how great they are.

And if they say 2 to 3 months and its not under control and need to extend for another 3 months, imagine the melts

They didn't factor in the she'll be right factor, so I'd say we get on top of it in 2024.
That’s true it’s also a huge problem.

My kids are already starting to look at some friendships in a different light, I guess if you only give a rats about yourself then maybe you can’t be trusted.

And if they say 2 to 3 months and its not under control and need to extend for another 3 months, imagine the melts
I’m taking the it is what it is approach, it’s a mixed bag for my family as I’m sure it is for most.

We’ll pull together and and help those that are out of work where we can etc, what choice do any of us have?.

I think that's right but he'll make it worse for people like me. I'd rather 6 weeks of nothing that 6 months not very much that might as well be nothing.
But there is no proof it is 6 weeks. He would have pretty good information coming in and he keeps saying it could be at least 6 months. I reckon if they were 100% sure 6 weeks would do it then they would do it.

I hope so. I'm two full days in to not working and yesterday I went up to the property and did some work. I can't do 6 weeks let alone 6 months. I don't do sitting still very well.

And that is the problem. Without a vaccine I can’t see footy stadiums open to the public or people returning to a normal life. Yes they maybe able to relax rules but surely we then get a second wave.
Yes, that is a distinct possibility. ATM we are exposed with limited defences to mitigate serious infection.

If we 'flatten the curve' in wave one, we have bought time for clinical trials on a number of promising drugs that can reverse the disease in 2 to 4 days.

This could mean less hospital beds and ICU beds used and people could be treated from home.

More blocking drugs will come, and we can dampen it down to an extent that it is only as bad as a flu while waiting for a vaccine.

Meanwhile people infected and recovered are immune and not infectious so can get on with life.
That is the strategy. Will it work? Time will tell.

Much better to give worst case scenario in the hope it won’t come to that, than go the other way.

3984 confirmed cases across the country.

16 deaths.

That is a 0.4% death rate against CONFIRMED cases. I am sure there are lots of unconfirmed cases where people just haven’t been extremely unwell with it, or based on anecdotal evidence here people may have got it before it blew up the way it has.

I feel that we are doing really well.

Everything crossed that it stays that way and we get this under control. A long long way for this to go and looking at other countries graphs things can spike and get out of control pretty quickly.

Kane Cornes suffering severe burns on Twitter.

4e5767e4fe494b2b7e601acd647c3967.jpg

Allowing covid 19 to spread naturally results in the medical facilities being overwhelmed and all the specialist respiratory medical staff being put under severe stress, many of whom will die. Then we face this disease without those who are best at dealing with it.

Slowing the rate at which this spreads and reducing exposure to the high risk individuals will save numerous lives.

Failure to take extra precautions with the Australian population demographic very similar to Italy, will see a very similar result to there, possibly worse.

Keep your parents and grandparents safe. Don't visit them except to prevent them going out to shop. Then take extra precautions to ensure you do not pass it onto them (imagine how you would feel if you were responsible).

Don't go out unless you have to.

The CV is an RNA virus which mutates readily, resulting in a different antigenic profile to build antibodies to - this means that "herd immunity" does not occur naturally. A vaccine may target one of the more stable antigenic sites to provide protection from this current form. Other drugs can target the cells in the body which receive the virus - where it first infects us. Yet other drugs have been shown to cause the cell cultures to be virus-free. Some have been developed for other diseases and are almost ready for human use - but we have safety protocols and serious testing needs to be done to ensure these cures are worth the side effects / risk.

People are working very hard to save your life, or your grandmothers. All they ask is that you give them time by slowing the spread of this thing down - please listen to the medical advice. Stay home if you can. Keep the elderly and other at risk groups safe. Call them up, talk to them, find out if they need anything - and do your best to prevent them from being exposed.