Could a club get 80k against an interstate team except Lions or Swans?

mikey127

Feb 4, 2011
Brisbane Lions
After the Lions and Collingwood got 82k the other week I was debating with a mate whether this could occur against an interstate club during the home and away season other than the Lions or Swabs who both have significant Victorian supporter bases.

I believe the top 3 attendances for interstate clubs during the home and away season are Richmond v Lions round 23 2019 tick under 77k, Collingwood v Swans 2024 tick under 79 and Pies v Lions last week 82k

We both agreed that last week there were approx 20k Lions fans and 5k neutral fans but he believed that had that game been against say Adelaide or GWS and it been a top of the table clash they would have got as bigger crowd. I believe in that scenario you could get 70k or so but you need a second supporter base to get into the 80s but he thought Collingwood or Richmond could get 80k without a significant second supporter base which I believe they wouldn't do for a home and away gane.

Interested in peoples thoughts

Crows fans tend to number 10k + at big games in Melbourne

Crows v Pies seems most likely, or Crows v Blues when Carlton and Crows are both flying

A “non Vic club”. To everyone outside of Victoria, they are the interstate clubs.

No-one outside of VIC clubs can get to 80k at their grounds.

To the OP, Lions and Swans are most likely given their histories. Its pretty tough for WCE and Freo given the distance. Port are a small club in SA so really only the Crows would have a chance.

The other 2 arent real clubs.

No-one outside of VIC clubs can get to 80k at their grounds.

To the OP, Lions and Swans are most likely given their histories. Its pretty tough for WCE and Freo given the distance. Port are a small club in SA so really only the Crows would have a chance.

The other 2 arent real clubs.
Literally changes nothing to what i said. You really loath that it’s a national comp now don’t you.

I dont think many people fly across the country for H & A games. Surely if its likely youre playing finals you are saving up for that?
GWS aren't adding much to the crowds regardless. Obviously people are more likely to attend a final but what if it was a match that decided who makes the finals?

Another example is a major milestone. Dusty's 300th blew all projections that I think even if it was against a Non Vic club it would have cleared 80k. Pendles breaking Boomers record, or his retirement game might get a similar turnout.

The parameters you've outlined would require a WA or SA team in good form to play at the MCG during a regular season fixture against another good team with a large fan base

Adelaide and Fremantle are the two that fit this metric, but Adelaide play at the G 3 times this year and Fremantle twice

If Optus had the capacity an in-form West Coast could sell 80k seats I'm fairly confident, we were close to capacity when we played reigning premiers Richmond at home in 2018, and the remaining seats are usually the boomer members that forget what day it is

Carlton or Essendon could if they win a drought breaking flag and have their flag unveiling to start off the season against a non-Vic team.

Hypothetically if Richmond we're playing GWS instead of Carlton in round 1, 2018 they would have gotten more than 82k imho.

I reckon Collingwood could in the right circumstances. They got 53k against us in 2018 then 61k in 2019 after the GF. We've only played them at Marvel in non-covid games since.

Collingwood vs WC this year at the MCG would be lucky to get 40-50k. If it's Friday night Rd 23 and two top 4 sides playing for a top 2 finish and home final it could easily be 70k or 80k. Same for the Crows, Port, Freo.

Finals easily. Richmond got 94k to the prelim vs GWS in 2017. With all due respect to the Giants that crowd was mostly Tiger fans plus MCC/AFL members and anyone in Melbourne who just wanted to go to the footy that weekend.

Crows and Port can't as Adelaide Oval only fits 55,000. Weird question. Neither could Lions or Swans, even if they had capacity it wouldn't happen.

Biggest crowds (VIC vs NON-VIC) excluding Brisbane and Sydney
  1. R10 2025 (Collingwood vs Adelaide) = 67,697
  2. R15 2023 (Collingwood vs Adelaide) = 65,930
  3. R6 2024 (Collingwood vs Port Adelaide) = 65,834
  4. R10 2024 (Collingwood vs Adelaide) = 63,925
  5. R1 2025 (Collingwood vs Port Adelaide) = 63,282
  6. R13 2012 (Collingwood vs West Coast) = 62,957
  7. R19 2025 (Collingwood vs Fremantle) = 62,198
  8. R18 2023 (Collingwood vs Fremantle) = 61,157
  9. R3 2019 (Collingwood vs West Coast) = 60,878
  10. R2 2023 (Collingwood vs Port Adelaide) = 60,744

Great list. Would have thought there would have been som Richmond crowds from when they were good.

Does show that you need that South Melbourne/Fitzroy connection to really push high

Do you know the biggest non Collingwood v an interstate team other than Lions or Swans?

Great list. Would have thought there would have been som Richmond crowds from when they were good.

Does show that you need that South Melbourne/Fitzroy connection to really push high

Do you know the biggest non Collingwood v an interstate team other than Lions or Swans?
Biggest non-Collingwood vs non-Vic crowds (excluding Brisbane and Sydney) in Victoria:
  1. R22 2019 (Richmond vs West Coast) = 57,415
  2. R19 1999 (Essendon vs West Coast) = 55,096
  3. R16 2018 (Richmond vs Adelaide) = 54,934
  4. R23 2012 (Hawthorn vs West Coast) = 50,023
  5. R11 2007 (Essendon vs West Coast) = 48,913
  6. R2 2025 (Essendon vs Adelaide) = 46,688
  7. R5 2024 (Carlton vs Adelaide) = 46,283
  8. R13 1998 (Essendon vs West Coast) = 45,277
  9. R5 2016 (Hawthorn vs Adelaide) = 45,781
  10. R12 2015 (Richmond vs West Coast) = 45,178

Port Adelaide on there 3 times is surprising.

Picture this: Collingwood vs West Coast at the G, round 19, both sides undefeated for the season. Yeah I could see 80k.

Those who haven't been to Eagles games in Melbourne might be surprised at how many supporters we have. Many have moved here, so you have those in addition to the smaller contingent than travels.

When we play the Bulldogs, Roos, Saints at Marvel I'd estimate 20-30% of the crowd is in blue and white.

Could a club get 80k against an interstate team except Lions or Swans?