COVID-19 / Coronavirus

Box Hill hospital has a mention with 2 cases

22 people in Housing Commission Towers in Carlton
And another 145 linked to North Melbourne towers

I had slight symptoms. Jumped on a treadmill, can normally hit 8kms without a problem but this time was out of gas at 4kms. Sure enough tested positive 3 days later as did the family.
Hope you and the family have come good now .

Ive done my normal gym sessions the last few days without any issue . I normally get a sore throat etc a few times each winter , dont currently even have that.

Potential contact may have been last Sunday , heard symptoms can come on after 10 days so guess can only really wait the result .

Box Hill hospital has a mention with 2 cases

22 people in Housing Commission Towers in Carlton

One small private hospital (Brunswick Private) has a cluster of eleven which is incredibly concerning.

And the inevitable school closure.

One small private hospital (Brunswick Private) has a cluster of eleven which is incredibly concerning.

Yeah they announced remote learning until 19th of August at least for everyone except VCE students, people at specialist schools and those that can't remote learn within the lock down areas

Concerns everywhere.

The 2 on Philip Island and the 1 in Woodend...

This has been updated with this mornings data release

Banyule, Darebin & Yarra all with 30+ cases, and 15+ for the next line of suburbs shows that it's certainly rippling across Melbourne

Screenshot 2020-07-12 16.32.58.png

Wife and I took a trip to Costco in Ringwood yesterday and masked up for the first time. About 2 in 3 of all the customers were masked (including 50% of the white people).

Wife went to Bunnings today in Bayswater. Almost nobody in a mask.

Still a degree of complacency out there.

Wife and I took a trip to Costco in Ringwood yesterday and masked up for the first time. About 2 in 3 of all the customers were masked (including 50% of the white people).

I've been to two supermarkets and one of them I saw more masks among staff than customers, the other was the opposite.

Went to my local Woolies this arvo, all customers without masks including me. One staff member only wearing one. My faith in humanity is restored.
Why?

Even Trumps wearing a mask now surely the RWNJ Libertarian Covid Hoax anti mask thing has to die with that ???

Was that via the app you were informed by DHHS ?.......

No. I have the app but this was via a workplace notification. No one asked me how close I got to the infected person. I was told three days after she had been shown to be positive. Another colleague was told seven days.

I was careful at work. A quick discussion with me would have shown I was not at risk.

I am not bagging anyone. Am sure everyone is having a crack. I just doubt any system can stop this.

If we went and had a look, there's probably several locations worldwide who did pretty much the right thing like Victoria, but still got a second peak.
there is no second peak. It is just bad from here on in. No peak. Just results up... until we stop the people from transmitting it.

I have no idea if we in Victoria can contain the outbreaks. Frankly, I am sceptical. 99.9% of people understand.

The second peak will be just a blip in rising cases... it is a transmission... through exponential growth. 1 =2 , 2 = 4, 4= 8 ..254... 1025..4959.... etc

There is no peak* if people transmit. If we do not contain this, my parents will most likely die: - one is imuno compromised and the other virus suspectable.

Remember, the mask is about not transmitting...

I understand the orthodoxy (I work in health) but frankly we‘re not getting very far with the orthodoxy. I’d rather everyone have a mask on for the person who either doesn’t know they are positive or doesn’t care.

there is no second peak. It is just bad from here on in. No peak. Just results up... until we stop the people from transmitting it.

I have no idea if we in Victoria can contain the outbreaks. Frankly, I am sceptical. 99.9% of people understand.

The second peak will be just a blip in rising cases... it is a transmission... through exponential growth. 1 =2 , 2 = 4, 4= 8 ..254... 1025..4959.... etc

There is no peak* if people transmit. If we do not contain this, my parents will most likely die: - one is imuno compromised and the other virus suspectable.

‘you can call it what you want

This disease loves complacency and we as humans will always default to complacency. We may get this under control again, but it's a matter of time before it fluctuates back again, and the other states will be in the same boat. Particularly NSW. It's a shame, but unless we decide we want to live with it, or find a vaccine or treatment (min 2.5 years away according to latest reports), this is the normal.

Ps what did tige19 do to cop a suspension?