Credibility?

I certainly hope that this is not the case that stiffy has gone? He is one of the main reasons i read this board everyday. I may not always agree with his views, but they are often very well thought out and sometimes make me think outside the square, as well as being very informative - which us o/s people really need considering the crappy coverage we get from the mainstream media. Plus stiffy likes my taste in perfume - who can argue with a guy like that ;)

adelaide_girl said:
I am hoping you will all accept this in the spirit it is meant in, but I was wondering what it takes to have credibility as a poster on the Adelaide Board?

I have noted over the past however many months that certain posters appear to have it yet others may say the same and get no acknowledgement at all.

I have seen posters say something with no discussion made at all, yet another 'respected' poster makes the same point and it is hailed as brilliant.

So i pose the question how does one get credibility?

really insightful and interesting post. you are of course entirely correct, though I think the actual answer lies no further than considering it an implicit part of bulletin board posting - i.e. cliques develop and thrive in this environment.

there are a lot of posts in this thread talking about respecting people with low post counts; doesn't this miss the point entirely?

when you identify someone as having a low post count, and make determinations based on that, then it no longer matters whether you are cruel or kind because you saying that the post count matters.

which is rubbish.

Lefty said:
People should just say what they think on a particular matter.

For example my personal opinion is that Nathan Bassett should have been traded and adds no value to the team whatsoever. He wouldn't be in my best 22 for the Crows.

Nothing anyone says, regardless of their various so-called connections with the Crows or how many posts they have, will ever make me think differently.

Another example is my view that the Rookie List should always have 6 rookies on it. Now several others have disagreed with this, as is their right, but I still think it's the way for a footy club to grow.

I think as long as you don't become a dipstick like Jack Did It people shouldn't be afraid to air their views.

@ maccas_no1 - Say what you think mate and you might just find many others on big footy who agree with you.

The only time I have held my tounge was when the mindless political garbage that was going on during and after the last election.

My decision was just to ignore these posts because the people making the posts in them were left-winged lunatics and not worth arguing with.

Plus I'm really here to discuss footy which is why I found it surprising that ALL the political posts weren't moved to the political forum.

I'm thought for sure that those amongst us who love to sprout their political views would do so in the political forum and not bore us to death with their constant whining here on a FOOTBALL FORUM. Alas no it wasn't to be.

Anyway, that has been the only time I questioned the validity of the posters on this forum.

I have my fingers crossed that next election (whether state or federal) the Moderators of the Adelaide Board step in and ban ALL political posts.

Back on the topic at hand.

Everyone's opinions are unique and I read what people say in relation to the Crows regardless of whether I agree with their view or not.

So speak people and that way you get your point(s) across.

You might find that you are more in-the-know than some of the so-called experts here (me included).

I'm sure all your opinions are highly valued otherwise what's the point of having this as a discussion forum.

Some people may need a reminder that, apart from the odd poster, we are ALL Crows fans here and our goals are more premierships / flags for Adelaide. :)
in complete agreement !

I am still waiting to be welcomed to this board. I made one of my first posts about what, I like to refer to as my contact in the Crows had told me, and got attacked by 3 posters at least who told me not to make up rumours.

I said at the time he was generally around 60% correct in his "tales". As time has marched on he has been proven right again. I really don't care what opinionated twerps post as I know my own opinion is generally on the money.

I come here to find out about the youngsters who nominate for the draft mainly. I find that the most interesting part of the year. Also to hear about how we know have strange sorts of players called Quarterbacks, Inside Midfielders, Outside Midfielders, Inside Forwards and so on. These are indeed a strange breed of aliens to me. I grew up with players standing their opponent and generally playing a position. I go to the games now and watch a rabble of 36 players running all over the place without what seems to be rhyme or reason.

I wonder if this upcoming season will be any different, I live in hope. Oh well carry on debating your credibility on a message board on the world wide wait if it is that important to you.

Stiffy btw is the only one to have helped me and I think he is a good man. Wrong at times, like us all but he is a truly passionate fan.

Welcome Ozzie

When I first came here like most you start off by reading other posts and posters and seeing their thoughts and motivations. I also spent a lot of time on the main board and oh boy , you think this is cliquey...

I try and be positive so dont like a negative poster but I will respect their right to say it. I try and make my point about what I think and if they dont like it oh well.

I then posted some stuff I thought was brilliant and nothing :confused:

Then I kept posting and people took notice, so I think people are also looking at you wondering what slant you are going to take and then responding.

I also started a few threads ..scary feeling waiting for whatever answer you get but all in all everyone was positive and had good comments or if they didnt agree made logical arguments as to why not.

When rep meant something I used to get a few positive reps and thats when I knew I was doing ok.

Keep at it A_G and welcome

macca23 said:
I just noticed that Stiffy hasn't posted today and if you check his profile his location is now showing as "Retired from BF" :(

Stiffy carries this Board through the dull moments with his volume of entertaining posts, and starting new threads. It doesn't matter if you agree with him or not - he's great value.

I'll be one very p*ssed off individual if all that crap about him in this thread has led to something like this. :mad:
Stiffy is one of the many of the so-called "Cybermates" I have made on these boards, so that will make two very p*ssed off individuals if that is the case. :mad:

I too value Stiffy. I come to this board to get the general feel for South Australian footy. Stiffy has made me rethink a lot of my ideas as he can always give the Crows side of footy.

As for credibility it is earned and there are times in life that you have to go out on the proverbial limb as what is popular is not always right and I aways remember the saying and I cannot remember who said it

"Evil flourishes when good men do nothing"

We all have opinions and they come from our life experiences and we all have different life experiences. If people were more tolerant then the world would not be in such a mess.

Oh dear this finishes my rant for today and from another thread I will have a bex and a good lie down.

I think you'll find a LOT of "regular" posters leaving the boards- not only because some (like myself) get treated like crap, but because it doesn't matter what you post, people dissmiss/look over/agrue with you. There are many different types of posters - sh#t stirrers, slease bags, d#ckheads, try hards (those that think they know but know nothing at all), then there are those that know their football/soccer/cricket, newbie or not. I know in the past many newbies have wrecked the board, having a go at people for no good reason. And we as human beings like to stand up for ourselves even on the internet.

Stiffy worked his way to the top, much like others. Didn't get on anyone's bad side, even if he did it wasn't for long. Stiffy was one of my first mates on this board and therefore will always be. A part of me wishes no one knew i was female, and i could be up there with a few of the people that i respect.

Everyone has opinions on topics on bigfooty, many you will agree with and many you will disagree with. Its those "trolls" (even myself got named that for some nice name calling) that come in and diss/talk about Teams that they do not like. Why diss teams all the time just because you happen to like another team? Many get the history wrong of Port Adelaide, and that starts agruments until dawn. But surely within the supporters selves they would know whats real and what isn't. Just like many of you guys wouldn't like someone talking crap about the Crows and getting it wrong dayin and dayout.

Many of the "trolls" on these boards are "newbies" but also are young. Nothing else better to do, taking the bait just makes them feel worthly.

I came to this board because people started talking about me. I'm half glad you guys did, but not glad on the way it ended. Since dating dyertribe many many many people have personaly attacked me. I'm no longer allowed to post in the same thread as him nor close to his post. Otherwise i get attacked again. Sh#t stirring. And IMO apart of my credibilty was taken. Although i'm very much over it, and moving on from bigfooty, but just like many others the hype and "nice" bigfooty is no longer around. People jump at you for saying "hello" theses days.

;) enjoy.

macca23 said:
I just noticed that Stiffy hasn't posted today and if you check his profile his location is now showing as "Retired from BF" :(

Stiffy carries this Board through the dull moments with his volume of entertaining posts, and starting new threads. It doesn't matter if you agree with him or not - he's great value.

I'll be one very p*ssed off individual if all that crap about him in this thread has led to something like this. :mad:

No surely not. This board will be quite sad without the StiffMeister.

macca23 said:

I hadn't really read much of this board in the past few days... Who said what to him, to make him retire from BF?

I agree with what you had said though..

I didn't always agree with what Stiffy said... but realized most of the time he was right, and knew his stuff.. Always made this board enjoyable & would be dissapointing if he did leave.

noddy said:
Bring out the Poms. :)

Vincent Price i presume :D

Christopher Lee!

Anyway, I changed my avatar coz' I was inspired by all the talk re: Van Berlo's new BigFooty nickname "The Count". :)

All credit to the Mad Dog for that one.

Crow-mosone said:
there are a lot of posts in this thread talking about respecting people with low post counts; doesn't this miss the point entirely?

when you identify someone as having a low post count, and make determinations based on that, then it no longer matters whether you are cruel or kind because you saying that the post count matters.

which is rubbish.

Great point, and agree 100%

Every time you post it is simply should be your own opinion and if you are strong enough in your views on this subject you will not let any “popular” or “long time poster” sway your point of view however saying this you always have to take everyone’s else’s opinion on board because you do not know all the facts.

If they have only posted 5 times or 50,000 times when you read someone’s post give that person the due respect they deserves, take every single post on it own accord even if they have only posted 5 times. It just good manners to respect others, like each and every single one of us wants for our own posts.

Sorry I didn’t mean to sound like lam preaching morals and manners to everyone.

Such is life. Tell me where else you are allowed to comment unchallenged about topics of which you know nothing about. Thats life in general. If you speak out without facts or unresearched opinions you are probably gonna cop a flogging. The AFC BF board is no different to any other forum.
Part of having a strong opinion on an issue is to not be so fragile as to think you are right and no one is going to disagree.

Now lets see if I get a flogging for this.

Well this has been a disappointing turn of events.

I have not been on these boards for very long but in my time here I have enjoyed what DT, Espoir and especially Stiffy have brought to the board and this place will be worse off without them.

Oh well I will have to wait and see what happens.

I think there are many factors that go towards credibility on BF. Well balanced views argued eloquently, sense of humour and timing, acceptance of other peoples points of view, and even the ability to know when not to post. The system itself discriminates against people with low post counts, branded 'Newbies' it starts from registration. (MissionImpossible appears to be achieving the impossible, but I know him and it doesn't surprise me). In my first post on this thread i asked if credibility was the new 'rep' meaning some way of knowing how you are regarded within the forum community. It's appropriate that reputation has been shortened to rep given that most of it appears achieved through repetition. That most serial of repists, Silky Smooth joined the same month as me and yet has 40 times more posts, was top of the rep leader board and has the distinction of being recognisable by the letters once associated with hitler's storm troopers. Whether having more posts than the rabbit proof fence leads to credibility is questionable...

oh and one last thing I have noticed as a hugely deciding factor especially on the footy boards, If you're male people tend to take you much more seriously

_espoir said:
I think you'll find a LOT of "regular" posters leaving the boards- not only because some (like myself) get treated like crap, but because it doesn't matter what you post, people dissmiss/look over/agrue with you. There are many different types of posters - sh#t stirrers, slease bags, d#ckheads, try hards (those that think they know but know nothing at all), then there are those that know their football/soccer/cricket, newbie or not. I know in the past many newbies have wrecked the board, having a go at people for no good reason. And we as human beings like to stand up for ourselves even on the internet.

Stiffy worked his way to the top, much like others. Didn't get on anyone's bad side, even if he did it wasn't for long. Stiffy was one of my first mates on this board and therefore will always be. A part of me wishes no one knew i was female, and i could be up there with a few of the people that i respect.

Everyone has opinions on topics on bigfooty, many you will agree with and many you will disagree with. Its those "trolls" (even myself got named that for some nice name calling) that come in and diss/talk about Teams that they do not like. Why diss teams all the time just because you happen to like another team? Many get the history wrong of Port Adelaide, and that starts agruments until dawn. But surely within the supporters selves they would know whats real and what isn't. Just like many of you guys wouldn't like someone talking crap about the Crows and getting it wrong dayin and dayout.

Many of the "trolls" on these boards are "newbies" but also are young. Nothing else better to do, taking the bait just makes them feel worthly.

I came to this board because people started talking about me. I'm half glad you guys did, but not glad on the way it ended. Since dating dyertribe many many many people have personaly attacked me. I'm no longer allowed to post in the same thread as him nor close to his post. Otherwise i get attacked again. Sh#t stirring. And IMO apart of my credibilty was taken. Although i'm very much over it, and moving on from bigfooty, but just like many others the hype and "nice" bigfooty is no longer around. People jump at you for saying "hello" theses days.

;) enjoy.
Hello;)

Hi A_G

I am certainly in no clique but I have had most questions answered. Ok sometimes by the main man but I really appreciate others opinions or ideas unless they are by some dorks whom shall remain nameless. Here anyway.

I originally became a member to get background knowledge about the national draft. It seemed there was very little in the main steam media. I heard about this forum on that radio program so I decided to give it a try. Glad I did, didn’t realise until then how much of a football tragic I really am, getting withdrawal systems without it. Anyone else like that?

Anyway my intentions were just to read everything without posting or creating any threads. Well that didn’t last long, given the amount of information about.

Along with that being an old fart, I miss the suburban grounds where you could joke and banter along with the opposition team fans without going over the top. I now miss that at Footy Park. So ranking with some of the posting giants on here I have no credability at all just opinions. Being right all the time is getting on my nerves. :D

Just in closing, I think Stiffy is just suffering from his early pre season training on the weekend either that or he is busy working the youngsters down at WL. for the up and coming draft. ;) eh JR

mymansyd said:
Christopher Lee!

Anyway, I changed my avatar coz' I was inspired by all the talk re: Van Berlo's new BigFooty nickname "The Count". :)

All credit to the Mad Dog for that one.

Count Von Berlo - love it.

Markthirtytwo said:
Hi A_G

I am certainly in no clique but I have had most questions answered. Ok sometimes by the main man but I really appreciate others opinions or ideas unless they are by some dorks whom shall remain nameless. Here anyway.

I originally became a member to get background knowledge about the national draft. It seemed there was very little in the main steam media. I heard about this forum on that radio program so I decided to give it a try. Glad I did, didn’t realise until then how much of a football tragic I really am, getting withdrawal systems without it. Anyone else like that?

Anyway my intentions were just to read everything without posting or creating any threads. Well that didn’t last long, given the amount of information about.

Along with that being an old fart, I miss the suburban grounds where you could joke and banter along with the opposition team fans without going over the top. I now miss that at Footy Park. So ranking with some of the posting giants on here I have no credability at all just opinions. Being right all the time is getting on my nerves.

Just in closing, I think Stiffy is just suffering from his early pre season training on the weekend either that or he is busy working the youngsters down at WL. for the up and coming draft.eh JR

From one "old fart" to another "old fart" i just can't understand why every one has to have credibility on a footy forum :confused:

We all have an opinion & we all have a right to express that opinion as long as it's kept in the boundaries of "keep it above the belt" & just plain old decency then post what our hearts & head dictates & stiff shyte if others might disagree or think that what we post is a load of garbage one can always change to another user name & try again.

This is after all just a public forum where users can express an opinion & reply to the opinions of others nothing more nothing less.

As for Stiffy 18, well i would be one very upset "old fart" if he was to disappear from these boards full time but i have a feeling he will be back soonner rather than later. :)

& i can relate to being right all the time especially when "you know who" isn't around. ;)

Maybe it's time to move on before this thread risks moving into "like sands through an hour glass, these .................." territory. IMO this thread has been great and has achieved it's desired result. I just hope it hasn't offended anyone?

SpringChoke said:
Maybe it's time to move on before this thread risks moving into "like sands through an hour glass, these .................." territory. IMO this thread has been great and has achieved it's desired result. I just hope it hasn't offended anyone?

Nice bookend SpringC. Now folks, let's get back to talking footy. I'm missing it! :(

noddy said:
From one "old fart" to another "old fart" i just can't understand why every one has to have credibility on a footy forum :confused:

We all have an opinion & we all have a right to express that opinion as long as it's kept in the boundaries of "keep it above the belt" & just plain old decency then post what our hearts & head dictates & stiff shyte if others might disagree or think that what we post is a load of garbage one can always change to another user name & try again.

This is after all just a public forum where users can express an opinion & reply to the opinions of others nothing more nothing less.

As for Stiffy 18, well i would be one very upset "old fart" if he was to disappear from these boards full time but i have a feeling he will be back soonner rather than later. :)

& i can relate to being right all the time especially when "you know who" isn't around. ;)

Perhaps we should start an old farts club, looking at how many members have been following footy.