Credibility?

Stiffy_18 said:
Crickey I never thought my profile would kick up that much of a stink :eek:

Firstly thanks a lot to all those people who have PMed me and asked if it was true. With all those PMs I thought I was in stife:p

I got an SMS from one of the posters asking me what the hell is going on. I haven't read this thread before today so no thats not the reason for my "retirement".

The reason that I won't be around as much is that I am currently involved in a project that will take up a lot of my time over the next few weeks and as a result I won't be around as much as I normally am.

I can assure you that I am NOT quitting BigFooty and no tossbag like jack did it will never push me out the door.

I probably should have started a thread saying whats happening but I didn't. I will still be around but not as much.

Once again thank you all for your support and I am truly humbled by the comments made by you guys.

Back on topic. The thread is a very good one and has some merit. Personally, I often read a page of the thread and often find that a lot of opinions are repeated. What I do is rather than quoting the original I quote the one closest to the bottom of the page. That might erk some people but its just a habit I guess.

Every poster on these boards has my respect unless they are abusive or dead set trolls. I rate Wayne's World and Crow-mosone, macca23 as some of the best posters but our views are often different and we get into deep discussions. IT would be a boring place if we all agreed

Gutted. I was just about to start a 'Someone is Missing #2' thread :D

Stiffy_18 said:
Crickey I never thought my profile would kick up that much of a stink :eek:

Firstly thanks a lot to all those people who have PMed me and asked if it was true. With all those PMs I thought I was in stife:p

I got an SMS from one of the posters asking me what the hell is going on. I haven't read this thread before today so no thats not the reason for my "retirement".

The reason that I won't be around as much is that I am currently involved in a project that will take up a lot of my time over the next few weeks and as a result I won't be around as much as I normally am.

I can assure you that I am NOT quitting BigFooty and no tossbag like jack did it will never push me out the door.

I probably should have started a thread saying whats happening but I didn't. I will still be around but not as much.

Once again thank you all for your support and I am truly humbled by the comments made by you guys.

Back on topic. The thread is a very good one and has some merit. Personally, I often read a page of the thread and often find that a lot of opinions are repeated. What I do is rather than quoting the original I quote the one closest to the bottom of the page. That might erk some people but its just a habit I guess.

Every poster on these boards has my respect unless they are abusive or dead set trolls. I rate Wayne's World and Crow-mosone, macca23 as some of the best posters but our views are often different and we get into deep discussions. IT would be a boring place if we all agreed

He's ALIVE :D

Stiffy_18 said:

You devising a new and better game plan for the AFC ;) I hope that is your 'project' cause your the only one with any idea on how to do it ;)

maccas_no1 said:
You devising a new and better game plan for the AFC I hope that is your 'project' cause your the only one with any idea on how to do it
I wish :(

More like coming up with a better GPS software :eek:. I'll make sure a couple of faulty ones are passed off to jack did it and mike so they get lost and never return to bigfooty:p

Stiffy_18 said:
Great to have you back champ :).

You had me worried there for a while
I know you Stiffy - you orchestrated your own disappearance, and spread a rumor that you had quit ( sounds like a rock star thing) simply for publicity ;) - or are you seeking appearance money :p

Wayne's-World said:
I know you Stiffy - you orchestrated your own disappearance, and spread a rumor that you had quit ( sounds like a rock star thing) simply for publicity ;) - or are you seeking appearance money :p
I think Groves has come in with pretty big monetary offer so I return to BF. I just couldn't say no :p

Stiffy_18 said:
I think Groves has come in with pretty big monetary offer so I return to BF. I just couldn't say no :p
Stayed away just long enough to be remembered Steffy :p

Stiffy_18 said:
Great to have you back champ

You had me worried there for a while

It's great to have both of you opiniated b*stards back to debate the respective depths of our navels with!! :D

Ahhhhhh, life is good again!! ;) :cool:

macca23 said:
It's great to have both of you opiniated b*stards back to debate the respective depths of our navels with!! :D
Trust you to start an exclusive type of thread.
What about people with an outy hey?
Didn't think of them now did we you selfish B. :D

gee whiz,
I guess this is what A_G is talking about? what fuels these things, how does a simple question become so melodramatic? Doubt any of us really knows. Interesting to see how this query has been taken so differently by different people.

anyways, I think people are here looking for different things. I wonder to what extent that shows through over time and in turn influences people's perceptions?

I have a very simple remit.
I don't get to spend much time down the pub discussing the greatest game in the world, and this is clearly not ok. If I hear another person tell me that soccer is the best, and not having playoff's is the only system that makes sense I may snot them!
However, I want meaningful, in depth discussion. Whether I am right or wrong, I don't want to be 'agreed' with in unison, I am looking for alternative, substantial views.
This way, I get the other thing I am looking for - information. Proper considered opinion, or actual data. When someone outlines their views, defends them, shows rigorous insight, and sometimes shifts others from their standpoints, then BF's conceptually succeeds vecause we learn something - and have been entertained at the same time.
Of course not every thread requires this, indeed perhaps few threads ever do, but I get frustrated when some wade in without anything to offer, just because there are no other threads going. Questions are good, brass statements less so in these cases.
You'll not have found me talking too much about how player has gone in the SANFL, or how a 17yr old played in the national championships - I'd know as much about that as Mike2j7 knows his genetic lineage beyond grandma, a pickup truck, some jack daniels, and a pack horse with a glint in his eye ;)

All of that said, I realise many come on here to gossip and chat, and make friends, and obviously there is nothing wrong with that. Everyone wants something different, and at times, I think we get caught up in cross purposes.

PAfolwr said:
Trust you to start an exclusive type of thread.
What about people with an outy hey?
Didn't think of them now did we you selfish B. :D

:D

Sorry mate, you'll just have to find a couple more outys to debate with whose outy sticks out the most - ermmm, that's still navels I'm talking about!! :p

Markthirtytwo said:
Perhaps we should start an old farts club, looking at how many members have been following footy.

I'm still waiting for my initiation ceremony boys! :)

macca23 said:
Sorry mate, you'll just have to find a couple more outys to debate with whose outy sticks out the most - ermmm, that's still navels I'm talking about!! :p
No problem there, mine is a full blown inny, fluff and all. Just thinking of minority groups that's all. :D
Gee at this stage I'll be voting green at the next election.

And yes, I'm going to leave the last bit alone being a public forum and all. :D

Stiffy_18 said:
I wish :(

More like coming up with a better GPS software :eek:. I'll make sure a couple of faulty ones are passed off to jack did it and mike so they get lost and never return to bigfooty:p

can you make one that actually works within buildings so that I can chip my old boss so that we can find him when he goes for one of his wanders?

NikkiNoo said:
I was assured that butter would not be involved but I am still waiting to see what will instead!
As I am considering joining as well, I should be allowed to spectate at a ceremony first. :D

But no Abba videos.