Credit where its due

rizzo

Veteran 10k Posts The Fred Medal Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2014 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2013 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2012 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2011 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 11, 2003
Everton, Melbourne Heart, Raptors
Just thought i would compare the mighty Joel Selwood to a few other highly rated players.

Vs Pendlebury
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=5&pid1=1611&tid2=10&pid2=1725

The media and fans are boned over pendles. However Joel takes it to him. He plays a lot less game time but averages only 2 less touches a game, and has more tackles.

Vs Gibbs
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=4&pid1=1719&tid2=10&pid2=1725

Stats pretty much sum it up. Kills Gibbo in every category. Again playing much less time.

Vs Murphy
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=4&pid1=1607&tid2=10&pid2=1725

Another youngster fans are in love with. Again Joel kills him in every facet of stats.

Vs Deledio
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=15&pid1=1484&tid2=10&pid2=1725

Deledio has nearlly played 50 more games then our boy. He only averages 2 more touches.

Vs Hurn
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=19&pid1=1619&tid2=10&pid2=1725

Talked up as well, however again Joel beats him convincingly.

While stats don't show anything, i think we can safely say we have the best midfield up and comer in the league in Joel. He is underrated by many outside of the club to i have a feel.

In conclusion, bring on the Rising Star award

Also the fact that only Selwood and Gibbs are FIRST year players on that list, and Selwood is already ahead of Gibbs and just as good as his more experienced peers. However you have to give Gibbs his dues as he is playing decent footy in a really shit team.

However you have to give Gibbs his dues as he is playing decent footy in a really shit team.

Correct, remember that it is much easier to slot into a side that is up and firing. For example we stuck our best tagger (Ling) on Deludio at the start of this year whilst Selwood hasnt been tagged as of yet.

The things that impressed me the most with Selwood:
  • Composure. Has had it since the first game. Looks like a kid, body of a kid, decisions of a 50+ gamer. Has done some very clever as well as very unselfish things since coming in.
  • Wet weather. Was AMAZED at his games in the wet. A first year player shouldnt be allowed to get 25 possies in the wet, they shouldnt have the body for it for a start. There is a general rule that good players get better in shit conditions. Lets hope.
  • Courage. Has gone in hard numerous times. Lets hope he doesnt get injured or clobbered but so far he has been very good. A couple of times he has put his body on the line knocking the ball to the advantage of another team mate. Good to see.
I am not going to compare him to the rest of the leagues youngsters as over in Boston I dont see as many games as I used too. BUT if you compare him to our midfielder, I cant remember the last time we had a first year player look that good, especially not one on our current list.

Scotty - Happy with picking up Ray Allen for the C's?

My housemate LOVES basketball (been a Phoenix fan for years so was thrilled that they were good when we came over) and he is livid. It wont get them to the late round playoffs (may just slip into them ranked very low) but at least they may be semi competitive. In some ways I dont know what else they could have done. Really they needed to get pick 1 or 2, it was that simple. Then they could have got Oden, kept Peirce and made the same trade but with another player or next years draft pick for Allen. Then you have a team...but that is all in the past now.

Pendlebury, Murph and Hurn are and will be good players. Gibbs and Deledio... They are outside receivers, our Selwood is a hard nut and still racks up good possie counts.

Have been very impressed with Westhoff from Port,looks like being a very good player.(pick 61 in the draft :eek:).
Having said that Selwood is a standout for Rising Star.

Joel Selwood is an out and out gun. Liked from the first moment i saw him play.

He is just a pure footballer. Dare i say it in the Michael Voss mould.

He is as hard at the ball as any kid i have seen he just has leadership stamped all over him> When he gets the ball he uses it well.

I will make the statement he WILL be the next captain of Geelong. Give Harly another 2 years after this then Selwood will be 21 odd and captain the club for 10 years.

My housemate LOVES basketball (been a Phoenix fan for years so was thrilled that they were good when we came over) and he is livid. It wont get them to the late round playoffs (may just slip into them ranked very low) but at least they may be semi competitive. In some ways I dont know what else they could have done. Really they needed to get pick 1 or 2, it was that simple. Then they could have got Oden, kept Peirce and made the same trade but with another player or next years draft pick for Allen. Then you have a team...but that is all in the past now.

Yeah, you're right. They can't take a trick since Reggie Lewis went down. However if Allen and Pierce have career years, and they can pick up a half decent big man, anything can happen in the east.

However it's done nothing for their long term future.

adam selwood >>>> joel selwood

stats dont really tell the story though in gibbs' case. hes playing in the backline with a shitty team. selwood jnr has been playing in a team who is smashing everyone they play. not that he wont be a gun.

p.s. hurn has been playing as a back pocket aswell, so stats arent really reflective.

adam selwood >>>> joel selwood

stats dont really tell the story though in gibbs' case. hes playing in the backline with a shitty team. selwood jnr has been playing in a team who is smashing everyone they play. not that he wont be a gun.

p.s. hurn has been playing as a back pocket aswell, so stats arent really reflective.

The ball goes down there enough so technically should be getting more of the ball :thumbsu:

Joel Kills Adam by a mile.

The ball goes down there enough so technically should be getting more of the ball :thumbsu:

Joel Kills Adam by a mile.

well according to the really 'relevant' stats in which joel selwood has been compared to pendlebury, gibbs etc adam selwood wins

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=19&pid1=386&tid2=10&pid2=1725

gee, theres no argueing that, statistically adam selwood gets a whole 3 more possessions, that makes him a 20% better player.

are you seeing the pointlessness of statistical comparison?

well according to the really 'relevant' stats in which joel selwood has been compared to pendlebury, gibbs etc adam selwood wins

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=19&pid1=386&tid2=10&pid2=1725

gee, theres no argueing that, statistically adam selwood gets a whole 3 more possessions, that makes him a 20% better player.

are you seeing the pointlessness of statistical comparison?

You can't compare Adam to Joel because Adam played 64 games, is older and more mature and also playing in a great team. Joel has only played 10 games and is only a FIRST year player, yet has shown more potential and class than Adam or Troy. Give Joel 2 more years and Adam and Troy will be referred to as Joel Selwood's brother.

its pretty obvious that joel selwood will be better than both of his brothers i was just saying how stats are irrelevant.

although i guess i'd be happy with adam selwood, for pick 52, hes a fair player.

its pretty obvious that joel selwood will be better than both of his brothers i was just saying how stats are irrelevant.

although i guess i'd be happy with adam selwood, for pick 52, hes a fair player.

He is indeed.
Every club needs players like him...

You just proved my point... Despite giving up 3 seasons Joel is already nearly better then Adam :thumbsu:

Give Joel 2 more years and Adam and Troy will be referred to as Joel Selwood's brother.

I have a feeling we might be referring to one of them as Joel's brother and a good cats man.
I think we may get one of these fella's pretty soon. I reckon they might wanna see young Joely win a brownlow first hand.

I tend to think i would like Troy, just cos at a real good side i think he'd be more effective

It's funny how Pendlebury, Gibbs, Murphy, Deledio and Hurn have all almost been permanant members of their sides where Selwood has been in and out. It show how much depth we have.:)

4 of those 5 are 2nd or 3rd year players and carlton are just crap so they have to play gibbs.

i think with first year players, the coach must make sure he doesnt burn them out. most first year players start well and slowly fade as the year goes on.

i reckon mark thompson has been bringing selwood and hawkins in and out to make sure they dont follow this trend.

Credit where its due