Crichton

• Thread starter Thread starter Kenny_01

Remember a story on Gubby Allen (gc) saying he was the steal of the draft that year. Buckley (pies) also rated him highly when he was at the AIS. speed , agility just a little light .......and he's Tasmanian.

Think you will find it was actually Scott Clayton (Gold Coast), that said that not Gubby. He is looking a handy prospect though, hope we persevere with him

liked what he did today,would like the older team-mates to tell the young blokes that ,if they see what has to be done -do it. a couple of times today i saw neale,critchton make for a play for the ball, only to hesitate for an established player to come through,which they did`nt=turn over,experience will fix that but what good signs i saw today, only hope they get the opportunity to let it grow into something great

Been a big critic of his, but I'm very happy to be proven wrong. Showed a bit in the second half.

I wrote him off. Watched him in the WAFL a bit & thought too vanilla, no weapons, doesn't really accumulate & no tank. I'm not sold. Was very fumbly today but provided some good run (straight lines thank God) & hit the contest hard. Not a write off yet.

No tank is my only worry from The Tassie devil.

I remember watching a training session with you Eshed in the preseason and I commented on how good Crichton's hands were in close. Always liked the 'mongrel' in him but needs to work really hard on getting his endurance and body size up over the next year.

It would be a shame to lose a player like this with a lot of potential to make space in the so called Superdraft.

Disagree TOTALLY. The number of times he ran into traffic...gave off to teamamtes in worse positions, got caught holding the ball.

He's a left footed spongebob haircut Clayton Hinkley wannabe

Yes - he's quick - so was Hinko - no footy brain whatsoever....do not rate

Disagree TOTALLY. The number of times he ran into traffic...gave off to teamamtes in worse positions, got caught holding the ball.

No one said he was perfect you clown.

However he showed enough to suggest he is worth persevering with.

If players like Crichton are walk up starts in our side you know we either have a long injury list or are simply lacking the quality.

I know his has pace but his turnovers for some reason stick in the mind, he's depth player.

Surely you would persist with Suban long before you didt with Crichton.

He had a real dip yesterday but still don't think he's up to it, hopefully I'm wrong though.

I remember watching a training session with you Eshed in the preseason and I commented on how good Crichton's hands were in close. Always liked the 'mongrel' in him but needs to work really hard on getting his endurance and body size up over the next year.

It would be a shame to lose a player like this with a lot of potential to make space in the so called Superdraft.

He is also an underager isn't he?

So automatically he should be given another year.

If players like Crichton are walk up starts in our side you know we either have a long injury list or are simply lacking the quality.

I know his has pace but his turnovers for some reason stick in the mind, he's depth player.

Surely you would persist with Suban long before you didt with Crichton.

How long would you persist with Suban though?

50 games is enough to show he hasn't got much at this stage.

No, no, no Plugga, you're looking at it the wrong way. The kid was having a crack and trying to take the game on. It's not always going to work out, especially against a midfield like the Crows. In actual fact the amount of times that he was put under presure by teammates giving off to him when he was under the pump happened more than the other way around. It'd be interesting to know if you were at the game or watch it on telly? At the ground it was obvious on a few occasions that he was our only outside option at a few scrimages so when the ball came out to him the Crows picked him off far too easily because he was the only option.

Agree, I like the way Chrichton played on and tried to go forward instead of backwards, yeah he flubbed a few kicks and made some errors but we aren't going to get better by telling him to look sideways.

Liked him out there instead of Ibbo or Duffield.

i WAS IMPRESSED BY HIS GAME TODAY. hE STILL HAS A LONG WAY TO GO.
I feel Ross lyon is slowly woyrking his way thru our list and looking for the players that can eventually play the type of footy he wants.The Tassie Devil looks like he will fit into the coaches long term plans.

Obviously somebody at the club sees something in him as he is getting games ahead of other players on our list.

And that inlcudes experianced players as well as the new kids.

He wasn't picked on WAFL form but obviously ability as we do need some speed through the middle.

Last year it was Jayden Pitt that we were trying it with.

Jesse will be a player I'm sure in the future.

I'm more worried about Zac Clarke at the moment.

Thought Crichton got better as the game went on. Improved skills, better run and his tackling improved as well. They were just walking through him in the first half. Not sure if he would make our full strength side, but i would rather turn to him as an injury replacement in the midfield than van Berlo. If he keeps improving certainly worth keeping on the list.

How long would you persist with Suban though?

50 games is enough to show he hasn't got much at this stage.

Was grinding my teeth when I had a look at the 2008 draft yesterday and saw Sloane at 44 considering how high we took Subes (shit Sloane was good). You'd reckon Subes would want to make that small defender's role his own before the club looked at trading him at year's end.

Obviously somebody at the club sees something in him as he is getting games ahead of other players on our list.

And that inlcudes experianced players as well as the new kids.

He wasn't picked on WAFL form but obviously ability as we do need some speed through the middle.

Last year it was Jayden Pitt that we were trying it with.

Jesse will be a player I'm sure in the future.

I'm more worried about Zac Clarke at the moment.

I wouldn't be worried, just needs more time to develop. He's shown glimpses and applies himself. He has the gifts also. Could be great in 2 years. Needs to lead a bit better and position himself a bit smarter. He's worth putting games into.

Question is, should he be learning that in the AFL yet or spend a bit more time in the Wafl. Not as though he won't learn anything under Micale.

Had a couple of fumbles early but was very good in the 2nd half. Speed, desperation and ran both ways.

These are the sorts of players that we need to develop into good players and Crichton today put his hand up. Good signs.

Neale also played his best game for the club I thought.

Crichton showed his shit today, he'll be in next week...

Lachie was pretty bad today in my opinion, did some Judd like stuff in his first year (some nice side steps, hes gonna b a gun) but nah cant say he had good game, hes got alot to learn playing with his frame in afl, esspecially aerobatically

Crichton tho, impressed kids got genuine speed