Opinion Cricket thread

I'm sure your Kumon league records are legit.

I do find it extraordinary that you know less about Cricket than you do about Footy, but there you go.

You only realise how important Wicket-Keeping is once you have a really sh*t one and he starts missing chances. A good one sets the tone of the entire game, can influence more than you can imagine, especially being able to bring batsmen back into their crease off medium pacers/inter the wind opening bowlers.

I was paid 500 quid a week to do it as an 18 year old, I was coached by Darren Berry and I managed to average about 75 with the bat too playing for Gilly's old club in SW London in 2001.

It's a thankless task and keeping back or on mats is pretty basic, but when you move to Gr1 level and you can perform stumpings off 125kmh bowlers, you become a weapon and an asset. It also takes balls I'm not sure you possess.

:tearsofjoy:

People who brag about wicket keeping are like people who brag about playing ice hockey for Victoria, as if that's some notable sporting feat.

I'm sure your mum & dad think you're important, and forked over heaps of bucks so someone could coach you to catch a ball. Soldier on tiger. :thumbsu:

:tearsofjoy:

People who brag about wicket keeping are like people who brag about playing ice hockey for Victoria, as if that's some notable sporting feat.

I'm sure your mum & dad think you're important, and forked over heaps of bucks so someone could coach you to catch a ball. Soldier on tiger. :thumbsu:

I played Sandringham Dragons, golf off scratch and kept wicket (and batted 3) for Vic U19.

Sorry... Darren Berry was a student teacher at my public school.

People choose to wicket keep because the game is boring and it keeps them in the game.

I played Sandringham Dragons, golf off scratch and kept wicket (and batted 3) for Vic U19.

Sorry... which one of them is ice hockey

What happened? Couldn't cut it against the men?

I'm a coward, I took a job at Goldman Sachs instead.
I missed big bash by 10 years, just stiff/not quite good enough/ didn't see an opening for a decade (Gilly/Haddin).

Cricket is not like footy, it's an individual game and the pathway to the top is much easier and clearly defined these days.

I find it hard to believe myself tbh

It's amazing how quickly you can fu** your life up if you don't want it enough.

Yeah talent alone gives you the opportunity but drive and hard work get you over the line

I learnt some great ditties at the cricket as a 10 year old watching Yallops mob get slaughtered at the MCG in the late 70’s, from the crowd of drunk blokes. We weren’t even close to Bay13 with us sitting up the City end lower deck where the current AFL members sit.

Our first and last family outing to the cricket.

Nate, S.O.S and Kraks l'm taking one for the team today and attending Korean b.b.q. & picnic. Won't watch a ball today.
Therefore when l watch the sports reports tonight Aus. would have wrapped up the Indians early and plundered 327 by the end of day 3 with an unbeaten opening stand of 213

Cheers 🇦🇺👍

Nate, S.O.S and Kraks l'm taking one for the team today and attending Korean b.b.q. & picnic. Won't watch a ball today.
Therefore when l watch the sports reports tonight Aus. would have wrapped the Indians early and plundered 327 by the end of day 3 with an unbeaten opening stand of 213

Cheers 🇦🇺👍
Very patriotic.

Do you Aussie-fy it by taking over and pretending to be an expert while really it’s just the mekju talking? Enjoy the...

2E48A0A3-C6D0-481D-9E0C-D58E26E406E1.png

And there goes another thread with multiple pages of people squabbling about things that are totally off-topic. It's called the "NM Big Footy Vegan-Effect".

The cricket starts again shortly mate (along with the suspect wicket keeping).

And there goes another thread with multiple pages of people squabbling about things that are totally off-topic. It's called the "NM Big Footy Vegan-Effect".

Mate

I post better gifs than you. I was this Boards 2016 Gif of the Year, three times on the back of an * game and seagulls and two where’s Trent efforts. I am a visual type of guy but what’s let me down is not being able to master the software to make original content. I have got the wit, just not the hard work or dedication.

Probs doesn’t help that we have gone from crayfish one week to sardines the next
There’s gotta be a GIF for that.

By the way, do you use the correct pronunciation, “JIff”?

To keep Marstermind happy, I am not seeing what the excitement is with Green. Hopefully I am wrong but he hasn’t had any influence that I can see.

There’s gotta be a GIF for that.

By the way, do you use the correct pronunciation, “JIff”?

To keep Marstermind happy, I am not seeing what the excitement is with Green. Hopefully I am wrong but he hasn’t had any influence that I can see.

Channel 7 has to generate supporter interest (& advertising revenue) somehow.

Mate

I post better gifs than you. I was this Boards 2016 Gif of the Year, three times on the back of an * game and seagulls and two where’s Trent efforts. I am a visual type of guy but what’s let me down is not being able to master the software to make original content. I have got the wit, just not the hard work or dedication.
You are truly the gif that keeps on giffing

People who brag about wicket keeping are like people who brag about playing ice hockey for Victoria, as if that's some notable sporting feat
Bragging about having two club records, then saying that. You are quality entertainment, mate.