NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent

It's shit. There are a million different insults you can use. Choosing one rooted in hatred towards a marginalised group is a stain on someone's character.
Isn't that what all insults are?

They're associating a person with a marginalised group that is seen as undesirable, whether it's a cuck, midget, virgin

Bloke is super talented but it's like he's on a speedrun to waste it. The staging alone should've been a suspension - I see he was fined but it should've been 10 fold that much after two of the most embarrassing soccer-style reactions to non-existent contact.

Isn't the what all insults are?

They're associating a person with a marginalised group that is seen as undesirable, whether it's a cuck, midget, virgin

Being a cuck, a midget or a virgin was never grounds to go to prison in Australia, unlike being Gay was.

Pretty sure the current 'no tolerance' policy is based around, you know, literal centuries of legit persecution of LGBTI peeps.

Being a cuck, a midget or a virgin was never grounds to go to prison in Australia, unlike being Gay was.

Pretty sure the current 'no tolerance' policy is based around, you know, literal centuries of legit persecution of LGBTI peeps.
Yeah I know, but he said 'choosing an insult rooted in hatred to a marginalised group is a stain on someone's character'.

I thought he was talking in general

You're right. We should be less virtuous and go back to the 'good old days'.

I'm just saying that 5 games is disproportionate relative to other physical acts of violence committed in games that would be considered assault that cop a similar punishment.

In this case, a fine that is donated to an LGBTQ+ charity, a public apology, and mandatory counseling would be a far better outcome for all involved.

The AFL will find a way to get it down to 3 weeks because they're serious about getting tough on homophobic slurs but don't want a high profile player miss the whole finals series.

They could suspend him for AFL & AFLW matches

That would help

Interesting choice by the Crom to send Darcy Fogarty out to face the media this morning.

Poor Fog was fighting for his life not knowing how to answer any of those questions without throwing Rankine under the bus or getting cancelled himself.

Tough scenes.

The AFL really has screwed the pooch this year.

Takes a hardline stance on homophobic slurs yet was too yellow bellied to take a similar stance on Willie Rioli's repeated abuse of opponents.

How the former can be 4-6 weeks and the latter just a week is astonishingly bad lack of self awareness from AFL house.

FTR I have no issue if Rankine ends up with a month + away from the game.
He shouldn't get a lighter sanction because his club could play in a GF this year.

Isn't that what all insults are?

I would say stupidity/idiocy is the norm though. And I count myself in that group at times. w***er, well who doesn't. Dickhead/dick, I mean half the population has one. arseh*le, 100%...

AFL backed themselves into a corner again. Legislating certain words and not others is unworkable and inconsistent.

The ONLY half decent way to approach this was the same way they do with most other things ie first offence, second offence, third. Then you have some wiggle room.

But as usual they didnt look further in front of themselves than the irrelevant player they could hang out to dry to score a win with 'inclusion'

What's a paedophilic slur
What it sounds like. Calling another player a pedo, rock spider or kiddy-fiddler or similar.

Mate of mine who is a teacher copped that one from an opponent while playing footy once - totally fabricated garbage just trying to rile him. And very very difficult to get that shit back into the horse when yelling it in a public domain in a country town.

And a 6 week penalty would be consistent with what the AFL has previously said about escalating penalties for future breaches.

Escalating penalties?

Honestly, I've had a gut full of the AFL just making shit up as they go.

Also, I wouldn't be surprised if Rankine gets off because having him play is good for business.

Most amateur professional sport in the history of sport.

I'm just saying that 5 games is disproportionate relative to other physical acts of violence committed in games that would be considered assault that cop a similar punishment.

Players consent to violence in AFL matches (to a certain degree, serious acts of violence could still be criminally prosecuted). It's a physcial contact sport. Contact (and violence) are integral parts of the sport.

Is there any reason players should have to consent to (or resort to) homophobic or racist slurs?

In what way are the latter integral parts of the game?

How long after the incident did Graham self-report?

Quickly but Rankine didn’t. Rankine contacted the player after the Pies, their players and the Crows reported it. That’s not self reporting not a chance on earth that is even remotely is under that banner

AFL backed themselves into a corner again. Legislating certain words and not others is unworkable and inconsistent.

The ONLY half decent way to approach this was the same way they do with most other things ie first offence, second offence, third. Then you have some wiggle room.

But as usual they didnt look further in front of themselves than the irrelevant player they could hang out to dry to score a win with 'inclusion'

AFL isn’t backed into a corner. Izak is. Utterly self-inflicted.

The AFL will be fine, they will have put 5 weeks on the table without blinking. The Crows are the ones desperately trying to navigate a way out of it.

A couple of days but the Rankine didn’t. He contacted the player after the Pies, their players and the Crows reported it. That’s not self reporting but a chance on earth that even remotely is under that banner

Couldn’t that he didn’t have an opportunity to sell - report in that case?

Or at least less of an opportunity than Graham.

Sam maclure said he has to me than Graham because he didn’t self report

NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent