Crowd

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

Posted this on the main board. Did a bit of research.

Not sure why anyone would think AAMI would sell out given Adelaide's history with Saturday arvo finals footy. Adelaide has played 7 finals games at home and the two lowest attendances of the 7 occurred on a Saturday arvo (38,641 for an Elimination Final 2003 and 42,203 for a Qualifying final 2006).

When final has been played on a Saturday night they have had attendances of 46,319 (1997) 48,678 (2005) and 50,521 (2005). Its bleeding obvious Saturday arvo on the first week of finals (which coincides with the Royal Adelaide Show) has an impact.

Interestingly, Adelaide has never had a Friday Night Final at AAMI. Port has had 4 of their 10 home finals on a Friday night and only one (last years Preliminary Final) on a Saturday arvo.

I hope we get 40 k atleast.

Less would be embarressing.

I think that if we had it tonight.. it wouldnt matter since the Royal Show opened tonight..

Okay, time to get this crowd lively.

Just watch these two movies and you will be fired up and will cheer and celebrate in fine form...

(be patient with the first one...its worth it)

[YOUTUBE]4SItPGEsjLQ[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]oMLCrzy9TEs[/YOUTUBE]

I couldnt find a good enough thread to post this in.

But I saw Craigey at the gym today.

Any guesses as to what he was doing whilst he was there...

That first video is not getting enough respect.

I want to see people 'playing ping pong' whenever we kick a goal

and if someone knocks out Medhurst or if we win to crack the 'Chernobyle child-playing ping pong' ahha.

Not sure why anyone would think AAMI would sell out given Adelaide's history with Saturday arvo finals footy. Adelaide has played 7 finals games at home and the two lowest attendances of the 7 occurred on a Saturday arvo (38,641 for an Elimination Final 2003 and 42,203 for a Qualifying final 2006).

When final has been played on a Saturday night they have had attendances of 46,319 (1997) 48,678 (2005) and 50,521 (2005). Its bleeding obvious Saturday arvo on the first week of finals (which coincides with the Royal Adelaide Show) has an impact.

Interestingly, Adelaide has never had a Friday Night Final at AAMI. Port has had 4 of their 10 home finals on a Friday night and only one (last years Preliminary Final) on a Saturday arvo.

Was our 2006 home prelim against west coke on a sat afternoon? That one sold out, albeit with an extra week of selling tickets!

wasnt our 2005 home qualifying final against st.kilda a fri night?
that would be one of the loudest games ive been to, that 1st quarter from kenny!

Was our 2006 home prelim against west coke on a sat afternoon? That one sold out, albeit with an extra week of selling tickets!

Yes it was a Saturday afternoon but the main differences are:-

1) There is no competition from the Royal Adelaide Show for your entertainment dollar

2) Its a Preliminary Final for a Grand Final berth not an Elimination or Qualifying Final. For that reason alone its guaranteed to be a sellout.

Whoever goes today(and I shouldnt even need to say this) FIRE UP:D:thumbsu:

Forget your radio (if you dont understand whats going on in front of you then stay home and listen to it on the radio) forget marking goals in your footy record (some stupid obsession people have) and FIRE UP:thumbsu:

I am not going today unfortunately as I dont have the money. If it was next week I would have been fine, but we went to the show yesterday and now I am flat broke. It also doesnt help the crowd numbers with it being a "nothing" final ie winning just means that you have to play again next week for an opportunity to get into a prelim final. If we got top 4 the final at home in the second week would have sold far better IMO.

I predict a crowd of 42,324. Thankfully we r playing Collingwood or it may have been more like 35K which would have been embarrassing.

I sense a strong vibe that a couple of thousand people are saving their money to watch the team in Melbourne the following week. This is disturbing in many ways.

Next weekend I am in Melbourne regardless so hope we win 2day!!! :)

I am not going today unfortunately as I dont have the money. If it was next week I would have been fine, but we went to the show yesterday and now I am flat broke. It also doesnt help the crowd numbers with it being a "nothing" final ie winning just means that you have to play again next week for an opportunity to get into a prelim final. If we got top 4 the final at home in the second week would have sold far better IMO.

A nothing final WTF, the whole season is on the line today what the club/players have worked hard to achieve and you declare it a nothing final, thank **** you are staying home:thumbsd:

This is a huge day for a young players to be exposed to finals pressure football, it helps our list development alot, as when most clubs develop their lists they bottom out and dont get finals exposure early on, the club has done very well and exceeded all expectations and now is the time to see how far we can push into September.

nothing game...............far from it.

It's a little embarrassing to be honest.

2 of the biggest clubs in the land and won't get close to filling the stadium.

Best game I've ever been to atmosphere wise was the Lolmantle final in 2006, and that was only 42k or something. That was a Saturday arvo, and Fremantle, who's travelling support base consists of a couple of bogans with those powderpuff crepe paper lollypop things. Freo aren't exactly a huge draw, so it was sort of expected.

But this is Collingwood FFS. It's a ridiculously massive game for the club, and we're struggling for 40k. WTF?

The show? C'mon. Miss a massive game for YOUR club, to get shoved by little kids, step in horse shit, and smell all the spew around the Gravatron or whatever it is.

Oh well, I'm sure those there today will be in good voice, and trying to get the boys over the line.

Let's demolish the ****ers!!

Edit: A NOTHING FINAL?

Jesus christ.

The show? C'mon. Miss a massive game for YOUR club, to get shoved by little kids, step in horse shit, and smell all the spew around the Gravatron or whatever it is.

Ha ha so true. Don't forget paying $20 for showbags when you could purchase the same items for half the price at a supermarket ... and the extravagant fee just to get into the show which only gives you the right to waste even more money!

Surely the blackout at the Show last nite was an omen from the angry football gods!!! We are making a false idol of these showgrounds I say!

Ha ha so true. Don't forget paying $20 for showbags when you could purchase the same items for half the price at a supermarket ... and the extravagant fee just to get into the show which only gives you the right to waste even more money!

Surely the blackout at the Show last nite was an omen from the angry football gods!!! We are making a false idol of these showgrounds I say!

Leave the Adelaide Show for the Port Power bogans, ohh no wait they will all be at home this afternoon with their old fella in their hands, foaming at the mouth, obsessing over the AFC:rolleyes: