Crows 0-4

crazy_big_al said:
it will be a tough few weeks for the crows. People will be able to really see if Neil can turn the club around.

Would be harsh to accurately assess Craigy in the first 4 weeks. I'd say by mid-season is when we can start to REALLY assess his gameplan, selections, matchday performance, style, etc..

Don't worry Big Al, I'll be amongst the first to pounce!

Hmm a 0-4 concept is very possible, i believe following a good start to the year this week they could also do as well as 3-1 (I'm not holding high hopes for the showdown, but i said that last year ;) ).

Round 1 Vs. West Coast at AAMI - Very Winnable, Home game, first of the season, will be looking for good start.

Round 2 Vs. Collingwood at TD - Possible win, This one's a 50-50, if the crows have a good day they could easily win but it is equally possible they'll come out playing like ******** after a win against WC and bugger it up!

Round 3 Vs. Port at AAMI - A Chance, Hmmm Reining Premiers, Adelaide's poor records in showdowns and Adelaide's surprise win last year all seem to add up to the Crows having a small chance.

Round 4 Vs. Sydney at SCG - Winnable, will also depend how the boys come out on the night but Sydney will be complacent when playing us and we should be in with a strong chance as we should have all our good players fit!

knowledgeable fan said:
The only game i can see the crows realistically winning in the first 4 rounds is against the pies in round 2 but even that looks like the odds are stacked against them with the game being played in Melb. Luckily for the crows they should win rounds 5 and 6 to get their season back on track.

and who are you again?

im a gun footy expert who knows all. it isnt easy but i just try to get by, day by day. :D
oh and apparently im a troll too who is not allowed to his opinion but i can assure u i shall be back at the conclusion of round 4 to either gloat about my wealth or knowledge or possibly (unlikely) admit that i have clearly underestimated the crows this year. just answer me this tho coz i cant come up with an answer, if welsh or stevens don't play thru injury who's gona kick all the goals??? i know if carlton where missing fevola and whitnall at the moment we'd be up ******** creek without a paddle

knowledgeable fan said:
im a gun footy expert who knows all. it isnt easy but i just try to get by, day by day. :D
oh and apparently im a troll too who is not allowed to his opinion but i can assure u i shall be back at the conclusion of round 4 to either gloat about my wealth or knowledge or possibly (unlikely) admit that i have clearly underestimated the crows this year. just answer me this tho coz i cant come up with an answer, if welsh or stevens don't play thru injury who's gona kick all the goals??? i know if carlton where missing fevola and whitnall at the moment we'd be up ******** creek without a paddle
Well if they miss a lot of games through injury I would expect us to really struggle. Perrie has been known to kick a bag or 2 when played as a FF. We would definetly struggle if that was the case or we could jusr move Roo or Burton to FF and watch them kick a bag after bag.

Lets not forget Burton has lead the goal kicking before with 50+ in a season. And thats after he spend only 2/3rds of the season as a FF.

Why all the negativity boys. You should try think like me. The mighty Adelaide Crows are going to go undefeated all season and win the Grand Final. I know its not going to happen but it doesn't hurt to hope :)

I think 1-3 most likely, I think we will win on Sunday. The two problems with the Eagles in my opinion are their form away from WA and also their weakness is their forward line they need a tredrea/fev/revoting/j brown type player that can maximise the opportunities that their midfield provide. Other than that I see Adelaide V Collingwood being a scrub fest with Collingwood getting up by a couple of goals, the showdown being the usual result and seriously in my opinion Adelaide wont beat sydney in sydney and after that we could struggle against WB in Melbourne, but a win definately after that against North at home.

I think that we will most probably be 3-3 after 6 rounds and on our way to a 9 win season and a finish about 12th

too hard to call at the start of the season

we could well be 0-4
my gut feeling without even knowing player availability thru injury etc at this stage is 1-3

West Coast - loss - (Goodwin suspended, Thompson not ready, Burton inj, Clarke,Biglands underdone, Hart not ready or underdone,Doughty underdone)

Collingwood - too close too call but we have an abysmal record against them

Power - well they are reigning premiers and have the record against us

Sydney - IMO the most winnable

whatever we are after 4 rounds, i just want to see definite upwards signs and i expect to see a fully competitive side playing with intensity

At times like these one only has to look at Port during the summer prior to their entry in 1997.

Most good judges said the Power would be lucky to win a game in their first year, and that they would replace Fitzroy as the league whipping boy - I asked Adam Heuskes if Port would win any when he, Kane Johnson and Russell Ebert came to our school and he replied with "f**ken hope so!". In the end they missed out on finals by percentage.

Long story short, anything is possible in this league. Yeah we could be 0-4, we could also be 4-0 or 2-2.

The only thing for certain is we won't know until round 5.

dyertribe said:
At times like these one only has to look at Port during the summer prior to their entry in 1997.

Most good judges said the Power would be lucky to win a game in their first year, and that they would replace Fitzroy as the league whipping boy - I asked Adam Heuskes if Port would win any when he, Kane Johnson and Russell Ebert came to our school and he replied with "f**ken hope so!". In the end they missed out on finals by percentage.

Long story short, anything is possible in this league. Yeah we could be 0-4, we could also be 4-0 or 2-2.

The only thing for certain is we won't know until round 5.

Well said.

For someone who claims to be such a Knowledgable fan you don't seem to have a clue.

Whilst the Eagles would have to start favourites in the upcoming game for the sheer strength of their midfield on paper, you really have to remember that games of football aren't won on paper.

The Eagles haven't beaten the Crows at AAMI stadium since 1996 and traditionally they travel appallingly. The reason the Eagles dominate over all other sides when they play at Subiaco is because it's the widest ground in the AFL and, given space, the Eagles have the most damaging midfield in the competition.

The Eagles were completely shown up against Carlton in the wizard cup however because they are also the most unaccountable midfield in the AFL. You clog up the open spaces and leave them with nowhere to run and no free flowing movement and you completely shut down the whole Eagles forward thrust.

For as good and as well coached a side as they are their gameplan is rather simple (as simple as a gameplan can be at AFL level) They also fall into the awful habit we have of bombing the ball high rather than long and hoping for someone to take a strong mark (without Phil Matera for the last few years crumbing the drop of the ball the Eagles would have been in a lot more trouble)

Not downplaying the Eagles at all here as I think they will be nigh on unbeatable at home this year, but look out for the Crows to clog up the open spaces and man up strongly on the Eagles this week, I personally think it will be the game we're most likely to win out of our first 4, we just need to play to a simple gameplan and Run it up the gut, use Perrie to create space in the centre corridor and allow Welshy and Biglands to lead out with Stevo playing from the square.

That's all from coach Rave for tonight :)

biglands won't play for the crows this sunday is my hot tip! what do u guys reckon? silly move by the crows coaching panel if u ask me! will cost them the game and crows will be 0-1 by sunday nite!!!

U KNOW IT

knowledgeable fan said:
biglands won't play for the crows this sunday is my hot tip! what do u guys reckon? silly move by the crows coaching panel if u ask me! will cost them the game and crows will be 0-1 by sunday nite!!!

U KNOW IT
Yep we know it

Pity you dont know it troll

troll.jpg

ahh hahaha. man i can't wait til 5pm sunday arvo, im gona be on this site proclaiming my dominance over most of u guys in the area of football knowledge!

what do u mean "pity i don't know it?"

Perth Crow ur not making ne sense!!!

im not a troll as i live in adelaide. if i were a carlton fan living in vic i would be more than happy to claim the troll of the month award ;)

knowledgeable fan said:
ahh hahaha. man i can't wait til 5pm sunday arvo, im gona be on this site proclaiming my dominance over most of u guys in the area of football knowledge!

what do u mean "pity i don't know it?"

Perth Crow ur not making ne sense!!!

im not a troll as i live in adelaide. if i were a carlton fan living in vic i would be more than happy to claim the troll of the month award ;)

mate you have to wait 4 weeks to make a comment and if we are not 0-4 I expect an apology posted as well !