Jerome

Adelaide Crows, Centrals
Crows in SANFL Round 5

Adelaide Crows playing in the SANFL Round 5 :)
CENTRAL

Reserves - Griffen

EAGLES

Seniors – Watts (FP), Stevens (CHF), Bock (FB), Knights (interchange bench – may still play ressies)

NORTH

Seniors – Ladhams (FP)
Reserves – Nye (HBF)

PORT MAGPIES

Seniors – Stevens (FP)
Reserves – Maric

WEST

Seniors – Jericho (FP)

STURT

Seniors – Smith (CHB)

GLENELG

Reserves – Hinge, Andrews

SOUTH

Seniors - Clarke

Thanks heaps for the info Jerome. Very, very much appreciated. :)

Great to see Knights in line for a spot in the Seniors. Even though I doubt he'll make it this week, its great to see his performance being rewarded and being given chances.

Told you guys Fantasia did it again with the late pick. ;)

Jerome you were right last week. Its definitley round 5 in the SANFL

Eagles have played three and had one bye so far and so this is round 5.

Would love to know whether Knights will play as I have to decide whether to go for the Ressies.

Will Ladhams play for North this week or will he be the travelling emergency again? It would make more sense to take Massie as Norwood have the bye, but the Crows took Ladhams last week despite the fact that he had the week off meaning he hasn't played for two weeks now.

Also just on young Nye, he has regularly been in North's better players in the reserves playing down back, however I still think it might take him a while to crack a spot in the league side as North have a very settled back six that is ranked number 1 in the league this year.

Pretty sure Ladhams will play for north, how is he going to break into the crows line-up if he lacks in match practice?

SpringChoke said:
Thanks Jerome - still disappointing to see so many playing ressies.

I believe that Neil Craig has asked for some players to be played in the ressies for a full game if they can't be guaranted a full game in the league side.

Speaking to someone at the Port Magpies, Craig asked he be given as much time as possible in the ruck for the reserves so he can learn the game and role.

By all reports he has been getting better each week and has come a long way since Round 1. Last week he got hit behind the play by a Centrals player and the next few contests he was breathing file and flattened the Centrals ruckman and the centre bounce.

Positve signs, both Gibson and Maric shown the signs of toughness.

Having a look thru the Sunday Mail this morning and Jericho, S Stevens and Smith are listed as the best Crows in the seniors.

Nye is listed in the best players for North's reserves. Sadly it doesnt look like any of the other crows in the ressies did a great deal this weekend.

Ladhams only kicked one goal for the match against Port from 5 kicks. If North keep losing, Jars may make some changes and Nye could be in the seniors soon.

Cant wait for tomorrow. I'll be keen to see Knights, Watts, Stevens and Bock and Griffen for the Dogs. If you get there early to see the reserves look out for # 22 for Centrals - Travis Varcoe.

he is a highly regarded junior and trained with AFC during the summer. he recently played with the Aussie U 18 team in Ireland and played well.

GO THE DOGS!

Yeah Varcoe looks alright. Just tried to post pics but the way I usually do it didnt work for some reason.

Shannon Hurns another to watch out for. Playing his first senior game for the year.

Has anyone from this board been at the North Vs Port match this weekend? If you have can you tell us what exactly happened causing a 10 year old girl to be taken into hospital by an ambulance with a dislocated shoulder?

There was a dero who was alledgedly a Port supporter who was a mate of someone who hangs around the North Grog Squad who stood in the middle and apparently tried to start fights with everyone there. Security was told to remove him or something will happen. In the last quarter he knocked over a kid chasing after the footy after a score, a grog squad member had a go at him, moron started throwing punches, got pushed (apparently) lost his balance and fell on top of this kid and broke her collarbone. Ended up in a punch on, grog squad members chasing after the guy and police dragging him away.

Macca19 said:
There was a dero who was alledgedly a Port supporter who was a mate of someone who hangs around the North Grog Squad who stood in the middle and apparently tried to start fights with everyone there. Security was told to remove him or something will happen. In the last quarter he knocked over a kid chasing after the footy after a score, a grog squad member had a go at him, moron started throwing punches, got pushed (apparently) lost his balance and fell on top of this kid and broke her collarbone. Ended up in a punch on, grog squad members chasing after the guy and police dragging him away.
Ouch :(

Thanks mate. Its something we don't want to see at the footy.

Well I'm gonna front up and say well done to the Eagles.

They belted us in the middle, they beat us at ground level and we could'nt handle their flooding tactics. In fact we were sucked in by it, it took Schell out of the game.

I thought Watts was good. Presented well, moved well looked confidendent, didnt hurt us as much as he could have. Kicking for goal needs work.

I dont recall seeing too much of Stevo. Bock did his job without doing anything special.

Knights - good sized midfielder. I didnt see him do too much in the ressies. Took a good mark, gave away a silly free.

Griffen. First half want anything great. Won some tap outs but CDFC werent taking it out of the centre. he didnt take too many marks around the ground during the whole match. Played FF for a while. Lifted his game in the second half with some good clearances and good long kicks that set up (badly needed) goals. Kicked one himself. Not too good when it comes to the physical stuff.Dogs won by 5 points, after being down by 40 odd at 1/4 time.

Jerome said:

They belted us in the middle, they beat us at ground level and we could'nt handle their flooding tactics. In fact we were sucked in by it, it took Schell out of the game.

I thought Watts was good. Presented well, moved well looked confidendent, didnt hurt us as much as he could have. Kicking for goal needs work.

I dont recall seeing too much of Stevo. Bock did his job without doing anything special.

Knights - good sized midfielder. I didnt see him do too much in the ressies. Took a good mark, gave away a silly free.

Griffen. First half want anything great. Won some tap outs but CDFC werent taking it out of the centre. he didnt take too many marks around the ground during the whole match. Played FF for a while. Lifted his game in the second half with some good clearances and good long kicks that set up (badly needed) goals. Kicked one himself. Not too good when it comes to the physical stuff.Dogs won by 5 points, after being down by 40 odd at 1/4 time.

Thanks Jerome, so should we assume with the Eagles good form Knights will still be a few weeks away from playing seniors? Your report on Griffin sounds accurate, good news with Ferg dissapointing about Stevo.

Did you see Bock bash into someone in the first quarter, one of the most corageous acts we may ever see from young Nathan.

Jerome said:

Cheers Jerome, very appreciated. :)

Good to see Fergus stand up when played forward and kick a few goals. Jericho's probably ahead of him at the moment but I reckon Fergus will be looked at closely due to our ongoing lack of marking forwards.

Good to see Griffin doing a bit as well. Obviously he's very much a project player, but its good to see that he is steadily improving despite his obvious flaws. His upside should see him turn into a pretty handy player if he makes it.

Jerome said:

I only watched the first half as I had to go out and take care fo a couple of things. I taped it so I will watch it later.

I thought Watts was dreadful in the first quarter. He just couldn't get near it. As soon as Ellis went off with an elbow injury Watts started playing better. He presented well and could have kicked 3 if he kicked straight.

I just got the feeling that for some reason Ellis and Watts just don't function well in the same forward line. When Ellis plays Watts can't get near it. When Ellis is not there Watts plays better.

On a slightly different note, how exciting is Varcoe :)???? He was obviously very nervous and rushed his disposal a lot but gee he is quick. I like this lad. Once he settles he will be an excitement machine. For someone who is slightly built he doesn't mind putting his body on the line and mixing it with the big boys :). I would love him at the crows :D

Centrals defence was good early. The tricky thing about the Eagles forward line is they all have a number of talls - Stevens, Watts, Passador, Ellis. Hard to contain them all but they can sometimes get in each others way. Ellis dropping out gave Gus some much needed space.

Yeah, Trav was alright. he has pace and turned it over a bit early, but some of those quick handballs were deadly and that tackle on the outer side was very good. I would love to see him in the tri colours. Fantasia was there having a look.

Griff certainly did stand up for the Dogs today in that last half. Knights will be the ressies for a little while yet.

I reckon Watts, Bock and Stevens did pretty great in the Eagles Dogs Clash today... What do youse reckon? :)

Jericho_Rox said:
I reckon Watts, Bock and Stevens did pretty great in the Eagles Dogs Clash today... What do youse reckon? :)

Ise rekons you're rite!! ;)

Watts had a pretty good game whether in attack or defence, but IMO played far better in attack.

Stevo a bit quiet but useful - gives a good contest.

Bock was very good IMO. Played a very good game in defence, and must be pretty close to a game with the Crows.

Jerome said:
The tricky thing about the Eagles forward line is they all have a number of talls - Stevens, Watts, Passador, Ellis. Hard to contain them all but they can sometimes get in each others way. Ellis dropping out gave Gus some much needed space.
I agree and its probably one of the reasons Passador is playing further up the ground this year, mainly as a HFF.

Macca19 said:
Yeah Varcoe looks alright. Just tried to post pics but the way I usually do it didnt work for some reason.

Shannon Hurns another to watch out for. Playing his first senior game for the year.

Varcoe was found out yesterday at that level yet he has plenty of time. Got caught with the ball the first three times he had it.

Eagles thumped the doggies in almost the reverse trend of the Grand final. Bad kicking for goal was teh only blight on the day for the Eagles

Bock was tremendous down back. Centrals cheer squad resoted to chanting Bock is a ********er in the last quarter as the ball was never down there. Funny stuff.

Watts was good as was Stevens.

Saw the last quarter of the ressies but Knights didn't do much as the Eagles were flogged. Griffin did very nicely in the centre square though.

Varcoe was ok in his debut, showed his pace and his skills will sharpen and his confidence will rise with more gametime in the league side, tho he will prolly get dropped when others come back (half our best side is nearly gone, both Gowans out, Healy, no Thommo, Ware, McCabe...ffs)

Eagles fully exposed our side yesterday and were too good. Watts leapt well, did a few silly and good things.

Jars458 said:
Saw the last quarter of the ressies but Knights didn't do much as the Eagles were flogged. Griffin did very nicely in the centre square though.
Flogged? Thought the result was less than a kick! Did the doggies dominiate the last 1/4?