jo172

San Antonio, Redbacks
Watched some of the Chooks vs. Maggies and big Ivan looked very good but Perrie was rather quiet in a forward line built around Daniel Hargraves. Anyone see any of the other boys in the SANFL this afternoon?

Well Norwood v Central was just about the best game of local footy I've seen all year. Just a beauty. Norwood kicked the first 3 goals, then Central kicked 6 unanswered goals. They got up by 4 goals in the third quarter and looked set to blow the game apart. Then Norwood hit back thanks to Adam Cockshell. He’s 19 years old who the Crows should keep an eye on; he kicked about 4 goals and probably won the game for us up forward. Then the last quarter went about 33 minutes, one of the longest quarters I can remember. The siren sounded for about a second, then as the Norwood theme song was playing and the players were celebrating, the umpires talked to each other and they decided to play on for another 3 seconds. Heart attack no doubt. But the Legs held on to win by 2 points. :)

Meesen started well, had 5 possessions in the first quarter but then went off in the second quarter and Nicholas came on, who was one of the main reasons the Legs got back into the game. So Meesen spent about a quarter and a half on the bench. He came on late and got another five or so touches, so probably ended with about 10. He played alright, but with Nicholas playing so well we didn't need him so much.

Chad Gibson started appalling, he spent the first term on the bench and when he came on he couldn’t get near the ball. He looked rusty and couldn’t make an impact. However his second half was certainly an improvement, he got involved and took some nice marks. His style of play certainly hasn’t changed; he crashed the packs countless times, even cleaning up his own teammate who thankfully got back up. He showed some great signs in the second half of being a great option across the forward line.

Griffin was pretty impressive actually, he went up against Meesen a few times, and did alright. He’s got a huge leap, can really get up high, but the majority of his taps pretty much went straight to Norwood. In the last quarter he was extremely frustrating, as he was roaming the middle of the ground, just being the spare man mopping up any balls banged forward. He probably took about 3 or 4 marks in the last quarter alone. His foot skills are a little dodgy, but he showed some great signs.

Oh and Justin Westhoff kicked 4.2 from memory, and should’ve had 6. He was extremely dangerous, he should definitely be selected by the Crows in the draft. Super talent.

Translate that into normal speak and Meesen must of been ****e!;)

Just kidding Drummond, always great to read these reports, thanks mate.

Drummond said:
Oh and Justin Westhoff kicked 4.2 from memory, and should’ve had 6. He was extremely dangerous, he should definitely be selected by the Crows in the draft. Super talent.

I've only seen him a couple of times, but you're right - he looks very likely!!

Only watched bits and pieces of the North V Ports game. Perrie looked very rusty. I would suggest he may play another couple of games for the Chickadees.

Check my Alberton thread, i thought Perrie was pretty good, didnt take too many big marks but its rare for him to do that anyway, i thought his pressure when it hit the ground was good. Showed a great work rate.

Ivan was awesome.

Westhoff is a gun, theres 3 of them at Lizbeff.

Drummond said:
Well Norwood v Central was just about the best game of local footy I've seen all year. Just a beauty. Norwood kicked the first 3 goals, then Central kicked 6 unanswered goals. They got up by 4 goals in the third quarter and looked set to blow the game apart. Then Norwood hit back thanks to Adam Cockshell. He’s 19 years old who the Crows should keep an eye on; he kicked about 4 goals and probably won the game for us up forward. Then the last quarter went about 33 minutes, one of the longest quarters I can remember. The siren sounded for about a second, then as the Norwood theme song was playing and the players were celebrating, the umpires talked to each other and they decided to play on for another 3 seconds. Heart attack no doubt. But the Legs held on to win by 2 points. :)

Meesen started well, had 5 possessions in the first quarter but then went off in the second quarter and Nicholas came on, who was one of the main reasons the Legs got back into the game. So Meesen spent about a quarter and a half on the bench. He came on late and got another five or so touches, so probably ended with about 10. He played alright, but with Nicholas playing so well we didn't need him so much.

Chad Gibson started appalling, he spent the first term on the bench and when he came on he couldn’t get near the ball. He looked rusty and couldn’t make an impact. However his second half was certainly an improvement, he got involved and took some nice marks. His style of play certainly hasn’t changed; he crashed the packs countless times, even cleaning up his own teammate who thankfully got back up. He showed some great signs in the second half of being a great option across the forward line.

Griffin was pretty impressive actually, he went up against Meesen a few times, and did alright. He’s got a huge leap, can really get up high, but the majority of his taps pretty much went straight to Norwood. In the last quarter he was extremely frustrating, as he was roaming the middle of the ground, just being the spare man mopping up any balls banged forward. He probably took about 3 or 4 marks in the last quarter alone. His foot skills are a little dodgy, but he showed some great signs.

I would love to know what Griffen weighs. From the bits I have seen, he really does have alot of potential but he needs put on a ton of meat before he is AFL ready. If we can get this guy to stock up on KFC, the likely loss of Meeson may not hurt as much.

Seen young Richard Douglas at the bay today, little bit rusty in parts of the game but a huge talent, I hope he likes living in Adelaide, as he has a huge future. Some glimpses of brilliance

macca23 said:
I've only seen him a couple of times, but you're right - he looks very likely!!
Ditto for me. Westoff looks an impressive type. Dead-eye kick for goal too.

jayjake said:
Seen young Richard Douglas at the bay today, little bit rusty in parts of the game but a huge talent, I hope he likes living in Adelaide, as he has a huge future. Some glimpses of brilliance

Was close to selection before injury only second game back and looks good should ease the Bryce Gibbs pain a bit [ My mate told me he heard Ross Gibbs say he is no certainy to go in this years draft.]

Hinge stood Jerhico and got a bath jerhico looks a bit bigger as well i have not given up on him took some good one grab marks with Hinge providing some reasonable pressure

Welsh limited chances looked fair grabbed his left hamstring in the 3rd quater would have to say though would have to be a few injuries for him 2 get in was in our best 22 but now ?????

birdmanptr said:
[ My mate told me he heard Ross Gibbs say he is no certainy to go in this years draft.]
Yeah, mentioned this a few times. Bryce is far from a certainty from being in the draft this year.

birdmanptr said:
Was close to selection before injury only second game back and looks good should ease the Bryce Gibbs pain a bit [ My mate told me he heard Ross Gibbs say he is no certainy to go in this years draft.]

Hinge stood Jerhico and got a bath jerhico looks a bit bigger as well i have not given up on him took some good one grab marks with Hinge providing some reasonable pressure

Welsh limited chances looked fair grabbed his left hamstring in the 3rd quater would have to say though would have to be a few injuries for him 2 get in was in our best 22 but now ?????

Good mail on Rosco Gibbs, apparently believes that it is not necessary for Bryce to nominate for next years draft, plenty of time for that when he is ready.

Drummond said:
Watched him last week and at 198cm thereabouts he's very fast and good on the ground which can be very alluring as a draft prospect BUT......that enticement is only good if he can also take a grab something I didn't pickup in the one viewing.

Otherwise he's a midfielder playing in a tall mans body ?

Can this kid also put on weight??....terribly under nourished

I thought Perrie was pretty good considering he only had a half in the reserves last week. He had a very good work rate but he was a bit rusty in the execution of his skills. I think he'll probably stay in the SANFL next week and look to getting back into the Crows after that.

birdmanptr said:
He's not done with yet folks.......Jericho still has a lot to offer!

Wayne's-World said:
He's not done with yet folks.......Jericho still has a lot to offer!

He's obviously very shy then WW.

He hasn't allowed us to see it at AFL level yet. ;)

He's a goner at year end. Softest player on our list.

macca23 said:
He's obviously very shy then WW.

He hasn't allowed us to see it at AFL level yet. ;)

He's a goner at year end. Softest player on our list.
Macca you have to learn to read the tea-Leaves.

He's doing penance....has had injuries and the Crows have only lost two games for the year.

Massie only played 3 games last year and looked completely out of favour and also was written off by this board.

Jericho...189cm player with very good speed, good mark (could be a great mark) and presents like Burton serious match-up problems.

He'll be perservered with!....what is he 21 going on 22....still a baby in AFL terms

This Westhoff dude, is he the tall, lanky forward from Centrals??????

If so, I have only seen about a quarter of footy from him thanks to ABC (about a month ago) but he was freakisly similar type of player to Hentschel. In one particular play his ground level skills, and ability to turn on a 5 cent piece reminded me so much of Hentschel. Ended up kicking a goal from that passege of play.

Stiffy_18 said:
This Westhoff dude, is he the tall, lanky forward from Centrals??????

If so, I have only seen about a quarter of footy from him thanks to ABC (about a month ago) but he was freakisly similar type of player to Hentschel. In one particular play his ground level skills, and ability to turn on a 5 cent piece reminded me so much of Hentschel. Ended up kicking a goal from that passege of play.

Very good analogy Stiffy. That's who he does remind me of. I like the look of him.

Wayne's-World said:
Macca you have to learn to read the tea-Leaves.

He's doing penance....has had injuries and the Crows have only lost two games for the year.

Massie only played 3 games last year and looked completely out of favour and also was written off by this board.
But you see, Massie was always in the best players for the Legs. Week in, week out he was brilliant and tried his guts out. Whereas Jericho often doesn't make an impact for the Bloods and barely puts in an effort.

And yes Stiffy, that's Westhoff. 197cm and 85kgs.

doiler said:
I thought Perrie was pretty good considering he only had a half in the reserves last week. He had a very good work rate but he was a bit rusty in the execution of his skills. I think he'll probably stay in the SANFL next week and look to getting back into the Crows after that.
Sarge is a player who is usually better off with plenty of physical work. I didn't see him todaym but reckon he may be at least 2 weeks away. Could be a really bonus for the finals though.

Wayne's-World said:
Watched him last week and at 198cm thereabouts he's very fast and good on the ground which can be very alluring as a draft prospect BUT......that enticement is only good if he can also take a grab something I didn't pickup in the one viewing.

Otherwise he's a midfielder playing in a tall mans body ?

Can this kid also put on weight??....terribly under nourished

The AFC website has him at 84kg and big Iv at 96. I would suggest he would need to put another 8kg, at the very least, before he is AFL ready.