supporters. Well done the Crows by getting back in the match. But
Melbourne deserved the win by controlling the game for three quarters
and getting up in the end.
Plus...what has happened to the crows forward line? Welsh the only
multiple goalkicker.
Where was the crowd? Only 35,000...lets here the excuses

Onto next week

Originally posted by BT:
We were very lucky tonight, but we did deserve the 4 points. It was good to see the Crows show some spirit. I also thought it was fitting that Leoncelli kicked the winning goal, best on ground by miles. He'll be top of our B&F at this stage.

Sorry, but I can't agree with the notion that Melbourne "deserved" the win any more than did Adelaide. Melbourne played better during the first half. Adelaide played better during the second half. Just about every statistic (kicks, handballs, marks) was pretty damn close at the end for both teams.

Adelaide had more scoring shots than Melbourne.

What was that free against McGregor supposed to be for? Robertson (was it?) was on the ground, he dragged the ball in under, he got takled fairly (not too high), he gets the free right in front & gets a goal?

Nah, the way I saw it, it was damn close, Melbourne were plain lucky.

You might even be generous & say that Melbourne deserved to win *as much* as Crows, but no way did they deserve it outright.

As for Crows effort - well a bit better than the week before. But Crows *have* to work on disposal still - they gifted way too many balls to Melbourne.

Originally posted by BT:
Your entitled to your opinion as am I. However Adelaide got the better of the umpiring (in my opinion) so don't start blaming them.

You can take it as read that I saw it as the umpiring going in favour as Melbourne just as much as you saw it as going in favour of Adelaide. The free kick tally would surely show no obvious bias one way or the other - so its a moot point. In fact - any of the stats - marks, hitouts, kicks, handballs were just about even.

Adelaide had slightly more scoring shots - Melbourne were dead lucky at the end to have a slightly bigger score.

There is just no way on Gods green earth that you can claim Melbourne "deserved it" more. It purely and simply isn't so.

And it is exceedingly annoying when either you BT or TV commentators or dimwitted Port fans try to claim otherwise, especially here on the Crows board.

Originally posted by BT:
Your entitled to your opinion as am I. However Adelaide got the better of the umpiring (in my opinion) so don't start blaming them.

No way did the Crows lose because of the umpiring, but what about that goal which was touched before going through? And even though statistics show free kicks being even, its where they're given which counts, i.e. right in front of goals.

BT, feel free to post here again, but understand that after a loss, most supporters have a little sh.. on the liver.

Let me just add, melbourne did not play good in the first half, it was adelaide's pathetic disosal in the wet! we were shocking! However we showed some spirit,

P.S EDid anyone see all the deliberate out of bounds in the last 2 mins by the demons? Or how bout the goal that was touched by a crows player???

35000 was a good crowd considering rain!

Port wont get 35000 in any of there games this season, apart from the showdown

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

not excuses facts!

we still had 35,000 at the game!!!!!!

Wheather was crap
Clipsal 500 on this weekend
36's playing in a final live on Fox

come on, not sure who you support, but if you are a power supporter you can hardly talk about crowd numbers. They have less members than last year and can only get about 23,000 to there home games, they had to shut there merchandise shop at west lakes cause no one was buying anything. If your a crows supporter, where you there? I hope so, cause I sure was, and yelling and cheering loudly.

Originally posted by Crows.ok:
Sorry, but I can't agree with the notion that Melbourne "deserved" the win any more than did Adelaide. Melbourne played better during the first half. Adelaide played better during the second half. Just about every statistic (kicks, handballs, marks) was pretty damn close at the end for both teams.

Adelaide had more scoring shots than Melbourne.

What was that free against McGregor supposed to be for? Robertson (was it?) was on the ground, he dragged the ball in under, he got takled fairly (not too high), he gets the free right in front & gets a goal?

Nah, the way I saw it, it was damn close, Melbourne were plain lucky.

You might even be generous & say that Melbourne deserved to win *as much* as Crows, but no way did they deserve it outright.

As for Crows effort - well a bit better than the week before. But Crows *have* to work on disposal still - they gifted way too many balls to Melbourne.

Melbourne kicked ahead early when it mattered. Crows were playing catch up football from the word go...i think i can clearly say Melbourne deserved the win. Dont start blaming the umpires...why did Ben Hart get that free that ended up with that Goodwin goal in the last minute??
The only problem was really the crows forward line, seemed to miss a few shots...and also Ayres wierd positional changes. Why have Gallagher at Full Back? And Riccuito in a back pocket? Roo is probably Adelaides best midfilder and by far the biggest kick, i thought youd have him in the middle there somewhere

You can take it as read that I saw it as the umpiring going in favour as Melbourne just as much as you saw it as going in favour of Adelaide. The free kick tally would surely show no obvious bias one way or the other - so its a moot point. In fact - any of the stats - marks, hitouts, kicks, handballs were just about even.

Adelaide had slightly more scoring shots - Melbourne were dead lucky at the end to have a slightly bigger score.

There is just no way on Gods green earth that you can claim Melbourne "deserved it" more. It purely and simply isn't so.

And it is exceedingly annoying when either you BT or TV commentators or dimwitted Port fans try to claim otherwise, especially here on the Crows board.

No obvious bias one way?? Crows had 20 free kicks, Melbourne had 14. 6 Free kicks is quite a large difference if you ask me. How the hell can you say the crows deserved the win? When the game was there to be won, in the first half, the crows went missing...a number of Big name crows players did nothing in the first half...and they had to play catch up football again for the rest of the night. Melbourne led all game, and deserved to win. YOU are the one that needs to take the rose coloured glasses off. Yes, Adelaide did extremly well to come back from 6 goals down at 1/2 time...but they SHOULDNT of been 6 goals down at half time.

Originally posted by Crow54:
No way did the Crows lose because of the umpiring, but what about that goal which was touched before going through? And even though statistics show free kicks being even, its where they're given which counts, i.e. right in front of goals.

BT, feel free to post here again, but understand that after a loss, most supporters have a little sh.. on the liver.

Stop being so one eyed. LOOK at the statistics. Both sides only got 1 goal from a free kick. ADELAIDE got 4 free kicks in the forward 50, to Melbournes 3. ADELAIDE had SIX more free kicks than Melbourne.

That loss would of been heartbreaking...Every team has lost like that. And of course some fans will be upset, or angry after that sort of loss...BUT at least be objective about it.

Originally posted by QT:
Let me just add, melbourne did not play good in the first half, it was adelaide's pathetic disosal in the wet! we were shocking! However we showed some spirit,

P.S EDid anyone see all the deliberate out of bounds in the last 2 mins by the demons? Or how bout the goal that was touched by a crows player???

35000 a GOOD crowd. Youve got to be ****ing joking. You have 43,000 members, and you think 35,000 is a good crowd. How did i know there would be excuses galore for the crowd. Dont you EVER complain about Port having a low crowd again, or you will be classed as a HYPOCRIT. Port got 27,000 last week...we have 31,000 members. Thats 5000 that didnt show up. Crows have 43,000 members, 35000 went, thats 8000 that didnt show up. Stop making excuses for your damn crowd, its getting beyond a joke. I reckon if the crows got 2000, to a game youd find a good excuse for it

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl:
not excuses facts!

we still had 35,000 at the game!!!!!!

Wheather was crap
Clipsal 500 on this weekend
36's playing in a final live on Fox

come on, not sure who you support, but if you are a power supporter you can hardly talk about crowd numbers. They have less members than last year and can only get about 23,000 to there home games, they had to shut there merchandise shop at west lakes cause no one was buying anything. If your a crows supporter, where you there? I hope so, cause I sure was, and yelling and cheering loudly.

your glad at 35,000!!! Typical. Dont complain about Ports crowd. Ports crowd last week compared to membership figures was more respectable than yesterdays Crows game. 4000 of our supporters didnt show up...8000 of yours didnt show up.
You can come up with a billion excuses for why crows didnt show up. Clipsal 500? That finishes at about 4:30...5...the game started at 7. The rain...well TRUE supporters should be there rain hail or shine. Live 36ers on tele...most people own vcr's...i wouldnt say 8000 people stayed home to watch the 36ers play on tele.
Just admit it...gone are the days where the crows get 40,000 each and every home game. Crows crowds have progressivly gone down by an average of 2000 each year since 1998. These are the FACTS. 35,000 is NOT a good crowd compared to 43,000 members.

Just remember...Crows have 12,000 more members than Port...they should get 12,000 more supporters each week than Port. Only excuse i can see for Crows low crowd yesterday was...noone likes to see a losing side. If the crows end up in the bottom 3 this year...lets just see how good your crowdws are by say round 16 or so. Dont bag Port supporters, when Crows fans are just as bad

well look i can see why you are upset and you are allowed to have an opinion but a few things:
1. That goal from Yze wasn't touched and i think the goal umpire was the closest to the action so you gotta trust what he says
2. That free kick to Robertson was fair as was the one to the crows over Yze (so its equal so far)
3. Melbourne were the better team on the day and they had a cleaner play all throughtout the game, credit must be handed out to the crows though for trying so hard and really shrinking the margin.

Overall Melboure had a good game expecially seeing as all throughout their pre-season they trained in 40 degree heat not pouring rain and the fact that they didn't have a large supporter base.

GO DEES!
smile.gif

------------------
Footy. It was just a sport.
But now it's also a business.
However, according to the fans it's a religion,where the people rule!

The Mighty Melbourne Demons- My passion, My obsession!

Originally posted by DEES RULE!:
1. That goal from Yze wasn't touched and i think the goal umpire was the closest to the action so you gotta trust what he says

I'm not using this as an excuse - there were a ton of factors why we lost last night (namely, our lack of effort in the second quarter), but that goal was 100% touched, at least a foot before the line. They showed the replay probably 8 times, and it was touched by a country mile.

3. Melbourne were the better team on the day and they had a cleaner play all throughtout the game

That's also crap - you went missing in the last half. I'd say you were better for about one quarter - that being the second, in which we played like absolute shite, and Melbourne dominated. The first quarter was fairly even, and the Crows were on top for most of the last half.

I wouldn't be getting too carried away if I were you - Your last half was shithouse. Last year's grand finalist -just- scraping in against the wooden spoon favourite, isn't really something to ride home about at all.

Meanwhile, our second quarter was one of the most pathetic efforts I have seen - it rivals last week's performance ::P

I was pretty happy with the fightback in the second half, but I don't understand why after we kicked *that* goal, we didn't flood their forward line, to prevent them from scoring. Instead, we left it completely open, and they took advantage of it - shocking.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

ARe you ****ing serious????

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by Macca19:
One word...undisciplined. Undisipline by letting melbourne get up by
6 goals at half time. Undispline by Welsh byu missing a number of
simple opputunities (as has been said here before, he cant kick
outside 30m) Undisipline by letting Leoncelli, with 5 seconds left 20
metres on his own in Melbournes 50m zone. How can you do that!! You
cant leave a plyer on his own in the forward 50 full stop..let alone
with 5 seconds left. Ayres would be spewing at that, as would the
supporters. Well done the Crows by getting back in the match. But
Melbourne deserved the win by controlling the game for three quarters
and getting up in the end.
Plus...what has happened to the crows forward line? Welsh the only
multiple goalkicker.
Where was the crowd? Only 35,000...lets here the excuses

Onto next week

well done macca. for a port supporter u have brains.(perculiar) i agree with u 100%. keep up the good work champ!
biggrin.gif

------------------
I would like to say that i believe in God and i believe in karma. why i exist beats the %$#^ out of me !!!

That goal WAS NOT touched!
You wanna talk about unfairness how about that free kick they gave you against Collins which gave you a goal?
We were the better side and everyone i talked to (except one minded Crows supporters) said that it was true.
No one will argue your fight back was impressive but from our ruck to our forward line and even our backline which is not the best we just had the game in control and if you don't think so maybe you should take off that blind fold you are all wearing and watch the game again (i did 3 times and the only thing Adelaide did well was work under pressure!)

GO DEES!
smile.gif

------------------

Originally posted by QT:

EXCUSES EXCUSES
rolleyes.gif
turn it up QT. i thought i would get this from a crows supporter. u r basically saying that melbourne didnt win, adelaide lost. This is pathetic, u dont give credit to the team that won the game. typical crows supporters its always the way.

35,000 - pft what a crowd. where was everyone else? in the new shed watching it, so they dont get wet. geez. tough it out a little bit crows supporters. u gotta live a little. i think from last night, its plain to see that the crows r on the slide, and without ALL there supporters behind them, they will keep on sliding. ~~~~WHOOSH~~~~ all the way to the bottom, with their new best friends FREO. lol maybe youll see mods down there
tongue.gif

------------------
I would like to say that i believe in God and i believe in karma. why i exist beats the %$#^ out of me !!!

Hey dee, enjoy every win you can, coz 10 years time the Scum called the Demons will be gone $$$$$
biggrin.gif

------------------

Originally posted by QT:
Hey dee, enjoy every win you can, coz 10 years time the Scum called the Demons will be gone $$$$$
biggrin.gif

OH HA BLOODY HA QT. GOD U CRACK ME UP. unlike your side we r on the up, and u will notice that in 10 years time we still be around. that is all i have to say on that subject.

it was actually a weak attempt at trying to spoil the taste of victory. hmmm it taste so sweet. oop u guys wouldnt know what that taste like yet would u now
tongue.gif

------------------

dee_girl9 you couldn't have said it better.
There is nothing lower than winging and sooking and making excuses.
rolleyes.gif

QT you better make your words more tender coz you never know when you'll have to chew on them so dont give me that crap about melbourne not sticking around in 10 years coz you know nothing about my club and i doubt u know much about yours.

Melbourne won and they were the better side on the night and while it might hurt i can assure you there is no better remady to cure this pain than a win so start thinking forward and don't dwell upon the past as it won't help.

GO DEES!
smile.gif

------------------

Melbourne won and they were the better side on the night and while it might hurt i can assure you there is no better remady to cure this pain than a win so start thinking forward and don't dwell upon the past as it won't help.

GO DEES!
smile.gif

Believe if you want to that Melbourne were the better side on the night, but it just wasn't the case. Melbourne were the better side for about 10 minutes, where they put on four unanswered goals. For the remainder, Crows were the better side.

Even though Crows had a lot of players out, had to endure through poor positional placings (the worst being Hart benched for the entire first half), had no real marking forward and did not handle the wet conditions well (gifting Melbourne the ball on many occassions), still they played better than Dees for all but 10 minutes.

And Crows are supposed to be the wooden spoon favourites!

As I say, believe if you want to that Melbourne were the better side, but I think you will be in for much disappointment this season.

Crows OTOH will surely use this narrow loss as a spur to better performances.

Believe if you want to that Melbourne were the better side on the night, but it just wasn't the case. Melbourne were the better side for about 10 minutes, where they put on four unanswered goals. For the remainder, Crows were the better side.

BULL SH!T!!! Melbourne had control for the WHOLE of the first half. Youd think the way you were talking that Melbourne was lucky to win it. NEWSFALSH...they were 6 goals up at 1/2 time. That is a domination. Melbourne OBVIOUSLY were the better side on the night...they won the game didnt they?