Crows next coach

• Thread starter Thread starter Wiljoy

Wiljoy said:
If the Crows are astute enough,Andrew Jarman will be their next coach (very soon ) if not, some other AFL team will snap him up.
******** off troll :mad:

If he is so good let Hawthorn have him

Neil Craig is contracted for the next few years and will be there even longer

outback jack said:
agreed shaun rehn or andrew jarman.

although i think craigy will be at least 5yrs unless he does something stupid, so they might not be there by then. BTW why are you are hawthorn SA supporter???

No way, I reckon he'll probably do something stupid very very soon!! And yes, why do you barrack for HAWTHORN of all teams? :p

Get real...there's no ********ing way Andrew Jarman should and ever will coach the Crows.

Rehn, however, looms as the next "most likely".

When I first saw this thread i was like WTF? FFS sake we have just appointed another coach. However I see where Wiljoy is coming from, AJ is a good coach, albeit a tad inexperienced at the moment, he has turned North Adelaide from a rabble to a side not to be messed with. I personally, which may not be the popular opinion would love to see AJ at the helm of the AFC one day. However I do now see this happening with the likes of JR at the helm and he does need to learn a few things but nobody can doubt his ability of getting the best out of his players in that respect he is something special.

mymansyd said:
Get real...there's no ********ing way Andrew Jarman should and ever will coach the Crows.

Rehn, however, looms as the next "most likely".
Agreed - fact and you can pencil it now - NO WAY will Andrew or any Jarman ever coach the Adelaide Crows.

I can't see AJ being an AFL coach....he really doesn't have the motivation....he enjoys being involved with his daughters sport....he is happy having a hand in footy without turning it into a life sentence...which it is when you're an AFL coach. I've got a lot of admiration for the way Jars haas got the Chooks up and running.......I just wonder if his methodology is sustainable or not........this year will be very important for him and the Chooks......onya Jars !

Capitalist said:
I would love to see AJ as a skills coach and thats about it - He would also be good as a media person for the crows being the funny bugger he is.

Still have a bit of a soft spot for AJ.

But can't see him & John Reid in the same room for some reason or other.

Wiljoy said:
If the Crows are astute enough,Andrew Jarman will be their next coach (very soon ) if not, some other AFL team will snap him up. :) :) :)

Good Try! But that didn't hurt one little bit..

No would why you been struggling for last 3 years with attitude like that.

The Toolman said:
After reading the back page yesterday of the Herald Sun, would we ever discount M.Blight returning home?
Ummm.... Yes. I mean, yes, we would (should) discount it. Been there, done that, it's not a repeatable experience.

It only works with old girlfriends and even then it's dicey ;)

outback jack said:
agreed shaun rehn or andrew jarman.

although i think craigy will be at least 5yrs unless he does something stupid, so they might not be there by then. BTW why are you are hawthorn SA supporter???

For Neil Craig to be there in 5 years time he would either need a grand final berth or have an awesome team on the level of what St Kilda is at currently.

My honest opinion is that Craig will be lucky to serve his third year. I have seen nothing so far that has changed my opinion that 6 months ago he was not the person for the job. If we have two nothing years, which I already have a feeling that this year will be a 12-13th place finish then Craig will be gone (he is already under the microscope).

relapse said:
For Neil Craig to be there in 5 years time he would either need a grand final berth or have an awesome team on the level of what St Kilda is at currently.

disagree, but silly to suggest such things determine whether he will be there. it's totally unrealistic to suggest this.

My honest opinion is that Craig will be lucky to serve his third year. I have seen nothing so far that has changed my opinion that 6 months ago he was not the person for the job. If we have two nothing years, which I already have a feeling that this year will be a 12-13th place finish then Craig will be gone (he is already under the microscope).

now I happen to agree with you here, but all he needs to do is right the ship, show progress, and have made the finals from about year 3 onwards.

relapse said:

well i've always said its just about the dodgiest appointment possible, so i agree with you, but do you really think that after going to all this trouble they’ve gone through to justify craigy's appointment they are going to sack him after two yrs? of course not. I actually wonder also, why he was given a three yr deal for an untried coach, that’s not smart either.

Anyway, there are no expectations of the club at this stage, with their current list, so theres hardly any pressure. I believe that craigy is a gutless man, i'd have more respect for him if he'd taken the tough decision to cut more than 1 player last year. Trading pick12 was also another gutless decision. As well as the resigning of begley. But what all this says to me is that we will not be having that many youngsters playing this yr, so the results will not be as bad as the media is making out. Craig will be eager to make sure his doesnt have a bad yr in his first yr, i expect somewhere like 10th we will get. I'd have far more respect for him if he had done what pagan did with carlton get rid of all the crap, contracts or no contracts, and get some solid youngsters who are willing to have a go. That way you have a bad yr, it might be really bad, but from then on the only way is up. Anyway, i feel we are still to really bottom out, but craig will gets his three yrs, and as long as we are not bottom at the end of the third, which lets face it is highly unlikely, he will get another two to have a crack at the finals.

outback jack said:
well i've always said its just about the dodgiest appointment possible, so i agree with you, but do you really think that after going to all this trouble they’ve gone through to justify craigy's appointment they are going to sack him after two yrs? of course not. I actually wonder also, why he was given a three yr deal for an untried coach, that’s not smart either.

Anyway, there are no expectations of the club at this stage, with their current list, so theres hardly any pressure. I believe that craigy is a gutless man, i'd have more respect for him if he'd taken the tough decision to cut more than 1 player last year. Trading pick12 was also another gutless decision. As well as the resigning of begley. But what all this says to me is that we will not be having that many youngsters playing this yr, so the results will not be as bad as the media is making out. Craig will be eager to make sure his doesnt have a bad yr in his first yr, i expect somewhere like 10th we will get. I'd have far more respect for him if he had done what pagan did with carlton get rid of all the crap, contracts or no contracts, and get some solid youngsters who are willing to have a go. That way you have a bad yr, it might be really bad, but from then on the only way is up. Anyway, i feel we are still to really bottom out, but craig will gets his three yrs, and as long as we are not bottom at the end of the third, which lets face it is highly unlikely, he will get another two to have a crack at the finals.
Settle down Jack.

I wasn't for Craig's appointment either, but to call him gutless is rough for both making & not making decisions -can't have it both ways! I would have liked more players cut last year, but most we wanted gone were still under contract. Trading for Thompson on the surface appears reasonable. As to whether NC will make it as an AFL coach, onll time will tell, but let's give him some support in the meanwhile.

outback jack said:
I believe that craigy is a gutless man, i'd have more respect for him if he'd taken the tough decision to cut more than 1 player last year. Trading pick12 was also another gutless decision. As well as the resigning of begley. But what all this says to me is that we will not be having that many youngsters playing this yr, so the results will not be as bad as the media is making out.

Jackie boy no coach, not even a great coach would have delisted all our dud players at once. That would leave us with virtually a under 19 team dispersed with our top tier players. You just cant play a team with a majority of inexperienced youngsters without creating major problems within the club.
That is their reason. You must have some 2nd/3rd tier players on your list that have played AFL whether they arnt up to AFL standard or not.
We didnt play all our draftees from last year in the games so far so this year now did we?

Kane McGoodwin said:
Settle down Jack.

I wasn't for Craig's appointment either, but to call him gutless is rough for both making & not making decisions -can't have it both ways! I would have liked more players cut last year, but most we wanted gone were still under contract. Trading for Thompson on the surface appears reasonable. As to whether NC will make it as an AFL coach, onll time will tell, but let's give him some support in the meanwhile.

maybe not gutless, but i dont think he made the tough decisions though. I wouldnt worry about contracts, i'd assume that we'd be well under the salary cap, due to some recent retirements, so some had to go contact or no contract.

Trading stenglein for thompson and gibson is good, but i think the difference is that stenglein is a proven performer while the other two have question marks. I'd be much happier if we'd kept 12 and tried something else for thompson, there would some good players that went 12 or lower. Pushing harder for waters or butler instead of the second rounder wouldn’t have hurt either.

And i actually think craig will make it as a coach, as there arent any unrealistic expectations, everyone realises that rebuilding is needed. However, trading pick12 and resigning begley, says that he wanted some quick fixes for this yr instead of investing in some youth for the future. We will not have a bad year as was possible, because of those types of decisions.

Markthirtytwo said:
Jackie boy no coach, not even a great coach would have delisted all our dud players at once. That would leave us with virtually a under 19 team dispersed with our top tier players. You just cant play a team with a majority of inexperienced youngsters without creating major problems within the club.
That is their reason. You must have some 2nd/3rd tier players on your list that have played AFL whether they arnt up to AFL standard or not.
We didnt play all our draftees from last year in the games so far so this year now did we?

pagan is a great coach, he dumped half the list. I personally would have no problem playing virtually a U/19 team with a first tier players, have a shocking yr, like carlton did, and from then on its just improvement as the youngsters find their feet. Eitherway could have done better than one delisting.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Settle down Jack.

Hear Hear Kane.

Lets at least give him 5 rounds before we pour acid on him :D