Crows V Dockers

Actually why dont i just post it on here???!?!?!?!
here u go:

Crows' old guard finds rookie Reilly a perfect fit

By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
19mar03
FOR the first time in seven AFL seasons, Adelaide is almost certain to start the premiership campaign – against Fremantle on Sunday week – without a first-game player.

Such is the maturity of the rebuilt Crows and the bonus of an injury list which next week is expected to have just one first-choice player unavailable – forward Scott Welsh.

Adelaide coach Gary Ayres must cut two players from the 24-man squad that beat Collingwood for the Crows' first pre-season Cup last weekend – and, given the impressive form they showed at the Telstra Dome, not many would expect to be dropped.

The youngest and least-experienced player in the Cup-winning 24 is 19-year-old Brent Reilly.

In this case it will not be last in, first out at selection next Wednesday night.

Reilly's pre-season form in the Adelaide midfield was so impressive and solid that he can expect to be in Adelaide's first 22 of the new season.

This is a massive rise for the Victorian draftee who seemed stuck in the Sturt reserves last year.

And it is a tribute to his work ethic – and the encouragement of Adelaide assistant coach Neil Craig, director of the Crows' midfield.

A sign of Reilly's sound character – which has given the Crows confidence to keep his name on the whiteboard for selection next week – is how he reflected on last year's slow-moving season in the SANFL Bs.

"I wouldn't say it was frustrating," said Reilly, drafted by the Crows as their top pick (No.12) in the 2001 national draft. "It was a good developing year. I worked on my goals and worked hard on the track . . . and I'm here today. My main goal was to work hard in the pre-season and play in the Wizard Cup.

"I played all the (four Cup) games and we won the premiership, which was good, and hopefully I can follow up and play in round one.

"I'm pretty excited, but I don't want to get overawed about it. It's a long season."

Sadly, in some ways, Reilly does not join the exclusive club – which includes Ben Hart, Simon Goodwin and Brett Burton – of players to play their first AFL game with the Crows in a premiership-season opener.

Reilly was called into the Adelaide 22 as a late replacement – for Kane Johnson – in round 15 last year against St Kilda, playing 10 minutes for one handpass.

He could still join that other exclusive club of scoring a goal with his first kick in AFL.

The Reilly who kicked the dew off the park with Sturt last season is just a shadow of the current well-balanced midfielder.

"Neil Craig was a big influence on me and he really wanted me to get fit and bigger and stronger and get the intensity up for AFL," said Reilly, who has added 3kg to his frame and is not brushed away from packs. The Wizard Cup campaign, in particular the grand final in which Reilly quickly returned to his feet after being bowled over by Collingwood forward Chris Tarrant at a marking contest, has been an ideal preparation for Reilly's "debut" next weekend.

"I've learnt the intensity of AFL football," the former Kangaroos supporter said. "I've learnt that you've got to work hard to get the ball and be in the right spots and just sort of be strong in the mind and strong in the body to stand up to them all."

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
With a bit of luck he will believe all the publicity and not concentrate.

How will he handle a tag?
i doubt very much he will be affected by the publicity...the players are pretty much trained on how to handle it. Ive heard he is quite mature for his age so i dont think it should bother him.

i think he will handle a tag fine, hes quick by foot and he has a natural football brain...he rocks!!!!! LOL

Hopefully M.C. Schammer can do the same for us. Did any of you S.A. PPL see much of him?
no i dont think we have..considering its fremantle.
the name sounds familiar though....where did he come from before freo?

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
He should get over his injury by round 2 or 3 but I think he might spend a couple of weeks in the SANFL to get some match fitness. Personally I don't expect him back before round 5 or 6. He will be a very vital player for us.;)
Yeah he is very underdone game wise, will take a while for him to get back to his very best. Its very unfortunate though, ive never known a player and coaching staff to have so much bad luck. i could count on two hands how many times they have said "welsh is over his injury, welsh isnt over his injury blah blah blah" ARGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!:mad:

Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
...ive never known a player and coaching staff to have so much bad luck...

I think Ryan Fitzgerald beats him by a country miles when it comes to bad luck concerning injuries.:(

I still think that Fitzy is a wasted talent, if only he didn't get major injuries in his 4 years I have no doubt he would have been in top 5 forwards in the AFL. Unfortunately we will never know. I hope he does exceptionally well for the Panthers.;)

Hopefully M.C. Schammer can do the same for us. Did any of you S.A. PPL see much of him?

I saw him play one game for Westies reserves last year and he was BOG. Very good player, is a bit on the small side but If anyone can turn that into positive its Byron.;)

AFL.com Match Preview: Adelaide v Fremantle

Mon 24 March, 2003
Scott Spits
afl.com.au

MATCH: Adelaide v Fremantle

WHEN & WHERE: AAMI Stadium, 1.10pm (AEST), 30 March

COVERAGE: TV: Channel Nine – Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Brisbane (LIVE). Adelaide. Radio: 5AA.

LAST TIME: Adelaide 17.18 (120) d Fremantle 12.8 (80). The Crows set-up the win with a sizzling 8.4 to 1.1 opening term. Brett Burton booted four for Adelaide with Kane Johnson and captain Mark Ricciuto among the best players.

THE MEDICAL ROOM: The Crows are fairly well placed with Ricciuto and Wayne Carey returning from injury in their Wizard Home Loans Cup grand final victory. Mark Stevens faces a test on a jarred knee while Scott Welsh (adductor strain) and James Begley (thumb) will still be sidelined. For Fremantle, Steven Dodd (knee), Joshua Head (foot) and Brett Doswell (foot) will all miss.

THE FORM: Adelaide is in good touch after winning the Wizard Cup even though two of its wins came by less than a kick. The Dockers have had a mixed pre-season but, significantly, had a thrilling practice match win over Hawthorn in Melbourne.

WHO’S HOT: New Crow Wayne Carey showed enough in the Wizard Cup grand final to suggest he’ll be a reasonable force for Adelaide. Ian Perrie has also been in good touch up forward for the Crows. Fremantle’s key players Peter Bell, Matthew Pavlich and Paul Hasleby have been solid contributors in the pre-season.

WHO’S NOT: Trent Croad and Jeff Farmer were a little down in the Dockers’ Wizard Cup loss to West Coast. Mark Bickley and Mark Ricciuto haven’t had the match time yet to have their usual output for the Crows.

KEY MATCH-UPS: If Pavlich plays in the midfield, it will be fascinating to see who he plays on. The Dockers also have a dilemma on who to man in-form Adelaide full-forward Perrie. The match will probably be won in the centre with the likes of Adelaide’s Andrew McLeod and Simon Goodwin being hard to stop.

ALL-TIME CLASSIC: This could be it. They’ve only played and 11 times and Adelaide has won eight times, including a five-match winning streak between 1995 and 1998.

WE THINK: This is one of those away matches Freo needs to win to make inroads in 2003. But the Crows will be too tough and won’t suffer a post Wizard Cup hangover. Adelaide by 33 points.

Re: AFL.com Match Preview: Adelaide v Fremantle

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
WHO’S HOT: New Crow Wayne Carey showed enough in the Wizard Cup grand final to suggest he’ll be a reasonable force for Adelaide.

There was an article in the Sunday Times yesterday by Digby Beacham quoting Polak saying how he wanted to play on Carey. I tried to scan it so I could post it here but it didnt work. If you want me to retype it so you can read it I'll do it later today.
For now I'll post some important quotes frm the article. Tell me if you want me to post the whole thing.

"Definately," Polak said, when quizzed if he would put his hand up to have a crack at Carey.
"I've grown up watching the bloke on TV (he's) a great player... I'd do it without hesitation.
..."The way I want to play back is play on the best forwards the opposition has got," he said.

Mon 24 March, 2003

WE THINK: This is one of those away matches Freo needs to win to make inroads in 2003. But the Crows will be too tough and won’t suffer a post Wizard Cup hangover. Adelaide by 33 points.

Yep probably right. Our record in Adelaide is abysmal and with the current/injury suspension list it doesn't look like improving over the weekend. It will be a good test of depth with a few second string players getting the oportunity against a side touted as top 4 by most around here.

Of course I still reckon we'll give you a belting because I'm an insane, one eyed, fanatic freo footy fan.

Can you guys do us a favour and play the same stupid tactics you did in rnd 22 2001.

The more I think about it the more I think Burns will play against Freo - coming on for bursts each quarter in the forward pocket. He might even be in the starting 18.

If they don't play him in the FP, then recruiting him makes no sense.

We'll know in a few days but until then my guess at our opening side against Freo is

B: Hart, Bassett, Smart
HB: Stiffy, McGregor, Torney
C: Reilly, Stenglein, Burton
HF: Ricciuto, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Carey, Perrie, Edwards
R: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
I: Biglands, Burns, Bickley, Bode
E: Mattner, Doughty

I noticed Rucci also has Burns in his starting 22 this morning.

Your thoughts on this??

Mon 24 March, 2003
Scott Spits
afl.com.au

MATCH: Adelaide v Fremantle

WHEN & WHERE: AAMI Stadium, 1.10pm (AEST), 30 March

COVERAGE: TV: Channel Nine – Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Brisbane (LIVE). Adelaide. Radio: 5AA.

LAST TIME: Adelaide 17.18 (120) d Fremantle 12.8 (80). The Crows set-up the win with a sizzling 8.4 to 1.1 opening term. Brett Burton booted four for Adelaide with Kane Johnson and captain Mark Ricciuto among the best players.

THE MEDICAL ROOM: The Crows are fairly well placed with Ricciuto and Wayne Carey returning from injury in their Wizard Home Loans Cup grand final victory. Mark Stevens faces a test on a jarred knee while Scott Welsh (adductor strain) and James Begley (thumb) will still be sidelined. For Fremantle, Steven Dodd (knee), Joshua Head (foot) and Brett Doswell (foot) will all miss.

THE FORM: Adelaide is in good touch after winning the Wizard Cup even though two of its wins came by less than a kick. The Dockers have had a mixed pre-season but, significantly, had a thrilling practice match win over Hawthorn in Melbourne.

WHO’S HOT: New Crow Wayne Carey showed enough in the Wizard Cup grand final to suggest he’ll be a reasonable force for Adelaide. Ian Perrie has also been in good touch up forward for the Crows. Fremantle’s key players Peter Bell, Matthew Pavlich and Paul Hasleby have been solid contributors in the pre-season.

WHO’S NOT: Trent Croad and Jeff Farmer were a little down in the Dockers’ Wizard Cup loss to West Coast. Mark Bickley and Mark Ricciuto haven’t had the match time yet to have their usual output for the Crows.

KEY MATCH-UPS: If Pavlich plays in the midfield, it will be fascinating to see who he plays on. The Dockers also have a dilemma on who to man in-form Adelaide full-forward Perrie. The match will probably be won in the centre with the likes of Adelaide’s Andrew McLeod and Simon Goodwin being hard to stop.

ALL-TIME CLASSIC: This could be it. They’ve only played and 11 times and Adelaide has won eight times, including a five-match winning streak between 1995 and 1998.

This article is utter rubbish. Firstly, we have more injuries than those 3 rookies listed. We had a better than a mixed pre-season, it was pretty good. This isn't really one of those away wins we need to win. We need to beat the lesser teams away, we can't really expect to beat the top sides away at the moment. If we win, it will be a bonus.

Re: Re: AFL.com Match Preview: Adelaide v Fremantle

Originally posted by dockertor
Can you guys do us a favour and play the same stupid tactics you did in rnd 22 2001.

Nah!!!!!! We will just drop Carey and Perrie and Bring in Schell and Marsh. That should give you a very good chance:D

Originally posted by macca23
The more I think about it the more I think Burns will play against Freo - coming on for bursts each quarter in the forward pocket. He might even be in the starting 18.

If they don't play him in the FP, then recruiting him makes no sense.

We'll know in a few days but until then my guess at our opening side against Freo is

B: Hart, Bassett, Smart
HB: Stiffy, McGregor, Torney
C: Reilly, Stenglein, Burton
HF: Ricciuto, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Carey, Perrie, Edwards
R: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
I: Biglands, Burns, Bickley, Bode
E: Mattner, Doughty

I noticed Rucci also has Burns in his starting 22 this morning.

Your thoughts on this??

I think you are right macca23. The closer we get to the game the more I think Burns will play and Doughty and mattner will mis out. Whoever misses out can consider himself very unlucky. Mattner has played better in every game he has played so far and Doughty, while not as good as last year, has performed well in the limited time he has spent on the ground.

I think Burns will start instead of Carey. Don't expect Carey to play more than 3 quarters. It will be interesting to see who misses out. I guess we will know on Thursday:D but here is the side I think will take on Freo:

FF: 40. Chris Ladhams _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 5. Ronnie Burns
HF: 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 19. Mark Stevens _ 9. Tyson Edwards
C: 10. Matthew Bode _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 33. Brent Reilly
HB: 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 34. Ben Hart
FB: 7. Nigel Smart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 18. Graham Johncoc k
1R: 4. Mathew Clarke _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 23. Andrew McLeod

Int: 35. Rhett Biglands _ 2. Wayne Carey _ 24. Brett Burton _ 26. Mark Bickley

Emg: 11. Michael Doughty _ 39. Martin Mattner _ 21. James Gallagher

I expect Burton to start on the wing but personally I would bench him so he can have a good long hard think about his decision making, especially running around in circles trying to get on his left foot and stuffing it up every time. Birdman stick to bloody basics and don't try to do too much.

Thoughts??????

Macca/Stiffy, I think you are probably correct in saying Burns is likely to be selected as I have the feeling Ayres has great faith in him. Whether we start Carey is an interesting one - I'll give it some more thought. One advantage of starting him is to stretch Freo's defence as they have more injuries than afl.com have mentioned (PS Kenny, they don't usually have too much idea ;) ). Dogga & MM probably very unlucky to miss. Agree to that the Birdman should start on the bench & be asked to watch how his team mates dispose of the ball to ... yes you guessed it a fellow team mate. Should be a simple enough concept for birdbrain. :o

BTW, Dave if I'm looking at coming over for the Sydney v Crows game in a few weeks time, should I book my tickets? Cheers.
I don't think any Swans match sold out last year, so I'd say no. Although you never know, might be better to be safe than sorry. I have a swans membership/reserved seat (don't call me a traitor though I just like my footy :), and I have a friend who's a Swans fan), so I don't need to worry. If the booking fee is outrageous I'd just buy at the gate.

And did you want to meet up some time? Either pre match or half time or for drinks afterwards when we win (removes cockiness), sorry if we win. :cool:

"I've learnt the intensity of AFL football," the former Kangaroos supporter said. "I've learnt that you've got to work hard to get the ball and be in the right spots and just sort of be strong in the mind and strong in the body to stand up to them all."

What have I been saying? Bring Reilly home to the Kangaroos and we will give you Shane Clayton and David Bourke. Two league footballers for a debutant, it would be a win-win for everyone.

Originally posted by Squizy Taylor
What have I been saying? Bring Reilly home to the Kangaroos and we will give you Shane Clayton and David Bourke. Two league footballers for a debutant, it would be a win-win for everyone.

Reilly got better stats in 2002 than David Bourke did....

Give us that Brent Harvey and throw in an unproven rookie like Wells and you might have a deal.:cool:

Originally posted by DaveW
I don't think any Swans match sold out last year, so I'd say no. Although you never know, might be better to be safe than sorry. I have a swans membership/reserved seat (don't call me a traitor though I just like my footy :), and I have a friend who's a Swans fan), so I don't need to worry. If the booking fee is outrageous I'd just buy at the gate.

And did you want to meet up some time? Either pre match or half time or for drinks afterwards when we win (removes cockiness), sorry if we win. :cool:
Thanks for that Dave. Depends on a couple of things, but hoping to get over to NSW for that week. If I do, I will PM you with some details as would be great to catch up for drinks. Cheers! :)