Crows V Roos

• Thread starter Thread starter Jerome

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I can understand why are they p*ssed off. I wouldn't have dropped S. Motlop and Morrell especially not for Bourke. I still think its a bit of a plot from Roos. I think those 2 will come in as a late call up for a couple that will misteriously pull out with some sort of injuries.

I quite like S. Motlop and seeing that he appears out of favour at Arden St. would we look at him as a potential trade as he is a North Adelaide boy?????? We could do much worse.
I doubt Morrell will be running out as he hasn't even been named as an emergency! Could do far worse than trading for S Motlop, but very early days.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I doubt Morrell will be running out as he hasn't even been named as an emergency! Could do far worse than trading for S Motlop, but very early days.

Morrell probably won't but S. Motlop is a chance IMO. Either they are playing mind games or they will go ultra defensive.

Cannot believe Morrell has been left out.

This would appear to be a win for us IMO. It does leave there forward line looking more vulnerable.

I'd expect them to leave the forward line open for the likes of Harvey and Grant to run into. May cause us problems as discussed.

COME ON CROWS!!

Originally posted by napsyd
Cannot believe Morrell has been left out.

This would appear to be a win for us IMO. It does leave there forward line looking more vulnerable.

I'd expect them to leave the forward line open for the likes of Harvey and Grant to run into. May cause us problems as discussed.

COME ON CROWS!!
Yeah, I certainly prefer playing a Roos forward line without Morrell, particularly with Rocca out. Kenny is a good matchup for Petrie, & Hound & Smarty should handle their other talls. Who do we put on Harding - Benny Hart? Also, are we better off putting Stinger on Grant or Simpson? Is Stiffy street smart enough for Harvey or do we try Gags?

I reckon this is an absolute crunch game for us. Lose it & struggle the next couple of weeks against the Pies & Lions, & we would be doubtful of making the top-4. This would be most disappointing. I expect the boys to come out firing this week (last time I said this was against Sydney, so hope it is a good omen).

Yeah, I certainly prefer playing a Roos forward line without Morrell, particularly with Rocca out. Kenny is a good matchup for Petrie, & Hound & Smarty should handle their other talls. Who do we put on Harding - Benny Hart? Also, are we better off putting Stinger on Grant or Simpson? Is Stiffy street smart enough for Harvey or do we try Gags?

Harding is a tough one, but Ben should be able to do the job.

I think initially Stinga on Grant and let the match ups fall where they will for Simpson. I'm inclined to try Stiffy on Harvey but I'm really unsure of the match up.

Perhaps we are reading too much into it. Maybe we should be saying, let them worry about McLeod, Roo, Goody, Bodey, Edwards etc.?

I reckon this is an absolute crunch game for us. Lose it & struggle the next couple of weeks against the Pies & Lions, & we would be doubtful of making the top-4. This would be most disappointing. I expect the boys to come out firing this week (last time I said this was against Sydney, so hope it is a good omen).

I don't know whether peope realize just how truthful your comments are Kane. This game could be pivotal in deciding whether we are going to be a top 4 side, or just another one in the pack battling it out with the also-rans.

That loss to the Saints could also well come back to bite us on the backside later in the year.

As stated on a different thread a week back, anything less than 2 out of 4 wins between round 5 and 8 would be a disaster for us.

We must win tonight (I feel this is 50 - 50) and then win next week (in which I feel we are a slightly better chance) as at the moment we do not appear to have the cattle or the form to challenge the Lions.

If we drop tonight and next week, we will not make the top 4 in my opinion. If we are 3-5 at the end of round 8, we would need to win at the very least 10 from 14 to finish the season and our late season draw is no picnic.

We must come out at the end of round 8 with a 5-3 record. This week and next week are vitally important.

After the last quarter against St Kilda I thought to myself, wouldn't it be great if we played every minute of every quarter of every game as if we were 30 points down with a sniff? We seem to find something in those situations that we just don't have when we are 4 goals up. If we could get that attitude and bottle it we'd be pretty hard to beat I reckon.

I couldn't agree with you more. A win in this game is an absolute must. We have to win at least 2 of the next 3 to have a chance in finishing in the top 4. Although I rate the Kangas, I think all of you will agree that this is the easiest of the next 3 games. Our depth will be tested. Loosing Stevo is a huge blow for us and the only way we can have a winning record while he is out is if Carey plays as well as he did against Freo and Perrie gets back to the form he has displayed in the wizard cup and in round 1.

Would it be time to move Carey to CHF and let Perrie play as a leading FF??????

Its no coincidence that our 3 game loosing streak last year occured when Stevo was injured for 2 games. We just haven't got a hard worker that gives us something at CHF. If there ever was a time for Carey and Perrie to step up its now.

That loss against St. Kilda could turn out to be crutial as the year goes on. Time will tell.

North got exactly what they deserved tonight.

They wanted to play the man from the get-go but failed dismally.

And what a pair of jokes ANTHONY STEVENS and GLENN ARCHER are! Tried to touch up the king but came off second-best all night - and guess what boys - Wayne kicked 4 and walked off with a 50+ point victory.

Any sympathy or admiration I had for those two is well and truly gone - the sealer was when Carey moved over to the centre of the ground to shake hands like a man after the game, but what did Archer and Stevens do? Walked straight off to sulk like the 'champions' they are.

Might sound harsh but there it is. Certain individual players and the Kangaroos as a club talked it up all week (Archer, King, the SMS's to NM members by the club) came out hard and got sent home in a big plush pink bag.

Hearts to hearts, hands to hands eh.

It was no big deal dyertribe, I just thought it was funny how they tried to intimidate the King but came off second best every time.....it was hilarious when Stevens went to bump him and bounced off like jelly.....then when Archer went to rough him up :D :D :D Yeah, Wayne was real scared LOL......then the Kangas proceed to kick themselves out of the game as the King kicks 4 straight......magnificent stuff.....

Originally posted by ant
It was no big deal dyertribe, I just thought it was funny how they tried to intimidate the King but came off second best every time.....it was hilarious when Stevens went to bump him and bounced off like jelly.....then when Archer went to rough him up :D :D :D

Totally agree on both counts mate :)

One team came to play football, the other looked like a rabble with their mind elsewhere... and as I said, got exactly what they deserved.

Originally posted by ant
It was no big deal dyertribe, I just thought it was funny how they tried to intimidate the King but came off second best every time.....it was hilarious when Stevens went to bump him and bounced off like jelly.....then when Archer went to rough him up :D :D :D Yeah, Wayne was real scared LOL......then the Kangas proceed to kick themselves out of the game as the King kicks 4 straight......magnificent stuff.....

They made absolute fools of themselves. Archer was looking to run through Carey all night. I honestly expected it but I couldn't but laugh when Stevens bounced of Carey. LOL.

It understandable that emotions will take over at some stage but what really got up my nose is that not one Roos player came over to shake a hand of a Crows player. I didn't expect many Roos players would shake hands with Carey but not to shake the hands with the rest of the team was very pathetic IMHO. Roo made an effort to run after Stevens to shake his hand.

As Jason McCartney said on 5AA that was very ordinary. He said he didnt expect Archer or Stevens to shake Carey's hand but he did expect Roos players to shake the hand of Crows player.

Very Poor sportsmanship by the roos. They lost a fair bit of my respect tonight.

Oh yeah baby, did we bounce back in emphatic fashion. Where are all those Port Ricciuto knockers. He rebounded well from his criticism with a magnificent captains effort! What a difference it makes when him & Macca fire ... & what about Stiffy. As I mentioned before, a crunch game if we are to make the top-4. Noddy, do you feel a bit happier now?! :D

They made absolute fools of themselves. Archer was looking to run through Carey all night. I honestly expected it but I couldn't but laugh when Stevens bounced of Carey. LOL.

It understandable that emotions will take over at some stage but what really got up my nose is that not one Roos player came over to shake a hand of a Crows player. I didn't expect many Roos players would shake hands with Carey but not to shake the hands with the rest of the team was very pathetic IMHO. Roo made an effort to run after Stevens to shake his hand.

As Jason McCartney said on 5AA that was very ordinary. He said he didnt expect Archer or Stevens to shake Carey's hand but he did expect Roos players to shake the hand of Crows player.

Very Poor sportsmanship by the roos. They lost a fair bit of my respect tonight.

I couldn't get over that. I've always had a lot of time for the Roos, and while I wouldn't expect them to love Carey, it is standard sportmanship to acknowledge your opponent after the game. If they wanted to ignore Carey - okay - but not the rest of the Adelaide team.

Black mark on the North Melbourne footy club tonight!!

What have yoou got for brains? Sawdust.

"Not one Roo player came over to shake a hand of a Crows player", could also read, "Not ONE CROW player came over to shake the hands of North players.":eek:
"Very poor sportsmanship by the Crows players".

Originally posted by Michele

"Not one Roo player came over to shake a hand of a Crows player", could also read, "Not ONE CROW player came over to shake the hands of North players.":eek:

But Michele, the last two statements are not true.

Ricciuto ran right across the ground in order to get to Stevens to shake his hand, and Bickley likewise made every effort to shake the Kangaroos players hands.

OTOH, it must be noted that Colbert did shake carey hand, but even then it was Carey who offered it.

"Not ONE CROW player came over to shake the hands of North players.":eek:

Doesn't help when Captain Stevens took his pegleg, parrot, eyepatch and cutlass and headed straight off the ground now does it?

He was quickly followed by First Mate Archer and the rest of the scurvy-ridden crew.

Personal insults get you nowhere.

Our Captain ran after Stevens who was colse to entering the race to shake his hand. Bickley also made an effort to shake their hands which is more than I can say that Roos players did.

Even Jason McCartney, who BTW was on 5AA as a special comments man was very disappointed that his team mates didn't shake the hand of the opposition. He said he didn't expect Archer and Stevens to shake Carey's hand but he expected them to shake hands of the other Crows players.

BTW grow a brain:rolleyes:

Stiffy and Macca,

I have just had a glace at a thread entitled, "DROP CAREY".:eek: :D

I can't see why you 2 geniuses are not on the Crows selection committee.

Stiffy and Macca,

I have just had a glace at a thread entitled, "DROP CAREY".:eek: :D

I can't see why you 2 geniuses are not on the Crows selection committee.
I don't think either of them were calling for him to be dropped. I was the one calling for him to be dropped - I may have been alone, I'll have to re-read it - after he put in quite an ordinary performance in the showdown. (I'm also going to make an excuse for myself by saying that this was only minutes after the match and I may have been somewhat emotional after yet another loss to Port. :p) That said, I certainly would not have dropped him either once Mark Stevens' injury became apparent.