Crows V Saints

Doesn't appear to be a thread to discuss this game, so thought it was time to start one.

With your travel record & the fact we lost to you guys last time & by 1 point last week, I'm feeling very confident of winning this week. So much so, I would be disappointed if the margin is less than 5 goals.

Also, you guys appear to be lacking talls now Gehrig is out. Is Penny likely to come back. Who will help out Kozie in the rucks against Biglands/Clarke? Who will matchup on Roo, Macca & Birdman who are all in good form? How will the Lawrence incident affect the club?

A possible Crows line-up could be:

B: Hart, Smart, Edwards
HB: Johnc.ock, McGregor, Torney
C: Burton, Stenglein, Ladhams
HF: McLeod, Carey, Welsh
F: Burns, Perrie, Rutten
R: Clarke, Ricciuto, Bickley
I: Biglands, Begley, Shirley, Doughty

IN: Carey, Welsh, Doughty
OUT: Bassett (susp), Hentschel, Bode.

You guys appear to be lacking talls now Gehrig is out
Hamill, Kossi, Penny (likely to come back), Hudgie, Roo, Maguire & Blake. Thats enough talls dont you think?

Is Penny likely to come back
Looks very likely, and boy do we need him in defence

Who will help out Kozie in the rucks against Biglands/Clarke?
Kossi is has not been rucking, this job has been taken by Maguire & Blake, who are doing very well considering their size

How will the Lawrence incident affect the club?
Off-field incidents such as this should not effect the club on-field performance.

Re: Re: Crows V Saints

Originally posted by Milne
You guys appear to be lacking talls now Gehrig is out
Hamill, Kossi, Penny (likely to come back), Hudgie, Roo, Maguire & Blake. Thats enough talls dont you think?

Is Penny likely to come back
Looks very likely, and boy do we need him in defence

Who will help out Kozie in the rucks against Biglands/Clarke?
Kossi is has not been rucking, this job has been taken by Maguire & Blake, who are doing very well considering their size

How will the Lawrence incident affect the club?
Off-field incidents such as this should not effect the club on-field performance.
Still look short of quality talls to me. Will Kossie need to play in defence? I gather Penny will pick up Perrie, Hudghton Welsh/Rutten, so Kossie on Carey then?

Would have thought Macguire & Blake would be under-size/strength for Clarke & Biglands. I expect our midfield should get 1st use of the ball on most occasions.

Im i right in saying nathan bourk will break the club record for most games?

if im right then Congrats to the Champ - he's has been one of my favorite non-lions players :p

Champion Player

AND

Champion Person

:D

Re: Re: Re: Crows V Saints

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Would have thought Macguire & Blake would be under-size/strength for Clarke & Biglands

You're correct, but that is how we have played for most of the season.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
With your travel record & the fact we lost to you guys last time & by 1 point last week, I'm feeling very confident of winning this week.

So you should. Adelaide will be expected to cruise home.

So much so, I would be disappointed if the margin is less than 5 goals.

That's a very fair figure to us. I can see you running away with this in a big way if we don't come to play.

Also, you guys appear to be lacking talls now Gehrig is out.

Definitely. In the ruck, and down forward, we will certainly be stretched for quality talls.

Is Penny likely to come back. Who will help out Kozie in the rucks against Biglands/Clarke? Who will matchup on Roo, Macca & Birdman who are all in good form? How will the Lawrence incident affect the club?

Penny - Next week, VFL this week.

Kosi's help - Divine inspiration. I have no idea mate - Maguire and Riewoldt, possibly Blake, will have to pinch hit. Big problem area.

Ricciuto, Birdman and McLeod - Head to head with Hayes, Powell and Harvey. Add Ball, Black, Burke, Goddard and Clarke, and I'm comfortable we can compete in the middle, but rucking will be crucial. If you get first use of the footy, your quality forwards will have a field day.

Lawrence - It certainly won't have positive ramifications, but it's a case of limiting the damage and ensuring he's welcomed back into the fold with a minimum of fuss.

He's a quality talent - I'd write off 2003 and give him one more chance.

He looked out of form for most of the year after a great 2002, but, worringly, he seemed overweight and unfit.

Give him a big pre-season, and stick him on the minimum wage. The gamble is definitely worth it. He's performed for us when fully fit in the past, and we need to persist with him and turn him around if possible.

A possible Crows line-up could be:

B: Hart, Smart, Edwards
HB: Johnc.ock, McGregor, Torney
C: Burton, Stenglein, Ladhams
HF: McLeod, Carey, Welsh
F: Burns, Perrie, Rutten
R: Clarke, Ricciuto, Bickley
I: Biglands, Begley, Shirley, Doughty

IN: Carey, Welsh, Doughty
OUT: Bassett (susp), Hentschel, Bode.

Carey's out obviously, but that's still a quality 22, and at home, this should be a cakewalk.

It should be a cakewalk forthe Crows but the saints are an unpredictable side,depends if they come to play or not they have alot dangerous players that can get under your guard if you loose check them or take them for granted.................be wary crows;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
It should be a cakewalk forthe Crows but the saints are an unpredictable side,depends if they come to play or not they have alot dangerous players that can get under your guard if you loose check them or take them for granted.................be wary crows;)

The Saint didn't come to play...and it was a cakewalk :)

Clinical disposal of a poor team; good luck in the finals.

Originally posted by evertonfc
The Saint didn't come to play...and it was a cakewalk :)

Clinical disposal of a poor team; good luck in the finals.
Thanks evertonfc, very gracious.

Don't spose you want to do us another favour and come to play next week? You gave West Coast a fair touch up at the Dome last year and I hope you can repeat the dose again this year. :D

Originally posted by DaveW
Thanks evertonfc, very gracious.

Not gracious - just telling the truth!

It was a fair old party @ AAMI today. Thank goodness I didn't go. I'll chase up that bird from Sheidow Park next year ;)

Don't spose you want to do us another favour and come to play next week? You gave West Coast a fair touch up at the Dome last year and I hope you can repeat the dose again this year. :D

No chance.

Draft picks are on the line, and help David Wirrpunda have a nice and easy game, just to show we care about him and his future with us ;)

Should be a cracker, we'll do our best for ya :cool:

I thought we weren't as bad as in other games. Obviously we weren't good, but the Sydney game was worse! A few players had reasonable games.

Originally posted by DaveW
Thanks St Kilda :)