D2 Ammos

Coach Hollywood said:
As For C section OldTimer, they have an undefeated team sitting on top just like the rest of the grades so far, D2 doesn't have any undefeated teams and that was the point I was trying to make. As for the Salesian Vs St Johns match, that list does seem quite long Streetball and wouldn't help there cause for the big match this week. Why weren't there that many out 2 weeks ago against the Hoers. Surely having the Under 19 boys available would help fill these positions?What are your tips for this week boys? HotShoeShuffle are you backing the Hoers again?

Coach, from what i've heard and read this week, the Hoes were very good last week. Long and direct to the forwards. Not sure if St Johns are as tough as many suggest, although quite nimble. Peninsula surprised me last week, although they are fit and run all day long. Trobes could be the sleeping giant this year, disappointed last year, underestimated this year i think.
Tips are :

Aquinas easily
Peninsula comfortably - Payze to have 8 by halftime, 11 for the game
Latrobe on the road
Salesian to hit back
Hoes to back it up

HotShoeShuffle said:
Coach, from what i've heard and read this week, the Hoes were very good last week. Long and direct to the forwards. Not sure if St Johns are as tough as many suggest, although quite nimble. Peninsula surprised me last week, although they are fit and run all day long. Trobes could be the sleeping giant this year, disappointed last year, underestimated this year i think.
Tips are :

Aquinas easily
Peninsula comfortably - Payze to have 8 by halftime, 11 for the game
Latrobe on the road
Salesian to hit back
Hoes to back it up

Yeah i agree pretty much with that..Payze to have 8 by half time and 11 for the game would be good to see, he was soundly beaten last week by a very good defender and im sure he will be pumped to have a big one.

It will be interesting to see how the Record bloke tips this week?
Streetball who are you tipping?
My tips will be:
Aquinas.
Peninsula.
Werribee @ home.
I'll go St Johns but I think Salesian are a big chance.
Hoers.

Can anyone tell me how Marty Walsh is going for Werribee???

He was an absolute gun as a junior and can be a freak at times but doesn't play very consistently.

If only he could realise his potential.

Werribee seem to be going along nicely in their first season in D2, was anyone at the Werribee vs Peninsula game? who impressed for Werribee?

Any comments from the weekend games ? Werribee pumped 'Trobers, Willi almost beat Payzesula at the beach, Aquinas had to work hard for the 4 points against GE, Oakleigh gave Hoers a touch up and Salesian between St.Johns. ?

rightfoot_sloth said:
Any comments from the weekend games ? Werribee pumped 'Trobers, Willi almost beat Payzesula at the beach, Aquinas had to work hard for the 4 points against GE, Oakleigh gave Hoers a touch up and Salesian between St.Johns. ?

RFS- I went down at watched my mate play in the salesian reserves as i was playing the following day. Did stick around for the seniors on a wonderfully crafted oval amongst many a fine person to enjoy a pretty tough and at times firey game of footy.

Basically Salesian tore apart St Johns in the first quarter kicking 7 unanswered goals, 3 from there full foward who did kick a few more. There backline gave them a lot of run the whole day but the first quarter saw very good movement of the pill. St Johns fought back in the second quarter and got within 3 goals at half time.

Both sides answered each others goals in the second half mainly but salesian did kick away late in the last quarter with there young players providing a bit of run.

One thing to note was that St John's discipline was at times very dissapointing and many a 25m penalty was given away. I Thought they would have been favourites but a few Salesian players got under there skin and sucked them in.

Salesian Captain along with there full foward were probably there two best players id say. St Johns did have 3-4 guys that did play very well (not sure of names) but they were on ballers who can hold there heads up.

I hope that is sufficient, how'd the other sides go ? anything interesting in the world of D2 football. :thumbsu:

rightfoot_sloth said:
Did Mick Hazel (1's Coach) play for Salesian on the weekend against St.Johns ?

He was in the 22 that lined up i think however he probably only came on and played 20 mins or so in which he pretty much dominated. .He spent the rest of the time coaching. I don't think he is keen to play always, prefers to coach from the sidelines, pretty unselfish of the guy i reckon.

Well Guys, A big week in D2. Here are my findings from the weeks events.
Aqunias continued to plot along nicely.
Salesian showed they are a top 4 contender.
Peninsula survived a scare.
Oakleigh showed they could play finals this year.
Willy shoed they rely on Wheeler alot.
Ivanhoe came back to earth with a thud.
St Johns probably though they where better than they really were.
La Trobe are probably just making up the numbers again.
Glen Eira D2 is just as hard as D1.
Werribee showed they wont be beaten at home.

Coach Hollywood said:
Anyone want to bite the bullet and predict the top 4 in D2 this year?
Based on other threads on this website and my personal opinion, I'd have to go with Ivanhoe Assumption, Penninsula, Aquinas & Werribee? Anyone else have a prediction

Werribee will make the grand final, young list, apply excessive amount of physical pressure on opposition and getting on a roll at the moment

seems werribee are going along nicely at the minute, with wins over aquinas and peninsula. who has been starring for werribee, i hear that they have a relation to the great e.j playing for them.

akkadakka said:
seems werribee are going along nicely at the minute, with wins over aquinas and peninsula. who has been starring for werribee, i hear that they have a relation to the great e.j playing for them.

yeah mate thats correct, It's Ted EJ Whitten's grandson i believe. Also has anyone got any reports or results from the weekends matches in D2 section ? :thumbsu:

in regards to hollywood's comments about the goings on thus far in d2 i found the part concerning werribee was flawed.

hollywood makes a fair call suggesting that werribee will be unbeaten at home this year because last year soldiers reserve was an inpenetrable fortress. most every team who journied down the highway to werribee were soundly beaten. however im afraid his comment is flawed because at werribees first home game glen eira snatched a thrilling 1 point win.

So hollywoods theory of werribee remaining undefeated at home this season are completely incorrect.

Having said this i've heard the boys down there are on an absolute roll with no signs of slowing down.

watch out come finals times cos these boys will be there shaking the place about and could be in for an early promotion to d1.

Yeah minor slip up there Tha Man. The point I was trying to make though was they shouldn't be beaten at home for the "rest" of the year. Hopefully I'm wrong, because we play the Werribee boys at soldiers this weekend and we'd love to knock them off. Tipped 5 from 5 last week so my predictions can't be all that bad? Where's your assesment for each team's progress so far???

Coach Hollywood said:
Yeah minor slip up there Tha Man. The point I was trying to make though was they shouldn't be beaten at home for the "rest" of the year. Hopefully I'm wrong, because we play the Werribee boys at soldiers this weekend and we'd love to knock them off. Tipped 5 from 5 last week so my predictions can't be all that bad? Where's your assesment for each team's progress so far???

Peninsula, Werribee, Oakleigh look like they be playing in September.
Aquinas, Salesian, Latrobe and Ivanhoe as a smokey, battle for 4th. St Johns, GE and Willi are gone.

here are my tips for round 7 D2 seniors:

aquinas to easily account for willi
salesian in a tight one with glen eira
peninsula to beat la trobe well
werribee to smack the pants off ivanhoe
oakleigh to do the same to JOCS

anyone else got their tips?

where is Tom 'Pizzle" Nixon running around this years is he still at the Hoers or did he head back to the country to play for the bloods, had a fair bit of potential when i saw him run around last yr. wld be good to hear from coach hollywood on this one.

Tommy Nixon has gone to Marcellin Fish, He made the Box Hill Hawks list and they told him if he wanted to get better he would need to join an A grade club, rather than staying down in D2. We'd love to have him still but you can't hold back a Kid from giving it a crack?
He's been missing out on the Hawks reserve each week and playing 2's at Marcellin, But I think he played in Marcellin 1's last round, so he looks like being a chance at Box Hill shortly? Good Luck him, he's top kid.

Any tips/previews for the w/e's clash lads, been a bit quiet the last week or so. Also can someone give me some information on the following players in your competition as they seem likee some keys according to match reports/results/records.

Trevor Bromley, McKenzie & Briggs...Oakliegh Krushers
St Johns, C.Pattie (Number 1 think)
Peninsula, S.Payze, not sure of number tho.
Salesian, M.Hazell, A.Ross, L.Kelly and H.Singh
Ivanhoe have a few very handy players.
Also who are the key players from Aquinas and Werribee (heard in the paper that EJ's grandson is down at werribee and is very handy.

Cheers lads :thumbsu:

Tips this week could include a few upsets I think? How's Ivanhoe, Williamstown to beat Werribee & Aqunias. Salesian, Peninsula & Oakleigh in the others.