D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

I believe the syndal fella has just returned from a 1 week suspension for attempted striking as well.

Who was it that mozzed us last week? Someone made mention of no D4 players making the trip to Elsternwick on Tuesday evenings. Talk about tempting fate. Syndal player cops 4 and Uni chap takes 2. Was young Garrard wrongly fingered? No mention of his outcome.
Holly, was the 'Dipierdiminico Defence' tabled?
:rolleyes:Heard on the grapevine that a certain ump copped heeps from both sides on the day, and even on this forum ,after reporting that same syndal chap on the attempting to strike charge,a lesson not learnt me thinks:rolleyes:

Cheers Spy, I love the "young" comment. No defence required as a witness though.:thumbsu:

They really should give more information. Glad you have cleared your impeccable name by stating the facts here. How hard would it be for the responsible person at VAFA to type 'witness' next to a name when listing it on the site on Mondays. I know of one lad who received a very harsh message from his mum in Queensland after she had seen his name on the tribunal appearance sheet. Poor bloke couldn't reply to tell her he was the victim, as his jaw was wired up.:eek:

To Anyone who is involved with a amatuer footy club,

Do you have any problems with keeping reserves players staying at on to support the seniors?
Do you have any problems with getting numbers to training?
Do you have any problems with players paying game monies and subs?

I am a committee member of an amatuer club. I am becoming increasingly worried that a culture which existed for years is not being eraticated by the influx of new players. I am wanting to know what suggestions you people may have in regards to the above. Any idea will do...I suppose.

Thank You.

So rich to beat st marys and syndal to beat albert park?

Apparently that is what I said. From all reports Albert Park almost got knocked off by Richmond at their own home ground, so I expect Richmond to bounce when they play at home, even against Saint Marys (who at some stage will become complacent - why not against RC who everyone expected to win wooden spoon easily at the start of the season). Conversely I expect AP to flop after just scraping away with the win. Syndal sound like they had a shakey start to the season, but are starting to group together and will push some teams where it was expected.

But as always, these are but opinions, even if to just shake up the norm.

Do you have any problems with keeping reserves players staying at on to support the seniors?

I am a committee member of an amatuer club. I am becoming increasingly worried that a culture which existed for years is not being eraticated by the influx of new players. I am wanting to know what suggestions you people may have in regards to the above. Any idea will do...I suppose.

Thank You.

Best way to keep the reserves to hang around is making them realise that they are as much a part of the senior team as the players on that day. So part of training. Welcome in the rooms before, during, and after the game. Linked to the second question, making sure that lots of seniors turn up to training, and reserves players know who they are. Quite often it seems that a senior player who is good won't bother turning up to training, but knows he will get a game irrelevant. The side effect of this is that you end up with reserves players who don't even know the name of a senior player in their own club.

Getting numbers to training. As long as people know they are improving they will turn up. Enthusiasm from coaching staff and leadership group helps a lot. If training twice a week, making the second night as much a social event as training helps (we're D4 after all).

Not sure on the money one.

I don't think new players are something to be concerned about. Unless they come in large bunches, they will always look to the older heads for what and how things are done. The culture tends to be more dictated by these people that have been with the club for years. I know when a club has been down for a bit, it can take a year or two for this culture to reassert itself, but eventually it will.

All personal experience and don't know if it's the same in every club.

Thank You.

Check your PM's

Best way to keep the reserves to hang around is making them realise that they are as much a part of the senior team as the players on that day. So part of training. Welcome in the rooms before, during, and after the game. Linked to the second question, making sure that lots of seniors turn up to training, and reserves players know who they are. Quite often it seems that a senior player who is good won't bother turning up to training, but knows he will get a game irrelevant. The side effect of this is that you end up with reserves players who don't even know the name of a senior player in their own club.

Getting numbers to training. As long as people know they are improving they will turn up. Enthusiasm from coaching staff and leadership group helps a lot. If training twice a week, making the second night as much a social event as training helps (we're D4 after all).

Not sure on the money one.

I don't think new players are something to be concerned about. Unless they come in large bunches, they will always look to the older heads for what and how things are done. The culture tends to be more dictated by these people that have been with the club for years. I know when a club has been down for a bit, it can take a year or two for this culture to reassert itself, but eventually it will.

All personal experience and don't know if it's the same in every club.

Who is this masked man?

I believe the syndal fella has just returned from a 1 week suspension for attempted striking as well.

I actually witnessed the striking incident on the eley park player and it was one of the most cowardly and cheap shots iv seen. I think a little lucky to only get the 4 weeks.

Ended up costing them the game to as they only had 17 players in the dying minutes...

Thank You.

This is the bane of many an amateur club .

Some ideas.

Have a good mix of players and others on committee

Pick a leader from the reserves- not neccessarily the captain- more a social leader and make them and a couple of others responsible for running the bar after the senior match- Offer them discounts from their subs as incentive

Give out beer vouchers to reserves best players that can only be redeemed after the senior game- need to be at least a couple of cans to be worthwhile

run raffles during senior match- get ressies players to run them, half the proceeeds to club half to end of season trip

as mentioned by the cat man- seniors have to show similar respect- turn up to watch the ressies before their own prematch- not just one or two players- the whole squad- the senior coach can make this a requirement of playing seniors.

injured senior players do water for ressies

RE subs payments- options are no pay no play- givew players an opportunity to talk to oyu about payment difficulities, but dont give them multiple chances or they will abuse the system- offer those with payment difficulties other small jobs to reduce their costs- eg clean rooms on a thursday night etc

Numbers at training you cannot do much about until your coaches reward those who train, no use having a one training compulsory rule unless your coaches respect that- if there is a special exception players need to know why and it has to be a genuine reason.

Culture change is a slow process but a neccessary one for many clubs

stick at it- if you and others are determined - stick at it

Thank You.

U need to start ur culture by getting 2gether and i no this may sound bad to some, but getting on the grog in a big way always works, drinking games etc after a massive satday night most ppl turn up on tuesday to see the bloke who got his head shaved or got locked up etc etc

i dunno i might b wrong here but i think it works

Thank You.

Mate, I can probably give the secrets to the universe easier, and you have got some great advice here...(So have I too)

I keep my guys around for the seniors by telling them to take an interest in the players who play their position. Ie..CHF watches the CHF etc to know how to improve their game. (And watch the oppositions one too)

Getting numbers to training probably depends on the numbers on your list, and the requirement to turn up to training to get a game. Most of our blokes go to training because our training isnt run of the mill and isnt boring. (Thanks to our snr coach!)

As for the money side of things, Bigwaz is a gun at that stuff!

Good luck mate, we would all love to have it easier, but then it wouldn't be D4 ammo's!

ps: Getting out with the lads and getting smashed is integral to male bonding!

Gone to the dogs Spy, two suspensions and a melee!

They really should give more information. Glad you have cleared your impeccable name by stating the facts here. How hard would it be for the responsible person at VAFA to type 'witness' next to a name when listing it on the site on Mondays. I know of one lad who received a very harsh message from his mum in Queensland after she had seen his name on the tribunal appearance sheet. Poor bloke couldn't reply to tell her he was the victim, as his jaw was wired up.:eek:

Tinhead Colleagues
This week's fixtures look to be a walk in the park in comparison to last week. Let's keep our perfect record in tact.
North Brunswick to go down to Eley Park by 3 goals.
UHS by 25 points over an improving South Mornington outfit on the road.
Box Hill North by 43 points over Mt Lilydale.
Eltham by 75 points down at Bulleen.
St Marys by 62 points at the Snakepit.
AND what could be a real danger game for the Falcons at Syndal. Go for Albert Park by 21.
Any news on the injury toll at Falcon land? Spots 3 and 4 look to be wide open this year.

Tinhead Colleagues
This week's fixtures look to be a walk in the park in comparison to last week. Let's keep our perfect record in tact.
North Brunswick to go down to Eley Park by 3 goals.
UHS by 25 points over an improving South Mornington outfit on the road.
Box Hill North by 43 points over Mt Lilydale.
Eltham by 75 points down at Bulleen.
St Marys by 62 points at the Snakepit.
AND what could be a real danger game for the Falcons at Syndal. Go for Albert Park by 21.
Any news on the injury toll at Falcon land? Spots 3 and 4 look to be wide open this year.

I still believe UHS-VU & BHN will fill those 3 & 4 spots, I'll wait untill after next week to pass judgement on where I believe BHN are at though? Still a long way to go and even St Mary's & ourselves still need to play good footy each week and can't get complacent!
South Mornington or Albert Park could the others to suprise with a finals spot IMO.

To all of those who replied to my questions yesterday evening thank so so much. Your advice is extremely valuable. I will take these on board to the next committee meeting. Once again, thank you again.

a bit too late to try to be humble Hollywood. Most independents have you and the Saints well clear!

This weeks games will give us more of an idea on how South Morny are travelling. Interesting to see Uni High reserves get so close to Eltham's. They must have good depth out there at the zoo and therefore must be right in calculations come finals time. Uni high for me by 36 points.

BHN take on Lilydale. Box Hill will be confident in getting the points here and will be hard displace coming off the rebound. BHN by 29 points.

North Brunswick take on Eley Park . The Allard park boys need a win and i think will break through this week. North by 14 points.
* North Brunswick magoos to kick a cricket score.*

Albert park v Syndal. Too much riding in this for Albert park. Them by 19 points.

Bulleen v Eltham. Sorry Bulleen, last week must have ripped your guts out to be that close to your first win for the season. Wont get any easier this week with Eltham hardened by a tough match up against Uni. Eltham by 76 points.

Finally the Ladder leaders St Mary's take on a very competitive Richmond side. Richmond have nothing to lose in this one and will be confident of a brave showing. However in my opinion that Express train wont be slowing down this week. DR Dwyer's return from Sydney at an average of nine goals per game has lifted those around him. Adam Lane controls the backline like a general and would be a big candidate for D4 team of the year honours. St Marys backline has conceded the least amount of points against this year and i cant see Richmond kicking a big enough score.
St Mary's to win and still be a game clear of Eltham, Uni, & BHN.

If it was soft why did you not contest - every second one gets off!:thumbsdown:

Gotta Love the tribunal. Had a malee against Nth Brunny a couple of years ago. Super soft one too!

As footballers, we know most of these are caused by the umpires not having control over the game at the time....letting things go to far. Also, where are the days of the umpires coming into the rooms before the game, addressing the teams etc. It built great respect and rapport! I mentioned this to our umps two weeks ago and they don't think its nescessary at a senior level. We are now getting the umps to come into the rooms in the ressies prior to the game to say g'day and tell us what they expect in terms of fairness and how they umpire. Will Help out heaps and blokes are far less likely to give em crap when they see them as people. I rekon the snr umps can take a leaf out of that.

Good luck on the weekend everyone and go snakes!

The gurus back boys and have noticed a lot of talk about the saints from some quarters. And being a sainter myself i've gotta say a lot of it is crap. I think the sainters will be in for a hell of a shock if they actually believe this rubbish (thats if these people are really saint people at all!) because unitil i see a forward down at the club they won't match eltham!

guru out!

Ahhhh Question Guru1. Does 18 goals in two games count as seeing a forward down at the club? I think it might. (and he didnt play against Eltham)

Keka out

Gotta Love the tribunal. Had a malee against Nth Brunny a couple of years ago. Super soft one too!

As footballers, we know most of these are caused by the umpires not having control over the game at the time....letting things go to far. Also, where are the days of the umpires coming into the rooms before the game, addressing the teams etc. It built great respect and rapport! I mentioned this to our umps two weeks ago and they don't think its nescessary at a senior level. We are now getting the umps to come into the rooms in the ressies prior to the game to say g'day and tell us what they expect in terms of fairness and how they umpire. Will Help out heaps and blokes are far less likely to give em crap when they see them as people. I rekon the snr umps can take a leaf out of that.

Good luck on the weekend everyone and go snakes!

Good Point. They probably don't need to do it in the top grades, but I think in D4 where there are lots of new faces each week it should be mandatory. I doubt the VAFA would do anything about it though, they're too busy handing out $5 fines to D4 clubs for incorrect interchange cards :)

St Mary's have the game plan and structure but Eltham have the quality of players. In the end structure can be beaten with a bit of planning but good players take a lot more to break. 3 or 4 guns at St Mary's but definitely beatable. Interesting to see Hawthorn and Powerhouse doing well in D3. Good signs for us D4 clubs as i thought both of those teams weren't overly impressive last year. I pick Eltham to go up a grade this year and then come close to doing the same the year after if they can keep their players and gel together as a team.

My tip for Richmond is to keep your positions. Don't get sucked into their game play. And forget about the whole tagging ploy. It's a waste of a player for you and a boost of confidence to players on the other team that truthfully don't deserve to be tagged.

Good luck to all teams tomorrow.