magpie10

Man U, NE Patriots, Magic, Red Sox
Where is he currently at in Season 2009?
The kid has bucketloads of talent but it hasn't quite been the start he and our supporters had hoped for.
He had a solid game vs Adelaide with hard running being a feature of that particular match. Against geelong he gathered a fair bit of the ball but made quite a few mistakes. On friday night, he shut down drummond but only had 11 possessions himself. However, his tackling and pressure at times were really impressive.

My questions are, what do we expect from Dale this week? in 2009? where should he be played? Will he justify his #2 pick?

I reckon he looks most dangerous playing in the midfield and should be played there this week vs essendon as well as in the coming rounds. If that fails move him to HB where he can be given the freedom to run, carry and set up play.
Thoughts?

I personally think he played just about the most satisfying game he has played in his whole career last week.

We all know he can do the "flashy" things, but he has never shown a defensive side to his game.

Going in to last weeks game against Brisbane, Drummond would have been an All Australian half back after 4 games, yet Thomas negated him and still managed to pick up a few telling possessions of his own.

The chase and tackle that ultimately got Drummond holding the ball in the last quarter, even shocked Toovey, who stood there in amazement as Thomas smashed Drummond with a perfect tackle.

The thing is, a player like Daisy isnt going to be flashy and brilliant every week, so to develop another "string to his bow", as he showed last week, just adds value to him.

I'd continue down the same path this week, maybe a defensive role on a Lovett or Davey, as the bombers pace is the only thing that really worries us recently.

I personally think he played just about the most satisfying game he has played in his whole career last week.

We all know he can do the "flashy" things, but he has never shown a defensive side to his game.

Going in to last weeks game against Brisbane, Drummond would have been an All Australian half back after 4 games, yet Thomas negated him and still managed to pick up a few telling possessions of his own.

The chase and tackle that ultimately got Drummond holding the ball in the last quarter, even shocked Toovey, who stood there in amazement as Thomas smashed Drummond with a perfect tackle.

The thing is, a player like Daisy isnt going to be flashy and brilliant every week, so to develop another "string to his bow", as he showed last week, just adds value to him.

I'd continue down the same path this week, maybe a defensive role on a Lovett or Davey, as the bombers pace is the only thing that really worries us recently.
How bout if he was to play in the guts but tag one of their mids, say a lovett or stanton ??

Having said that i just don't want to see him go to waste by tagging players whilst getting little of the ball himself. I just wanna see him take the game on and break the lines while still doing all the defensive things ie: pressure, tackles, 1%ers

A lot of you guy's don't watch the game. Thomas like alot of our players has a job to do, it may be defensive tagging role, in amd under. We are used to see Dais screeming through the midfield taking on whoever tries to run him down or taking those trade mark hangers. When we don't see him for a quater ...... first comment is he is inconsistent! give the bloke a break he may have been instructed to do otherwise or the team may be looking for pendles or Cloke .... the ball is not heading in his direction it is as simple as that. Because Presti only gets 5 possies a game does that worry anyone? The moment Dais does not perform or do his job you'll see him in the 2oose.:) I don't know if Dais or anyone can play 4 quaters leaping over everyone or dashing 60 metres through the midfield! Dais has to be used in patches. Dais and Pendles are the best players out of their draught we really are lucky to have got them!

He hasn't lived upto my potential of him yet, but he has been far from average so far this year, he has performed to expectations and a bit higher in 2 of his 3 games, and thats exceptional enough for me.

I guess you can put it down to Daisy's lack of super-form, Didak's inconsistency, Davis's lack of presence that we've had a 2-2 start instead of a 3-1 or 4-0. When these guys get firing, along with Cloke and a bit more of Medhurst, we'll be close to unstoppable.

Yes, Daisy isn't playing the sort of style we have become accustomed to, and like seeing, due to his flair and dash.

But, he has done the team thing and performed his negating role almost to perfection.

This will only enhance his ability and value to the side.

He is on the verge.

Yes, Daisy isn't playing the sort of style we have become accustomed to, and like seeing, due to his flair and dash.

But, he has done the team thing and performed his negating role almost to perfection.

He is on the verge.

That sums it up very well

He is on the verge.

I'm not sure about that. We've had guys like Davis and Didak in the team before Thomas and they have similar playing styles in a way.

I think he needs to increase his average possession rate to about 20 before he takes the next step which probably means more midfield time because he is'nt really a high possession player as a forward. He showed some good signs in the NAB cup in the middle so i'd like to see more of him here.

I think people have a bit of an unfair expectation of him really and as such tend to judge him harshly.

He has been good to date and far better then last year. As has been said there has been positives in out of all three games. Against Adeliade he was in the best and played one of his better games. Against Geelong he got a lot of the ball although a lot of it was cheap and wasted. Against Brisbane he played an accountable responsible team role.

For mine his been involved and playing a role in every game which is a small improvement. People expect him to do the unreal highlight real match changing stuff every game and then when that's all he does they want to pot him for being a selfish player. His coming along fine for mine. I also think you have to forget where he was drafted at this stage in his career. Ellis is widely accepted as the guy we would have taken if not DT and I am much happier with the DT and Pendles combo.

His coming along just fine his getting / staying involved in the game more often. While he only had 11 possesion last week he did it in a defensive role, where as last year he would of had that number a couple of times in an offensive role.

Daisy came in like a house on fire and showed us all in his first season that he had matchwinning capability.

Now he's learning accountability so that ultimately when he ends up in the midfield he'll understand both the importance and the technique of playing a defensive game on your opponent. We can't have him free-wheeling in the midfield and not worrying about where his opponent is.

He's going alright, but he's not a born midfielder, despite possessing some really strong attributes to be played there, so once he becomes more well rounded, he'll improve sharply.

Pretty happy with how he is going so far. He's been valuable without setting the world on fire and sometimes I think Daisy needs to understand that is OK.

His first two games he was up around the 20 possession mark which I think should be a pass mark for Thomas this year. Last week he dropped down to 11 but Drummond had 15 when he had 30 and 25 the two weeks previous. That's a win for us in my book. I reckon Drummond is the barometer at Brisbane and there won't be too many times where he gets over 20 possessions and the Lions lose this year.

I'd like to see him take on Lovett or Winderlich this week. He can continue to develop the accountability side of his game but they will drag him into the action where he can hurt them going the other way as well. I thought his best game last year was when he played on Bartel and whilst I don't think he needs to apply a hard tag, having him play accountable football on one of their better mids is a good fit for him at the moment. Kind of like what Gibbs did at Carlton last year....

Pretty happy with how he is going so far. He's been valuable without setting the world on fire and sometimes I think Daisy needs to understand that is OK.

And, I'd say, supporters need to understand this is ok.

I thought he played one of his best couple of games for the club in Round 1, and did very well on Drummond last week. The two in between were decent, but not great.

I think people's estimation's of Thomas' underlying potential are a little overblown. He's a very exciting player, and has some tremendous strengths, but he's got irreversible weaknesses too. He's a flawed player in a sense, but that's ok. Anth Rocca was always a flawed player, but he was great for us. As long as we didn't expect him to be Treadrea, all was peachy. Licca the same.

Let him develop into his own player, without asking him to instantly "justify" his selection @ 2 or whatever.

And, I'd say, supporters need to understand this is ok.

I thought he played one of his best couple of games for the club in Round 1, and did very well on Drummond last week. The two in between were decent, but not great.

I think people's estimation's of Thomas' underlying potential are a little overblown. He's a very exciting player, and has some tremendous strengths, but he's got irreversible weaknesses too. He's a flawed player in a sense, but that's ok. Anth Rocca was always a flawed player, but he was great for us. As long as we didn't expect him to be Treadrea, all was peachy. Licca the same.

Let him develop into his own player, without asking him to instantly "justify" his selection @ 2 or whatever.

Good call. His game in Round 1 really impressed me because it was a solid game and not a flashy 15 posession 3 goal game. It was a real midfielder's type of game from him. If we could get that type of output from him that would be fantastic.

I don't think he will ever be the accumulating 35 possession type like Pendles but that's OK because we have Pendles. If he could average 22 possessions over 22 games he will be a very valuable player for us.

Agreed. If he lifts his possession rate to 20+ per game as well as doing all the defensive things we will be a much better unit. However if the opportunity arises, dale should take the game on and use his talent, not worrying too much about getting caught and just back himself. Having said that, it is an extremely fine line and he will need to find a balance between the 2...

I'm not sure about that. We've had guys like Davis and Didak in the team before Thomas and they have similar playing styles in a way.

I think he needs to increase his average possession rate to about 20 before he takes the next step which probably means more midfield time because he is'nt really a high possession player as a forward. He showed some good signs in the NAB cup in the middle so i'd like to see more of him here.

I reckon he did ave 20 in his first 2 games and for reasons mentioned his rate was down last week but still played his role very well.

I have no concerns about Daisy- WHY? Because his workrate is sensational. I think he is just about our best player in terms of pressure going the other way, his takcling this year has been first rate and as bucks said in friday night he is now one of the hardest runners at the club. He may do alot of flashy things but he works his Arse off. I reckon he is just about to rip a few games apart.

Agreed. I mean, we criticize him for being too flashy and when he puts his head down and puts in some great gut-running and tackling efforts we criticize him for disappearing? Come on now, people. He did kick a crumbing goal last week too, lets not forget. I think we'll find that this will be the year he adds the new strings to his bow, and next year he'll be a complete package from the start.

Its not always about the number of possessions...

No it's not but an increase in posessions from Thomas means that he has moved into the midfield where he can become that hard-running outside line breaker he can be rather than a 15 possession goal a game flanker that we have seen the past.

There's nothing wrong with his performances so far. It's about the evolution of his game as he develops and moving to the midfield and a higher possession count is the next step IMO.

We've already got a goal a game 15 possession flanker in Didak. We don't need another if we can develop Thomas into a mid.

I am amazed that people think Thomas has no defensive side?! Sure, occasionally he backs himself too much and gets caught on the rebound, but he is one of the hardest working for chasing and pressuring that we have in the team. He causes a lot of opposition mistakes because they know he can - and does - close in quickly. It's rare that you get guys with 'freak factor' that also work this hard. Big game performer too, I reckon a big show for the ANZAC Medal.

I reckon he did ave 20 in his first 2 games and for reasons mentioned his rate was down last week but still played his role very well.

Thats a fair call. I wasn't actually criticising his performance so far this season as I think he has been fantastic, even last weeks game as he did a very important team role on Drummond. I'd just like to see him keep up an average like that over a season. We all know how damaging Daisy can be so it's a given it would be nice to see him average a few more possies a game.

He has been good so far, only blemish was the Cats game where he had too many turnovers. Added work off the ball to his game this year which is essential to taking the next step> Does need more possesions because we need our best players to use the ball, I want to see him at HBF before midfield.

I've got a fantastic idea.

Get off the ****ing tv, stop reading your own ****ing headlines, stop trying to ****ing showboat and do what you're paid to do, and get the ****ing footy and ****ing use it.

I've got a fantastic idea.

Get off the ****ing tv, stop reading your own ****ing headlines, stop trying to ****ing showboat and do what you're paid to do, and get the ****ing footy and ****ing use it.

HaHaHa mate... I'm seeing a side of you I never thought existed.

I hope Dale reads this post because you are not one to knee jerk for no reason...

It's up to Dale himself you know.

When he looks back on his career he can either walk away with a fantastic highlight reel and no success, or he can walk away knowing he did the team things, pushed himself with success.

He is coasting, doing enough to get a mention as a potential star and being selected the following week getting meaningless football doing the things the people say "wow" about, but never doing the things that count.

When he threw an errant boot at a ball in the last at a time he could've pulled the footy in and locked it into our forward line did it for me.

I know how frustrated North Melbourne supporters are now with Wells, a player that can be a world beater, but settles with being a bloke who will just float through the game.