Injury Dane Swan

Unfortunately guys, if that's true I would say that's it for him. Lisfranc is a nightmare for footballers. This would be the third I know of in the last 20 years - the other two being Matthew Richardson (who has described it as the worst injury of his career) and Mitch Clark (who has never recovered really). You're looking at a minimum of 12 months out to get it right, if it ever returns to 100% at all.

Sad way for a champ to bow out. Love watching him go about it both on and off the field.

Absolutely horrible result. I ruptured the Lisfranc ligament in my foot last year (main supporting ligament through the midfoot). Usually requires a few screws and a plate inserted to allow the ligament to heal properly and for the midfoot to maintain its arch. They stay in for 3 months get removed after that. It'll take another couple weeks minimum after the second surgery to begin running again.
Richo said it was worse than an ACL from a rehab point of view purely because you're not allow to bear any weight through the foot for 6 weeks. Best result for Swan would be to be playing again round 20 IMO.

Shattered for Swanny.......left the room when it happened!

Players like Swan & Judd shouldn't finish careers like this :cry:

An injury like this and months of rehab alone would only push him away from Footy if anything

I think he is more likely to retire but you never know with Swan. He is a competitive beast and he loves the club. Would be great to see him play one more time at the G.

Swanny, has been the heart and soul of our club for along time. When other players chased the big bucks (pardon the pun) Dane put the club and the team first. We need to look after him, and get him right health wise, whether he plays on or not.

I think he is more likely to retire but you never know with Swan. He is a competitive beast and he loves the club. Would be great to see him play one more time at the G.
If an AFL game isn't an option, even a farewell VFL match would be great.

I'd be curious to know more about the centre of the ground and the pitches. Do they use drop-ins like at the MCG?

No, the SCG does not use drop ins, was voted against a few years ago and again last year by the members. Members have to agree, and bare in mind the historical nature of the ground as a cricket ground (and the 'constitution' set the rules for changing the SCG in a 'major' way). Won't say what my vote was, but put it this way, the 'yes' vote went backwards. Doubt they will bother even bringing it up again although maybe in 2-3 years. Hope that sort of answers the question.

As for Swanny, what a shame, and I have to say it is such a bad way for one of the genuinely nice blokes to get cut down by injury. Lets hope he gets back even just for a game or two. Get well Swanny.

So he has 3 broken bones in his foot and the Lisfranc ligament, but no mention of his broken leg? His leg might be alright.

The foot though sounds rooted, he won't be able to rehabilitate the ligament for a long time and it sounds very structurally important.

Buckley said if he comes back it will be very late in the season.

No, the SCG does not use drop ins, was voted against a few years ago and again last year by the members. Members have to agree, and bare in mind the historical nature of the ground as a cricket ground (and the 'constitution' set the rules for changing the SCG in a 'major' way). Won't say what my vote was, but put it this way, the 'yes' vote went backwards. Doubt they will bother even bringing it up again although maybe in 2-3 years. Hope that sort of answers the question.

As for Swanny, what a shame, and I have to say it is such a bad way for one of the genuinely nice blokes to get cut down by injury. Lets hope he gets back even just for a game or two. Get well Swanny.

The MCG is a historical cricket site... get with the times Sydney. :P

Swanny, has been the heart and soul of our club for along time. When other players chased the big bucks (pardon the pun) Dane put the club and the team first. We need to look after him, and get him right health wise, whether he plays on or not.

Dane is a great player, but let's face reality, Dane has always put Dane first off the field.

The MCG is a historical cricket site... get with the times Sydney. :p

I'm telling you it won't happen (in the short term at least). It might in a few years, however fans generally HATE the idea of a drop in for cricket as it wrecks the individuality of the wicket and I actually do agree there. There must be a 'happy medium' though. Look I usually don't vote as frankly I follow all sports and I really don't care what they vote for. This year I did vote though.

Drop in wickets are getting better but as a cricket fan i agree with you to leave them. Having said that the SCG pitch has changed from quick and bouncy, to a spinners deck to a flatter track in the last 30 years

Dane is a great player, but let's face reality, Dane has always put Dane first off the field.

Why would you say that?

Drop in wickets are getting better but as a cricket fan i agree with you to leave them. Having said that the SCG pitch has changed from quick and bouncy, to a spinners deck to a flatter track in the last 30 years

I haven't been impressed with the wicket for a few years, but I still don't particularly want to go to a drop in. not unless they can 100% guarantee the characteristics of the old wicket, and frankly that was a question that someone asked...their response was 'we can't guarantee you that'...and they wonder why it didn't go through. Won't go through until they can guarantee that for the members. I'm just being realistic here, and that is spoken as a SPORTS fan. I follow all sports there.

What characteristic did they refer to? I loved it as a spinners wicket but it was a quick deck before that.

Very harsh Kappa.

He played hard of the field but he played even harder on.

He is a Club Legend just a little respect mate!

No need to kick him while he is down.

What characteristic did they refer to? I loved it as a spinners wicket but it was a quick deck before that.

Mainly one that is a fair wicket for everyone, so some spin but some pace early. Tom Parker 'usually' does a fantastic job with the wicket. I preferred it as a turner but we won't go back there, a happy medium should be easy to get. Thought the pitch this year at least for Shield games (won't comment on the test due to the rain) offered enough for everyone.

Very harsh Kappa.

He played hard of the field but he played even harder on.

He is a Club Legend just a little respect mate!

No need to kick him while he is down.
So it's okay for Swanny to play hard off the field but not any other players?

How do you tell your kids this?

Getting smashed off your face regularly isn't exactly a team first mentality at the elite level.

And I don't mean with alcohol
He is one of the great champions I have seen at Collingwood. Has turned out for many seasons and barely wavered in performance and commitment. Still why not go with what the gutter writers and drag him down a bit when he is at his weakest.

Just don't understand a posters need to denigrate the great man when he has suffered a terrible injury. Real side by side.

I'd be curious to know more about the centre of the ground and the pitches. Do they use drop-ins like at the MCG?

Probably a useless datapoint ...

... But the centre square was roped off and covered in white plastic during Collingwood training the day before.

He is one of the great champions I have seen at Collingwood. Has turned out for many seasons and barely wavered in performance and commitment. Still why not go with what the gutter writers and drag him down a bit when he is at his weakest.

Just don't understand a posters need to denigrate the great man when he has suffered a terrible injury. Real side by side.

It has absolutely no relevance to his injury, it's been true his whole career and being injured doesn't make it more true or less true.

I'm not disputing he is a great player, but everyone knows what Swanny gets up to in his personal time (well, most people).

Anyway, no point going into more detail about this as clearly pointing out reality means I'm denigrating a player because he is injured.