Daniel Currie

ernieburger 11

hey guys just your thoughts on daniel currie? i played my juniour career with him and am still best mates with him, he is a very tall player, good skills, great endurance, and also he has now bulked up immensly since being traded. he finishes year 12 this year and would be in serious consideration for selection next year. what do you guys think?

I have high hopes for Currie. Really liked the look of him in the pre season game against the dogs early this year. Seems to have a good base with his strong body and seems to be a good one grab player.

Still haven't seen much rucking and eager to see what he does with the taps. Spida will hopefully do alot of work with him in the off season to get him up to scratch because there will be a high probability that he will get a game next year.

I have high hopes for Currie. Really liked the look of him in the pre season game against the dogs early this year. Seems to have a good base with his strong body and seems to be a good one grab player.

Still haven't seen much rucking and eager to see what he does with the taps. Spida will hopefully do alot of work with him in the off season to get him up to scratch because there will be a high probability that he will get a game next year.

Currie is one of the reasons that i believe that if Jolly leaves this year we do not need to trade for a new ruckman.

Also Jeffers1984 since you know him could you tell us what team he supported?

i am the one that knows him and he supported North Melbourne

Well i suppose it could be worse. North Melbourne are one of my favourite victorian clubs. Just out of interest was he happy to be drafted to the Swans or was he upset that he had to leave his home state. Its always nice when you have players in your list who really want to be there.

nahh he was absolutely wrapped his bro played a season their also, so he heard great stories about them. he is still enjoying too and always tells me how the players are great blokes

Thanks for the info. There is nothing worse than having players in your team who dont want to be there. Im glad Currie doesnt fit into that group. Im looking forward to him becoming a regular member of the Swans first 22 in the next few seasons. I would imagine he will be Spida's replacement when he retires.

Swans supporters here in Melbourne don't get to see our youngsters run around and I haven't seen much of Currie. Currie along with Thornton, Laidlaw, D. O'Keefe, and White are just some of the guys we are all expecting to see play seniors next year.

I suggested that yesterday but people said it was a bad idea. What do they know :D

I actually wrote back a long post saying what a great idea it would be if we can limit our older players to around 16 games next year to ensure they get some rest before the finals (if we make it) while giving valuable experience to our younger players. But it was too long and my internet played up on me (and lost everything I typed up for 1/2hour). But I think the rotation policy would work for us (maybe apart from Magic, who gets most of his fitness from games rather than training), it's true that other clubs don't do it, but no other clubs have as much 'oldies' as we do, I think.

But yeah, it would be great for Currie to learn his ropes partnering both Spida and Jolly(if he stays) next year and allowing him to come along slowly (generally Ruckman takes longer to develop, but there's quite a few young ruckman that came through this year like Warnock, Wood and Griffin and didn't do too badly). If we do lose Jolly though, asking an 18 year old kid to last a whole season of senior games would be a bit tough, I think.

I actually wrote back a long post saying what a great idea it would be if we can limit our older players to around 16 games next year to ensure they get some rest before the finals (if we make it) while giving valuable experience to our younger players. But it was too long and my internet played up on me (and lost everything I typed up for 1/2hour). But I think the rotation policy would work for us (maybe apart from Magic, who gets most of his fitness from games rather than training), it's true that other clubs don't do it, but no other clubs have as much 'oldies' as we do, I think.

But yeah, it would be great for Currie to learn his ropes partnering both Spida and Jolly(if he stays) next year and allowing him to come along slowly (generally Ruckman takes longer to develop, but there's quite a few young ruckman that came through this year like Warnock, Wood and Griffin and didn't do too badly). If we do lose Jolly though, asking an 18 year old kid to last a whole season of senior games would be a bit tough, I think.

Currie does deserve his shot next year and it would be great to see him get 4 or 5 games.

I'm hoping that in Currie we will see the real benefit of getting Spida on the list for a couple of years. Jolly's a decent big body to crash ruck contests but there doesn't seem to be much craft about his work. Everitt, on the other hand, appears to be the master craftsman when it comes to ruckwork, even if his age no longer enables him to show it to the same degree. If he is willing and able to impart even a fraction of his knowledge and experience to a promising youngster like Currie, the benefits could be huge.

In the couple of games Currie played this year in the twos, I was very encouraged to see the development in his build. I reckon he must have bulked up more in about 6 months than Erikson did in three years on the list. Though admittedly, Currie never seemed to be quite as stick like as Erikson was.

hey guys just your thoughts on daniel currie? i played my juniour career with him and am still best mates with him, he is a very tall player, good skills, great endurance, and also he has now bulked up immensly since being traded. he finishes year 12 this year and would be in serious consideration for selection next year. what do you guys think?

i think you should be his agent.....

i hope he has a long, illustrious, multi-premiership-winning career in red and white
and he kickstarts a similar career for you as an agent

I'm hoping that in Currie we will see the real benefit of getting Spida on the list for a couple of years. Jolly's a decent big body to crash ruck contests but there doesn't seem to be much craft about his work. Everitt, on the other hand, appears to be the master craftsman when it comes to ruckwork, even if his age no longer enables him to show it to the same degree. If he is willing and able to impart even a fraction of his knowledge and experience to a promising youngster like Currie, the benefits could be huge.

In the couple of games Currie played this year in the twos, I was very encouraged to see the development in his build. I reckon he must have bulked up more in about 6 months than Erikson did in three years on the list. Though admittedly, Currie never seemed to be quite as stick like as Erikson was.

let's hope spida doesn't try and pass on any of the "technique" he used v the pies in the elimination final, he was completely out of touch, his timing was dreadful

It's worth remembering that Currie, for all his promise, has effectively missed a season of football, due to staying in Melbourne to finish his schooling. He also has a 'new' body that will impact on his training load and it's worth remembering the last 2 guys (that come to mind) who chose to complete year 12 (Ball - St Kilda & Ellis - Hawthorn) both broke down with stress related injuries. And both of them had some training involvement with the full AFL team, that Currie has not. Currie is a fine prospect so I hope that whoever replaces Misson adopts a safety first policy.

gday guys
saw currie today down at local ground , eltham
looks extremly fit, was running laps at a quick speed
he wasnt a year out of footy as he would of played school games, which is about 8 or so games n i believe he went to sydney n played a few games in the reserves
i played juniors with him and went to primary school, good solid lad, tall, and a bloody good bloke
expect him to feature next year
seal

From what we saw of Currie last year (he only played two games for the ressies in Sydney, maybe another in Canberra) he looks to have some talent.

He shows potential as a true tap ruckman, rather than the "just bash it forward" type.
He is good below his knees.
He can take a one grab mark.

All very good starting points. However we can probably expect him to break down at some stage next year, as until the fitness staff get a handle on his breakdown threshold, they cannot tailor a programme to avoid same. Unfortunately, thats how Dave's system worked.

Very few rucks come in with a body capable of slotting straight into the ones, the last one we saw was Ricky "Cyprus" Mott. Unfortunately Ricky failed the no ********s criteria, a great pity as he had the ability to be almost anything.

Barring catastophic injury to our rucks, reckon next year will be a development year in the ressies for young Daniel. (hope he proves me wrong)

From what we saw of Currie last year (he only played two games for the ressies in Sydney, maybe another in Canberra) he looks to have some talent.

He shows potential as a true tap ruckman, rather than the "just bash it forward" type.
He is good below his knees.
He can take a one grab mark.

All very good starting points. However we can probably expect him to break down at some stage next year, as until the fitness staff get a handle on his breakdown threshold, they cannot tailor a programme to avoid same. Unfortunately, thats how Dave's system worked.

Very few rucks come in with a body capable of slotting straight into the ones, the last one we saw was Ricky "Cyprus" Mott. Unfortunately Ricky failed the no ********s criteria, a great pity as he had the ability to be almost anything.

Barring catastophic injury to our rucks, reckon next year will be a development year in the ressies for young Daniel. (hope he proves me wrong)

hmmm, interesting you mention mott....i did think he showed real talent but i was aware he had problems, so can you fill us in a bit on how he broke the no dckheads policy???

I read somewhere that Currie was also doing some personal training work with George Stone while he was down in Melbourne. Stone is the bloke who is credited with teaching Kennelly how to play so quickly so hopefully Daniel will have benefited from that too.

hmmm, interesting you mention mott....i did think he showed real talent but i was aware he had problems, so can you fill us in a bit on how he broke the no dckheads policy???

I think the official line was that he turned up pre season 2003 grossly overweight, but I would guess that there was much more to it. The Cyprus tag was due to his performance at a Cypriot liquor night at a pub in Newtown that off season, apparently he covered himself in infamy. Others may know more.

i knew about the returning overweight thing, and going to freo showed he was a bit of a dockhead, but there must be more

i feel very positive about currie but more so about d o'keefe and jesse white....add craig bird and some of the good young blokes we've got, and maybe a handy trade or two, things don't look as bad as the melb (in fact, non-sydney) media would like to believe, but will roosy give the kids a go? surely he has to, but it IS the big question

Yeah, we really need to gives the kids a taste of senior football next year. I would love to see the trio from the 2006 draft make their debuts next year (I've given up on Faulks). Especially White, because physically he seems ready (especially if he has a big pre-season and gets a decent motor).

So Faulks no good?