Player Watch Daniel Curtin

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Do you think we would still take RT at pick 1 if we had that draft again?

Yup. I don't think we even think about it.

Technically we did select JUH with our first pick.

Im not sure who we would take.

View attachment 1857764
still early to tell isnt it with talls dominating?

JUH, as expected, has probably shown most but TT has definitely shown more than a few glimpses of extreme talent (5 on debut, 5 in showdown 1 this year almost BOG, wasnt he top 10 in league for average contested marks also?)

If Curtin really does become that mid we have been crying out for, missing out on one of the very top ones next year will very much be mitigated. I just hope we can be home for him for as long time to come - his profile as a player is just so exciting for our team

Yeah. I'm not entirely sure he does, or it's in our best interests that he does. But having the option is nice.

Gut feel is that football is moving past the tall big bodied inside mids in favour of the zippier, smoother ones with tanks, speed, and ball use. I reckon the Gulden, Daicos, Butters, Sinclair, Rozee, Zerrett, Warner, Josh Kelly, Brayshaw, McKercher types are where the game is going, while the Bont, Cripps, Petracca, Taranto, Fyfe, Steele, Green kind of types will become less plentiful.

But that's the benefit, Curtin can start in defence, probably round one. Cut his teeth there, get a feel for the pace, see where development takes him. He's the perfect defender for the modern game - ball use is everything. Having defenders who can't kick handicaps transition so hard as oppositions can set up their zone around that. It's my worry about a Butts/Murray spine - stoppers aren't the future, two way defenders are.

Were you not just as stoked when we picked up RT and Rachele? I won’t say Soligo as not many on here had any idea who he was at the time

Nah. I was flat when we traded last year's to get Rankine when it could have got Humper/Pou/Ginbey. Still am a bit, but Rankine's been better than expected.

I was fine with Rachele, I think I liked the pick but didn't feel like it was a clear steal.

I was flat with Thilthorpe. I thought McDonald was (and still do) a clear echelon ahead.

I was extremely flat with McAsey. I wanted us to keep 4 and take Young. Then trading back and Young still being there and use not taking him killed me.

I was flat with Chayce. I wanted us to grab Caldwell. Not sure how that would have ended up - Caldwell's soft tissue injuries (and Essendon's development) have handicapped what he could have become.

Whereas with Curtin, I'm elated. The gap between picks isn't linear though the numbers are. Last year there felt a big break point between 10 and 11. 2021 4->5 & 11->12. 2020 7->8. 2019 5->6 (top 3 + Green/Young). 2018 7->8.

This year, it feels like 8->9 (top 6 + Read & Curtin). Those top 8 I'd have taken any in a heartbeat, but moving to 9 feels like there'll be some solid players, but a lot more risk. Windsor/Caddy/O'Sullivan a next best 3, and then after that, even more risk.

The media/word was strong on Leake as a 7-12 guy, but he slipped to 17. So perhaps he's not as good as what people thought? Had we remained at 11, someone else might trade in for Curtin, and every chance at 12 we're tossing up Leake, Tholstrup, Darcy Wilson, Goad, Edwards types with McCabe, Rogers and Croft in that range all ineligible for us, and Gothard/Green at 12/16 were strong bolts.

I think that we gave up 15 for 17 (became 18 for 21) and the bloke GWS moved up to take at 17 was probably who we'd have likely taken at 12, means that our picks 10 and 14 going into the night were near identical in 'value', but the GWS pick 7 was hugely more. We've effectively shuffled deckchairs next year losing a meh future pick and moved our 2nd pick back insignificantly to be able to turn a pick that IMO, feels like it gets a pick 17-18 type player into one where we get a pick 3-4 tier player.

It's unbelievable. I'm just so stoked. This is so much of a better result than just nailing the pick. It'd be like if the Dogs last year moved their pick 13 (Busslinger, or Elijah Hewett/Jefferson/Weddle) up to 9/10 and got a Ginbey/Phillipou.

Or if we'd moved the Chayce pick (9, with comparatively mediocre options to pick from, Chayce, Caldwell, Butters, Duursma, Hately, Clark - where sure, there's a Butters, but most of the options were eh) up to 6-7 and grabbed whichever of Rozee/Smith/Ben King slipped.

So WCE actually offered their F1 to us and we knocked it back

Good. Even if straight. Next year's draft isn't screaming elite, it's full of mids (fine, but we're doing ok there now), is compromised with 2x FS's up there, and who knows where WCE finish or how Welsh tracks. We may have got pick 3 but Tyler Welsh becomes pick 1 and we have to trade it out anyway to avoid it being sucked up.

Plus, we're building. Spine was a major need - especially in defence. They take longer to develop. Not many available next year it seems, and we don't know anyway. So potentially having to find spine elsewhere via scrap heaps or trade. If we pick a KPD next year or after, every chance they're not ready by the time we push anyway. Bringing it forward so the player is more likely to contribute to the push is important.

Interesting article on our trade for Curtin. Hadn't talked to Curtin at all until just before the draft when we found out there was a developing scenario where we might be able to get him.

The Crows had also caught wind of his slide, but they hadn't interviewed Curtin and didn't foresee the imposing defender tumbling down the board. Justin Reid had holes to fill in defence with Tom Doedee jetting off to Brisbane and Nick Murray facing a year on the sidelines with a torn ACL. It was a no-brainer to inquire about the Giants' pick, but first they needed meet the man they were trying to acquire.

The Crows set up a last gasp chat with Curtin in Melbourne just hours before the draft. They asked what made him tick, where he wants to play his footy and who he bases his game off. They found out he has extended family in Adelaide, and they walked away with a pick 7 play in formation.

As the clock ticked down, on the other side of the phone sat GWS recruiter Adrian Caruso. The Giants were content with their key defensive stocks, spearheaded by Sam Taylor. Clubs knew they wouldn't call out Curtin's name. So when he fell to their selection, calls came from everywhere.
North Melbourne offered up two picks in the teens, Essendon was willing to part with its future first-rounder or picks 9 and 31, Hawthorn was willing to trade its future first and West Coast had its coveted 2024 first dangling. But Adelaide's offer of picks 10, 14 and a future second-rounder trumped the lot.
"The Adelaide one worked well to get us from 16 to 14, and in the end that was the difference in us being able to grab James Leake."
That was the first blow for the Eagles, but they went again.

O'Brien was on the phone to the Crows after the GWS trade, offering up the potential pick 1 in 2024. But he knew the Eagles 'were up against it' to pull off the trade. Curtin fit the list need and talent at this stage to the point where Adelaide wouldn't have even bothered answering, if not for their own 2024 conundrum.

Crows father-son Tyler Welsh is set to be a top-10 pick in 12 months time, and South Australia's MVP Sid Draper would be there for the taking if they accepted West Coast's offer. It would allow them to draft two top-10 SA prospects.

But the Crows had quickly become enamoured with Curtin as their interceptor of the future. Reid put the phone down and called out Curtin's name, who's now a red hot chance to feature in defence for Adelaide in Round 1.

Interesting article on our trade for Curtin. Hadn't talked to Curtin at all until just before the draft when we found out there was a developing scenario where we might be able to get him.
It makes sense, if we revealed our play, a few other Clubs may have jumped ahead of us with a better offer to the Giants.

We lucked out a bit in that it looks like apart from Essendon's offer everyone else offered future 1sts, which GWS wasn't interested in, and then the Bombers offered 9 and 31, which put GWS out of range of getting both their targets.

So it looks like the trade ended up a win/win for us and GWS in that everyone got what they were angling for.

An exciting pick up. I'm not concerned about his body language to be honest, I think it was more shock than disappointment.

I think having extended family in Adelaide will help abate any flight risk in a few years (not to mention the trajectory of the club over the next few seasons).
It's his Dad's new partner's step mum.... So it's not really that much family

This is why the crows didn't immediately dial the pick in for Curtin - they were fielding that call from WCE for their F1.

That was the first blow for the Eagles, but they went again.

O'Brien was on the phone to the Crows after the GWS trade, offering up the potential pick 1 in 2024. But he knew the Eagles 'were up against it' to pull off the trade. Curtin fit the list need and talent at this stage to the point where Adelaide wouldn't have even bothered answering, if not for their own 2024 conundrum.

EDIT. What is also really interesting is that not just us but Geelong as well knocked back what could be pick 1 next year. I understand from our end as Curtin might solve our hunger for the next A grade mid, but wow - Geelong would want O'Sullivan to have a pretty good career as pick 1 next year is going to get a very high end mid

We lucked out a bit in that it looks like apart from Essendon's offer everyone else offered future 1sts, which GWS wasn't interested in, and then the Bombers offered 9 and 31, which put GWS out of range of getting both their targets.

So it looks like the trade ended up a win/win for us and GWS in that everyone got what they were angling for.
By creating a really good draft hand, pushing our second back into this year, and managing to get the dogs first for the 2x seconds, we ended up having the collateral to get the job done when it came to the crunch.

For the first time in a long time, things seem to be working out in our favour...

Can’t recall when I heard it as it was long ago but we had apparently been tracking Pavlich closely as a junior prior to Malcolm coming with a view to the draft but he vetoed the recruiting team in favour of Ken
That is not what his mother said

No I don’t agree

These recruiters are paid to get the job done and have done all the hours work

Most times coached intervene it goes pear shaped

They’re not going to let a coach make the call on a top 3 pick no matter who the coach is and if they did there is something very wrong with the club and a disconnect on peoples roles and responsibilities
The last time our coach intervened at the draft we got Gallucci instead of English 🤢

Attractive sporty tall young man has a GF, no surprises there.

I remember my high school GF too. It took about 2 weeks to get over her once we attended different Universities, let along moving to a different city.

Not worth stressing about now.

Does he have one?
Yes ridiculous Rowey just embarrassed himself by not only asking him but then saying he needs to “clip her” and find a local girl

Absolutely cringeworthy

And this REPEATED “right in front of me” is some of the most embarrassing low IQ $hit radio I have ever heard

Yes ridiculous Rowey just embarrassed himself by not only asking him but then saying he needs to “clip her” and find a local girl

Absolutely cringeworthy

And this REPEATED “right in front of me” is some of the most embarrassing low IQ $hit radio I have ever heard
Did he really say that?..

Is rowe 15 years old? What a flog..

Seriously dont understand why the club lets its players go on that morons airwaves.

He’s an embarrassment.

Absolutely cringeworthy

And people still listen in....

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

AFL Draft: Adelaide Crows detail the bold move that nabbed Daniel Curtin​

Considered a top-five talent, Daniel Curtin has the size and skills to start for Adelaide in round one 2024, SIMEON THOMAS-WILSON reveals the inside story of how he became a Crow.
Simeon Thomas-WilsonSimeon Thomas-Wilson
Follow

@Simeon_TW

02:43
'He is a steal in this draft' Adelaide trade up
AFL: The Crows surprised with a trade move to pick up west coast talent Daniel Curtin.
View more related videos

Adelaide national recruiting manager Hamish Ogilvie says the Crows “bold move” to trade up the order and snare West Australian utility Daniel Curtin only really became apparent two to three days out from the first night of the draft.
Ogilvie said the Crows were “ecstatic” at trading up to get pick No. 8 from GWS to select Curtin – considered as the best defender in the pool – saying it made the draft “a massive win for us”.
This masthead reported on Saturday that the Crows were after the Giants pick, which was then at No. 7, with the belief they were after Curtin.

To get the 197cm All-Australian centre-half back, the Crows sent picks No. 11, 15 and a future second to the Giants for No. 8 and 17 – which slid to 21 after father-son and academy bids.
Ogilvie said finding out Curtin could be available changed the Crows’ plans considerably.
“We thought it was more about pick 7 but we weren’t really sure at that stage whether it was Dan, because we still didn’t really know what the clubs inside six were going to do,” he said.
“But it became somewhat of a reality over the past two to three days.
“We were ready for it, that was the good thing. We had a number of scenarios planned out and offers and to be fair to the Giants they were really good to deal with so we worked well on that together.”
The Crows moved up to grab Daniel Curtin in the 2023 AFL Draft. Picture: Getty Images

While he has impressed as a defender in West Australia, Curtin can also play as a forward and could even be a tall midfielder – which the Crows have been crying out for.
“Yeah he was really a forward during most of his junior footy, last year he was interrupted and played pretty much everywhere this year,” Ogilvie said.
“Started forward in the colts, played a bit of everywhere in the AFL Academy and by the end of the season in the league team he was all over the place.
“So it was a good standing and those WAFL finals he played in were really tough and gives him a really good grounding.
“So we are ecstatic, it was pretty bold the move but credit to Reidy (list boss Justin Reid) and the analysts they had all the scenarios ready to go and we were able to work with the Giants to get it done.”
Curtin had been spoken about as a top five and top three pick for most of the year and Ogilvie said the Crows believed he wouldn’t slide more than he did.
“Because the Bulldogs were up there and they weren’t taking another tall and Nick Watson was rated highly by a lot of those clubs around those picks so it wasn’t really a slide the other clubs had other priorities,” he said.
“And the fact the Bulldogs have so many talls and were going to get (Jordan) Croft really helped us
“Melbourne were always going to take (Caleb) Windsor or (Nick) Watson so they weren’t really a threat so we were always going to be able to get him once we moved up into that Giants pick.”

West Coast was offering the Giants its future first round pick to secure Curtin, and Ogilvie said the Crows plan was to take Curtin if they could get him.
While they were able to snap up Curtin, the Crows did miss out on promising South Australian ruckman Taylor Goad with North Melbourne selecting him at No. 20, one pick before Adelaide’s second pick.
“All I can say is we wish Taylor well at North Melbourne and we will be watching him closely, good on him and it is a credit to him but those things happen on draft night but Charlie Edwards was always in our plans,” Ogilvie said.
Edwards at 191cm also is set to provide the Crows with some height in their midfield.
“There were pretty strong connections, he is a Bendigo kid that wants to come to Adelaide. He has already moved out of home,” Ogilvie said.
“He adds to that tall midfield with Dawse (Jordan Dawson) that haven’t always been easy to get those 191cm mids so Dawse, Billy Dowling and now Charlie we have three taller mids which is great.
“And Charlie can play in three spots, he started at half back and did a great job there and then he goes into the midfield and plays in the best team in the Coates League and then had some cameos up forward at the end of the year.
“A 191cm mid hasn’t been always easy to find and he is a good country kid and we know that country kids go well in Adelaide.”
Oscar Ryan (R) playing for Vic Country during the 2023 AFL National Championships match. Picture: Getty Images

With their final pick of the first night of the draft, the Crows selected Murray Bushrangers defender Oscar Ryan.
While it was a surprise selection to many, with Ryan only at the draft function as a plus one for friend Connor O’Sullivan Ogilvie said the classy running defender was high on the Crows talent order.
“That one was more on our talent order more so than need, we rated him highly and knew that we could probably manipulate a little bit depending on what was left but I didn’t want the guys to take a risk,” he said.
“I wanted to take him then rather than try and accumulate stock because we knew West Coast and Brisbane were coming pretty quickly behind us.
“We rated him really highly, he was a player we sort of targeted if we were going to have three or four picks and he was going to be one we hoped we would take with our third or fourth pick.
“He is a great kid and you are going to love to watch him play, he has movement, skill and is really dynamic.”
Adelaide won’t be in action on Tuesday’s second night of the draft, with the Crows focus now on re-selecting James Borlase and Will Hamill in Wednesday’s rookie draft

And people still listen in....

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yes mate. I wanted to hear from our new highly rated draftee. Could well end up being our most elite player - Weagles offering a very likely top 1-3 pick next year - and we still knocked it back.

Aren’t you and others embarrassed by Rowey?