Retired Daniel Merrett (2002-2016)

One of the worst games I've seen him play.

Agreed...the problem is that he has had more than half a dozen shockers this season. Love his endeavour and dedication to the club etc, but he is an out and out liability a lot of the time. It is a shame we do not have a replacement full back, because he should have been dropped a number of times this season, which is why I get so annoyed when TJ is constantly scapegoated while others aren't. Merrett should not be a vice captain of this club, you have to lead from the front on the field and Merrett just does not do it.

Unlike other fullbacks Merrett gets zero help from the other backman. McGrath was the only one today willing to try and help out but he was no match for Tippett. Merrett will be really helped next year when Drummond comes back in and will be able to drop off and help Merrett out.

Whilst that's true, a good fullback should be able to at least break even one on one.

Last year it definitely looked like his read of the game had improved, and he was taking better options than he had at the beginning of his career. His failure to spot good outlets that were there has resulted in us being caught inside our defensive 50 a number of times when we had perfect outlets in position, but he just hasn't turned his head & had a look. His reputation as one of, if not the, best punch out spoil in the league has gone out the window this year.

I agree with TBD - Tippett humiliated Merrett today :o and it would have been even worse if his kicking radar was on.

I just don't understand the reasons for persisting with that match up :confused:
It was just horrible to watch.

When the season is already gone, sometimes u just gotta show some confidence in who should be your best defender and give them a chance to square up the ledger. Merrett has been really out of touch lately, just doesn't seem to have any game sense about him. He hasn't been doing the %age plays, has been picking the wrong option when he has the ball, and his positioning when defending has been horrible.

He really needed to play in front yesterday, but he doesn't seem to like to. He gets lost too easy if the ball goes over the back.

Even though Tippet kicked 5 I actually thought it was a decent game by Merrett!

Of all the out and out rubbish posted here, this has to be right up there. How the hell you can call a "decent game" where your opponent should, bar the yips, have kicked 9 I am simply at a loss.

I don't pretend to have any answer to what has happened inside this blokes head over the past 2 months or so, but when you have seasoned commentators saying he is a deadset liability, perhaps you should be aware there might be a small problem.

Yesterday, he got nowhere near the ball or his opponent, and for a bloke 196cm and 105kg as listed, he inflicted zero damage.

As I remarked to my companion at the game, Merrett's opponent starts the game knowing Merrett won't be causing any pain whatsoever.

I agree with TBD - Tippett humiliated Merrett today :o and it would have been even worse if his kicking radar was on.

I just don't understand the reasons for persisting with that match up :confused:
It was just horrible to watch.

Yep it was horrible to watch...There wasn't much point protecting Sauce by taking him off..he needs to wear it and learn from it and develop his game... When Stiller ran in to the hole that Tippet was leading into... and marked.. I thought that was a good move its only taken 3 quarters to get players to fill the spot.... as other teams do to the great man JB....didn't happen again...

Any trade currency?

If we traded everyone who lost form this year, we'll be fielding a team of first year draftees round 1 next year.

Why the hell would we trade Merrett when his form (and therefore value) is not anywhere representative of the output he is capable of when he is up and about.

Merrett's form and situation mirrors that of the team as a whole, desperately low on confidence and in dire need of a pre-season regroup and reload.

Why the hell would we trade Merrett when his form (and therefore value) is not anywhere representative of the output he is capable of when he is up and about.

Merrett's form and situation mirrors that of the team as a whole, desperately low on confidence and in dire need of a pre-season regroup and reload.

I understand your sentiments, and to some extent agree with them. He and the team are way down on confidence and whether this is a result of poor skills or the other way around, Merrett and his mates are bouncing around near rock bottom.

Positive spin on this- we got within 7 points of a pretty professional outfit, and we haven't really been embarassed over the past few games.

But, BUT, Merrett is not worth his spot at the moment, and is only saved from the boot for 2 reasons- 1] he is big; and 2] there is no obvious replacement. If there was, he would be gone, gone, gone. And maybe the fact that he is essentially irreplaceable is an impediment to his regaining form.

I can understand the principle of sticking with Merrett or anyone else until better times return, as within his strictly limited skill sets [let's face it, a Matthew Scarlett he'll never be] he has been a reasonably reliable fullback.

But even so, there has to be a limit, surely. It's an indictment of our lack of any real depth whatsoever that we find ourselves in the position of sticking with a bloke who has been in very, very poor form for 2 months, not just a game or three. Like I say, I can accept poor form up to a point, but lack of physical presence from such a big fella is just not good enough. I don't think he's the rough and tough type, but even so he can pretend.

I reckon we might be only 5 to 10% away from clicking back- a lot of this deficit is down to our fullback.

Very harsh Tassie. He's missed quite a few games and has struggled for continuity. With the amount of ball flying down the backend this year Scarlett would have struggled. And he's only been towelled up a few times.

Jackess also makes a good point about Drummond being out to help provide a chop out. The backline has been so unsettled this year that the ability to play as a cohesive unit- when to leave their own men to provide support- has been severely dented.

Once the team's confidence lifts so will Merretts. I'm backing him to be back to his old self in 2011.

Of all the out and out rubbish posted here, this has to be right up there. How the hell you can call a "decent game" where your opponent should, bar the yips, have kicked 9 I am simply at a loss.

I don't pretend to have any answer to what has happened inside this blokes head over the past 2 months or so, but when you have seasoned commentators saying he is a deadset liability, perhaps you should be aware there might be a small problem.

Yesterday, he got nowhere near the ball or his opponent, and for a bloke 196cm and 105kg as listed, he inflicted zero damage.

As I remarked to my companion at the game, Merrett's opponent starts the game knowing Merrett won't be causing any pain whatsoever.
Wow, that really offends me to know that your opinion is different to mine and therefore what I posted was rubbish. Im not stupid I know that he got smased by Tippett and im not denying that. However I thought that his rebound out of defence and his composure was up from last week and the weeks before. Have a good day:thumbsu:

His primary job is to keep opposition key forwards quiet.

Unless his rebound was responsible for setting up 6 of our goals, it's pretty fair to say Sauce had a shocker.

Fantastic turnaround from last week to today. Looked like a bloke with something to prove. Well done Sauce :thumbsu:

That saving mark where he came out of nowhere was amazing.

Hopefully will have another good game next week and finish the season with some confidence. We all know how effective he can be. :thumbsu:

Queensland Team of the Year

B: Jarrod Harbrow (WB), Daniel Merrett (BL), Sam Gilbert (StK);
HB: Courtenay Dempsey (Ess), Tom Williams (WB), Joel Macdonald (Melb);
C: Josh Drummond (BL), Dayne Beams (Coll), Rohan Bail (Melb);
HF: Brendan Whitecross (Haw), Nick Riewoldt (StK - capt), Michael Osborne (Haw);
F: Ben Warren (NM), Kurt Tippett (Adel), Jesse White (Syd);
R: Ben Hudson (WB), Mitch Hahn (WB), David Armitage (StK);
INT: Brent Renouf (Haw), Ricky Petterd (Melb), Zac Smith (G/Coast), Danny Wise (S’port).

Daniel Merrett and Josh Drummond kept their perfect records intact. Both have been selected in all four sides since the team of the year was inaugurated in 2007.

While Merrett’s form was not as outstanding as recent seasons, he nonetheless was the best fit for the full-back position.

merrett16.jpg

Discussion Thread

Link

The Suns have taken the science of recruitment to new levels. At certain clubs they have leaked interest in two players, knowing the counter offers to one of them could force the other out. When the Lions heard of the Suns' supposed interest in Daniel Merrett they quickly re-signed him to a big deal and elevated him to the leadership group.
With skipper Jonathan Brown, utility Justin Sherman and Brendan Fevola on back-ended deals, things were suddenly tight. They had nothing left with which to bid for Rischitelli and, possibly, Jared Brennan.

merrett11.jpg

2009 Review

2010 End of Season Review

Games - 16
Best and Fairest - 21 votes (13th)
Dreamteam - 752 points; $232,500 (+$33,200)
Supercoach - 992 points; $373,800 (+$50,700)
Marcus Ashcroft most professional player

Had a Shocker

Daniel Merrett had a year he would rather forget. Things started well enough, but in the round 4 clash against Melbourne he pulled his hamstring while affecting a chase on Jack Trengove. Just when he was about to return, he re-injured it during training, and he ended up missing 6 games.

By the time he had returned the side was reeling. His first game back was against Barry Hall. Merrett looked all at sea as Hall dominated, kicking 6 goals. It appeared this game may have shaken Merrett’s confidence and he never really recovered. Criticisms of Merrett have always been with his skills and, and this aspect of his game was as bad as ever, conceding goals through dropped marks or errant kicks. But now his defensive game was unravelling. When the ball was in the air he was getting caught out of position, and when the ball was on the ground he kept running past it. His season hit a new low in round 18 when he looked completely helpless against Kurt Tippett. By then the commentators were questioning whether he deserved to be in the team.

Merrett’s horror season can partly be put down to the continual rotation of personell in the back six. But it is also a poor reflection on him as a leader. Rather than stand tall in a time of adversity, he looked unsure of himself and became part of the problem.

merrett.jpg

Link

Up until Monday, the Lions had just 16 players confirmed for the game in Shanghai against Melbourne on October 17 and up until Friday the most experienced was 76-game midfielder Cheyne Stiller.

However, key Lions defenders Jed Adcock and Daniel Merrett and midfielder Amon Buchanan have since been added, injecting more than 330 games experience into the squad - which is more than the other players put together.

merrett20.jpg

Link

merrett.jpg

RED LIONS: Jed Adcock, Daniel Merrett and Daniel Rich savour a day at Brisbane's Chinatown before they head to Shanghai.

Daniel Merrett, acting as ambassador for talented athletes from other sports giving AFL a go:

“I guess it’s pretty funny how I got into AFL, but once I started I was hooked. I started with Surfers Paradise Demons at 16, played with Southport Sharks the next year and was drafted by the Brisbane Lions at the end of that same year.”

“The AFLQ program I was part of added to what I was learning in club footy by giving me extra skill development work and the opportunity to train with elite level players in the Stingrays, meaning I had a pretty quick transition to AFL level,” Merrett said.

edit_preview.php