Polo_14

Suspended
Interested in the opinions of Kanagroos supporters here

How come he is not taking the competition by storm, has his development stalled?

There was a passage of play on Saturday which underlines why he is regarded is such an exciting talent, on the boundary he took possession one hand, was running full pace, yet found an extra yard and burnt of his opponent, then put the ball into the path of Thompson. Unfortunatley IMO we dont see it often enough from him

Is it because hes playing in an ordinary team?

Is Laidley not getting the best out of him or using him properly?

Or is it something else?

No doubt he has the ability, now into his 4th year this should be the time that he starts to stamp stamp himself as a superstar of the compeition IMO

I'm not sure why, but I totally agree with your assessment.
He's a class act, but rarely puts it together for four quarters.
Part of it might simply be perception. You see a guy do the really special (get used to that word, Bruce is back next year) things, and wonder why they can't do it all game, every game. It takes a highly skilled person to do some of those things once a year, so perhaps we expect too much brilliance from him and don't appreciate the more normal things he does as much as we should.
Fitness could well be an issue too. Not just with Wells, if you look at Kanga second halves this year the whole squad's ability to run games out has to be quried.

It is certainly easier to play in a stronger team. That is what makes the performances of guys like Murphy, Watson and Wells pretty difficult. Wells is a little more seasoned and IMO should be starting to join the more consistent performers in the league. I would like to see Wells spending 75% on the ball and 25 % at FF. He doesn't seem to quite have the engine yet, but should be used right at the fall of Thomson. Can become a great player, although i can't see Kangas A. Surviving in Melb and B. Being competitive in next 3-4 years. I guess that is for another thread though!

Wellsy is going OK.

I would be lying if i didn't say i get frustrated with him, but that is only because you see glimpses of how much he really can rip a game apart and just want it all game, every week. It is like a drug. It has been a depressing year, but a couple of those runs through the centre and goals against the Hawks were an absolute highlight. He really can just burn some most players in the AFL off very easily - just needs to trust himself to do it more.

He is still working very hard off the ball. He is always protecting the man with the ball and chasing - and perhaps that is to his detriment a little. Needs to let others do the grunt work and become predominantly an offensive weapon - but I don't think that is in him. Perhaps Laidley tried to install that over the last couple of seasons, but it seemed to hinder him. He is a team man.

Would like him to be putting up Dal Santo numbers, but is still averaing 18 possesions and has kicked more goals than Dal. Plus, he really does have some kind of influence on most games, and would be the first man tagged by the opposition these days.

Remember, he only turned 21 a couple of months ago. Even when someone as good as good Goodwin was 24 he was only averaging a couple more possies than Wells is now, and was kicking the same amount of goals.

I have no doubt Wellsy will reach that superstar staus we have seen bits and pieces of.

Future captain of the club.

A superstar in the making, slowly building up consistency, magnificent potential, more time is on the cards to build him up.

Armageddon said:
A superstar in the making, slowly building up consistency, magnificent potential, more time is on the cards to build him up.

remond me of didak - showed flashes the last few years. This year is the 1st year he has been consistently been delivery every week. Ok every other club hates him - but if you were having a set shot 40 m - hed be the amongst first chosen.

Wells has toime on his side. He will be late maturer. But will be great. would also help if in better team. Dont give up on him. A great kid and credit to his great club,

Im Wells' biggest critic, but i reckon hes stepped it up the last few games. He was excellant against Richmond IMO, just had no team mates. Killed us too...

Slowly starting to like him...

Reckon he will be like Nigel Lappin - A really skillful and damaging player but not one that appears to takes the game by the throat. I see him peaking about age 25/26 and maintaining close to that level till about 29-30. Wells is racking up good numbers and doing the right things, and it isn't like he messes up when he has the ball.

I reckon he suffers a bit from being one of the top three midfielders that opposition sides will try and address - if they could get another top line midfielder, he might suddenly become significantly more damaging. Again comparing to Lappin, I reckon if Lappin did not have Voss, Akermanis and Black as decoy material during their heyday, he would not have been as effective.

Happy to take him at freo.

His value would be significantly lower than it was and considering this years draft we may pick him up for a middle to late first round pick and a player.

Any calls for a top 5 pick will be laughed at though

Will always get found out in a weaker team because he plays easy footy. Does the simple stuff really really well but is at sea under pressure. Will be just another flashy player that does brilliant things at times but generally speaking is easy to negate e.g. Farmer, Medhurst etc

Personally, I think Goddard is a much better prospect... doesn't have the runs on the board but plays the kind of game that wins matches.

sabre_ac said:

Now this is dumb, but......

Skeptic said:
Will always get found out in a weaker team because he plays easy footy. Does the simple stuff really really well but is at sea under pressure. Will be just another flashy player that does brilliant things at times but generally speaking is easy to negate e.g. Farmer, Medhurst etc

Personally, I think Goddard is a much better prospect... doesn't have the runs on the board but plays the kind of game that wins matches.

Oh my god.

Did you attempt to get every line wrong?

sabre_ac said:
Happy to take him at freo.

His value would be significantly lower than it was and considering this years draft we may pick him up for a middle to late first round pick and a player.

So I guess a straight swap for the Pav would be out the window then ? :p

I think he's almost exactly where he should be in terms of development and contribution at his age (dob 3/2/85). He was drafted at a fairly young age - IMO it can be better to compare players by dob rather than year drafted / years in the system.

I don't think he'll ever be a ball magnet or a great inside midfielder. He's going to be one of those guys who gets 18 to 20 touches that rip sides apart, more like Matera or even Mercuri at his peak.

May not have been the biggest disposal gatherers, but hardly bad company...

One of my favourite players. Like many others have said he's just turned 21 and he's already getting tagged week in, week out. He has a very good defensive side to his game, which tires him out a little. At the moment he's like a Johnstone type player, doesn't get the pill as much as some midfielders, but when he gets it he's very damaging. He'll have plenty of time to mature and would excel in a deeper midfield. (He should be traded to West Coast for Fletcher and Gardiner)

over hype has hurt him a lot. he is a product of high expectation. what did archer come out and say about him something like 'he will be better than mcleod' those comments are stupid.

then again i think a lot of players suffer from the judd factor. i hate it when someone says this kid is going to be the next judd. there is no next judd. judd is a one in ten year freak.

Jeremias said:
A very over-rated player.

I am not saying he is no good-in fact, quite the contrary. Wells is a very good player, but some of the hype placed on him by both Kangas and footy supporters is ridiculous.
I agree, he's playing good footy at the moment, perhaps inconsistent, but is overated heaps. Kangaroo supporters (the ones I know personally, anyway) will tell you he's in the top 10 players in the AFL. Not to mention the channel 10 commentary team, they'd hve you think he's the best player in the Kangaroos team. Not that he won't be, there's a fair chance he will, but at the moment he is only a good to very good player, and until he can show his brilliance more often and gather more touches consistently, than that's all he will be. Though I xpect him to be a star in 2-3 years time, definetly is not one now.

I would still like him at Blueland despite his `weaknesses`.

IHMO he suffers because his playing with a down the bottom team which lacks midfield depth and as a result generally cops the best opposition tagger.