Danny O'Keefe

So has Brett Meredith but he took the opportunities when they were available.

I would too give O'Keefe one more based on the amount of list turnover but O'Keefe played most of this year through the pre season games in the ones and struggled and struggled to make an impact on the ressies.

Injuries one thing yes but Robbie it's not unfair to criticise his 2009 performance either.

It's ok to be relatively injury free throughout the season, but the hard work is done pre season and without one...you're ****ed! Note Leo, Magic and, well, DOK! One more season can't hurt IMO. If he can't do it, bye bye.

He had a pretty decent 09 pre season Mick, through the summer given plenty of chances in the cups with the firsts.

09 was not an injury ravaged season by any means.

He had a pretty decent 09 pre season Mick, through the summer given plenty of chances in the cups with the firsts.

Thanks, I thought that wasn't the case (maybe i was thinking 08?). That said, previous 2 yrs? on the list but consistently injured would have a dramatic effect on this season alone. Match fitness is a vital cog

Yes, but it was his first non-injury ravaged season in two years. The guy has basically been out of the game for two years, and is young. Surely he can be forgiven for having an ordinary comeback year?

There is no doubt though, next year is the deciding one. This year, his goal should have been to get through the season without major injury. He did that. A couple of senior games would have been nice, but it wasn't to be. Now that he has that under his belt, he needs to have another more or less injury free year, and needs to play a few games and show something. If either of those two things don't happen, he's gone (as he'll be either too frail, not good enough, or both).

Yes, but it was his first non-injury ravaged season in two years. The guy has basically been out of the game for two years, and is young. Surely he can be forgiven for having an ordinary comeback year?

There is no doubt though, next year is the deciding one. This year, his goal should have been to get through the season without major injury. He did that. A couple of senior games would have been nice, but it wasn't to be. Now that he has that under his belt, he needs to have another more or less injury free year, and needs to play a few games and show something. If either of those two things don't happen, he's gone (as he'll be either too frail, not good enough, or both).

Were not in a different book on DOK but slightly different chapters.

Im not calling for his delisting but I imagine he would have had a not to pleasant post season review from the coaches either, I think they would have been giving him a few truths about his season and that regardless of past injuries he performed BELOW expectation. Apparently he was not at the BF and Soph has said Malceski has mentioned the D word. Now I don't know about it but I think he may have been told to go home and have a think about what he wants, if he has the hunger.

If he says yes he plays next year because there is no doubt he is talanted but yeah it's got to be big one.

He has to be gone as of next week as there is no positions where he can fit in

We could do with a crumbing forward and he's kicked a few bags in the ressies...

Are you getting any local rumour from his home turf Para, i know you live in Mortlake but I'm sure you have contacts in Warrnambool too.

Not many, but I do know a matual mate of his though, and they think he will get delisted.

When he first started, another mate who lives in Koroit saw him in a Hampden League game and he told me he was a talented teenager.

Simon Hogan is another one from Warrnambool, however, the thing that sets them apart is that Hogan is a go-getter while O'Keefe is an introverted and that's probably why, Hogan has done better than O'Keefe, even though both have a lot of talent between them, that's from talking to a couple of people, that know both players.

Kicking a few goals in a shite comp doesn't get you to AFL and i wouldn't say he's a crumbing forward.

Tell that to Jesse White.

Kicking a few goals in a shite comp doesn't get you to AFL and i wouldn't say he's a crumbing forward.

That's probably why we should really be aligned with Port Melbourne in the VFL. Last time we were, I was a member of the Borough. It would be better for the development of our younger players if they played in a better competition such as the VFL.

Don't start that one again, i agree but it upsets some that do not know what is needed.
How come GC17 can now go in the VFL and we can't, it is bullshit as it will benifit them and WS when they come in but not us

Don't start that one again, i agree but it upsets some that do not know what is needed.
How come GC17 can now go in the VFL and we can't, it is bullshit as it will benifit them and WS when they come in but not us

I do not care if it upsets some people. Things need to be changed. We are only in Canberra only because it saves us money. Those people questioning the idea need to ask themselves a couple of questions.

What's more important?

Saving Money?

or

Developing our youth in a better competition instead of leaving them rot in a 5th rate competition?

;)

Looking at the list...even though Tadgh & Fossy left vacancies...hard to see who else they can delist?

Pity... as he had a few mid season ressie BOG's with 4goals.

When he was selected ...I was disappointed he was so light bodied plus short. It takes an exceptional player to make AFLlevel ..if they are not strong bodied.

PS Parranorm

So you are going to stump up the $dough for the travel & accom to Burough????. Sydney still struggle financially...it's just ...NOT POSSIBLE

Schmidt? Playfair? At least DOK got on the park in 09...

Quite. As I said earlier, with all the retirements, a couple of rookies gone, and those guys surely further ahead of him in terms of running out of time on their AFL careers, I would be surprised if he wasn't kept on.

Have a look at what Longmire had to say:

Daniel O’Keefe
He played more reserves games this year than what he has previously, but he probably didn’t look to have the confidence in his body that he needed at times. He kicked six goals in one game so he obviously looked good; it’s just a matter of being consistent now. Hopefully he’s over his injury worries and he can get that confidence.

Compare that to something like:

Ryan Brabazon
He only played two games in the end. It was a critical year for him and it would have been great to see him play 10 or 15 games. Obviously it didn’t happen and we’ll have to wait and see what transpires in the next few weeks.

or

Tim Schmidt
He had his knee operation in the pre-season and he really struggled to get back from that. It was one thing after another, including couple of soft tissue injuries. We were hoping to get a better year because we know he can play, but unfortunately his body didn’t let him

or

Matthew Laidlaw
It’s unfortunate for Matty. He’s got enormous ability but he’s just one of those players who has had one of those bad runs with injury. He’s clearly got some class but unfortunately, sometimes your body just doesn’t let you do what you want to do.

It looks to me like Schmidt and Laidlaw's bodies aren't considered up to the AFL - in both cases almost the same words are used. In Brabazon there is a clear hint that he is being considered for delistment. But O'Keefe's comment spoke of him being over his injuries and looking to a more consistent future.

That tells me that the club has more confidence in O'Keefe that a few others on the list, enough to warrant another year.

Apparently he was not at the BF and Soph has said Malceski has mentioned the D word. Now I don't know about it but I think he may have been told to go home and have a think about what he wants, if he has the hunger.

If he says yes he plays next year because there is no doubt he is talanted but yeah it's got to be big one.

He was not at the B and F as his father died the day before.

Not many, but I do know a matual mate of his though, and they think he will get delisted.

When he first started, another mate who lives in Koroit saw him in a Hampden League game and he told me he was a talented teenager.

Simon Hogan is another one from Warrnambool, however, the thing that sets them apart is that Hogan is a go-getter while O'Keefe is an introverted and that's probably why, Hogan has done better than O'Keefe, even though both have a lot of talent between them, that's from talking to a couple of people, that know both players.

Sorry to tell you Para but I played all my junior and school footy with Doka and hoges at Warrnambool and Emmanuel College, and Doka is by no means introverted. Hoges has broken into senior footy because of his sheer fitness, i guareentee you hoges would of been fitter than 99% of the AFL players when he was in year 12. Also being in Geelong he is based closed to family and friends meaning he can concentrate fully on his footy. They are both different players but doka has that x-factor and a great head on his shoulders, he was taken at 15 for the simple reason that he can play footy! I reckon he needs to come back home to victoria to fufill his potential!

That's what I was told by a person who knows him.

I just hope that he's kept on our list.