David King

Strikes me he is a self-opinionated, egocentric know all...I suspect he exemplifies these traits outside of football as well.

I didn't like him on 3AW and fortunately don't have too much exposure to him over here apart from his occasional Geelong game. His response to his 360 gaffe last year was amusing, but he'd made such an arse of himself I am not sure what choice he had.

This is not just because of his anti-Geelong bias..I watch a lot of football, not just Geelong, and King isn't much better with other sides either.

Who around here wouldn't fit loosely into that category at times?:D
Other than your good self of cause.

David King
Mick Malthouse
Dermott Brereton
Luke Darcy
Robert Walls
Tim Lane
Tim Watson

They are all absolute flogs

I really do think that majority of the others on that list are just commenting on issues and happenings and we shouldnt get our back up every time someone says something against our team or players.

But David King & Dermie are absolute flogs who seem to take pleasure from being able to sink the boot in to the cats at any opportunity they get - right wrong or otherwise.

Tim Watsons recent rumor - poor form. Stick to reading out your sports scores and boundary riding mate.

Strikes me he is a self-opinionated, egocentric know all...I suspect he exemplifies these traits outside of football as well.

I didn't like him on 3AW and fortunately don't have too much exposure to him over here apart from his occasional Geelong game. His response to his 360 gaffe last year was amusing, but he'd made such an arse of himself I am not sure what choice he had.

This is not just because of his anti-Geelong bias..I watch a lot of football, not just Geelong, and King isn't much better with other sides either.

What was his response? Is there a video or something of it?

I really do think that majority of the others on that list are just commenting on issues and happenings and we shouldnt get our back up every time someone says something against our team or players.

But David King & Dermie are absolute flogs who seem to take pleasure from being able to sink the boot in to the cats at any opportunity they get - right wrong or otherwise.

Tim Watsons recent rumor - poor form. Stick to reading out your sports scores and boundary riding mate.

You can add Lloyd to that list to. Absolute **** stick

Yeah but I dont think Lloyd's stupidity is solely focused on Geelong like King and Brereton.

Lloyd is just generally a shit commentator of the game.
Some of the crap that comes out of his mouth about a vast majority of issues is laughable at best!!
He makes me turn the footy show off when he is on the way he comes up with these ******ed "insights" and sits up there as if he is the top authority on footy....

Which was what exactly.... ?

Go Catters..

Tim Watsons recent rumor

Daz - referring to the James Kelly response where there is apparent friction b/w Scotty and the players.

Last night was great on 360 - Robbo stuck up for the catters and basically said Tim Watson was a dick. :D

:footy: GO CATS! :footy:

King was ok last night. He was taking the piss out of himself at least and he had to squirm when talking about how the Shinboners are again going to be struggling to get in to the 8.

I still think he's a dick though.

Which was what exactly.... ?

Go Catters..

Lol, you didnt read the first few pages of this thread did you? :D

I dont know why any respected journo would make up a rumor on his own and just run with it.
I guess thats why Watson isnt a respected journo..... :D

nothing specific. just reckon he is a constant bogan failure. well pointed out re his coaching history. epic failure at life all round.

Yeah, King thinks of himself as a real football intellect, but he isn't. Maybe,as someone pointed out earlier, he still has nightmares over the 2007 drubbing of Richmond by Geelong when he was an assistant coach?

Pretty much this, really. All football media is short-sighted, because it generates more interest/hype/ire/sales than someone trotting out the same line of "The season is a marathon, not a sprint" all winter. It might be more reasoned and correct but it makes for boring TV/print. Even Robbo's protests against King in that linked youtube clip seem more contrived for ***DRAMA*** than Robbo actually taking issue with King's opinion. It gets people talking and keeps them watching.

It's true polemics adds impetus to ratings and sales. It's the lifeblood of large parts of the popular media.

There are, however, also many commentators who can combine colour with reasoned opinions. It's just a matter of seeking them out.

As I've mentioned, King was a failure as a coach and not seen as sufficiently credentialled to be taken seriously by those in-the-know when many head coaching jobs were available. Apparently for some – not suggesting you – he's acquired the footy smarts he never showed as a coach since joining the media

the criticism King receives from Cat fans is warranted in my view.
It's not a great deal but this short snippet from AFL Insider is the type of crap I really dislike and it's very unnecessary.

King highlights a few passages of play from the recent Geelong v richmond game and describes our tactics in manning the mark.
I don't care for isolated footage but how he can say we did this all day is blatantly wrong!
I can clearly remember 2 separate occasions from this same game where the Richmond boys did exactly the same thing.

Not only do other teams do this every single week but he also went on to say Geelong did this throughout 2011.

[YOUTUBE]HVYIy9Kq1_c[/YOUTUBE]

I think we can all get a bit protective of our Club when they are being criticised , even when it's constructive criticism - that's the nature of passion we all have for our Club.
I actually like Maclure and King as they are pretty blunt and tend to take no prisoners , not your stereotype media personalities.
However I agree King went too far last season and kept on stubbornly writing us off even when the tide had well and truly turned , that's the sign of an out of control ego and is an obvious flaw in his character.

I wouldn't necessarily say the above video is constructive criticism because he was essentially calling out the umpires to police it the following week against his colleague's former side...Brisbane.

If he is going to ask the umpires to nuckle down on Geelong, he may as well showcase the way Selwood and Chapman constantly shrug tackles to draw free kicks and make a point of it so the umpires can be watchful the following week.

No need for that rubbish and you could feel how awkward Rodney Eade was talking about it as he made it clear later on that it's something a lot of teams do as well.

Pfft, Collingwood and especially Harry O'Brien have been doing this for YEARS and havent been pulled up on it!!

Sorry did someone say something? Hmm? Ah yes, this:

[YOUTUBE]AsOGt4B9E_g[/YOUTUBE]

What's his twitter account, so we can all send him this link and be done with this?

I hate King and that's about the best video I've seen in quite sometime. He's so sure of himself and his convictions and just gets shot down. :D:thumbsu:

Yep interesting that King highlights that pretty common tactic because taking out the man on the mark, which a few teams have been doing for a couple of years, is actually a more unfair tactic and more deserving of attention ( although it does seem to have dropped off a bit of late I am pleased to see).

Slightly off topic...

Was listening to Kevin Bartlett on SEN this morning and from his own mouth the following comments about tomorrow game - "Collingwood will not only annihilate Geelong in this game, they are the one team playing this weekend that you can guarentee will win"

Surely the old fool was taking the piss, and not being serious!

Slightly off topic...

Was listening to Kevin Bartlett on SEN this morning and from his own mouth the following comments about tomorrow game - "Collingwood will not only annihilate Geelong in this game, they are the one team playing this weekend that you can guarentee will win"

Surely the old fool was taking the piss, and not being serious!

Poor guy thinks its 1928.....

the criticism King receives from Cat fans is warranted in my view.
It's not a great deal but this short snippet from AFL Insider is the type of crap I really dislike and it's very unnecessary.

King highlights a few passages of play from the recent Geelong v richmond game and describes our tactics in manning the mark.
I don't care for isolated footage but how he can say we did this all day is blatantly wrong!
I can clearly remember 2 separate occasions from this same game where the Richmond boys did exactly the same thing.

Not only do other teams do this every single week but he also went on to say Geelong did this throughout 2011.

[YOUTUBE]HVYIy9Kq1_c[/YOUTUBE]

Asks "is it legal"?and he's the footy expert!

Slightly off topic...

I liked Bartlett when I was kid, now I'll happily deck him if I ever run into him. Not for this...but everything he says these days about any topic of any club, it's just random spew, with never an explanation as to how he came to it. He's a complete f**kwit.
He keeps going on about Simonds Stadium and its upgrade.....does he have a genie that constructs stands overnight we don't know about? w***er for life he's become. Even the rest of the SEN team take shots at him for the crap he says.