News David Teague - Training wheels OFF

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

If they go for Lyon or Voss, they'll get strung up

Think it's getting to the point where anyone but Clarkson over Teague is going to get a lot of backlash and put them under heaps of pressure.

Particularly when the possibility exists that Teague could get picked up and do well under another club which would make it look oven worse.

If club is looking elsewhere it has to be Clarkson. if not, sign Teague.

Don't want Lyon, Ross, Brad Scott or Voss.
The whole reason we've been in the doldrums for so long is because we sacked a good coach prematurely because he didn't have a big name. Let's not make the same mistake again. Teague has proven himself to be an excellent matchday tactician, great at developing young players and he has a great relationship with the group. I see no reason (not even clarkson) to disrupt that.

The decision of who should coach carlton next year is easier than deciding who gets the 3 brownlow votes today.

The whole reason we've been in the doldrums for so long is because we sacked a good coach prematurely because he didn't have a big name. Let's not make the same mistake again. Teague has proven himself to be an excellent matchday tactician, great at developing young players and he has a great relationship with the group. I see no reason (not even clarkson) to disrupt that.

The decision of who should coach carlton next year is easier than deciding who gets the 3 brownlow votes today.
Think about what Crippa said re building something together. He said you could go to another club to snatch a granny win, but what does that mean compared to truly working for it with your team mates over time.
Now ask yourself which coach fits with that philosophy.
Is it Lyon?
Is it Clarko?
Only two fit it.
1. Teague
2. Rattsy
If I see Crippa and Teague hold up that cup
For mine that is priceless.

FWIW I do not gamble but I think the odds are the best indication of current sentiments. They are a numerical representation of all the available information.

Teague is now FAVOURITE for the Head Coach job. Previously it was Voss and Scott.

Ratten is NOT the favourite for Saints. That is still Brad Scott roflmao

Teague demolished Adelaide yesterday playing DeLuca/Kennedy/Gibbons/Phillips/Casboult/Lang in the side - let that sink in.

Carlton pretty much ended Adelaide's year yesterday with Kreuzer/Marchbank/Charlie/McGovern all out..

some 'VFL track watchers' were making jokes about how pathetic a "Gibbons Casboult DeLuca" half forward line looked on paper going into this game...similarly, same 'track watchers' voiced their opinions about how shyte Phillips is...

Under Teague - the team isn't playing like it has a bail out excuse for losing or being uncompetitive - they are playing like winners. Cripp's call for players to step up and play for the 'now' - made earlier this year - is finally being implemented by those who count - the players.

I'm enjoying watching a Carlton side actually have numbers at contests and players demonstrating repeat efforts at contests and sticking tackles, I'm enjoying a growing ability to combine with overlap running and a forward line structure that stays there providing targets and creating opportunity through sheer repeat effort.

A coach who has players playing for him is priceless - haven't seen this since 2011.

Adelaide was a big win for Teague - huge.

West Coast | Richmond | Saints | Geelong

I don't think any of these sides have pencilled in an 'easy' win against the Blues.

The coach selection committee all of a sudden - wont be able to 'hide' behind a big name as a default position - I'm enjoying the behind the scenes drama being played out - as opposed to the smart arsery and training wheels commentary dished out after Bolton was sacked.

I think Teague is now almost the unbackable favourite (Clarko included)
- the players love him (all have TeagueforPM hashtagged to Instagram posts)
- the supporters love him
- he plays an attractive game plan
- he has impressed with his game day tactics
- he is an impressive media performer
- he has brought happiness back to the footy club and the supporters

I want Teague over Clarko.

Teague is looking the complete package as a coach, ticking all the boxes. I've tried to separate the team's renaissance from Teague's performance but can't. With every game he is proving what a gem we have in front of us.
Of course it could prove to be a flash in the pan as other teams take us more seriously and implement tactics that halt this momentum.
Bottom line, there's only one other potential candidate I'd consider, and he won't be cheap, which in itself poses a risk as to why Clarkson comes across. Wouldn't want to see a Blight at St Kilda re-run.

Everyone is forgetting the following;
No Kruezer
No Docherty
No Curnow
No Marchbank
No Cuningham
No Fisher
No Williamson
No McGovern

that’s 8

Yes 8

Bloody 8

best 22 missing, against a side playing for a finals spot.
What more convincing do we need ?????

He's got us playing with such good spirit and system that we're able to cover so many missing best 22 players and some of our very best at that.

So refreshing. It's what the very best teams can do.

If they go for Lyon or Voss, they'll get strung up

Yep if Teague continues this form he's a lock.

The committee, even if they for some reason wanted to, wouldn't risk going for a Lyon or Voss type i reckon.
If we were to struggle next year the fans and media pressure would be immense. We'd all be calling for them to be sacked.

Teague’s record got me wondering how it compares to Roos’s When he got the job when they already had a well credentialed coach signed up.

Roos went 6-4, including 5 of the last 6.
Their wins came against 2 finals sides (Melb and NM) who finished 6th and 7th. The other 4 wins were against the bottom 4 (Carl, Stk, Freo, WB)
They lost to 3 of the top 4 (Port, Adel and Bris) and also to Haw who finished 11th.
5 of their six wins were in sydney.
Syd had also played finals the previous year.

Teague by comparison has had wins against 2 “finals” sides (Bris and Adel) plus Freo who were in the 8 and could still make it.
The other wins were against Syd in Syd (big tick) and Gold Coast.
We also still play 3 of the top 4 plus a mid table team.
You could argue his record is already better, especially in the context of 4 from previous 43.

Teague is looking the complete package as a coach, ticking all the boxes. I've tried to separate the team's renaissance from Teague's performance but can't. With every game he is proving what a gem we have in front of us.
Of course it could prove to be a flash in the pan as other teams take us more seriously and implement tactics that halt this momentum.
Bottom line, there's only one other potential candidate I'd consider, and he won't be cheap, which in itself poses a risk as to why Clarkson comes across. Wouldn't want to see a Blight at St Kilda re-run.

The great thing about this is it seems our game plan stacks up...teams have had time now to analyse Carlton under Teague but we're still winning.

Teague said himself in his presser that he was pleased that the way the game was being played changed a few times during the Crows match, but the players adjusted and we were able to adapt.

We're playing a strong brand of footy right now, the way we're playing we look like a top 8 team.

FWIW I do not gamble but I think the odds are the best indication of current sentiments. They are a numerical representation of all the available information.

Teague is now FAVOURITE for the Head Coach job. Previously it was Voss and Scott.

Ratten is NOT the favourite for Saints. That is still Brad Scott roflmao
That is their loss then. Eejits. Ratts deserves another run by the looks of it.

I think one thing that is being missed Teague has had a tough injury run including no Cripps and still manage to compete and win games.

Players like Lang have come in and done a job

We didn't see that under Bolton.

Whenever we didn't have a few of our best players we would lose and likely lose badly.

Teague's mantra of players just doing their role/getting their job done and bringing their strengths has really helped in this regard.
We're starting to hear the players say the same things.

Under Teague - the team isn't playing like it has a bail out excuse for losing or being uncompetitive - they are playing like winners.
We didn't see that under Bolton.

Whenever we didn't have a few of our best players we would lose and likely lose badly.

Teague's mantra of players just doing their role/getting their job done and bringing their strengths has really helped in this regard.
We're starting to hear the players say the same things.

Teague is an alchemist for getting this side playing without excuses or fear of failure. The choice is obvious.

Teague on 3AW says he wants to stay at Carlton.

I think that's the first time i've read/heard Teague say he thinks he could be a senior coach next year.

Teague on 3AW says he wants to stay at Carlton.

Right - I'm in.
Sign him up.
Support him with a ripper assistant and let him do his thing.
Should be in for a good 3-4 years :thumbsu: