Universal Love David Teague

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

This year's Carlton reminds me of the cats of 06, lost lots of winnable games, you know what we did a full review, got rid of some assistants but kept bomber and kept the Costa, cook and bomber relationship, the easy decision is go get an experienced coach, that hasn't worked at Carlton, do the review but keep Teague, chase Pyke as senior a/C not sold on Brad Lloyd, get balmey would be my take
as I recall, the Cats had a lot more talent than we seem to right now, lost a grand final berth after some Nick Davis magic late in 4th quarter at SCG. Then they had a woeful 2006 and some tough conversations -- we aren't in the same postcode as the Geelong list at that time.

A grade talent at Carlton
Walsh - I had my doubts over his kicking and decision making, but he has been unbelievable this year, AA for sure
McKay - will win the Coleman
Weitering - best one on one defender
Cripps- although a long way from his best, has lifted the last two weeks
Then you have
Williams play him at half back with spurts in the middle
Dekoning - ceiling is very high
Betts - still gets all the defenders attention, has let oowies develop without that pressure
Saad - running machine

I would drop Docherty and Murphy, they are playing selfish footy, Newman was too before he's terrible fall. The nucleus is there, you have had the opportunity to win every game you've played in this year, not many sides could say that, you just need minor tweeks

as I recall, the Cats had a lot more talent than we seem to right now, lost a grand final berth after some Nick Davis magic late in 4th quarter at SCG. Then they had a woeful 2006 and some tough conversations -- we aren't in the same postcode as the Geelong list at that time.

As I said before, he has not exactly been given a stellar assistant/support panel. Probably one of the worst (Least in terms of credentials) in the league.

Also we do not how hamstrung/disruptive this whole COVID crisis has had on Teague and his coaching and trying to get some kind of continuity and rhythm in his game.

We are no longer getting flogged almost on a weekly basis anymore, and we have been in most games up until the final quarter this season.

Sure, we are not getting the wins we wanted, but it's bit of a strawman's argument to suggest we have not improved at all undrr Teague.

Sacking Teague now or at the end of the season would be the easy way out.

Tje board need to pull their socks up and do a through internal review with regards to every aspect of the machinations of our football dept over the rest of the season and see how they give the resources and people that will be of asset to Teague and the players in 2022 and beyond.

We cannot afford doing another quick fix.
This is my issue with people saying we aren’t getting easily beaten and staying in games longer / 3rd quarter as that’s neither here nor there in my opinion.

The problem I have with that argument is that, although on paper this is true, but it’s damning to say that all these other younger players have had many more games pumped into them.

In my eyes, we definitely have not progressed one iota.

Can we change the 'Universal Love' title. Lovely guy but stubbornness and lack of defensive intent is devastating.

Death blows:

- response after the dogs game that he wanted a shoot out
- selection vs swans, it was like a giraffe inclosure
- week in week out watching us continually have the most open back half in the AFL. If he wants to play a fwd press then you need to load the team with speed and we have very little in our fwd half.

He is gone and the sooner we make a change the better.

Lyon was and is a perfect choice.

Richmond, Geelong and Collingwood have shown the blue print. If the team is under performing but the players love the coach you need to give that coach a second chance and see what isn't working. New assistant coaches, an experienced head of coaching all to support a young coach. Whatever it is you need to support the head coach.

But if the players don't support him there's really nothing you can do but sack him unfortunately. You can't sack the players.

I have no faith this club will select a good replacement for Teague anyway.

On Pixel 4 using BigFooty.com mobile app

This year's Carlton reminds me of the cats of 06, lost lots of winnable games, you know what we did a full review, got rid of some assistants but kept bomber and kept the Costa, cook and bomber relationship, the easy decision is go get an experienced coach, that hasn't worked at Carlton, do the review but keep Teague, chase Pyke as senior a/C not sold on Brad Lloyd, get balmey would be my take
I agree about the review stuff. A full review by an independent board (independent = with no old Carlton influence on board) is needed before any move is made. Dunstall did a terrific job on Adelaide's review. I feel like our club is too stubborn to ever let this happen though, and even if they did, would they be honest with themselves about the findings?

The Carlton way is to just sack the coach and try with a new one! Always looking for the messiah!! My guess is we will sometime in the next 12 months sack Teague, replace him with a coach that "doesn't need training wheels", and then in two to three years time be back in the same position that we were in at the end of the Pagan and Malthouse days looking for a young coach again, because the old one is "too set in his ways" "the game has moved on", or that "he was only doing it for money" etc etc. rinse repeat rinse repeat. Seen this same story multiple times now!!

It seems a crying shame but when players won't tackle, defend, run or present it would seem that the coach has lost them.
That said, this would seem the 3rd time that senior players have done this to our coaches, and they should now also face the consequences.

I don't mind saying it.
Murphy can't play anymore. His heart isn't in it.
Levi too. Didn't play today but has been deplorable this year (and the last 2 IMHO). Setterfield and Newnes to be given an ultimatum.

Dow, O'Brien, Fisher, SPS to be played in their proper positions in the seniors week in/week out for Cotters, Gibbons, Fogarty, Ed, and Newnes. These boys are all trying their arses off with decent if not better performances at VFL level and deserve to be rewarded and given opportunity lest we lose them forever because we are too deluded by mediocrity and favouritism to develop them well. They simply must be played in the 1s. That's final.

How about Teague and co actually coach the basics in tackling with intent and removing an opponent from play, passing to advantage, presenting, running hard to create 2 on 1s and overlap, using and defending the corridor for quick ball movement, forward leading patterns, hitting players on leads. We didn't use the corridor until we had well and truly lost the game in the last and even then we were poor because we are trained to constantly use the wing if there is even the slightest pressure from opposition. It's pathetic.

Teague. You are the head coach. You set the agenda to your assistants and the players and demand they follow suit - there is no 'or else' - you ******* force them to do it! Be crafty, be bold or loud, whatever you prefer - just do it and don't accept mediocrity! Take control of the team and bend it to your will or be pushed out by lazy players, no-hoper assistants and pass-the-buck board members looking to save their privileged positions.
I like most of this, but harsh on Fogarty and Ed, who are giving everything and getting results.

There's still a place for them in the 22.

Worsfold. Dialling it in from Perth. Gets the same view of things that we do from Foxtel (not sitting in the box with Teague)

That should tell us everything.

If they were fair dinkum, it would be a mentor in and around the club 24/7, to see everything the coaching and playing group does prior to, during and post game.

Oh wait, maybe thats also the role of Lloyd!?

Surely you can all see that worsfold was a handbrake on Essendon, him leaving was a breath of fresh air.for them. Look at their performance, they have a brand now.

Our club continues to shy away from any characters that tell it like it is. Club from President down, doesnt want to hear about our failings, just wants to spruik memberships.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk
Given Worsfold is doing the gig remotely, do you honestly think that the club isn't recording the coaching box and meetings/reviews/sessions for him to observe and review?

I like most of this, but harsh on Fogarty and Ed, who are giving everything and getting results.

Given Worsfold is doing the gig remotely, do you honestly think that the club isn't recording the coaching box and meetings/reviews/sessions for him to observe and review?
Didn't know how to feel during the Dream Time at the O and camera panning to Woosha watching the game, seemed more interested in making an appearance there than showing his face in our coaches box.

In a perfect world I don't want to change another coach, but Teague just looks out of his depth. Would not shock me if we don't win another game for the year.
If we don‘t, he’ll get the arse, and Mathieson will get the club to hire Clarkson.

Very dishearting what we are putting up.

These next two weeks are so important for this group and more specifically David Teague, I reckon now is the time for him to put it all on the line. Try to get them united behind him with the risk of losing them.

I'd love Teague to get the players into a room just him and the players and have a heart to heart. Put the onus on the players and ask for the group to come with him for the back half of the year with full commitment and buy-in. And give it to them straight, if we can't do this now as a group I (Teague) won't be in charge next year. Tell them how much faith you have in them and how he gets ridiculed for repeating this, but now is the time to start delivering without excuse.

Get this group emotionally invested as a collective working for each other. Go around the room and talk about each other's strengths, then go around the room again and ask players to talk about what teammates can do to make their role easier out on the field.

Set out the way we want to play clearly with a strong team defence approach (Sydney changed how they played mid year last season). Promise to highlight and reward selfless and team first actions and encourage team-mate's to celebrate that on the field too. Then practise this on the track for the two weeks.

Instil belief and confidence and transfer responsibility and ownership to the playing group. It's an all in approach but if I was a player I'd bloody love it.

I'm not one for sacking Teague but have seen this narrative play out many times before, he needs to get on the front foot. Change up his strategy behind the ball and try to get the buy-in of the playing group through showing his own vulnerability.

Can someone get Teague to explain this…
IMG_3252.JPG

The funny thing is that it is so obvious each week who’s going to kick goals against us and we seem to have f’all planning in place to defend against it.

This is not intended to be a Plow bashing…I’m putting this on the coaching and (lack of) defensive structure.

If we don‘t, he’ll get the arse, and Mathieson will get the club to hire Clarkson.

I’m just speculating here Dramoth. But what do you reckon the chances would be of Clarkson coming?

My view is he’d have seen what Box Hill did to our reserves a few weeks ago, and the fact we beat their seniors by not much, and wouldn’t be interested in our gig. So the only way I see us getting him is if the Hawks do a Malthouse and replace him with Mitchell and he’s out of a job.

I’m just speculating here Dramoth. But what do you reckon the chances would be of Clarkson coming?

My view is he’d have seen what Box Hill did to our reserves a few weeks ago, and the fact we beat their seniors by not much, and wouldn’t be interested in our gig. So the only way I see us getting him is if the Hawks do a Malthouse and replace him with Mitchell and he’s out of a job.
Pretty much spot on. Murmurs suggest that Mitchell wants the top job sooner rather than later. So, Mitchell might make the move out to another club, or Hawthorn might do the Malthouse and elbow him out the door.

Bolton HD to go, he lost the players who were just not responding.. Teague is bad, but hasn’t lost them yet.

I have said for a while we will not move forward whilst Murph
View attachment 1149127

The funny thing is that it is so obvious each week who’s going to kick goals against us and we seem to have f’all planning in place to defend against it.

This is not intended to be a Plow bashing…I’m putting this on the coaching and (lack of) defensive structure.

This is spot on... Yesterday there were only 2 players that were going to be able to hurt us on the scoreboard.. Darling and we rightfully should have had confidence Weitering would get the job done... which only left Ryan, the lack of planning and foresight to close his game down is a debacle. Dale Amos came with huge reputation, but not being able to solve the problem of the smal;-med forward which has been as issue for years is unacceptable.

Re Worsfold/coaching box, I have no ****ing idea. From where I sit it's a friggen zoo in there. Anything could be happening.

Re. Fog and Ed, I love both those players and recognize the effort, it should be rewarded. But if they aren't getting the job done (they're not) and are making errors that effect the rest of the team (they are) then they need to go into the 2s2asnd fix the deficiencies if only for a week, and the Dows and Samo's and LOBs of the world should each get their turn. That is fair, reasonable and sensible.

This just is not happening and is unacceptable.

Half the season and we finally drop Cas. Murphy shouldn't be playing. We demand more from our first year players than our most experienced and credentialed clubman. Ed and Cotters are making simple errors constantly. We have been to the well the last 5 years with insane numbers of first round picks we selected because THESE BOYS CAN REALLY PLAY but we don't play them because (insert excuse here).

Thank **** for the Prendercast boys this week 'coz there's nothing there that any of us can disagree with. Sean should be the ****ing mentor/advisor to Lloyd 'coz he's doing sweet **** all on his own. Needs a decent push from someone with brains to get this ****ing shit show back on the ****ing rails.

Lost it there a second but at least I feel vindicated in what I've been thinking/posting the last few weeks.

We've all seen this for years. Now the latest lamb to the slaughter is Stocker, while Docherty gets hidden on the wing and Saad/Williams are told to attack.
We need to actually recruit fast, hard-working small forwards and defenders. Enough of these speculative picks/trades for talented but lazy players, or trying to shoehorn mids into the role.

We've all seen this for years. Now the latest lamb to the slaughter is Stocker, while Docherty gets hidden on the wing and Saad/Williams are told to attack.
We need to actually recruit fast, hard-working small forwards and defenders. Enough of these speculative picks/trades for talented but lazy players, or trying to shoehorn mids into the role.
Utterly ridiculous move putting Stocker on Ryan what a waste of talent and elite kicking .
You could see every time Stocker got the ball in his hands that he was very confident and effective via foot .
That kind of confidence needs to be in and around the clearances and forward of centre where it can cause some damage not getting stifled in a back pocket .

When you see exciting footy like Dees Tiggers and Bummers are playing, why would you want a stifling boring plan that tjose calling for Roos or Ross would bring? Even if we had won yesterday...it was so boring. Just awful footy. Imagine playing ugly repressed footy every week?
Imagine playing ugly repressed footy every week?

we do that anyway, and lose