Universal Love David Teague

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

We don’t need a Messiah, just an experienced , determined, driven coach that won’t accept poor efforts, or second best, there’s plenty of talent in the marketplace.
A comprehensive revision of football department is needed too , Coaching, Recruitment, Player Management & Training / Fitness need be overhauled.
It’s a recurring nightmare, I know but if things don’t change in the 2nd half perhaps, the incoming President take the opportunity for change.

My response is not directed at you Thy.

The other day he refers to pre-season.

Today, ""I thought the injury was in the past. It hampered him in rounds two and three"

"I knew the full extent (of the injury), but I thought it was in the past.

"the fans need to know that he's right and he's out there."

Preseason... rounds two and three... thought it was in the past... he's fine...

Everything, even now, isn't painting a clear picture.

Pain on Cripps face and holding his lower back suggests this is not in the past unless he has a separate injury?

My response is not directed at you Thy.

The other day he refers to pre-season.

Today, ""I thought the injury was in the past. It hampered him in rounds two and three"

"I knew the full extent (of the injury), but I thought it was in the past.

"the fans need to know that he's right and he's out there."

Preseason... rounds two and three... thought it was in the past... he's fine...

Everything, even now, isn't painting a clear picture.
I just put em up, anyone can knock em down..........

seeing how we are so invested in fortune telling around here, if/when saviourclarko fails, will it be more of the same? sack the coach? every single time for the past 25 years, sack the fu**en coach - it's almost as much a recurring theme as that other one - failure - gee wizz - where can we be going wrong? we keep sacking coaches and we keep failing? hmmmmm - I just can't put my finger on the problem..........but hell yeah, sack teague!!
It’s about having the best person for the job there.

When we recruited Bolton the nominees were thin. Nobody wanted anything to do with that job, so we took a punt on Bolton and he failed.

Teague took over and with a combination of playing players in their proper positions and a bit of dead cat bounce, it made him look amazing.

But he (and the team) haven’t improved since his time as caretaker, he won 6 games as caretaker and 7 last year. This year he has won 3/9 so is on track for another 7 win season.

I don’t think he is the best person for the job

Let's face it - Teague might be a dead man walking at this stage.

We play Hawthorn next week, and even with a win, we then play Sydney (away) and West Coast (home) before the bye. That will likely have us 4-7, out of contention, with a 2 week turnaround (followed by travelling twice in 3 weeks - if we sack Teague mid-season then it has to be at the bye IMO).

Things are pretty bleak now, but there's just too much to stake. We gambled on a '66 game rebuild' that is now into year 5 and we aren't even mediocre. We sold the farm for good average players who seem to all be injured, all the time. Cripps and McKay are both out of contract, both have quite attractive offers in front of them -we're a few bad losses away from basically starting all over again...

Whatever happens, can we please, please promise not to get all excited again if the temporary replacement gets a few wins? Like in 2019, we've probably been better than a 4-7 record would suggest. We have a few important structural players coming back and a nice little run of winnable games (Collingwood - North - St Kilda - GC) at the end of the year. Anyone excited for the 'Teague Train' reprised --> 'The Barker Express'?

Bit of luck, reckon we are a strong chance to win all three.

It’s about having the best person for the job there.

When we recruited Bolton the nominees were thin. Nobody wanted anything to do with that job, so we took a punt on Bolton and he failed.

Teague took over and with a combination of playing players in their proper positions and a bit of dead cat bounce, it made him look amazing.

But he (and the team) haven’t improved since his time as caretaker, he won 6 games as caretaker and 7 last year. This year he has won 3/9 so is on track for another 7 win season.

I don’t think he is the best person for the job

I argue that Bolts and Teague have failed for the opposite reasons.

Bolts had too much patience and didn't instol a winning culture. Teague played the vets in their primary positions and it has derailed the develoment of most of our young talent while getting us a few more wins than Bolts was grtting us.

So who's the right man for the job now? Obviously we've got some key young pieces to build around im Weiters, McKay, and Walsh but otherwise which direction do we go? Appears to be a bit directonless right now.

Key decisions coming up that will shape the next decade over the coming weeks and months.

People think that if Teague doesn't throw things around the coach's box or give his players a dressing down on live TV then that somehow means he's 'too nice'. It's bad enough that we have to put up with temper tantrums here, at least that's somewhat to be expected on a fan forum. But it seems like some people won't be satisfied unless Teague channels their rage and throws a public tantrum in front of the cameras. He's a coach, for crying out loud, not an avatar of your personal emotions.

Question his methods, OK, that's fair game, but this 'too nice' narrative is just silly. Are we forgetting the other week's broken table behind closed doors already?

Voss is at Port still.

Word was Voss was the recommendation from the coaching selection process in 2019, but the teague train had the players and supporters.

We went the teague train. That committee involved Lloyd, Liddle, MLG & Judd who now are stepping down.

A strong club trusts their selection process.
Invests in it.

We make the same mistakes over and over.
Dont believe me, think about it.

We hand picked with little process Pagan, Ratten, Malthouse, Bolton, now Teague.

Be nice to see us, interview a coach, get them to present their view on the list, and their game plan to suit. Be nice to see a nee age coach with premierships in their background.

Not saying sack teague, just saying, we are still turning that corner into becoming a good football club

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

This is completely ahistorical - the selection process for Bolton was well publicized at the time

The thing is, we haven't actually backed a coach in since Parkin.

Brittain made way for the disastrous Pagan era, which draft penalties or not, was not ending any differently. We enjoy reasonable success under Ratten, but could not resist the lure of yet another dinosaur in Malthouse, and then we've gone the rookie coach route thereafter. 20 years...those who do not remember their past are condemned to repeat it.

We're back where we were in 2008/9. An inexperienced coach with attacking flair and not enough support.

Tigers got there house in order with a strong footy department and suite of assistants. Collingwood have always attracted strong assistants. Hinkley looks a genius with strong assistants.

Might just be something in it...perhaps we take a deep breath, throw our arms around Teague, and get him the support and additional resource he may need.

Or we could plant some more magic beans...

That’s what we will do, more support for teague before turfing him.

He will at least get to next year before any move is made, and I’m fine with that.

I think internally the club know where we are at, and just need to keep improving and adding to the list.

Doesn’t help all the mids SOS got look like busts apart from Walsh (kemp and Philp still unknown).

Let's face it - Teague might be a dead man walking at this stage.

We play Hawthorn next week, and even with a win, we then play Sydney (away) and West Coast (home) before the bye. That will likely have us 4-7, out of contention, with a 2 week turnaround (followed by travelling twice in 3 weeks - if we sack Teague mid-season then it has to be at the bye IMO).

Things are pretty bleak now, but there's just too much to stake. We gambled on a '66 game rebuild' that is now into year 5 and we aren't even mediocre. We sold the farm for good average players who seem to all be injured, all the time. Cripps and McKay are both out of contract, both have quite attractive offers in front of them -we're a few bad losses away from basically starting all over again...

Whatever happens, can we please, please promise not to get all excited again if the temporary replacement gets a few wins? Like in 2019, we've probably been better than a 4-7 record would suggest. We have a few important structural players coming back and a nice little run of winnable games (Collingwood - North - St Kilda - GC) at the end of the year. Anyone excited for the 'Teague Train' reprised --> 'The Barker Express'?

I hate to tell you, but unless there is a player mutiny Teague isn’t getting sacked in the next few weeks.

Totally understand where you are coming from Kramer...
But, on the other side of the coin if we keep going with the wrong coach, it will just waste years out of this super talented group..

At the end of the day the coach is evaluated on wins, something all these mentioned coaches didn't do much of..

It will be such a tough decision, that hopefully by the end of the year the right choice will be a lot clearer...

This group isn’t super talented, it’s average with potential and some standouts.

Talent wise of those above us, who are we substantially better than (given who we have available)?

Biggest issue I see with a mid season Teague sacking is that Cripps Walsh and Harry are all OOC this year or the next and also the sales pitch we would have made to Saad and Williams last year. I'm baffled at some of the disgusting weekly selections and playing players out of position, blatant favouritism and shunning of young players whom are likely to request trades come end of year... but realistically if we sacked him and that caused unhappiness with Harry Cripps or Walsh and one of them requested a trade as a result, well then we are well and truly stuffed. Saad just left the dons because the Rutten/Worsfold fiasco and the seeming promise of improvement which never eventuated. Williams I don't think would care either way as he's getting paid big bucks but whatever, I don't care too much about him if I'm being honest.

Sacking the coach just doesn't seem a great option here, perhaps a full cleanout of the assistants is needed to improve next year - but I believe the damage has already been done in part and players like SPS Dow and Lob will be playing in different colours next year due to the last few years under Teague. For the time being I think a stronger and more experienced coaching group needs to surround him, do some damage control come end of the year and make a certainty that Cripps Mckay and Walsh are locked away before making any drastic changes for the future

I've been against the idea in the past but we are too soft we won't win anything under Teague he is too nice . Bring in clarko and his c u next Tuesday attitude .
Yes I hate to admit it but I was totally wrong with Teague thinking he was going to have a no-shit attitude and steely determination. Barely shows any emotion gameday, no reaction to poor play, no sprays when needed. Cool and calm is one thing, but “it’s only a game” attitude isn’t going to win a flag.

The Clarko attitude is what’s missing unfortunately, and it seems the nice nurturing familyman atmosphere is not what wins flags. Clarko, Dimma, Hinkley, Scott, all seem to have that hardman, yet bleed with the boys attitude.

Unfortunately, Teague doesn't seem to have the mongrel or tactics to take us much further. And to think I shunned Vossy in favour of him. Beginning to think Vossy might have done better.

My only concern with Clarko is wether he will still have the fire in the belly to coach another club. Might end in a lot more tears like Malthouse.

I hate to tell you, but unless there is a player mutiny Teague isn’t getting sacked in the next few weeks.

I'm not really advocating for sacking Teague. In a perfect world we would beat Hawthorn, hit some form and win 3 in a row to be .500 at the bye, then steamroll the competition in teh second half of the year to win the first of 9 consecutive premierships.

But the next 3-4 months are so crucial for us as a club. We have a restless fanbase who probably can't stomach being told 'we are rebuilding again, give it 3 years and we will be good'. We have two stars out of contract and one star 12 months away from the same position, and may not have the money for all 3. And we have a litany of highly rated draft picks who can't get on the park.

We're a bad loss or two away from implosion imo, and that might be the players too...

Biggest issue I see with a mid season Teague sacking is that Cripps Walsh and Harry are all OOC this year or the next and also the sales pitch we would have made to Saad and Williams last year. I'm baffled at some of the disgusting weekly selections and playing players out of position, blatant favouritism and shunning of young players whom are likely to request trades come end of year... but realistically if we sacked him and that caused unhappiness with Harry Cripps or Walsh and one of them requested a trade as a result, well then we are well and truly stuffed. Saad just left the dons because the Rutten/Worsfold fiasco and the seeming promise of improvement which never eventuated. Williams I don't think would care either way as he's getting paid big bucks but whatever, I don't care too much about him if I'm being honest.

Sacking the coach just doesn't seem a great option here, perhaps a full cleanout of the assistants is needed to improve next year - but I believe the damage has already been done in part and players like SPS Dow and Lob will be playing in different colours next year due to the last few years under Teague. For the time being I think a stronger and more experienced coaching group needs to surround him, do some damage control come end of the year and make a certainty that Cripps Mckay and Walsh are locked away before making any drastic changes for the future

Bolton was doing wonders with our youth - he was amazing and they were absolutely starring - enter Teague and he is straight up killing these kids. Its so damned hard to watch.

The manner in which he does it as well - offering what is literally belittling roles as subs, one week in then straight out, and when they do get a chance - back line. Meanwhile players who are not performing AT ALL are given endless games without question. And worst of all - senior players not having to perform AT ALL in the VFL. Just straight in.

Its quite gross.

That said - the idea of the players dictating the direction of our club is not on. Its not on anywhere I have been - and if Cripps wants to preside over the determination of a second coach - then honestly he can leave.

We need to bring in someone who can work with the kids and tell Teague to pull his head in and change his approach to the kids - in my mind this is the most critical issue long term.

Losing players next year would be the worst possible outcome of anything - Essendon comparison would be all over the media, Teague would HAVE to go.

This is completely ahistorical - the selection process for Bolton was well publicized at the time
Process was Bolton v Barker.
With Bolton sitting in the stands with SOS watching GWS games by season end.

Point is, what was very well publicised concerning teague is the players essentially appointed him.

I think the effort is there, but we fail on system and selection. Thats a coaching issue.

Has the club set Teague up for success?

No training wheels said Judd. Now we have dial it in Woosha.

Sack Bolton, assistants remain?How did we not change the assistants in 2019 or 2020?
Dont give me COVID as the excuse.

If i was Teague, and i wanted to save my job, id be demanding changes, id make statements. Teague went on record saying he doesnt make statements.

Club and players went on record with time is now for finals, learning is over. Simply not good enough thus far.

Liddle is focused on selling memberships, well how many of us members are pleased with what are seeing.

This isnt a coach lynching, but the club is bigger than those that pass through it. Players, coaches and administrators.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

So I had a look and looks like it was 5+ goal runs against lions and dogs, 4 against Richmond and port. That's all the good teams we've played, and bad enough for me. If it doesn't happen today, I'll accept that it's an improvement.

I know it's splitting hairs but it was only 4 goal runs against lions, but sadly there were to of them.

We don’t need a Messiah, just an experienced , determined, driven coach that won’t accept poor efforts, or second best, there’s plenty of talent in the marketplace.
A comprehensive revision of football department is needed too , Coaching, Recruitment, Player Management & Training / Fitness need be overhauled.
It’s a recurring nightmare, I know but if things don’t change in the 2nd half perhaps, the incoming President take the opportunity for change.

Yes. A full through independent review!

Not some bullshit review conducted by Mark Lo Giudice with no findings being made available to the members

Yes I hate to admit it but I was totally wrong with Teague thinking he was going to have a no-sh*t attitude and steely determination. Barely shows any emotion gameday, no reaction to poor play, no sprays when needed. Cool and calm is one thing, but “it’s only a game” attitude isn’t going to win a flag.

The Clarko attitude is what’s missing unfortunately, and it seems the nice nurturing familyman atmosphere is not what wins flags. Clarko, Dimma, Hinkley, Scott, all seem to have that hardman, yet bleed with the boys attitude.

Unfortunately, Teague doesn't seem to have the mongrel or tactics to take us much further. And to think I shunned Vossy in favour of him. Beginning to think Vossy might have done better.

My only concern with Clarko is wether he will still have the fire in the belly to coach another club. Might end in a lot more tears like Malthouse.
I’m not really sold on clarko, in terms of his demeanour yes but I think the game has passed him. He excelled around a contested style of footy with the game now opening up.

that’s not to say we don’t need someone new and someone who has that hard edge. We definately do

I want someone who has no association with our club. Teague playing his good mate Murphy each week is an absolute conflict of interest. I’d say Eddie too, but he is at least contributing.

Voss definitely has the hard edge and aggression, but does he have the tactical skills, I remember him struggling at Brissy and he earned the nickname crazy Vossy for a reason.

Someone who has been involved at Richmond like Kingsley or McQualter, or maybe Adam Yze

How is Murphy Teague's "good mate" did they grow up together?

Even if true it's ludicrous to believe that is the only reason Murphy is playing.

I didn't like that "apology" at all. He may have been wrong at his initial press conference, but a strong coach will never backpedal like that. Can you imagine Clarko or Hardwick doing that? Just makes us look incredibly weak and able to be pushed around. hated it.

Funny feeling clarko is somehow going to get offered a godfather offer new prez .

Well there are people at the club (person) that have been close to Clarko. Wouldn't surprise me if feelers were at least put out.