Universal Love David Teague

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

The Age is reporting End of Year has been brought forward to now .... players are not happy with mixed messages from the coaches ... plural !!
Amazing this all comes out after Murphy little sook about the coach and thinking he good enough .. he was wagging the dog to rid Bolton - he also happy to snipe malthouse in an interview -- he might be a little toxic old M&M .. tail wags the dog at Carlton and that is the problem and has been for far to long --

mind you I think our one on one - run and kick style is to taxing which is why we lose-- most pundits know a high kicking game leads to lower disposal efficiency and to be a kicking side that plays on at every possible moment invites pressure on the kicker and is total madness ..

Ok J-dog, I'm not wading through 90 minutes of waffle for what you're referencing... can you give me a timestamp, for what I assume is the June 6th episode?
Dunno exactly, listened to it today while I was in the car. They covered a lot, but for mine and I made a comment about it that the first 45 min rang very true for what I've been seeing the last month and more in some instances. I also liked the thinking outside the box with offering Ross Lyon the next 10 weeks as an interim coach just to settle things with the playing group and give them direction. Won't happen but certainly not the worst idea.
If you disagree with the gist that's cool I can appreciate a different perspective, but it reaffirmed what I've been thinking and now I know blind Freddy can see the same things, and I think it justifies how necessary this now reported review will be

Well no one said that about Thompson or Dimma in their first few years as coach.

Blokes like Beveridge and Hardwick are exceptions to the norm.

Hard to think another coach could get much more out of SPS, Dow, LOB etc.

This list as far as I am concerned does not enough have grit or talent to win a flag.

I am in favour of a mass clean out of player and assistant coaches, and in bring players that will play and coach under the Teague way.

Our current list trajectory simply does show any tangible signs of winning a flag, no matter who is coach, so I am in favour of blowing it up (to a certain degree)
Sorry man, can't agree with any of this.

I can’t imagine he comes out favourably from this review. He recommended the Teague appointment to the board, he signed off on the McGovern contract and he didn’t refresh the assistants at the end of 2020 when there was an obvious need too.
He also heads up the football department that formed the view we were on the cusp of finals at the end of 2020. He’s either overrated the list or completely misread our coaching situation or both. Either way it points to someone who is way out of their depth. And last weeks SEN appearance was demoralising to listen to. Our head decision maker in the footy department was completely lost for answers.

Can't believe I'm saying this - bring back the Vet!

On the criticism of the game plan - anyone got any idea why we never seem to play a spare in defence - even just for small parts?

Many teams use a plus one in the backline - I’m assuming we have ours around the ball when it’s used against us?

I understand it’s usually only temporary (well at the level I’ve played) due to the mismatches that inevitably occur across the ground - but it’s a proven method of stopping run ons.

Genuine query.
They actually mentioned that Teague seemed by using a +1 forward of centre at the centre bounces.

On the criticism of the game plan - anyone got any idea why we never seem to play a spare in defence - even just for small parts?

Many teams use a plus one in the backline - I’m assuming we have ours around the ball when it’s used against us?

I understand it’s usually only temporary (well at the level I’ve played) due to the mismatches that inevitably occur across the ground - but it’s a proven method of stopping run ons.

Genuine query.
We had a plus 2 for a while against the eagles and we had Weitering as a plus one early vs the swans. Not really a +1 for the whole defence, was almost just a two on one vs Franklin.

Amazing this all comes out after Murphy little sook about the coach and thinking he good enough .. he was wagging the dog to rid Bolton - he also happy to snipe malthouse in an interview -- he might be a little toxic old M&M .. tail wags the dog at Carlton and that is the problem and has been for far to long --

mind you I think our one on one - run and kick style is to taxing which is why we lose-- most pundits know a high kicking game leads to lower disposal efficiency and to be a kicking side that plays on at every possible moment invites pressure on the kicker and is total madness ..
all the sooks, the fractured unity, the factions...the common denominator has always been - murphy
Things will improve when he's gone. Idiot still thinks he's playing ok and is confused why he's dropped

I don't need to list a reason.

I am not a fan of his coaching style and he is not my choice which is my opinion.

What has being a Mod got to do with anything.
Didn't realise Mods were not allowed an opinion. :rolleyes:

Talk about a glib response to my post!

I was responding to another poster.
Since his tenure at the club, he has never demonstrated an flair or dared to take a risk during games or selection. There is nothing special he has ever done to change the course of a game or result.

A team with combination of talent and a few numerous Less skilled B graders than the average AFL b & c graders needs to have a more definitive and flexible game plan to suit the cattle in his paddock.

Since his tenure at the club, he has never demonstrated an flair or dared to take a risk during games or selection. There is nothing special he has ever done to change the course of a game or result.

Well, this isn't true. Jack Silvagni onto a rampant Fyfe.
He coached really well when he was a caretaker. The problem has been since he was given the job full time.

Has a few lengths on ratts -- was great game day tactical coach also -- Nth had a far inferior side to what ratts had
Different techniques, same level of ability I reckon. Had a couple of decent assistant coaches as well.

You just listed your reason as his style of coaching - so you did give a reason but this may not be your primary one. Opinions need to be based on reasoning and you undermine him and the Club by not explaining yourself. I think he is a perfect fit. Coached at the Swans under Roos, taken teams to Finals, almost won GF's. See, what I have done is supported a proposition. What you have done is glibly dismiss him. Oh yeah - barracked fro Carlton as a kid!
Fremantle CEO and Prez saw lyon as the next step, beyond the realm, How was he received? The same way by the fans
He delivered an exciting period that included a GF, once thought unreachable at that place. His CEO went down defending him

I see the fact his teams being in front in 2 x GF's in time on of the last as our blessing. Why?
He's hungry for one and so are we. Clarkson, like malthouse , sees us as a pension, they have their cups, Lyon doesn't.
If Lyon is available and reasonable, its a sinch for me. He back his leaders, and you only have to ask Riewoldt and Pavlich their opinion

He's hungry, he's a rezza boy, there will be no favourites, only a relentless pursuit of a flag.

The fact remains, we don't have a team close enough/capable of winning a flag, and I defy anyone to honestly say otherwise.

As each week passes by, the idea of letting Cripps go and cashing in on Band 1 Compo.

Two top ten picks in a heavily stacked draft would be a great start in another (unfortunate but neccesary) mini-rebuild.

This team at best is a 7th - 10th based team on the ladder, we have too many conditional players and types that only run one way (not naming names)

By all means blame Teague if it makes it you feel better, that is just ignoring the massive cracks in our list.

Teague cannot be blamed (for instance) for LOB turning out to be a top ten draft pick bust (for example, I am sorry but that is the truth)

I defintley think Dow and SPS will be traded at the end of the season as well..

We need to stockpile as many picks in this year's draft and back Teague and Nick Austin to salvage and reconstruct talented but fundamentally flawed list SOS built.

If it means say goodbye to fan favourits like Cripps so

We have to be pragmatic and ruthless abour list management, more than emotionally overreacting to the coaching.

As far as I am concerned, every player on the list, bar Walsh, Weitering and Harry is tradeable for the right price.

How do you know LOB is a bust? Based on nothing but your own supposed observations? Granted I'm not a fan either, but you HAVE to let the poor campaigner get to at least 24-25/100 games to REALLY see where he's at.

Dow too? Based on what? He's been very disappointing but to throw those two poor kids to the wind is very poor. It's our own fault they are the players they are at this time, no-one else. Not to mention trade value? Late 2nd's at best for both of them.

As others have said refuse to believe we picked the only spuds in that draft.

I'll 100% blame Teague and rightfully so, dumb decision after dumb decision, if you went from R1 to now, I'm sure you could be come up with at least 20+ dumb decisions that cost us games or butchered player development, end of day buck stops with him.

Why should Teague be backed? What's he shown that even remotely says he'll be a good coach?

Barely changes things on the fly in a game, which is obviously a must for a coach, plays players out of position over and over again completely detrimental to their own development i.e. SPS, bring in Jack Martin when he's not ready, extremely slow to react if at all to what the other coaches are doing in terms to his game plan/how the game is going.

500 IQ plays like Setterfield on the wing? Lmao serious? Ed Curnow in the backline? Why wasn't Ed sitting on Gaff like a glove? Oh no lets play him on Cripps instead, Jesus Christ.

Stocker on Liam Ryan? Which MENSA-esque campaigner came up with that trash? Good god.

Does it take several years for AFL coaches to gain the brain cells to adapt on the fly? Spare me, I was 100% on the Teague train at one point, but that alone is damning, let alone the bajillion other reasons.

Seems to be completely ambivalent to throwing the axe on people who deserve it, Murphy for instance, WTF is up with that? Completely useless most of the time. Playing Casboult when he's completely cooked, Betts too, although past 5-6 weeks have been magical, but before that 2/10 at best.

Oh Murphy was a good club servant, boo-****ing hoo, who would of wanted the campaigner back in 2018 that would of been pushing for a flag? Absolutely no-one.

I like most of this, but harsh on Fogarty and Ed, who are giving everything and getting results.

There's still a place for them in the 22.

Given Worsfold is doing the gig remotely, do you honestly think that the club isn't recording the coaching box and meetings/reviews/sessions for him to observe and review?
The thing that didn’t gel with me at all was the worsfold was present at the tigers v bombers game last week. Like wtf?

How do you know LOB is a bust? Based on nothing but your own supposed observations? Granted I'm not a fan either, but you HAVE to let the poor campaigner get to at least 24-25/100 games to REALLY see where he's at.

Dow too? Based on what? He's been very disappointing but to throw those two poor kids to the wind is very poor. It's our own fault they are the players they are at this time, no-one else. Not to mention trade value? Late 2nd's at best for both of them.

As others have said refuse to believe we picked the only spuds in that draft.

I'll 100% blame Teague and rightfully so, dumb decision after dumb decision, if you went from R1 to now, I'm sure you could be come up with at least 20+ dumb decisions that cost us games or butchered player development, end of day buck stops with him.

Why should Teague be backed? What's he shown that even remotely says he'll be a good coach?

Barely changes things on the fly in a game, which is obviously a must for a coach, plays players out of position over and over again completely detrimental to their own development i.e. SPS, bring in Jack Martin when he's not ready, extremely slow to react if at all to what the other coaches are doing in terms to his game plan/how the game is going.

500 IQ plays like Setterfield on the wing? Lmao serious? Ed Curnow in the backline? Why wasn't Ed sitting on Gaff like a glove? Oh no lets play him on Cripps instead, Jesus Christ.

Stocker on Liam Ryan? Which MENSA-esque campaigner came up with that trash? Good god.

Does it take several years for AFL coaches to gain the brain cells to adapt on the fly? Spare me, I was 100% on the Teague train at one point, but that alone is damning, let alone the bajillion other reasons.

Seems to be completely ambivalent to throwing the axe on people who deserve it, Murphy for instance, WTF is up with that? Completely useless most of the time. Playing Casboult when he's completely cooked, Betts too, although past 5-6 weeks have been magical, but before that 2/10 at best.

Oh Murphy was a good club servant, boo-******* hoo, who would of wanted the campaigner back in 2018 that would of been pushing for a flag? Absolutely no-one.
This is a football forum not a religious one. Take those comments elsewhere ... in vein

Fremantle CEO and Prez saw lyon as the next step, beyond the realm, How was he received? The same way by the fans
He delivered an exciting period that included a GF, once thought unreachable at that place. His CEO went down defending him

I see the fact his teams being in front in 2 x GF's in time on of the last as our blessing. Why?
He's hungry for one and so are we. Clarkson, like malthouse , sees us as a pension, they have their cups, Lyon doesn't.
If Lyon is available and reasonable, its a sinch for me. He back his leaders, and you only have to ask Riewoldt and Pavlich their opinion

He's hungry, he's a rezza boy, there will be no favourites, only a relentless pursuit of a flag.

One thing when you here interviews with past Saints players is they all seemed to love 'Rossy' - not sure though if that was just the gun players and he had favourites.

The thing that didn’t gel with me at all was the worsfold was present at the tigers v bombers game last week. Like wtf?
I mean if it were covid normal still, you'd see coaches and players at all sorts of games. From a professional standpoint, it's still further education.

He's not a full time employee of the CFC, and he's not a coach. Presumably he's just going to a game he wanted to watch, and was invited to for a function.

I mean if it were covid normal still, you'd see coaches and players at all sorts of games. From a professional standpoint, it's still further education.

He's not a full time employee of the CFC, and he's not a coach. Presumably he's just going to a game he wanted to watch, and was invited to for a function.
I’m not buying it, but the beauty of ones own opinion.

You're right: it's a conspiracy to feed Essendon information about our entire operations so they rob us of our genius plans for the present and future.

He's off to tell West Coast when he gets back home as well.

How could I have not seen it before now?? Thank you

Zero reason why Worsfold couldn't have flown to Sydney instead guessing he can't be stuffed and is happy with Zoom meetings.

I just have trouble believing that Brittain was bad, Pagan was bad, Ratten was bad, Malthouse was bad, Barker was bad (as interim), Bolton was bad, and now Teague is bad.
If we've managed to get 7 coaches in a row wrong, there's something bigger at play.