Draft Watcher Davo-27's 2018 AFL Draft Watch

Pick 1 - Jack Lukosius 194cm 82kg WWT, a quality and flexible tall, yet to fill out, but has all the tools, can mark, is athletic, accurate kick at goal, good general kick, was the focal point for his team in the u/18 champs

Pick 2 - Izak Rankine 178cm 74kg West Adel, explosive goal kicking midfielder, ready for AFL football, could be number 1 if clubs want a certainty over potential, attacking mid/forward, dominated last 2 u/18 championship games

Pick 3 - Ben King 201cm 79kg Sand, beautiful mark, leading forward who can kick the clutch goals, needs to fill out, but has a great tank and could be anything

Pick 4 - Max King 201cm 82kg Sand, similar to Ben, but more of a solid KPP and not as flexible, but the difference is minimal

Pick 5 - Bailey Smith 183cm 74kg Sand, hard running mid, finds a lot of the ball and generally uses it well

Pick 6 - Sam Walsh 182cm 68kg Geel, accumulator of possessions, works hard, was a standout for vic country in a poor team

Pick 7 - Rhylee West 180cm 80kg Calder, similar to his father, is a busy mid gathering possessions linking up play, if his football career is anything like his dad he will be a good one

Pick 8 - Tarryn Thomas 189cm 71kg Nth Launc, tough big mid, clean under pressure, a real quality over quantity type, dominated the Academy trials, was invaluable in the u/18 champs, took some time to get used to the champs level, but by the end was a classy player

Pick 9 - Nick Blakey 194cm 75kg UNSW, real lanky aggressive tall forward, moved into the midfield and actually dominated so much his team scored 3 goals in a row from his clearances which impressed the hell out of me, also great kick for goal, has a lot of pros and few negatives

Pick 10 - Connor Rozee 184cm 75kg Nth Adel, smooth quality 3rd tall forward, goal sneak and dangerous in the forward line, not just at goal but setting up team mates

Pick 11 - Jack Bytel 188cm 79kg Calder, quality midfielder with a heap of talent, has had an injury interrupted season, tall mid with a lot of smarts, should go first round

Pick 12 - Bailey Scott 186cm 84kg GCS A, the engine room for the allies in the u/18 champs, was super impressive and a real stand out, works hard, runs hard, kicks important goals, gets into good positions.

Pick 13 - Ian Hill 176cm 66kg Perth, winger like Bradley Hill or Jetta, im hoping more like Bradley Hill, runs hard, good evasiveness, really clever winger

Pick 14 - Jarrod Cameron 180cm 69kg Swan Dist, similar to his cousins Charlie Cameron, moves well, can kick a nice goal, leads and was the focal point for W.A. in the forward zone, real competitor

Pick 15 - Curtis Taylor 186cm 74kg Calder, if i was picking on pure talent he would be higher, but he seems a bit laconic and lacks motivation to be his best, could be one of those star kids that doesnt do the work to become an AFL player, but at the same time, too good not to be picked in the first round

Pick 16 - Xavier O'Halloran 186cm 82kg Western Jets, he has raised a lot in my ratings in the S.A. game he tried to take the game by the scruff of the neck and tried to inspire his team via his actions, this made me realise he hates losing, he also has leadership abilities and can lift in big games when it matters, these points made me put him up my list

Pick 17 - Ned McHenry 176cm 71kg Geel, pressure forward with clean skills, goal kicker, similar to the Richmond defensive forwards

Pick 18 - Zak Butters 178cm 70kg Western Jets, speedy winger/flanker, team man, competitor, works hard to get into position and link up plays

Pick 19 - Jacob Koschitzke 196cm 94kg Murray, best tall defender in the u/18 championships imo, great marking presence, uses the ball smartly, brings in smaller defenders into his plays

Pick 20 - Jackson Hately 189cm 79kg Cent Dist, strong bodied mid who amasses a lot of possession, aggressive, but can be a little wayward with his possession and can make ordinary decisions, but when he gets it right he looks impressive.

Pick 21 - Luke Valente 186cm 80kg Norwood, big bodied mid, reliable player, he and the S.A. mid out muscled the Vic Metro mids and showed that they are more advanced than their victorian counterparts, clearance player

Pick 22 - Joseph Ayton-Delaney 180cm 68kg Oakleigh, speedy clever small defender, great rebounding from D50

Pick 23 - Chayce Jones 179cm 73kg Launc, busy midfielder, runs all day, gathers plenty of possession, seeing him live made me have more respect for how he plays, can be a bit loose with possession, but generally a solid mid

Pick 24 - Tom McKenzie 183cm 71kg Northern, tough and strong, good disposal, runs good lines, missed a few kicks against S.A. and so dropped a bit in my rankings

Pick 25 - Bailey Williams 198cm 91kg Dand, plays like a very tall midfielder, very flexible, can play every position on the ground, athletic.

Pick 26 - Riley Collier-Dawson 193cm 88kg Oakleigh, running half back, aggressive, rebound defender, run and carry and tackling defender, speedy

Pick 27 - Buku Khanis 190cm 81kg Western Jets, competitive CHB, good in the air, gathers ground possession smoothly, rebounding CHB with good disposal

Pick 28 - Oscar Chapman 187cm 72kg Nth Adel, really impressive 3rd tall forward for S.A., leads all day, determined mark, has a lot going for him, very flexible player, good size and dangerous forward

Pick 29 - Connor McFayden 190cm 88kg BL A, impressive forward, marking forward, goal kicker, with Blakey was a 1-2 punch in the forward line

Pick 30 - Kyle Reid 193cm 85kg Gippsland, reliable, intercept mark, one of the better tall defenders and 1 of the few impressive vic country players

my top 30 on talent alone, ill do a mock draft and add the crazy academy point system attempt.

Note: Adelaide has Melbourne 1st round pick and Carlton 2nd pick

it took awhile to do that phantom draft with all the points and everything, its annoying i forgot to look at the indicative draft order, but i'll redo it with the new draft order when i have some free time, its not an urgent thing atm.

Quaynor and Kelly are getting a lot of hype, as top 20 picks, i dont rate either in my top 50, either im missing something or Collingwood look to be investing a lot of currency into 2 not so great players.....

it took awhile to do that phantom draft with all the points and everything, its annoying i forgot to look at the indicative draft order, but i'll redo it with the new draft order when i have some free time, its not an urgent thing atm.
Yeah, that would be good.
Gold Coast own West Coasts first round pick (currently pick) 16, as well as picks, 25, 29, 39 & 42.

Quaynor and Kelly are getting a lot of hype, as top 20 picks, i dont rate either in my top 50, either im missing something or Collingwood look to be investing a lot of currency into 2 not so great players.....
Quaynor looking like the best small defender in the draft pool. Kid just keeps getting better and better.

filled out the ladder predictor and so im going to use that as my first 50 phantom draft picks with academy points ect as a rough draft of the draft...

Carl, Bris, Stk, GCS, West, frem, adel, ess, gws, north, geel, wce, haw, coll, melb, syd, port, rich

Pick 51 Richmond - Tom Medhat

the first 3 rounds of the draft, prediction on the 7th July 2018 (have to update with indicative draft order next time)
Medhat is in our NGA. I'd be very surprised if we didn't match a pick that late.

the more i see of these players the more i shuffle the players in the order, but i feel like i've got most players in the right areas of the draft order now....

*updated first post*

Rate any NT guys?

Michael Mummery and Matthew Green might get picked up as rookies, its hard to tell because i like around 55 players and thats just the u/18's, then you got other AFL players changing clubs, then the VFL/SANFL/WAFL players that get picked up

Mummery was a bit disappointing for me, looked a bit lost in the Allies team, did some ok things here and there but generally lost 1v1's and fumbled a lot, Green was ok at times as well, i believe they were the best from NT?

filled out the ladder predictor and so im going to use that as my first 50 phantom draft picks with academy points ect as a rough draft of the draft...

Carl, Bris, Stk, GCS, West, frem, adel, ess, gws, north, geel, wce, haw, coll, melb, syd, port, rich

Pick 1 Carlton - Jack Lukosius, i think Carlton would want a tall partner for Charlie Curnow up forward and competitive flexible tall forwards dont grow on trees, so i think Carlton will take the big sth aussie

Pick 2 Brisbane - Izak Rankine, i think he is the best mid in the u/18's this year, goal kicking mids are very valuable, this guy is the most likely to make an impact in the AFL if fit

Pick 3 St Kilda - Ben King, he's too good to pass up here, he is a little tall for a forward, more ruck height and we've seen that be a problem for Boyd/Schache/Wright/McCartin but then everyones looking for a Buddy/Lynch/Hipwood, this guy looked real sharp and good against S.A. so i'll back him in to make it at the next level

Pick 4 Gold Coast - Max King, gold coast if they lose Lynch and im taking it as a given at this stage, they will be looking for a replacement or just best available and the King twin is that

Pick 5 Gold Coast - Sam Walsh, i think with 2 picks they'll go for 1 tall, 1 mid and i think they will go for Walsh ahead of Smith on reputation and the likelihood country lads will stay more loyal to interstate clubs

Pick 6 Western B - Bailey Smith, they would love a good tall here, but theres only forwards and mids available so im guessing they will go for the best mid they can get here

Pick 7 Sydney - Nick Blakey (academy), so fremantle will bid on Blakey if the bulldogs dont here, Blakey has nominated the swans and they will use the pick here, they lose 619 points for the upgraded pick turning their pick 35 to the end of draft pick 53 to 61

Pick 8 North - Tarryn Thomas (NGA), fremantle again tried to snag a top end academy junior here, with the big bodied tasmanian mid impressiving everyone with his clean and crucial clearance play as well as his clear minded plays, it will cost north pick 29 to pick 39

Pick 9 Fremantle - Ian Hill, i think here Hill is 1 of 3-4 options all mids so Hill makes as much sense as any for the dockers a highly talented winger who has good evasive skills and was the standout for W.A. in the u/18 champs

Pick 10 Adelaide - Connor Rozee, adel will be happy to get a pick in the first round to secure a south australian talent, with rozee they have 1 of the best utilities in the draft pool, he can play taller than he is, just a smooth mover

Pick 11 Western B - Rhylee West(f/s), essendon will go for best talent available and that forces the bulldogs to bid for him, which they do here, it costs them pick 24 to pick 52

Pick 12 Essendon - Jack Bytel, essendon gets the last of the top end talent on offer in the draft

Pick 13 GCS - Bailey Scott (academy) GWS bid for scott but GCS take him here for pick 26 to pick 51

Pick 14 GWS - Ned McHenry, gws have been looking for pressure forwards and here is a good'un

Pick 15 Geel - Jackson Hately, i think they take Hately here

Pick 16 WCE - Curtis Taylor, wce like they're clean and skillful mids, he will help them rebuild they're midfield and backup as a flanker

Pick 17 Hawthorn - Xavier O'Halloran, i rate this kid highly, not just on talent, he will make a good addition to the mid/flanks

Pick 18 Collingwood - Zak Butters, i think this speedy mid will help add some pace to coll midfield

Pick 19 WCE - Jarrod Cameron (NGA), i think melbourne will bid here and force wce to make a decision, which they accept, it will cost them pick 32 to pick 59

Pick 20 Melbourne - Jason Koschitzke, they take the best tall defender of the championships here.

Pick 21 Port Adelaide - Luke Valente, another of the S.A. big bodied mids here

Pick 22 Richmond - Joseph Ayton-Delaney, taking the best available seems like a good strategy here

Pick 23 Carlton - Riley Collier-Dawson, another really good talent, this draft is pretty deep imo

Pick 24 Brisbane - Bailey Williams, bris taking this big bodied tall player who can play in any position on the field, but will probably have to land a key position in time

Pick 25 StK - Chayce Jones, busy tassie mid, 2nd tassie kid to be picked up, he was the 2nd best mid in the allies squad behind scott

Pick 26 Frem - Kyle Reid, one of the few good tall defenders in the draft

Pick 27 Adel - Oscar Chapman, this kid impressed me a lot, he's my smokey, havnt seen a lot of chatter about him, but he can play and adel will be stoked with another S.A. kid here

Pick 28 Essendon - Tom McKenzie, the running defender/mid from the northern knights will be happy to land at the bombers

Pick 29 Western B - Buku Khanis (NGA) gws bid here and wb accept, pick 52 gone and all picks gone to end of draft and a defeceit in points next year

Pick 30 Brisbane - Connor McFayden (academy) gws also bid here and bris accept it, picks to the end of draft and defeceit next yr

Pick 31 GWS - Tom Joyce

Pick 32 Geel - Lachlan Sholl, another solid pick here, still a bunch of good talent available

Pick 33 Hawthorn - Jye Caldwell, this mid could go earlier in the draft but as vic country had a poor championships i expect some of their talent to slide and the hawks will be happy to pick this kid up here

Pick 34 Collingwood - Luke English

Pick 35 Fremantle - Jason Carter, (NGA) next pick to end of draft

Pick 36 Melbourne - Fraser Turner

Pick 37 Port Adel - Tom Lewis

Pick 38 Richmond - James Rowbottom

Pick 39 Carlton - Xavier Duursma

Pick 40 StK - Luke Moore

Pick 41 North - Thomas Sparrow

Pick 42 Adelaide - Jacob Kennerley

Pick 43 Essendon - Mitch Riordan

Pick 44 GWS - Jesse Quint, bris dont bid for him (bris prob bids but im too lazy)

Pick 45 Geel - Mihail Lochowiak

Pick 46 North - Zane Barzen

Pick 47 Hawthorn - Angus Hanrahan

Pick 48 Collingwood - Braeyden Gillard

Pick 49 Melbourne - Matthew Walker gws dont bid (gws prob bid but im too lazy)

Pick 50 Port Adel - Riley Grundy

Pick 51 Richmond - Tom Medhat

the first 3 rounds of the draft, prediction on the 7th July 2018 (have to update with indicative draft order next time)
Our list is really tall right now, we wouldn't love another one. We'd be hoping for a mid. Smith is perfect.

Mate I saw 2 players today at Mars Stadium you don't even have on your board Liam Stocker and Alistair Richards that I will be absolutely astounded if they don't get drafted. Liam Stocker I'd even have in 1st round contention and Richards possibly in 2nd round contention.

Stocker missed nationals due to a broken jaw. Of course no-one has him on their boards as if you’re out of sight, you’re out of mind (unless you’re Max King).

Richards had a so-so carnival, but is a good chance to get picked up.

Angus Hanrahan was the one who I’d have thought stood out for Sandy. His forward craft and goal sense is improving with each game. Got BOG.

Stocker missed nationals due to a broken jaw. Of course no-one has him on their boards as if you’re out of sight, you’re out of mind (unless you’re Max King).

Angus Hanrahan was the one who I’d have thought stood out for Sandy. His forward craft and goal sense is improving with each game. Got BOG.
I guess different eyes have different perspectives, all 3 were good but I was particularly taken with Stocker, put it this way if I was drafting for the Crows Stocker would be the Dragon I'd pick from today's game.

*clears throat* Ahem ;)

they are 2 i have not seen much of, they are the blind spots in my top 100 draftees this year, i saw a little of alaistar richards and he didnt look good at the TAC game i saw, but i need to see more of him and stocker

Just on the Dragons, one of their players looked to cop a really nasty foot injury yesterday, not sure who it was maybe Houlahan? Any reports on that?

A bit of Patrick Naish about Hanrahan i reckon.

ive come up with a star system that explains why some performances are more valuable than others in seeing if they can make it at the AFL level

5 stars - AFL level
4 stars - VFL/SANFL/WAFL
3 stars - NEAFL/TSL/ u/18 championships/Highest Tier Amateurs (TAC Cup Finals)
2 stars - TAC Cup/Colts /Amateurs
1 star - u/16 championships

so some players who star at TAC Cup level and then under perform at the u/18 champs are a worry for me, because it shows they struggle to step up in quality, also an advantage some interstate players have is they can play in their top leagues which can be 3 or 4 star leagues and show that they can handle the step up in quality whereas the Vic kids are stuck in 2 star leagues until the champs come around to show they can step up, just an interesting concept to think about

ive come up with a star system that explains why some performances are more valuable than others in seeing if they can make it at the AFL level

5 stars - AFL level
4 stars - VFL/SANFL/WAFL
3 stars - NEAFL/ u/18 championships
2 stars - TAC Cup/Colts /Amateurs
1 star - u/16 championships

so some players who star at TAC Cup level and then under perform at the u/18 champs are a worry for me, because it shows they struggle to step up in quality, also an advantage some interstate players have is they can play in their top leagues which can be 3 or 4 star leagues and show that they can handle the step up in quality whereas the Vic kids are stuck in 2 star leagues until the champs come around to show they can step up, just an interesting concept to think about
TAC finals would be right up there, that’s when the TAC system is at its strongest with full strength teams with school football finished and some players who where still developing and playing different positions come into their own. You look at players like Taranto, Stephenson, McGrath and Florent who where players that where good solid players in the champs that went up a notch when the finals came
up. I’m sure Hayward’s finals really lifted him in the SANFL 18s he was one who didn’t dominate at the champs with also brings up that usually the most advanced players physically and mentally perform the best at the champs and against senior bodies. It makes it easy to find which players will make an impact early in their careers but it’s usually the players in the 2nd half of the year that lift their performances that hold a lot of weight later in the year for the draft.