Dean Laidley

Pistons/Hammers/Sri Lanka/The Exers
There's a lot of talk that Ken Hinkley will be in serious consideration for one of the Senior coaching positions that will be available at the end of this season.

Should it eventuate that he does move on to another club, I would like to see us sound out Dean Laidley if he doesn't snag one of those senior coaching positions himself, with a view to him joining our panel.

He is a master tactician, and if there is one thing we have been susceptible to in the last 2 1/2 years, it's been well thought out and executed game plans (a la Collingwood and Hawthorn last year).

I was at the St Kilda v North game, and I can tell you that the strategy he used against them was bloody brilliant, and would have quite possibly got them the chocolates had his side not been 5 men down after half time.

I reckon he'd be a very positive addition to our coaching staff....

Brrrrrrr.

Sounds like a good idea. But gee I'd hate for Bomber to move on and have Laidley move into the top job.

Brrrrrrr.

Sounds like a good idea. But gee I'd hate for Bomber to move on and have Laidley move into the top job.

Well yes that could happen, but i'd be very very surprised if it did.

It's kinda like the current situation with Chris Connolly at Melbourne. I reckon CC (like our own Neil Balme) is a good coach, but an even better football manager. Laidley hasn't been a bad coach, but I think he's an even better assistant (with a strategic focus).

They all have something in common too, they all took mediocre/underachieving teams to the top 4 before getting the bullet within two seasons.

I think there is some merit to the idea - he certainly seemed to indicate that he was willing to get involved in things other than head coach so he could stay in footy.

His passion can't be questioned. Without media sticking cameras and microphones in his grill weekly he might be able to just do what he is good at.

It is worth looking into.

Don't know if he'd want to step backwards though and become an assistant.
He'd probably get paid more as a Geelong assistant than he did as North's Head Coach :cool:

But seriously, I kind of got the feeling that he might do something like that given the right circumstances and/or club.

I think he's over rated and this year north has played the worst footy and most pathetic game plan in the comp.

So no thanks I'll pass on him.

Laidley at Geelong????????

Are you guys serious?!
I think he, like North in general, is under-rated.

His record is pretty good considering what he had to work with, the lack of money squeezing his ability to utilise all the cap and alike.

Remember, there was one year North didn't even take part in the rookie draft due to cut-backs.

His coaching record reads 149 games for 72 wins, 75 losses and two draws and oversaw their progression to the finals in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Granted his finals record is poor but he did come up against some handy sides.

His record was much better than I thought it would was, certainly didn't expect to see it hovering just under 50%.

Sure, he isn't as media savvy as some other coaches and he has had run ins but considering North are perennially written off year after year he did fairly well.

I wouldn't want him as Geelong's Head Coach but I could see some benefit in him joining the Football Department in the right role.

I think he, like North in general, is under-rated.

His record is pretty good considering what he had to work with, the lack of money squeezing his ability to utilise all the cap and alike.

Remember, there was one year North didn't even take part in the rookie draft due to cut-backs.

His coaching record reads 149 games for 72 wins, 75 losses and two draws and oversaw their progression to the finals in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Granted his finals record is poor but he did come up against some handy sides.

His record was much better than I thought it would was, certainly didn't expect to see it hovering just under 50%.

Sure, he isn't as media savvy as some other coaches and he has had run ins but considering North are perennially written off year after year he did fairly well.

I wouldn't want him as Geelong's Head Coach but I could see some benefit in him joining the Football Department in the right role.

What role would that be?
http://www.theage.com.au/news/natio...-roo-fans-death/2006/05/29/1148754937893.html

really...what has he actually done that people rate him?

the same with hinkley, 2 seasons ago people wanted him gone and now he is labelled head coach material.
In response to the former - I suspect it has more to do with Sanderson's friendship with Buckley.

In response to the latter - Hinkley has a pretty good CV coaching wise. Whether it would get him over the line for a Head Coach role, not too sure.

But he has done his time, coached his own sides with success and done a stint with a club during a successful period which must count for something.

I think he's over rated and this year north has played the worst footy and most pathetic game plan in the comp.

So no thanks I'll pass on him.

How many North games have you watched ths year?

Have you seen their injury list?

I reckon he's done pretty well considering all the circumstances.

Go back and have a look at the first half of the St Kilda game again. He had them on toast until the Roos players started dropping like flies, which was no fault of his.

How many North games have you watched ths year?

Have you seen their injury list?

I reckon he's done pretty well considering all the circumstances.

Go back and have a look at the first half of the St Kilda game again. He had them on toast until the Roos players started dropping like flies, which was no fault of his.

I have watched two games I think (are they ever on TV?), I know they have injuries, I don't care about cirumstances anymore. St Kilda had 28 scoring shots to 12 and even if North had a full healthy list they would have lost that game.

North chip the ball around till they are on the boundry on the back flank then thump it long up the line over and over. They do it so much it must be deliberate, and it is terrible.

I am over and sick of them playing the sympathy card for every aspect of that club. Its either 'shinboner' or whinging.

I have watched two games I think (are they ever on TV?), I know they have injuries, I don't care about cirumstances anymore. St Kilda had 28 scoring shots to 12 and even if North had a full healthy list they would have lost that game.

North chip the ball around till they are on the boundry on the back flank then thump it long up the line over and over. They do it so much it must be deliberate, and it is terrible.

I am over and sick of them playing the sympathy card for every aspect of that club. Its either 'shinboner' or whinging.

G'day guys - I think if you look at the North board now, you might notice that it, and its inhabitants, are probably at the highest level of happiness it's been since North won their last flag.

Posters are fairly happy that Laidley is gone, because it means a freshening up, and hopefully a change in game plan.

Diablo - while yes, the injury list is huge, it can't be blamed for all our problems. Our game plan was shit, and hopefully it's going out the door with Laidley.

I think Laidley still has a lot to offer as an assistant coach. But only if Thompson doesn't let him f*ck around with the magnets and attempt to change the game plan.

dean ladly real good at nth i would suggest nothing lwes then hed coanch job in geelong cats 2010 thonmson good at teliing on others cheap mistakes but real good 09 ladly 10:thumbsu:

In response to the former - I suspect it has more to do with Sanderson's friendship with Buckley.

You underestimate their friendship and the thoughts on who Buckley wants around when and if he gets a job.

yeah, but if he goes what do "we" lose apart from an assistant coach if he walks, which i dont think he will.

Has Hinkley been annointed to take over from Bomber? Listen to what the club says about Kenny.....
if we don't win the flag this year, most likely, maybe bomber gone too, and kenny or bucks get the job. somehow, we missed our chance lasdt year, and this year we will get passed by dogs and saints who will play the grand final. afl would like that.

dean ladly real good at nth i would suggest nothing lwes then hed coanch job in geelong cats 2010 thonmson good at teliing on others cheap mistakes but real good 09 ladly 10:thumbsu:
Any chance someone can interpret the above? He maybe 100% but I can't tell